(2008) Brides of year 2008

annabella

Hi Meiling,

Dun worry too much, they won't show u all the photos, yr photographer will delete the absolutely ugly ones.

For every pose, the photographer will take a few shots so as to capture yr most beautiful moments.
So you will see alot of repeating poses, minus the repeating ones and choose only those that both of u like.

Err, I think you are very likely to spend alot on yr topping up since you alr have in mind to top up to 2 albums. Try to neg. for more discount/freebies. For my case, I took back all my hard and soft copies by topping up 25pcs at a reasonable price. Keep reminding yrself not to spend too much on it, the savings can be used for another round of PS for yr Anniversary.

rayrachel

YL> nono.. i mean when u write the guests name on the card..what u intend to write?? how u address them??

lsntyl

rach>ohh, donno leh. not at that stage yet. I think I will just write the names of friends. No need Mr. The relatives, I passing to the parents to write and decide.

lsntyl

Anyway, latest update.

Confirmed: LSnTYL, rach , strawclare, neko, straylamb, spoiltbabe, waxie, soyabeans, ahnetsan, crown, ivy

Will place a reservation for 11 pax at Ms Clarity tomorrow. But we can change to zi char next Mon if you gals want.

pinjie8275

Hi pinky_devil, we are all getting marry in Dec 08 that's why this thread is called 2008 Dec Brides. (^_^)

Anyway, what type of ROM package u r looking for? Bridal shop, hotel or restaurant? If u want something special and has the budget, do consider Singapore Flyer, Zoo, Sentosa, etc.

Previously 1 forum buddy told me that her solemnization package with Equinox quite reasonable. They actually charged per pax based on the usual high tea buffet price unless u requested for a private room, etc...

If u r on budget, maybe u might want to consider Furama RiverFront. Got good comments about it. I can recommend u my co-ordinator if u r interested.

(^_^)

piyo1818

Hi BBIguana... Yah. Both havent buy wor. Actually mattress which brand good and cheap ah? We looking at Latex kind. Anyone got any advice?

Yah. My friend will be one of the jiemeis. She yong xin liang ku.

Hi R&J... stay calm on the guest list sitting arrangements. A married friend advised we can do it even one wk b4 AD cos usually till last min, there'll b changes. So even if friends confirmed they are coming, mayb till the day b4, they'll inform u that they are not coming. So save the time to prepare other things bah.

Our parents also later asked if they can add more tables. Just be firm and tell them "No more space liaoz".

tay_weiwei

Hi Meiling and Koyoyo, I think i am having 2nd thoughts on the JB studio for photography, yeh, i worried it would turn out too drama mama and also like 881 costumes! Haha! Guess we shall stick with none or get a local BS to do for us.

400?? WOW! Your photographer is very hardworking, which means you have high chance to top up pictures too! I agree with Annabella, need to nego for better discount. Or save the $ for your aniversary photoshoot!

~sblbee~

annabella,
i heard dat d 400+ may b double shots, hopefully it is den wont have to part wif so much $ le....i see how it goes 1st cos i havent see d pics, mayb i wont top up a lot after seeing how ugly n fat i look :p

weiwei,
perhaps u can wear ur own gown n den engage a PG who can do ur AD n pre-wedding for u....den u can wear ur other dresses for ur photoshoot as well

hehehhe....my fh n i have expected to top up at least $3K for my pics le, hopefully tis budget is enuff :p

hi pinky devil...
except me, who is not getting married but SIL is..so as their "wedding planner", I am here to seek advise from brides to be here.

i am currently helping her to source for photographer and MUA, and have contacts with me. PM me if you need them.

uk_fung

wa won't be 881 kind ba! not that bad la... some still ok one.. jut that u need to travel to JB now and then to choose to coordinate lor... have you get your AD PG?? maybe if PS is not a must then on your AD time u can ask your PG to take for you some outdoor shots.... then u can have nice nice pic la

hi pinky devil
pls provide your expectation on your ideal ROM.
how many people?
you prefer hotel/ garden setting.
amara is a popular choice, peony jade, YUM CHA..all quite popular place.

My SIL will be ROM at their lovenest.

ezvy

neko> thanks for ur warm welcome..

Rach> My wedding is on 14 Sept...

ok, so i will see u gals on next mon at city hall (outside body shop) at 7pm...btw, where is body shop hah, too long never go city hall liao... is it at citylink or at raffles city?? How do i contact any of you incase I will be late or have any urgent matter...

rayrachel

Ivy> PM me ur number by clicking on my nick..

