(2008) Brides of year 2008

lsntyl

Take care, Karen. Maybe check with your FH's family. I think whether its marry b4 or after 100 days depends on the family traditions.

I think you need to check with your hotel and BS. Don't think they will cancel the deposit if you are just postponing the event bah. But you don't need the car and AD gown anymore?

kjustina81

ERm .. the xiong di's i let my hubby decide cos ultimately their his frens ... but since xiong di's are usually the driving gang they will hv to come with car then fuel charge so high now .... etc etc ... plus at night they hv to organise yr table to table also won' eat much....

but my hubby treat his bunch to dinner b4 the event... think he bao them $80 cos they got no gate $$ haha

ezvy

Karen> actually I have a friend tat have the same scenerio as you, her grandfather pass away 106 days b4 her wedding (her wedding also on 14 sept), the correct say should be either have wedding within 100 days, or 3 years later...
My friend have an idea which you may consider, have the morning ceremony within 100 days, but stick to the same day for banquet coz the pandang issue is the morning ceremony.

Rach> Glad tat I am not alone.....The redang cruise was inclusive in our package of $3388, tats why we went, will not spend add for oversea shot, but once you go there have to spend much on photos. Mine is in 2 album as well, indoor and outdoor. In this case, seems like mine is relatively cheap coz our bridal shop still provide us with free 4pcs of 15R family photos with frame for both my FH and my family ( originally was $1K for 4pcs of 15R.)...but my gown is all OTR...

I haven print my wedding card insert leh..coz my Fh still haven sort out his guest list..always give excuse for his delay...plan to print at T&T, think you gals went in earlier to print...anyone bought invitation card from them?? anyone put photos on the card/insert..care to share?? I intend to put photos on the inserts (insert or card huh?? i also not sure, saw from other forum tat only need to add RM20 which is relatively cheap).

praisey

hi serene and R&J, we are in the same boat. i sent all my invites and he havent at all. No point getting angry.. i am now in KL, going away 2weeks and back in time for wedding. I am super stress too.

waxie24

neko> of cos u can have 1.. haha.. i prefer to have none actually.. cos i hate sitting at VIP table.. i cannot choose my food.. everything pre-allocated by the waitress

LSnTYL,
Thanks, of coz I won't disappear. u gals have been so nice!

Neko,
It's better to have 2 separate tables according to my mum and in-laws. They will ask other close relatives to sit at empty seats.

Karen,
It depends on your hotel. I guess your full deposit won't be lost if u postpone. Please check the terms on your contract & your banquet coordinator. No point for us to guess ;) My one states 50%.

earthsea

Hey girls, wish me luck. Tomorrow I'm going shoe shopping at City Plaza (heard there's nice wedding shoes) and Great World City (Charles and Keith sale). Hope I will get my shoes there

flora_bliss

keer, I've got no time to start my montage yet. Too many things to do for my hse reno and exam preparation. Hopefully I can start on it when I pass my exam.

jrgal

Hi ah net,
another example also..my hubby and myself..we actually had a huge quarrel due to traditions and fengshui also.. I hv nothing against fengshui and traditions,will try to follow if it is nt very troublesome. My hubby insist on engaging tis particular fengshui master to calculate the dates of our wedding n wedding stuff cos his sister recommended..i wasn't reali keen on it. Turn out the fengshui master nvr reali bothered to give us the dates for GDL n an chuang,n quite evasive when my hubby call him. Then my hubby wanted to change fengshui guy and pay up a new fee.. I blew my top and we quarrelled.felt it was reali a waste of money,n it was ironical tat the fengshui was to make our wedding more smooth going n marriage everlasting,bt we quarrelled so hard over it instead..

hence this is another thing to ponder abt..=p

koyoyo

hmmm mia a while .. the meeting place changing??
anywhere fine by me.. Is the black dress code still applicable???
Welcome back nelle!

rayrachel

YL> yeah.. usually i'll tell them if they are okay.. i'm okay to turn up..

Yah..my best fren giving birth in Aug..so by then still confinement.so cant come..want to come also cannot.. haha...
But she came for my ROM liaoz..and she gave me a BIG AP loh.. hehehe... big enough for AD la..

wongfam> huh?? i tot i told u he didnt receive.... did u managed to confirm with him or u just waited for him to reply?? oh no...
I can't PM u.. can u PM me?? click on my nick.. send me soemthing.. i'll give u some more contacts..

