(2008) Brides of year 2008

viv> i think best is u set ur own budget within ur comfortable limit.. its the thought from you that counts, not the $$.. in fact, my friend didnt give me any angbao for her wedding..

do the girls need the helper's room? we hv a helper rm but HTB want to let his parents use n stay over. what is it to be used for? my gers say usually they will leave after lunch then join in the banquet or recep duties abt 5pm. they go home to rest. brdie maid will follow me to bridal suite right?

i used this maxcoil mattress.. no good, can feel the earthquake made by him.

haha.. yea, only managed to efile today cos only got pastor to sign solemniser consent yesterday..

uk, i join you on tour to greece lah! then u can confirm another two pple on ur tour.. haha... min how many to travel?
I agree Europe in 2 wks is REALLY rush..
Not keen on Egypt. my impression is it's v hot...
Greece sounds nice and romantic!! good choice!

after PS, i stopped exercising and eating more to compensate on the "dieting" before PS. now i'm feeling the effects.. feel as though my aching brittle bones are giving way anytime!

received almost all my furniture last sat. nice. left with the mattress which doesn't matter since FH cannot sleep on it anyway.. hee.. mum said wedding must have new bed. so FH will have to sleep on sofa for the next 3 mths! really appreciate his sacrifice.. ;p

Hi girls so glad to see you guys still together in the discussions...I am done with mine 18 July 08 hope you guys still remember me..

Nehoc here.

helper's room is for helpers to est lor. Some helpers might stay far from the hotel, so is good place for them to rest and prepare for the evening. But if your helpers prefer to go home to rest, let the parents use it bah.

Fanny, I also think the arrangement is weird leh. where got ppl go to new home for tea ceremony one? I tot is go PIL’s plc den mum’s plc den go new home. If tea ceremony at ur new home, den who’s gg to clear the mess for u? those relatives very sian one de, say say den PIL will listen de.

Btw, who’s kim ar? Kire is it?

Wah I din the lai lai taiwanese beef noodle place at Liang Seah street is still there. ïŠ dat plc nt bad, tried before…. The magic wok at city hall also nt bad leh. I dun mind anywhere except Bugis. Pls dun choose bugis as the final place ok? Haha

Im having my food tasting dinner on this coming Sunday. Sianz leh, the menu chosen by MIL. And she chose glutinous rice instead of the normal noodle dish…. So typical Cantonese style… haiz.

Hmmm, I also prefer to have a colour theme for the jiemeis. I find that more coordinated. If not, during photoshooting, dunno who is jiemei, who is guest. As for my fh, he’s worse, he says the most he will only have same colour for ties for his xiong dis.

I’ve not been eating lunch for abt 2 weeks nw, I only eat abit of breakfast and dinner… and I think I’ve lost weight!! BUT, the first thing I realize has lost weight are my breasts!! They seem to have shrinked. Sad sad. Tummy seem to be a bit flat liao. Yay, jiayou jiayou!!! Still got 2 more months to go!!!

Huh, I din knw must stay after tea ceremony at groom’s plc… need meh? I dun wish to lor, I rather go out and take photos. Where got enough time like dat? Somemore my fh stays at sembawang, and my mum’s plc at bedok leh… traveling time already an hr plus liao (including morning traffic jam)

Green, im nt saying that max coil brand not good. It’s from Sweden. Jus dat I recalled dunno who say smthg bad abt max coil in forum before… anyway, fh’s fren’s fren is distributor of mattress of different brands. Hopefully can get a better discount from him. Haha.
I dunno whether mega mattress is selling cheaper than expo fairs. I will be gg for the fair at expo in aug. And I dun think mega mattress sells bedframes, they only sell mattress.

Wah causeway pt has bedsheet sales ar? Btw, I went to buy bird nest from eu yan seng on Sunday. Last day of the promotion le. But I only bot one bottle. haha. But I din buy the 2 for $110 de, I bot the orange colour hua yan concentrated one. UP $91, bot it at $73. Now I worried MIL will eat if I put in fridge. Sian.