Will give u my no. too..

I also dunno where is Body SHop.. haha.. i tot that is URS?? hehe.. at Control station there....

lsntyl

Thanks for collating names, Rach! :D

URS oso can but usually v crowded there so I thought Body Shop better. Is Raffles City upstairs. Come up escalator can see le.

jule

BBlguana, I wanted the rope design to stand out, thus Evelyn recommended me to take the gold rose rope with the ring in white gold. Cheaper also :p you dont accept pm ah.. u pm me with urs and i reply u how much

My HTB has a similar design but only 2 diamonds. I was the one who wanted something different.

dorisq

Hi Mrses~~~ I'm back!!!! Wow... I'm glad that everything went on smoothly.. But i was dead drunk on my wedding night. Haha.. Overall a special feeling... But now was upset with the photographer that i had engaged on my wedding day.. Can you imagine??? Till now, he still haven have my 300 pics choose... The excuses he gave me is he is very busy!!!! My god!!! Everyone was already asking me for the pics of that day~~~ How's all the mrses life getting on????

necrosis

meiling!!!
woohhhhoooo....PS how?
so cool ya stand in shop display...model liao ah!!! ;)
nice nice...cant wait to see your pics.
oh, how come your indoors so fast ones?

babyiguana

Hi Jule,
I'm not aware that my PM is off.. Hmm.. how to i on it? pls teach me.. My HTB's ring have 7 diamons and mine 10.. hehehe..=p

Hi piyo1818,
I was told that maxcoil is nt bad and quite cheap.. Have not personalli try it yet.. You can go to renotalk and take a look at the comments on this brand.. ;)

Hi R&J,
Thanks.. kekeke.. wow! hens nite... will be very interesting.. hehe.. Mine will be in jul.. so busy with table arrangements nw.. my tables are max for ballroom and numbers still going up!! *fainted*

~sblbee~

cyc,
thanks! yah lor, v tired now....whole body aching,must admit im getting old le :p
i'll b wearing tiaras wif my WGs....i bought 2 in fact :p

~sblbee~

nec,
heheheh....PS was fun but tiring esp when it stretched to 12 hrs....no wonder my PG was tired n so was my fh :p
my indoor only took 1 gown mah....dat's y it's less than 1 hr....i got 7 more gowns to take on tis coming sat....wish me luck ok? :p

ezvy

may i know how many photos did you gals top up for your album??
I actually top up $3000 for 63 more photos (63pcs + 30pcs free with package, total 93pcs)...plus $200 for a 140cm poster photo.

Total damage is $3200 + $3388 (Package)=$6,888.

So heartache...can't get to sleep last sat after selecting the photos..but my fh and i got no choice as we went to Redang via cruise virgo..took alot of beautiful scenery....

tay_weiwei

Thanks for the great idea, actually since mine is a lunch event, it would be good if my AD photographer can take some picture for us after the event end. I had engaged husband's friend, he is a freelancer, saw his work, quite good and reasonable charges.

Travelling to JB is indeed tiring, and i don't know their standard and also i heard alot of crimes.

But i do envy all the brides here, seems like you all are have a ball of good times enjoying your photoshoots!

piyo21

Peony Jade is a nice place to hold the ROM cememory. That day, i met my JP(who had already retired). He is now helping snow city to do up something, so that pple can do their rom there which I think it's special. Maybe can call n ask.

For me, I did mine @ our lovenest.

annabella

Hi WeiWei,
Mine is a lunch event too, we have a colleague to take photographs for us and he's ok to go for some outdoor and night shoots after the event.

I think our worry would be not getting drunk due to guests persistent.

ermmm

thinking of having our solemnisation on the pooldeck of our apt... if cannot, then function room lor... will be on the same day as customary, so want it to be simple and hassle-free...