Karen> deposit wont be gone.. talk to the venue.. they should be able to understand..coz got valid reason..and its a death.. can negotiate one..

Ivy> I had 2 8R table tops...and 72 4R to give aways.. i have 2x5R mini albums too..

But i think u had a better deal coz u went overseas.. hehe.. which BS are u from?
I had MTM EG.

we yet to plan..just got back some pics today.. H will design..and likely we'll be going in..... dunno..if he's fast.. we prob can go in coming Monday to print..

Parents also rushing liaoz.. :p

You can refer to my multiply. "rayrachel"
Got invites with photos.. i took some pics the last time.. under photos... JB Findings..

Yah... extra RM$20 for the pic.. but depends on what paper u print on also..

neko> can have 1 too..
if u dun have enough.. 1 is okay..

eunicet

Wah, everyone taking exams hor!
Are you all young brides too? What kind of exams?

And I'm interested to do a photo montage myself too!! What kind of software (besides the normal Windows Media Player) is available?

I'm also intending to do a photobook once I get my PS photos!! So exciting!!!!! :D Thanks for all the info girls!

its good that you girls are so positive about ur wedding, my SIL dun seem excited at all..haiz..
its a once a lifetime event...

strawbsc

Ivy > mine is oso on 14th sept~~hurray~~

jrgal > mine is the opp.I m the pangtang kind.I choose the dates by the fengshui master while my fh is those that dun believe in anything except himself kind.We quarrelled abt the dates till we decide to draw a line to the things we plan for the AD.

Net > I think its a spur of the moment where both of you are in anger.Has he had any other moments that he lose his temper that much?Like maybe punching the wall etc?Sometimes when u quarrel like that,should cool down abit 1st then talk.
I had a gf who got married (knowin that her hubby had a short temper).Her hubby pushed her during a quarrel as she tried to leave the room.SHE WAS PREGNANT at that time,but both parties didn't know.Luckily the bb was all right.
My fh and I also have a issue abt the pangtang thing.I m pangtang and he is not.But we did sit down and talk abt.There are beliefs that each of us would have and I think as a partner,ur fh should also to respect it and the same time both of you must come to a point.you will also have to respect some of his.There is a give and take.I think before marriage,there is need to talk abt it lor. Hope you solve this..maybe u can tell him ur parents pang tang?

green > u are very rational gal!!I must salute to you.I got frens ard me who just marry even though they know they husbands are like dat and regret!! I get so many divorces cases ard me sometimes I will feel sad.I think if you discuss with ur hotel co-ordinator nicely,they will not fine you bah.My gf changed her hotel venue and they allowed her to w/o any any fines.

waxie24 > soo good!!you dun have march-in!!I have~~that is so sad.I m trying so hard to convince my fh that I wan to eat the full course lunch!!I will try harder..he says he will buy MACdonald's for me to eat before the wedding lunch!Yucks..I wan to eat the good food leh.

all > I went for food tasting liao..haiz..the food sucks leh.Can't expect much from a buffet.I dread the day of wedding,I think it will be worse.

rayrachel

wongfam> i checked with Melvin.. he said he was waiting for ur deposit.. but u wanted to wait... so the other couple paid 1st..

Its like that one.. whoever pays first get the job first.. Mmmm... how come u never faster put the deposit with him?

Strawclare,
Thanks. I'm waiting for my hotel's news from bf, later I'll check with him. I'm letting him handle the 'mess' of the wedding postpone.

Well I've a few friends who are divorcees. I'm happy instead of sad for them. It's better to separate if love isn't there anymore for each other or there's serious problem that cannot be solved. Some have found their true happiness with another partner now.

My 2 bride friends ate the buffet with us. I see no problem with bride eating & mixing around the guests. Your FH so cute to suggest Mac haha.

xinyi_reiko

hi ladies...

Finally my AD is over.. all the things happen so fast. had a lot of fun on that day. now waiting for my PG and VG to do up the photos and the videos..

1 yr of preparations... for just 1 day event... i going to miss it..

crown

I've called up You Long Zi and checked with him the timing (JI SHI) he gave us which is 9 to 11am. My FMIL is right sia. 9 am can step into bridegroom's house. Not 9am then pick bride up.

Now i have to go accordingly to what she wan, ask my FH to come earlier to pick me up then reach their house at 9am. She said like that we can have some rest in the afternoon.

The extra $ which we need to pay the makeup artist cannot run away liao.