Viva, talking abt ang pows, me and fh also haven’t discussed abt the amounts. But I definitely wont have $8888 for them lor… kill me instead ba. Haha. I also planning to give $68 each only and maybe a small gift. My jiemeis say they aren’t gian abt the amount, they are only concerned abt having fun on dat day, esp the tekan segment.

Crown, can bring me to the khatib manicure the next time u go? Meet at sembawang den go? Cos im nt very familiar wif khatib, im more familiar with yishun (my old house).

Lsntyl, my parents are using slumberland mattress, theirs is a bit soft one. But I know dat latex is better and cooling than memory foam. Was told tat latex is more cooling but memory foam is more for body contours and can be a bit warm. Anyway, I find mattress less than $3k is still ex. Hee. Me and fh’s budget only 1k+ for mattress. Planning to buy better one when we get our own flat.

Waxie, thanks for the expo update. I will be going to all the fairs which u listed. Haha.

Dor, I dunno straits times has got a lot of mattress sales. Lazy to go back my mum’s plc to check out newspapers too. Haha. U remb where are the sales at? Yah, I also find king koil the high end mattress nt bad leh.

My hotel also gave us a helper’s room on AD. I guess it’s from jiemeis or xiong dis to use ba. Tell u all smthg. My MIL wants me to ask the hotel how much is one room for the night. They wan to stay overnight!!! I was like OMG lor, I wouldn’t want her to stay overnight lor. Even though it’s different room from ours, it’s still in the same hotel!!! And I definitely dun wan to see them for breakfast the next day!!! Worse, I told her we dun have money for extra room le, she say she will pay herself. GOSH!!!!!!!!!!! BUT heng ar, it’s F1 the week after my wedding, so the hotel coordinator says it’s $1000 per night. Tat finally makes her back off. ïŠ

hi gals, even though u r given a timing for the declaration, still hv to get a queue no and wait at the registry...

Mei, my invitation cards are still sitting in my room... Printing usually takes abt 1 week at most right? So i still have plenty of time keke.

polar, im going to West coast to LA, LV and SF.

mrs chiew, yah problem with joining a tour is the travel dates are fixed and usually u will only know if the trip is confirm nearer the departure date, it will be worse if its off peak and they cant meet the min no of pax. I also have to travel on certain dates thats why decided to go F&E and then can stay at nicer hotels.. Another option is get yr own air tix and join land tours instead.

Cyc, where did u get yr furniture from? Anyone has any IDs or contractor to recommend?

Welcome, Calvin.

Sure u both will have a happy wedding day!
Congrats!

Just a tip to share:
Let your bride choose the bridal package she wants... be it bridal gown or ROM.. its a gal's thing.. hahaaha... unexplainable!

if your parents & in-laws are the traditional chinese, do a chinese banquet for them (even though u & your fiancee may be reluclant). You will be sure - your parents & in-laws will leave u both ALONE for the rest of your lives!

Otherwise they will keep harping on this banquet thingy forever...! hahahaha... also unexplainable!

fanny:
my bridal room in the restaurant is also the jiemei room and sword bearers room :P There is only one room for everyone! After my MU i gotta let out the room for the sword bearers to get ready. But tat's fine with me lah, can go chit chat with my ex colleagues and friends

ahnet:
lai lai in bugis leh, so tat's out liao. How come cannot be bugis har?
haha...! your MIL so cute :P cant let both of you off ah. You should feel fortunate tat she isnt tagging along in your HM.
btw, kim is the nubra lady

viva:
Ask your jiemei to find richer friends

omg, waxie, u say she's cute??!! wait til u see her... well, she wanted to tag along too if we having HM. den my fh say siao ar, ppl HM she tag along, so big and fat lamp bulb!!

dunno leh, i jus dun like bugis lor. haha. sorry.

oh, u all referring to kire.
sorry, me blur blur.

spoiltbabe>we're the same situation. But I'm don't mind at all. Will rather mingle with the guests.
You decided if you want Conrad or Merchant Court le? Pam told us we might not be able to get any hotel room as our date is one week before F1. If like that, means have to either take the rebate or have the hotel room another day.