Update on EG : Designer said that the seamstress is sick these few days, so can't go for fitting until next weekend..
so sad... sob sob..

ahnetsan

yeah crown, i'll be gg back to sembawang.

wah ivy, ur package is cheap leh! so good... top up only $3000 for 63 more photos!! wow!!! WOW, you went Redang for ur PS. that's cool!!! i think my package is too expensive.

cat, yeah, will go for this gathering. i only went for the first gathering, den missed the 2nd one... hopefully no last min work on monday, cos my boss flying off to jakarta on tuesday...

rach, you still have my number right? i'll sms u if im late on monday. btw, can sms me at 5pm to remind me mah? cos i cant go internet during office hours, cant check tis forum for more updates, and i might forget abt the gathering if im busy. thank you!!

ahnetsan

gals, i have a bad news to share.

im like green now, thinking carefully abt whether i shd marry my bf...

on monday, fh's mother's cousin passed away. she wanted us to go to the funeral last nite and the cremation tmr.

apparently my colleagues and frens tel me that i shdnt be going to any 'hong' 'bai' stuff 3 months before my wedding... and the funeral is jus 3 months before my wedding lor... and im actually quite supersititous regarding such thing de, and anyway, i dun like my MIL. and i dun even know who died lor. all i know is that her ONLY relative died, and dat he's a super old man liao lor.

i told my fh not to go... den he flare up. when he came home, he say why i always listen to wat other ppl say and y i dun haf my own stand. he also say his mother wont harm us by tellin us to go to the funeral one wat. (well, who knows)

den he say i shdnt let a funeral affect the way we handle and maintain our marriage. i angry lor, cos he shouted at me, so i shouted back lor. we ended up shouting at each other. and he even squeezed my arms lor. painful lor. he claim he only use little strength, but his lttle strength is still very strong for me lor.

if nw he can squeeze my arms and shout at me, den next time, he prob slap me and kill me.

he also say i am his wife now, so i must listen to him. KNN and bullshit right??? not as if im his maid or slave lor, why must i listen to him regarding his family matters???!!!

ANGRY!!!

msbean

me also kana bad news in 5min ago , my bf ah gong maybe cant make it . if he die we maybe cant marry . Their family not so close to his ah gong one leh , all like Bo chai one . He tell me if he die we cant marry must postpone . so disappointed

Any advise ?

Ahnet so did he say sry to you after u say is painful ? is him a violent type of guys?

vernwyen

oh dear... how come suddenly so many bad news??

net:
sorry to say, but your fh should not lay his hand on you, regardless of whatever reasons. I also believe in the 3months cannot attend 'red/white' matters, its better to make sure we do our best in making the marriage a blissful one rather than one fine day this will be brought up to the quarrel table.
Does he treat you like this before? It could be bcoz (1) he is under wedding pressures; (2) his mum kept nagging him; (3) he is a mummy's boy. Give both of you sometime to cool down and explain to him your concern.

vernwyen

ivy:
we are having the same AD!

karen:
hmm, IMO is good to postpone the wedding. I quite pantang type lah so i will try to avoid all these if possible. Does your bf tell you when is the earliest month to have the AD again? For wat i know some ppl is 100 days later.

jrgal

hi Ah Net,
i can understand what u mean..I also actually went to my hubby's gd fren father funeral 2 days ago. I tried to think nt to be so superstitious myself,cos paying last respect to ppl onli. And if we mean well,then our wedding will nt be "affected".bt tat's my thinking la. some more tis fren will attend our wedding.

abt ur hubby squeezing ur arm..hrm,i tink mayb both of u are in a heated argument, thus a bit out of control. Think when u both cool down already, speak to him n let him knw tat u are very disturbed by the fact that he "physically" hurt u n u are afraid that it may happen nxt time. tell him if reali getting married he muz promise tat it will nvr happen again cos it can lead to family violence. n let him knw tat u din wan to go for the funeral cos u value ur marriage n wanted to make sure that nothing will affect ur coming wedding.. cool down and sort things out oki??

vernwyen

rachel:
for addressing of guests in invites, i will put the name of the person i know. If i inviting her spouse i will put "xxxxxx and Spouse(Partner)". My friend use another style. She got the name of our buddy's husband and wrote "Mr and Mrs xxxxx"

Karen,
Yes same as babe's reply, I heard the wedding cannot be hold within 100days of grandparent's death. 1 couple postponed their banquet to 4 months later with my hotel due to grandpa's death at bride's side.

Net,
Does your Bf show other actions of violence beside that day or does he have problems controlling his anger? If answers are NO for both, you can just tell him know that u dun like him squeezing your arm (like jrgal's advice).
If answers are YES for both, take some time to observe your BF after talking to him.

Violence is a very serious problem. My dad is violent to my family. No gal will want to sleep beside a man who'll harm her anytime.

