(2008) Brides of year 2008

lsntyl

florabliss>My home renovated our kitchen about 2 years ago. We installed a cooker hood but end up hardly use it cos don't like the noise and we don't find it really helps. My parents cook quite often. If you don't intend to cook much, might want to skip it.

lsntyl

fanny>the last time I was jiemei, we thought will spend short time at the new home. But ended up spending maybe about an hour? partly cos we were tired and were taking a short rest there. The tea ceremony at the groom's place oso took about 2 hours. Waiting for all the relatives to arrive, some ceremonies and eating the lunch buffet.

anyone tried slumberland mattresses? Passed by the showroom on Sat and FH and I tried a few beds. Quite like them and is less than $3000 for Queen size. After trying on the beds, I confirmed don't want king size. :p

Green>paiseh, not sure if the closing down sales at JL still going on. Didn't notice the last time I was at PS. :p

charma97

Hi Jane,

They are charging me $50 per hour.. For my PG is before 6am while my VG is before 7 am.. As for my MUA, charging me extra $30 for early and 40 for ampoules and fake eyeleashes.

By the way, my friends had been telling me to color my hair.. but i don't wish too.. they said dun dye.. PS will be abit boring.

crown

Rach,

Yes, she draws it one by one. Manicure is $15 and Pedicure is $20 but if you do both Mani and Pedi, it’s $30

Dor,

I stay at Sembawang

waxie24

babe> V8 no more liao... i havent been to bugis for long long time..

fanny> u can assign one of ur jiemei/brother to be the time keeper cos we will be too busy to take note.. of cos he/she will have to be flexible also lor.. hehe

viva> i'm also having 6 sisters... for gatecrash, i think its to make the process more fun.. ur sisters will eventually open the door, even if they dun get $8888 they request ma..

i told my FH, give a nice n good amt so that the process can be smooth.. first angbao give more face (my friend's hubby gave us $88 for 8 jiemeis on his 1st Angbao)
i also thinking of no colour theme.. cos its hard to decide wat colour.. i wont wan my sisters to buy a new shirt/dress specially for my AD.. i'll feel paiseh..

outing venue> i'm ok with anywhere... best if we can sit there for long.. hehe..

<font color="0000ff">FYI: Upcoming Fairs At Singapore Expo</font>
NATAS Holiday 2008
Public – Admission by ticket S$3.00 for Adult
Children below 12 yrs: Free of Charge
Halls 4 &amp; 5
01 - 03 Aug 2008

Crazy Warehouse SalesFoyer 2 Level 2
Public – Free Admission 01 – 03 Aug 2008
Time: 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sales of Apparel, bedlinen, imported chocolates

Creative Living 08 furniture/bed/interior design fair
Public - Free Admission
02 - 10 August 2008

Watsons Mega Expo Sale
Public – Free Admission
Hall 3B
01 - 03 Aug 2008

msbean

I hv my food tasting yesterday and meanwhile discuss on the Guo da li and AD issue .

One question , I have my own hse and yesterday discuss for AD is as below :

1)HB fetch me to his hse (Ad gown )
2)from his hse I have to go back my new hse (wearing AD gown)for tea ceremony.
3) from my new hse change Kua and ask Xiongdi go collect the roasted pig and proced back to my mother hse for tea ceremony .

IS it correct har ?

providencia

Flora, I find that a cooker hood only helps if you are doing massive cooking, machiam like a zi chai stall. Hood or no hood, it's a must to throughly clean the kitchen after every cooking session.

Henderson waves quite nice, was there yesterday and saw a couple taking AD pics, must be a teochew bride.

MeiLing, u going for the AMK DBSS?

lsntyl

anyone going to the NATAS fair can help me see if got any travel insurance promo? last Natas fair, one of the travel insurers got discount code if book their insurance online. :p

waxie>I know what you mean. Cos I was jiemei many times and always headache what to wear when there's colour code. A friend oso had to hunt for new dress cos her friend's wedding colour code was ivory and she didn't have anything that fit that.

msbean>donno wor. Your shedule v diff from what I normally know... how come tea ceremony at your own place?

