(2008) Brides of year 2008

simplyserene

Hi JJ... sorry don't have that traditional wedding march song... Montage-wise... I was advised to look for slower paced songs. I don't think love songs are weird cos I'm using them

rjwedding

hi jj,

let me go back and ask my sister... she used canon in d for her church wedding last year.. will send to you if I got it..

i'm using Way Back Into Love for my childhood montage.. u can choose a music that is fun too.. actually think it's all depends what kind of mood do u want for your montage..

my 1st march in song will be the traditional wedding march which will be played on a piano by my friend.. 2nd march in song will be a chinese song ("Xu Yuan" by Gu Ju Ji & Gigi Liang) where my HB used when he asked me to be his GF 9 years ago..

find a song that best represent the both of u..

jedilim

Thanks you very much...hope to be able to get the canon in D.

wah so nice ur fren playing for u on piano during march in..wow...hotel has grand piano ah?

we dun really have a "song" cos those we like used to be those sad love songs...haha..so not suitable for weddings...

shortlisted following:
In love with you
In this life
From this moment
My endless love
One in a million (do u think appropriate?my hubby likes this song)

but haven't figure which song for what yet...

tay_weiwei

Wah...jus a few days never check...and so much post! I guess all of us are excited brides. And seeing all of you already plan so much worries me.

I had just ROM on 24th, and actually we did not want to hold our AD so fast. But there is pressure from his family, so we choose 10th Oct.

Right now, i am only in the stage of choosing my WG. Not planning to have photography, but if not, it would be expensive to rent. I was quoted by GHA that to rent 1 WG cost $1k! Gosh!

Mine is only going to be a small dinner for 30 people at the function room of the condo. Might have a separate one for friends in restaurant instead.

Anyway anyone have suggestion for decor in condo? I had my ROM at home too, just got simple yet elegant decor from my florist.

Overall,i guess my wedding is on a super budget. I wonder if that is good or not.

vernwyen

you all got any recommendations which furniture store has good quality wardrobe? We are looking for those sliding doors type, probably 2-3 doors.

fumiko_neko

can try funiture hall, or go sungnei kadut..dunno hw to spell..
those area got alot of funitures..i tink enuos oso hve..
dun buy fr Vhive..my fren buy..then v soon got white white thing appear...ask e ppl come down n they say they duno wat is tat white white spots...and cant even remove..
and have v bad after sales service

samanthaquekys

aj,
envy that u can stay with your parents. i'm gonna miss my mum n sis. mei n i got photo language for our AD. think he's not bad. =)

weiwei,
which florist did u get to do your rom deco? i'm looking for florist for car deco n wrist corsages. any recommendation, anyone?

clare,
the lighting shop is fernvale lighting & electrical at 21, seng kang west ave, #01-10. can go see see. =) the selection in the shop quite limited but u can ask them to custom make.

lsntyl

waxie>That's a good price! Will look out for it at the sales. At least now I've a gauge of the price.

Anyone knows what's the diff between cotton, cotton percale and cotton sateen? I only know high thread count is better. :p

cfay

Thanks a million to everyone.

Actually i had checked with my BS but they mentioned is ok but then i sort of worry. Hopefully, everything is on time bah.

raragal

Lara> I guess a week before... depends if ur hair color fades fast..mine will... so i did my color the day before my PS..

waxie24

YL>Cotton sateen – A soft and luxurious fabric weave in which most of the threads are placed on the surface of the sheeting, creating a satin-like sheen.
Percale – From the Persian "pargalah," percale is a smooth woven fabric of combed or carded cotton yarn.

waxie24

ur welcome.. i jus googled for it.. its up to ur pref... i've never read the difference except the thread count.. but normally i trust my sense of touch.. but i guess sateen will be more smooth.. hehe..

lsntyl

cheh. I thought you knew that off hand. :p I touched all 3 and find them all smooth leh. We ended up with cotton sateen cos FH say is softer.

jazzy_chimes

hi charma97, my MUA has advised me to bring along the basic makeup stuff like powder, lipstick, blusher, in case we need to touch up. Maybe u can do the same?

shybride

hi kioko, dun stress dun stress.. my AD is next tue (3 jun). let me give u a guide of my schedule. we only collected our album on 25 may. mani+pedi also 1 day b4 AD. final fitting was 23 may. met up with my florist 26 may. when's your AD? same as lara is when?

as for montage & facial, it's up to u la. given that you seem quite stressed, might not be worthwhile to do montage. unless u outsource it.. i have learnt that $$$ solves a lot of problems!! esp in wedding planning :p

guys are like that.. my HTB also like not gan chiong. he kept telling me still early. only 1 week left is still early meh??!!