Ya, why cannot bugis leh? I quite like it after the renovations. Tried Shokudo Cafe recently with a friend and I like it. Price less than $20 and portions quite generous. I vote for it. :p

dunno, i jus dun like bugis area. so if possible, i wld rather avoid bugis.
but if all of u prefer bugis, den i bo bian will go bugis lor.

YL:
ya loh, got many things to catch up with those old friends :P eh, but i oredi got the hotel confirmation, meaning i still gotta let out the room? I chose Conrad by the way. My AD is before the F1 so i think mine is not affected.

I dun mind trying out the Shokudo Cafe. Plaza Sin is good for me too so i can take NEL home... ho ho ho! City Hall also ok

spoiltbabe>then should be ok for you bah. We are still waiting confirmation. Also choosing Conrad.

I think the outing will just go with the majority. As long as we can find somewhere quiet can le.

It has been quite some time since I last login. My ROM & AD is on the same day, 25 Dec 2008, 4mths to go but I'm not sure what are the things I can do now instead of rushing everything at the last min.

Hi Jac, hope the weather is as good for your PS as well. I am sure your MUA will be very skillful too.

Hi Meiling, I also think I will have difficulties choosing the photos. Good PG plus good environmental condition, really headache... But have to stick to the 40 pix allocated. Anyway I would like to take an anniversary album after I take off the braces in abt 2 years time. So just save the money for that purpose...

Hi Lost, same here, looking forward to see your pix.

Hi providencia, same views here. I keep telling my HTB to decide faster what kind of housing he wants to get. If not, at the rate he is thinking, the housing prices will get much much higher than now and he might not be able to get the preferred choices. He keep thinking that housing prices are coming down cos both US and UK prices declined sharply. I have to keep reminding him that it's not going to be the case of Singapore property market anytime soon.

Btw, AMK DBSS will be subjected to the S$8K income cap right?

Jane Lim (lilacbliss): Can you PM me on your friend's accessories? I am thinking of buying some accessories for my wedding gown too.

Hi sleepygal, Ann said the same thing to me also. After I see my friend using DiGio finishing her makeup in less than an hour, I am more convinced. Confirmed with Ann a few months back that I will start make up at 5.30am. But dunno why she keep saying no need so early. Also told Xiaohui during the PS that I need to start make up at 5.30am. Actually, both our parents are Teochews while my mum is Hokkien. None of them insisted that we should set off very early. Only need to make sure we are in time for our schedule since we are having banquet lunch. If we are having wedding dinner, I think they don't even mind if I set off at 9-10am.

Did you watch Jia You Xi Shi on Channel 8 earlier this year? They said why Teochews has to get married earlier is bcos Teochews are very hardworking ppl. In order not to disrupt farming activities, they carry out the wedding customs before daybreak so that everyone can continue to work after that. Guess this context do not really apply to modern ppl or Singaporeans.

Nope, Xiaohui din say what kind of ampoule you are using. But she showed us the ampoules that she used, it's made in Germany one. Where did you buy yours from? Think mine is not that good. Going to buy others, like the lifting one she used.

fanny jo (happi_bride) > <font color="0000ff">your hotel provide Helpers' room, like a superior/standard room for helpers to put things for certain timing until the banquet ends or thru the overnight??? i think better to ask ur helpers..as in if they really wana stay over, rarely la, as if like a chalet??? they might have to extend the night (ask co-Ordinater for the addtl cost tt might inccurs..else better let sb closer to heart to use the rOom if FREE oveernight stay, or even need top up, only minimal like $100++??? i guess our JIEMEIs n XIONGDIs will understand...Heeee</font>

to all who have replied in the AngBao amount
<font color="aa00aa">i appreciate all replies, come to think abt it...i guess, ya , true....i hOpe they dun mean it la, $8888 = chanel or hw many Gucci, Ferragamo, LVs sial...my abt 1.5 yrs' savings sial, siao,..in Ruppiah maybe can la, haaaa....Hmmm.... (IDEA??) i aint sure wat amount to gic also....shall i give 1 each in the beginning of the day or end of the day le???thts like an additional....or....juz the one lump sum frm Hubby when gate crash.... $588? $688?? divide by 6pax = q ok sum lo hor....</font>
<font color="ff0000">very vex also....i Hope all be smooth ba....care to share any preference, as in intention to give hw many HONgBaos...etc...</font>