~sblbee~

florabliss,
dun install cos it's a white elephant....it's so noisy dat u dun wana use it most of d time n if u use it den it's so troublesome to clean up....most frens advised me not to install cos theirs is hardly in use, might as well save d $ n do a storage cabinet

lsntyl

msbean>we stumbled onto a slumberland showroom in Liang Court, 2nd floor. After food tasting, FH and I v full so went exploring to walk off the fat. :p The salesman there wad v nice. No hard sell at all. He even recommended we go to their other showroom in Balestier that is bigger and has more brands as the Liang Court branch was dedicated to slumberland. They are having a promotion for the new bio-ceramic mattress. Queen size can be less than $2000, depending on what model you choose. Sounds good to us but then, we haven't started seriously searching for mattress yet.

waxie24

msbean> u look for comfort.. cos u'll be spending 8 hours or not on the mattress for say at least 5 years..
i remember that time. my friend flow is likt this is:
1) groom fetch bride (AD gown) to groom's house for tea ceremony
2) proceed to couple's new house (AD gown) at couple's hse change to Kua
4) return to bride's house for tea ceremony (in Kua)

yl> i remember NTUC travel insurance can buy online.. have discount also.. me also tio jiemei once, need to get a pink dress for my friend's wedding.. i wore once n the dress is hanging in my wardrobe now..

if really have to choose.. maybe i'll get primary colours.. like white or something.. most sisters will have white tops..

bedazzle

thank you girls for your concern abt my bf's father. Will only know the results tmr, whether the tumours are cancerous and whether it has spread to other areas. So meanwhile, can only pray hard. Now the problem is, since his dad is not well, we can't expect him to come up w his guestlist. Which is not done yet!!! And his guests takes up 2/3 of the total number of guests. So if he cannot settle his guestlist and rsvp properly... then... i also dunno hw liao. Worse thing is... only he knows who to invite, his family members can't help.

My photoshoot is postponed to 2 Aug... Damn sian... Everything is so screwed up. Murphy's law is really working on me.

btw, i'm just told tt for the morn ceremony, groom fetch me fr my place, then go his place for tea ceremony, then back to my place fr tea ceremony, then back to his place again to return some stuff. Is this right? Wah liao... v rush lor...

fanny,
I also hv no colour theme. some jie meis are initially v excited and kept asking me wat colour theme i want. WE kind of settled on purple or green. but since I'm not providing them w any money to buy new dress, I thought just let them wear anything they want. But I told them not to wear white. It's exclusively my colour. keke... btw I hv 8 jie meis... thinking of cutting down cos my bf only hv abt 4 brothers.

For mani pedi in town, you can try nail queen at far east plaza. cheap and good. you can find my post abt her in the previous page.

viv,
Like wat waxie say, your sisters will eventually open the door even if ur bf doesn't give them 8888 lor... i'm thinking maybe abt 68 per sister for the gatecrash then bao another angbao or buy a gift for them on my own.

Ah Net,
TT time I tried King koil the higher end king size bed is only 2000+ and I feel it's quite good. but dunno why my bf didnt want. quickly buy ur mattress cos i saw a lot of mattress sales in the straits times recently.

Green,
thanks. pls help me to ask the furniture shops whether they can sell me only the wooden plank for queen size bed. Arigato Gozaimasu...
The bedsheet sale at causeway point is by ,metro or aussino?

lsntyl

waxie>I swear off NTUC insurance le! My friend had a v bad experience claiming with them before. The travel insurance that was having a promo at the last NATAS fair was Tenet Insurance. Looked at the terms and look quite good. After discount, price is comparable to NTUC insurance but better coverage. So hope this NATAS fair will have promo again. I got 2 dresses hanging in my wardrobe that I haven't worn in ages! Both cos of being jiemeis. :p

Viv>I think your jiemeis are only joking lah. They won't hold up for $8888 de. If miss the auspicious time, they oso paiseh.

msclaire

sorry gals, sidetrack a lil. Does anyone have events coy to recommend? i'm looking for someone to decorate my wedding venue, especially the ceiling. thanks!

uk_fung

yar melody where u going for HM?