shybride

oh yeah kioko, hmm your home prep seems to be quite rushed le. we finished our reno on 10 may and just managed to finish cleaning up & moving in the past weekend. you bought your furniture yet? if have, remember to call up the shops & arrange for delivery date. be prepared to spend at least 1 whole day at your new place waiting for the deliverymen, cos they usually give a range (eg 2 to 5pm) of time that they will arrive. plus different shops usually give different timings & we can't choose the exact time cos they have certain times for certain areas. the earlier u call, the easier it is to get the weekends. cos delivery dates are office hours (mon to sat, around 9 to 6pm). Ask your reno contractor to give u a CONFIRMED date that reno can finish.

and should start buying the small misc items like fans, rice cooker, airpot / water flask etc. we spent a lot of time & numerous trips to robinsons & john little & taka & IKEA :p i heard there's a robinsons sale at expo now? not sure cos i didn't go cos oredi finished buying everything by then. For anchuang, have u bought the bedside lamps & red/pink bedsheets? ]

oh yeah get a vacuum cleaner. it's VERY important! hope it helps! *pat pat*

i m going to IMM to buy bird's nest now!! hee hee

uk_fung

Super busy of work still for me...

let me see what to post hahaha

welcome to new comers!

wei:dun worry just draft out plan and follow one by one it will be get done v fast and some more yours is simple dinner no worry...If you feel like 30pax.. at condo scare dun have the feel of wedding.. you might want to consider having a theme or something special.. of coz depends your guest.. if all relative and they are not onz then forget it.. but if they are onz type.. maybe ask can ask them dress up to some special theme... then your deco follow the theme and it will be a fun night for you.... You can even have games and not like traditional wedding.. which in a way very unique...I suppose you will be doing catering.. maybe you can get those caterer that come with wedding deco.. then you save the time to serach additional deco and also save money...

As for gowns.. dun rent from BS if you are not taking package.. price is at the sky man.... you can rent from website like "Just gown" their gown not bad.... or you can buy a 2nd hand WG ar... or you can also can go online buy gown.. you will be suprise that it is not that ex after all..

If you have the budget and you want to add some more fun.. you can hire ppl sing during your wedding lor.. hmm I got contact of a 2 man guitar band.. of coz it will go back to the qn who are you inviting is your guest Onz type:p

then "Overall,i guess my wedding is on a super budget. I wonder if that is good or not" ... aiyo is your wedding! Simple also wedding do it big also wedding ma.. decided liao then dun regret about it... be it big or small you will still enjoy! coz most impt is you are married to your love one

Kel: hee hee your MIL good to you le.. true that alot of the MIL in singapore (me from HK la huh) I heard and experience are more on the "bochap" attitude.... very different from other country :p To those who MIL with no action hahaha suan le ba.. dun be unhappy.. think is the culture.... :p (get your hubby to hint your MIL la) hee hee

fernvale where?? hmm I staying in SK too.. but never come across le.. seems like alot of your are moving to SK area... good choice despite alot say what transport no good la.. far la... nothing there la.. hmmm I find it good wor.. go town only 30min MRT... then more quiet to stay in.. min basic stuff still have ar.. other things go out of SK and get lor.. good ma.. give excuse to walk walk other place.. else always stay in the same neighbourhood also sian ma hor.. by the way there is one 24hr NTUC now at bungkok MRT station there.. going to have food place and shop soon... quite good ar.. Stadium also going to be complete soon.. still got sea sport hub hahahha OK! enuff of SK

By the way, here is my website on wedding planning and wedding stuff. I have update some planning tips and experience.. er.. abit late to share for your.. but if you have friends need can ask them join the group.. and also if you see my post have anything to add just add comment and share with others

http://littleweddingstuffs.multiply.com/

eunicet

cfay: I guess like everyone says, it should be ok! Moreover, I'm taking in June cos my HTB is a teacher!!
Just make sure that they'll complete by your own timing in case you want to do other things with the photos before the wedding like your own slideshow or what...

Erlina: I downloaded the thing already! Can't wait to take a look...Do you know how long it will take for them to send it back? Are you intending to let people view it at your AD?

shybride

woo hoo gals! it's 6 days to my AD!! haha. by the way, you gals do have more than 2 gowns for wedding dinner right? when i told my frens i am changing from WG to EG to CS, they all tot 'wow so many' .. really too many meh? i tot most of you doing that or more changes :p

i had a bad experience with nicola from mama & misse recently. Went there to buy my CS, then arranged with the lady boss to meet up with nicola another day to choose a CS for my younger sis. then on the appointment day nicola didn't turn up! when her mum (the lady boss) called her she said she was busy with schoolwork.. -.-" but why never told us or the mum in advance? my sister had to travel all the way down lor.. iwas really unhappy
But i think the lady boss (aunty lucy) has been very nice to me since then haha. sorry gals, still no pic cos it's still with the shop.. collecting this Fri!