For those who is looking for GDL stuff. I went Gin Thye cake maker at Sembawang road today. 3 items for $40.

It consist of a tea set, a pair of bedside lamps and (wash basin, mug, teapot and plate). I think it should be cheap bah

waxie24

crown> u ordered ur "xi bing" from Gin Thye? mind telling me how much it cost there? I've check the honglim (poh something) pastry shop - small box $18, big box $22..

i've collected my inserts from focal-ad today.. very satisfied with the prints... we did hotstamp, they returned us metal template (which we've paid for)..

providencia

Hi MeiLing, went to Bali and Vietnam, next trip will be in a while.
How's the indoor wedding shots? By the time we meet, both you and Koyoyo would have finished the PS and can share your experiences with us

Nelle, Raffles City still got coffee club? That place has changed a bit leh.

mary_poppins

Is the coffee club at a hard to notice corner? I happen to pass by it yesterday when I was at Raffles City.

Meiling's PS sounds exciting. Really look forward to see the final product.

providencia, did you buy lots of things from Bali and Vietnam?

strawbsc

green > Actually its same here,I m happy for frens that can find true happiness in their partners.But to hear a divorce every mth is abit over,I will question myself has the world changed.Oh wells,whatever will happen will happen in the end.
Glad to hear that ur bf is taking up the responsibility to clear the mess.thats a good start lah.
Normal to cry lah,but to make this decision shows that u do sit down and think.Some of my gf dun lor..cry cry...complain complain dan life goes on...prob gets worse..cry more..complain more and no action..

My bf hates Mac actually,he is very "cheena",like to eat rice kind.Even when he goes to US,he finds Chinese resturant to eat rice...while I m a fries person..haha..

He wans me to be pretty pretty and change gowns during the lunch to show off..Ehh~~~but I hate to change gowns..I rather eat lor.

I chose the hotel because it seems good,never really tot abt food till now..I chose Hilton.My 10 guests that sat for the food tasting's verdict : The bread rolls and their famous cheese cake is up to standard!!!

My fish was hard,I tot it was chicken,My duck's skin was rubbery,my chicken like not smoked...the soup~~~ehh....I chose Guspacho...not an Asian Liking..haha..

Already made few comments and will do some changes,hope it is ok..Well,actually most of my guests are only interested in the wines and champagnes lah.My colleagues are drinkers.So I think good wines will do the trick I hope.. ("p)

flora_bliss

Eunice, I'm definitely not young lor. Already 30 yrs old liao. I'm taking the exam for a project management course.

Cynthia, maybe your SIL is too busy at the moment?

earthsea

Hi all, had a fruitful shoe shopping trip today!
Bought two pairs of 4-inch heels I absolutely love from this shop in City Plaza called Midas. The shop seems to cater to a lot of brides- heh heh, no surprises as most of their shoes are 4-inch high, come in many colours and have special designs. The shopkeepers are also very friendly and give discounts (20%-30%). Now I'm only looking for one more pair to go with my white WG (I know 3 pairs is really greedy right? Nvm, only getting married once...)

Then I went to Charles and Keith in Great World City. For brides to be going for winter honeymoons, you must check out the sale on boots at that outlet only! I bought my knee high boots for only $30! Pictures on my multiply if you wanna see

Cynthia, don't worry, I'm sure your SIL will get excited when it gets closer to the date! There are lots of different brides out there- not everyone gets excited in the same way. One of my friends did her ROM completely private, and didn't wear a wedding dress. That's the way she wanted to do it, so she was happy.

My ROM is going to be at the hotel function room before the dinner. I hope they decorate the room for me!

Erlina, I want to go somewhere in the forest for that mysterious LOTR look, and also the CBD cos I love the Robinson Rd look (but dunno if i can since it's a weekday). Also cos my HTB and I love coffee, we were thinking about some shots hanging out at a Starbucks or something.

crown

waxie,

i havent order yet cos my Future ILs not urgent one. Duno when they want to order. I just went there and have a look what they have.

If you want, you can give them a call and ask

Tel: 6257 1566 / 6758 3742
423 Sembawang Road S758392

eunicet

florabliss: Hehe, I see...30 years old still young lah. Anyway, like my dad likes to say, "Age is a matter of the mind...If you don't mind, it doesn't matter!!" Haha!