Kinda disappointed when I go serach for tour over the weekend at china town... coz our travel date is kinda fixed.. so even more limited tour group we can join... then as your know.. tour group have min pax to go and will only confirm it 2wks before your travel date.. which is v late right IF tour group did not confirmed and wanna book F&amp;E by then will be so late already!... hmmm now I also dun know what to book...

Planning to go Greece/Eastern Europe/ Eygpt

Went to ASA- dun like their services.. tell them my travel date must be after certain date but still keep telling us.. before that we have this tour that tour.. ... maybe they dun understand the word MUST and AFTER ba...

went to SA also... can you imagine Oct window is not open still? feel kinda late... wait all the fuel charge all up again ....

CTC read bad comment on their europe tour.. so should be avoiding that anyway they are more famous for china tour...

Dynasty is out.. coz my friend went and kinda pack and alot of hidden cost...

so I now kinda fix on Chanbrothers... anyone join them before??

hmmm plan so much also no use.. if join the tour end up din hit the min pax to go ... will be either no HM then or change to F&amp;E which also at risk... how your plan?? hahahhaa

waxie24

yl> my friend working with AIG.. i normally get from him.. i guess claiming thru agent is easier~

dor> i dun remember need to go back to groom's place leh

msbean

waxie24 : thx I ask this becos my MIL like dun feel happy as I nvr wear kua for tea ceremony . But I hv my own hse ma so actually should wear AD gown go back and meanwhile take photo at my own hse ma .

Lsntyl : thx I go their website to find some branch nearer to my hm . No la tea ceremony is at my mother hse and in law hse .

lsntyl

msclaire>according to papers, "The average price will be about $490 to $500 per sq ft, with the four-room units going for about $400,000 to $500,000. The five-room units will cost about $600,000 to $670,000." No idea about events companies.

bedazzle

waxie,
I also dun remember anyone going to n fro twice. Normally after go back bride's house, it's the end or go to their new house. but they insist must go back again...

My friend sells AIG travel insurance. If any of you want, I can get her to contact you.

flora_bliss

But a few fren say better to install hood becoz cabinets cant last long if there is constantly oil, water/steam, smoke and heat. Then my kitchen is open concept somemore.

gingerbread_gal

OMG, the AMK DBSS is so expensive!!!
The DBSS is BTO type??

Flora, I think i wouldn't install the hood if I were you and I'll be the type who will prob cook often. I have the idea that the maintenance of the hood is troublesome and don't find it to be very effective. Hehe, i may be nuts but i think its nice to let the smell of the food waft through the air while you're cooking :p
I'll be most concerned abt the oil but its a good chance to use less oil for healthier cooking.

LSnTYL,
I tried slumberlands mattresses before. I like mattress that's not too hard and reduce earthquake effect from our spouse. Slumberlands mattresses feel quite comfortable to me.
U can go for it if both of u like it. I guess everyone has different preferences for mattresses.

~sblbee~

providencia,
yah im going for d amk dbss....heheheh, worse come to worse gona get a 4 rm flat if i cant afford a 5 rm one :p waiting eagerly for wed to come so dat i can apply

Dor,
Okie.

Waxie,
Dun get AIA insurances. My dad hurt his arm in 2 industry accidents. They refused to let my dad claim because 1 arm can only claim once for your entire lifespan. It's damm funny to hear such rule leh! My another friend also kenna bad service from AIA.

lsntyl

the mattress I'm using now is Slumberland. Not bad. With us for 40 years le, according to my dad. Still quite good condition. But FH and I will probably hunt around a bit more before deciding on which mattress to get. Anyway, no new home yet so no hurry to get the mattress.

Green>wah, got such rule de arh? Din know...

lsntyl

Ya, glad FH and I are not the only ones who find the AMK DBSS expensive. Its those with condo like fittings but no condo facilities.

Jac>I agree with you. I like the smell of food cooking. But of cos certain food like fried fish can leave a lingering smell that won't be so nice after a while.