sorry so long never come here. it was madness trying to clean up my new place & move my things in.. luckily we finished last weekend! so now is the last lap of doing seating arrangements and songs. hope everything goes smoothly!

princess_sue

wah mrs kel, studio apt sounds really nice leh.. i wish .. ya have to stay with FH and in laws first but i really really do want to have my own home. Sometimes when i think about it.. i feel very sad.

hi wei wei, yes rental of gowns are more ex.. ( considered a la carte ma) and it does not really matter if yours is gona be a small function room... coz ultimately its the lifelong happiness that matters. You can have the grandest wedding of the century but if you are not happy think it is not worth a single dime. so dun worry about the small event. Your happiness is the most important.

Wah.. i dun see mei today... wru?
i m so bz lately... meeting the whole day again.

Btw, all those hello kitty fans out there... there is a so call ' hello kitty ' fair at tampines isetan level 2.

jyiah

congrates to all may brides.mine was last sunday and was a smooth and success ones too.now on honeymoon already!jiayou to the last batch may brides!

flora_bliss

shybride, I definitely have the WG + EG for banquet. But still have not decided whether to change into my tea dress/ CS towards the end of the dinner.

You better don't stress/ overwork yourself. Relax, get more rest and be pretty babe on your big day. Congrats!!!

lsntyl

ohh, congrats, shybride. I'm also only having WG+EG. Might not change into CS to say bye. Hope your CS comes out well. Ask aunty lucy give you discount lor. :p

gingerbread_gal

shybride,
All the best for your wedding!! I'm sure everything will go as smoothly as you had planned. Now, you just have to get enough beauty rest and avoid any stress and enjoy your very special day!
Do come back and let us know how your wedding went. Congrats!!!

I'm also having WG and EG although my sister was asked why i need evening gown even though mine is a day event :p

cutiephinphin

hi shybride

All the best for your wedding! Hope you'll hv a fun, memorable, romantic BIG DAY.

I'll be wearing WG, EG + CS last outfit too. So no worries
Look beautiful!

gingerbread_gal

shybride,
i see....i'm not a CS person so that's why I went for EG...to me, EG is just a term for a dress, and will need to change out of my WG otherwise movement will be difficult. But i think vanity played a part too
even my designer said I'm vain to want EG cos she said she can hook up my tulle train...

well, no turning back now cos the design for my EG is fixed...

jrgal

hi rach,
i top up 30 la..then a free small album,total of 60 altogether..and we din get bac all photos leh.

hi june,
so where did u book for ya HM? can get confirm dep for grp tours ah?or u going FnE?

hi LSnTYL,
u doing ps in taiwan ah?reali happening leh..i haven ordered the corsage yet..juz went wif hubby to suntec to buy the bridal car deco bears fr couple hearts in suntec tdy,got promotion..hee. oh ya,n i bought the aussino quilt,i bought the king size 2 mths ago,and chose the pink n cream one.The quality nt very fantastic,cos the sales person explained that it's meant more for the big day use,hence quality nt that gd. I like the design so i made do wif it=) i bought the cups and towels of the same series also..bed sheets i bought the plain cotton+satin one also,cos it's softer n more cooling=p

hi spoiltbabe,
i bought my waredrobe fr casa italy. They hv tis series which is made in singapore one,the quality much better than the msia made ones. cost us abt 800 for a 2 door,maybe u can go see??

hi gina,
i will love to join u all also..bt my wedding is 28th sept, so i hv to depart 29th sept=( then apparently alot of agencies hv only on 25th sept..=(

kitty_ng

Hey ladies, i finally sent out all my invites. Met my coordinator yest to finalise everything
Now left with GDL & an chuang.

Jun is coming! Wishing all jun brides a blessed wedding & a sweet HM

samanthaquekys

mei,
still bz with EV?

sue,
slowly la. we'll get our own place sooner or later. =) don't be sad, cheer up!

i think i got my jp. mr chia ti yu. same as polar.
he called me earlier when i was in the cinema watching sex and the city. didn't answer. but later he smsed me then i know it was him. sms him back and asked if he's available to be my solemniser along with some other qn. he said yes. should be replying to my qn whether he will be my solemniser i think. and asked me to email him.

polar,
what should i email him? my rom details again? coz i gave it to him earlier this week thru sms.
guess i should just it to him again ba. YEAH!!

ladies,
can't believe; we're getting married! I'M GETTING MARRIED!! 2 yrs ago i was thinking i'll be left on the shelf. lol..

dodolet

Just back from my BS again. I still cannot find an EG!! More like the EGs i like cannot fit me. T,T. So have to MTM, but need to see designer next week. SIGH.