<font color="119911">Thank you so much!</font> =)

chimes (jazzy_chimes): I did manicure for my PS too but I super regretted it. This is because nail polish just dun last for my nails and the dropped off paints are reflected in the pictures. Hence have to photoshop.

I guess have to do those light coloured ones or those natural shades. At least the damage of the manicure is not so obvious.

hi pinky81, did u do your manicure a few days too early? or u accidentally scratched them? cuz usually they should last for a few days. I did french manicure ... that's the only type of manicure I like ... hee

crown, you gg there so fast??? thurs im gg marina square Shugar for manicure leh... my neighbour opened that shop, ask me go there for free trial leh.

im gg to upload pics of my ang pow box and wrist corsages on multiply instead of here....i dunno hw to shrink the size to be able to post here.

Nets,
Hope your MIL after knowing the $1000 room price, won't ask to sleep with you &amp; FH :P I think all of us will faint if she does that.

I like Lays chips haha. Just attacked chocolates, stressed with work.

Meiling> Good luck for your DBSS balloting. Hope you can be an Ang Mo Kiak like me.

Mary> Yes, the $8K cap is applicable to AMK DBSS coz it's not an EC.

spoiltbabe> since ur "I'll be there" is also the live version, then I will juz use mine....think they dun have the original version....is tat possible??

Rachel> If u wan cheaper mattress, I can recommend seahorse mattress, I bought a new model from them earlier at only $300+ and its with pocketed spring...dun wan to spend too much on mattres coz HB really like to sleep, dun wanna buy too comfy one for him to NUA..haha..

BTW, their pillows are good too, my bro juz bought last weekend and he say can really sleep well...cost around $20+ only.

May I know when is the right time to distribute our invitation card? My mum was saying that we cannot distribute during the 7th month??? Was thinking 1 month before AD, but falls on 7th month...Anyway, I haven even go and print my wedding cards yet, was thinking of goin to T&amp;T this weekend..hope I can be in time to settle it.

ahnet:
cannot finish lah... i eat damn slow wan :P now into marks&amp;spencer black pepper flavour. It's a little hard for me but i find it crunchy, and i love it slightly sauteed with a tad pepper

greeen:
lays chips nice too! my fav is the lightly salted flavour :D

ivy:
hmm, unless it's her album? mine is her #1 hits. Sorry ya, din help much
you're cool! when's your AD btw? For my invites printer they need 3 weeks to complete, but i am doing it in Singapore. T&amp;T i heard can get it within the same day. I am sending out my invites to my colleagues next week, the rest of the ppl will be in 1st week of sep.

Hi Christina, my wedding is one day after yours! :D And I'm having ROM and AD on the same day too. The things you can be doing now is getting your shoes and accessories, settling your PS photos, buying your wedding rings, making your ring pillow and angbao box (if you're the DIY type). You can also make your own montage and compile your own CD wedding music. I'm also thinking of signing up for a one-day wedding preparation course- been looking at the MCYS list. Anyone been to one and can recommend?

Hi ladies, saw your discussion on manicure for PS. Just a gentle piece of advice not to do nail taping. I did so on my big toe nails for my PS in April and now both nails' condition are very bad. Hope my nails can outgrown the 'worn out parts' by Nov. Sobz...

Earthsea, yours only 1day type ah.. i have to go through 6 weeks or 6 days of it and 1 day with a professional counsellor with those psycho analysis tests. This is a requirement for us if we wanna get married by our pastors. Mine starting this sat.