Meiling>good luck with the DBSS!

msclaire

oh condo fittings? but actually the new flats can look as good as condos. does anyone have pics to show of the place (or artist impression if its not built)?

lost_in_space

I got 1 18R 22 fantasy photos and 1 18R 55 digital photos, 1 big bed photo frame, 1 rectangular photo frame, 3 8R photo frame..

i top up 30 digital photos.. and upsize my 5R to 18R

cyc

polar, i will be going down to ROM to declare on 15 Oct too! between 10.30-11am.. so we might just bump into each other there!! heee...

uk, i went with SA to Japan before. not bad. wah.. what's ur budget for Greece/Eastern Europe/Egypt? planning to "disappear" for a month? hee..

bedazzle

green,
I'm not sure about AIA insurance, though I'm a policy holder myself. But my policy sucks lor, bcos of the cash value issue, think i hv to pay till v old.

But the AIG travel insurance is different. It's quite good cos my friend claim b4. Maybe different companies hv different strengths eg. AXA has quite good car insurance.

But then hor, it could be possible cos they might have stated in the documents regarding the claim process and limitations. So it's v important to read through the documents properly and to fully understand what it's about.

If anyone wants any financial planning or advice I can do it for you... no obligations.. I'm not fr "A" company. I'm from "P" company...

Pls dun take this as soliciting for business hor... cos I feel sometimes I'm in a tricky situation. I can talk to strangers abt insurance and they benefit fr it, but yet when it comes to pple I know, or my friends, it's tricky.

lsntyl

dor>hee, ya lor. I was quite surprised when my father told me the bed last how long le. Its still pretty comfortable. Don't really feel when FH turn next to me.

Ya, I think AIG insurance is quite good. My insurance agent also recommends it eventhough she is from GE. Btu if Tenet got good promotion during NATAS fair, will b more worth it to get from them. :p

uk_fung

hahha is not all the 3 place hahaha is either of these place :p Although I hope that can happen

hmm I checked with Chanbrothers.. thinking to fix this agent.. but package got to see how lor.. the date I wanna go like quite limited choice.. plus got to hit the mix pax to go make the chance even smaller.. so abit sian...

if go Europe say 14D eastern europe will be about 5K after tax + discount le... going 6 countries like abit rush also.. dun feel like taking that package...
then greece is 10D about 3.5K after tax+discount... considering it...
Egypt one also 10D is about 2.5K after tax+discount... considering this too..

Just scare that book liao end up can't hit the min pax and we get to know only 2wks before travel date wor... isn't it too late to do F&amp;E by then and also if change other tour group they suggest my travel date is kinda fix and meaning I got to do somewhere I might not wanna go so much... so .... ya.. sian hahaha

~sblbee~

lsntyl,
thanks, most prob can only afford d 4 rm flat....but den i think competition is stiff so most prob wont b able to get a unit frm d balloting :p

lost,
wah, sounds like u got a gd deal frm d top up
do show us ur pics when u have them ok?

crayonv

<font color="aa00aa"> Appreciate all girls for the Great Adv....haaaa....but i m thinking wat amount to give in the end....stress...haaaa, i even thought of like using diff currencies sial...</font>

<font color="0000ff">care to roughly PM/Email me your MAX amount set to gic each JieMei or the LUMP Sum Please??</font>

thanks so much!!

crayonv

<font color="ff0000">in addition, i have already given them a treat recently during our discussion..haaaa, at cafe cartel..haaaa....then will be booking a room for them in the afternoon on AD....thus now i m vexing over the amount tO be given....in the LUMP sum,heee</font>

thanks all

lsntyl

viv>sorry, cannot help cos really don't know how much we will give in the end. I also don't have as many jiemeis as you.

providencia

MeiLing, best of luck.

Sigh, at the rate that things are, property prices won't be dropping drastically, so unless you have the luxury of time (till 2010 maybe), perhaps one may have to be subjected to the current market forces - my 2 cents only.

Flora, you weigh the pros and cons lah, whatever suits you best, there's no best solution.
Can get a flat hood, if you really want to, won't take up a lot of space, can put a cabinet above the hood too.