I had chatted with this gal before. I feel worried for her and daughter's safety now. Her hubby sometimes forced her to sit down during arguments before the wedding. After wedding, hubby became more violent eg. hurt her when she was pregnant.
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/5/688936.html?1213251373

Thanks for all your concern. Dun be affected by our sad stories ok!

For the few of us with problems, I think it's good that we discover about certain issues now rather than after the weddings.

waxie24

net> ur AD 23 sept hor, 22th june is the start of 3 mths before ur AD to be exact..

opps.. i tot wedding must be held within 100 days after the white.. else must wait 3 yrs?

i think if the guest is more senior than us, I'll use Mr n Mrs, else i think i jus put name + partner..

lsntyl

Net>I agree that your FH should not use any violence at all. Like what the others say, cool down and think carefully if its the 1st time he ever did that. Maybe in the heat of the moment and with the stress from the wedding and his mom, he got carried away? If the funeral really falls within 3 months of your wedding and you are v pantang, then explain to him nicely why you prefer not to attend. If its out of the 3 months, then go lah. You might not like your future MIL but give face to your FH. Unfriendly relations between your FMIL and you will only put your FH in a difficult position.

Karen>I think if his grandfather really goes, then no choice have to postpone. I'm sure your hotel, BS and other vendors will be understanding.

Green>not affected by the sad stories lah. Helps me to treasure my current smooth relationship.

Actually, FH's good uni fren is getting married in Aug, 1 month before our wedding. She invited us last year le. But I donno if we should attend leh. I'm not v pantang but donno whether to play safe or not. FMIL say as long as not in same month of our wedding is ok. But almost everyone else I know say is 3 months diff... A bit confused.

waxie24

oh gals.. i've visited the PC show at suntec this afternoon... if u are looking for TVs.. i think I've got a good deal from samsung: 32" LCD TV for $1299 + free $100 robinsons voucher + Free installation (prices varies with diff choice of mounting rack)+ choice of Free gift: A) Home theatre, or b) 21" slimTV + DVD player

waxie24

YL> my coll's wedding is 31 Aug.. 2 weeks before mine.. i actually dun mind going but my mom says 31 aug is my GDL day, its like big day cheong big day.. advisable not to attend wor..

ahnetsan

spoiltbabe, he's usually not like dat one. this is the 2nd time he flare up at me. and both times are cos i refuse to attend his family gatherings or funerals or watsoever. he always say im making things difficult for him when it comes to his family matters.

karen, actually can marry one leh, i know need to get married within 100 days. within 100 days
marry can le, i've g0t a fren also like dat de, she brought forward her wedding instead. i also think it's either within 100 days or after 3yrs, same as waxie's answer.

jrgal, actually ur fh's good fren shdnt attend ur wedding le, cos he's in mourning stage leh. dat's wat i heard from my colleagues. (she also has similar encounter, her best fren's mum died of cancer, and she cannot attend, cos she's mourning, shdnt attend ppl's wedding, which is a xi thing and her mum's death is bai thing. but, if you not pantang, den shd be ok.

sometimes i wonder why must a dead person cause so much unhappiness and trouble to living ppl, esp those getting married in a few mths time. sianz. haiz.

jrgal, i told him dat already. jus that he still think he's nt in the wrong for wanting to go to the funeral, and dat he still insist that a dead person wont cause harm to us marrying soon, and dat this is our marriage, attending a funeral shdnt and wldnt be suay to us, cos we paying our last respects to the dead.

waxie, wat u mean? so it's still nt within 3mths and dat it shd be ok even if i went for the funeral? so it's still safe?

lyn, yeah my fh always say he's stuck between his mum and me. he always say it's very difficult for him to be stuck between 2 women in his life. but then hor, he wan to please his mum, den i will have to suffer lor. and i dun understand y must i always the one giving in.

ahnetsan

something to share, i dunno whether it's jus pure overly superstitious or merely coincidences.

my colleague getting married next saturday. she's born in the yr of horse. so is her fh. and she's very pantang one. she din go to any red and white starting from the start of the year le. but den these few days i find that she's a bit suay le.

last week, her right eye suddenly swollen and red. both the upper and lower lids of the eye. and it still not recovered by now.

den yesterday when she went for facial, she says she lost the necklace which her fh bought for her. and while she went back the route to look for the necklace, she almost got knocked down by a car.

well, i dunno if it's jus coincidence or wat, but i find that if she's so super pantang, den why are such things happening to her?

soemthing to ponder abt.