Now can start doing ur name list and cards and plan out actual program or find the people to help you for actual day.

wah piang, green, dun thk she will ask to sleep wif us ba. i dun thk she will be dat bu zhi dong right. lol

wah ivy, you haven printed ur invites? haha u more slack than me and my fh.
i also try to not do any wedding prep during 7th mth.but seems like quite hard leh, cos we haven sent out the invites yet and haven even started writing the invites.haha

hmm, i also think seahorse not bad... one of our choices too.

spoiltbabe, pass me ur chips, i finish for u. hee. fav. lays chips very nice!!!

oh btw, i've uploaded pic of my ang pow box and wrist corsages le. if u all interested, i can ask my fren to help u all make. she's doing freelance for frens.

Ivy (ezvy) --- <font color="aa00aa">ermz...frm wat i understand from my mummy..she said 7th Lunar mth (aka english calender 1st August 2008 i think) STRICTLY NO distribute the cakes la, the cards la, etc....thus me n hubby rushing to confirm the guestlist by this mth (ie, 1week more to go le) Our GUO DA LI will be on 1st Sep 2008, my parents would like us to distribute the cakes n cards tgh to our relatives (at least 1 week before) before actual Wedding date 090908. Pretty rush...i m kinda b taking abt 1 mth leave in Sep....cuz after the wedding be flying off afew days later, but my leave cant be too long, gota b back ASAP once i touched down...my hubby also havin difficulties tryin to take the leave..but Bobian lo.... (we are Hokkien btw)</font> <font color="ff0000">i aint sure why, but i think supertitious??</font>

to those who haven print the wedding cards...
<font color="119911">i have my wedding cards sponsor by my hotel - M hoteL....n i have my wedding inserts printed i n JB - T&amp;T, level 4 i think at City Plaza, please make sure you have the correct address, levels, ballroom number, timing, NAMES of BOTH parents, RSVP your name, hp, email address, etc all READY so can faster the process in the designing of the inserts/cards...it's relatively cheap to print in JB..(will take abt 1 week to print...)heee....n juz my thot, dun need to spent so much time n effort in the cards i guess, as i felt there are more impt stuff to settle...remember yo try get your HONGBAOS, the "XI" stickers frm a shop in CITY PLAZA also, level 4/5 also, corner de...Hope this helps...</font>
<font color="ff0000">my wedding date 090908(and all SEP 2008 brides' dates) is comin so fast....in AUG i gota meet up w JIEMEIs finalise the tasks, AD plan, clean my messy room, etc etc...n tryin my gowns also...jialat, been eating alot recently....lack Exercise also...haaaa</font>

green (green_tranquility) --- <font color="0000ff">exactly..thus my hubby n i felt dun spent too Much $$$$ in printing of the cards lo, rather spent on the Bridal PhotoShoot, sth else la...haaaa, else in the end the printing all in the BIN, so.... hmm, so we opt for the wedding cards given by our hotel, tts quite pleasant lookin, gt 4 styles, we chose 2 designs, 1 red, 1 cream colour, then we print our inserts in T&amp;T JB lo, cheap cheap n nice nice....heee....juz finish writing the cards for my colleagues sial, hoooo!!!</font>

<font color="ff0000">yup, in the gowns can alter the size easily la, but sad le if AD photography cn see the flabby arms, haaaa..OMG!!!</font> =p

<font color="ff0000">JUZ A REMINDER = 7th LUNAR MONTH is approaching.....</font>

<font color="0000ff">better speed up in the invitation cards, etc...</font>

<font color="ff6000">hmm,buy i have stuff to do in that period...as in try gowns, collect some stuff,just tt cant send out the cards liao..hooo....</font>

<font color="aa00aa">wanna ask abt sth...
where and what kind of cakes do u n Hubbies be buyin to distribute to the relatives???
those ROUND MARBLE/BUTTER cake frm bengawan SoLo or ???
please enlighten me please...thanks Loads!!</font>