Earthsea: Congrats on your shopping spreeee!! But wah, 3 pairs of shoes ah! Steady lah...Anyway, with regard to your photoshoot location, I can really picture the Starbucks shots...So dreamy and romantic...Throw in a rainy day look and it will be quite cool! Plus if the photos are in a bit sepia...Hehe...But someone was telling me CBD area on a weekday is quite bad unless you don't mind people staring, and don't mind many other people in the photos!

straylamb

Place: Ms Clarity, Purvis Street
Confirmed: LSnTYL, rach , strawclare, neko, straylamb, spoiltbabe, waxie, soyabeans, ahnetsan, crown, ivy

i most prop will b late so will go ms clarity directly, will call rach if i lost mi way =p
missed the previous 2 outings... excited to meet u all... wahaha... hope more pple come... green leh??
i juz got mi sample insert from tdragon for mi invitation cards too... both mi parents n both bf's parents are included... for names of guests... i also will write juz mi friend's name... friens no need soo formal ba?
Ivy... mi AD also on zhong1 qiu1 jie2!

soo many things happenin...
green... hope u can settle e hotel issue =) ur bf must realli haf realise u r takin tis veri seriously... mayb everything will turn out smooth... jiayou!

net... sometimes guys realli dun realise their strength... thk must realli emphasize to them... little strength is realli not little loh... i agree w spoiltbabe, no matter wat reasons also cannot dong4 shou3 loh... tat is not an honorable way to win an argument...
but then... mi married frien always say... during weddin preps period is e time where she n her husband argue e most... now she is happily preg with her 2nd child liao...
soo thk gettin married is realli a gamble... it's hard to tell whether a person will change or will stay e same forever... i noe someone whose husband is realli e lao3 shi2 (honest) type before marriage, but after tat got influenced n become heavy gambler... e poor wife... haiz...

karen... i heard e same... either marry within 100 days, if not, then after 3 yrs...

Strawclare,
I think u have more friends than me. 1 divorce case every mth around u is a bit kuazhang leh. Nevertheless, there are many blissful marriages around us. Some of my friend couples were so mushy until I got goosepimples lor!

Hilton was actually my first 3 choices last year. But I faced problem getting replies from their coordinator. I sent email and called 2 times, no reply. I quite like their ballrooms, though I heard of the famous parking problem for guests.

Please remind your guests to come earlier to find parking lots nearby. The way u describe the various meats is very funny LOL. Dun worry, I think the hotel will take your comments and make improvements. Hotel industry relies a lot on their reputation ;) Haha I also rather rest & eat than change gown in the day, cos we will be super busy at the nite.

Straylamb,
Thanks. My hotel coordinator is nice and gives very prompt replies all the time. I'm glad my hotel doesn't give me problems like my bridal studio. Hotel coordinator asked us to pass her a few dates we want in Jan, while she seeks her boss for approval.

On the contrary, it's my bf who's scared of me being violent to him. He told me this fear b4 lol. I already asked him to choose Xiao Qiang or Tai Qiang? I'll sneak them into his pants during his sleep if he ill-treats me. He was surprised how I knew his fear for Xiao Qiang. Hehe I saw how he suddenly got tensed up when one passed by him in the distance :X .

Crown,
Btw I think it's a smart move to use foodtasting table for ROM!

You Long Zi charges how much for each consultaton to get dates & timings? I need to get dates for Jan.

Net,
How are u & bf now? Hope the conflicts are resolved

I realise u & bf sometimes face problems in deciding $$ contribution. Have u both discussed how each contributes to utilities, groceries etc after marriage? It's good to hear each other's expectations out.

Straylamb,
Well everything in life involves some risks. Even changing a job has risk, eg. new job maybe worse than old job. You'll be fine
Other ppl's marriage fail doesn't mean our one will fail too.

strawbsc

green > yes..too kua zhang until I oso cant believe myself..
Thanks for the advise,will ask my guests to come early.heehee~

ohhh noo...poor guy..haha..you noe his fears and you can "threaten" him liao..haha..fear of xiao qiang ..next time ur hm must keep very clean dan..keekee~~otherwise got xiao qiang,and u will have to protect him liao...

lara

congrats xinyi_reiko! wish u n ur hubby have a wonderful marriage

i juz had my hen's night last night.. very tiring

bedazzle

when my mum see me very stressed doing the wedding preps, she'll always tell me to keep it simple. She said that no matter how nice the wedding is, it's only a one day event that the guests will forget soon. But how the 2 of us maintain our relationship is the most important. No point hving a v grand wedding and end up divorce.