I am having 1 WG for the day (BS provided), 1 WG (BS provided which is also my outdoor WG) to receive my guests, 1 EG (my own) for going around and 1 EG (my own)to send off my guests.

For my church wedding, my first WG is going to be used for the march in. It is beaded top and those puffy long and big bottom. It is also hard to walk around. So I am using the last EG to mingle with my guests after the church solemnisation.

knightley

Hiya All, can I ask if anyone here engaged pple to do photo montage on ur childhood to b4 marriage photos? Or most of u here will be doing it urself? Coz I absolutely have no idea whether to diy or pay pple to do it....

Btw, my PS is in Sept ne!!! So late! kekeke....but my BS assure me that they can get it done by my AD ne....so I trust them lor! kekeke....Next thurs gonna go for my first gown selection le!!! so excited!!! hehehe....really hope I wun be disappointed....u noe lah, brides always have the highest expectations when it comes to their wedding things...kekee....

leely

For me, I wanted a particular MUA and PG from the BS, so once the coordinator could find a day when they were free, we booked the date and went for PS.. I didn't want to end up in a stage where I have to compromise on anything (MUA / PG / album layout etc) due to time constraint, so whatever I can settle, I settle first..

Melon> Photobook is is something like those yearbooks which we get when we're in school.. Each page can contain either purely photos or photos with captions.. And you can do different layouts for each page..

Irene> My hotel provides a free video montage as one of the freebies.. But I think I would want more than 1 video montage for my wedding, so the rest of the videos I'll just make simple photo slideshow using powerpoint..

raragal

wongfam> hope he's able to help..think he's still available on ur AD..

jrgal> ooh.. okie.. then its reasonable la.. but 60 poses in how many pages??

raragal

shybride> wah?? how come $88 so ex? how big ur bottle??

Lara> need the coupon ma.. never tell me.. my fren still have 6 bottles to let go... she prefers the lower grade one.. haha.. funny.. but i prefer the top grade one... she letting go at buying price.. $44.. if u still need let me know..

zenith

rach,
your fren selling ah? i want to buy & try leh. but genuine one hor? where can i pick up? i live in jurong & my FH in bedok. so east or west is fine wif me.

btw,

does anyone know, for church wedding, when i march-in wif my dad, my dad is standing on my right side & i left (we facing the stage) rite? then where do the groom's parents sit? on the right of the aisle or left (also facing the stage)? then the paster sit beside the groom's parents or the brides's parents?

himawari

Hello !!

I am a Dec Bride too..

AD: 27 Dec 2008
Venue: Park Royal (@ Kitchener Rd)
Bridal Studio: Bridal Concept
AD PG: Not sure yet

There are really many 27 Dec bride here!!

~sblbee~

polarwhite,
it's ur PS day!!! have fun n im sure u'll b a pretty bride, we'll pray for gd weather for u ok? do share wif us ur pics when u r back, guz ur part-time ya huan aka ur bro wld have taken a few shots for u :p share wif us ur experience too

weiwei,
u can consider GHA's photography package at $988 wif 2 gowns n styling...it comes wif a 12-pc album....if u wana rent gowns separately it's more ex...i was quoted $2.4K for their EG when i was considering whether to take 2 different PS at 2 different BS but i dropped dat idea :p
perhaps u can chk out juz gowns like wat mrs chiew suggested, or if u r adventurous enuff can order online...guz will b cheaper...u can even buy frm daniel yam etc, guz will b cheaper than spending $1K on rental n u dun get to keep d gown :p actually i do envy u, i prefer to keep d wedding a small n cosy affair wif my close frens n relatives but cant do it cos both of us r d eldest...:p

mrs kel,
u can chk out d corsages under tis contact of mine in multiply...called flower fantasy, was recommended by a few brides who used her...rcved d feedback dat d corsages r cheap n gd...i juz ordered frm her yest :p

sue,
hehehe....sorry, yest was really busy for me cos i went to recce le meridien for my teacher's day dinner...d package offered was really cheap n my committee will b most prob confirming d venue :p den after dat have to rush to go for meeting...so was not online :p

~sblbee~

shybride,
congrats! finally ur BIG day has arrived
have fun, rest well n im sure u'll b a beautiful bride
same here....i'll b changing out of my ROM short gown, WG, EG n den CS...guz many brides r doing dat nowadays so no worries

oh....dat's bad, actually i go down to mama & misse w/o any appt one....hehehe, jialat, den i better call on dat day b4 i go down, was tinking of going down tm too to collect my CS cos i'll b on leave :p hope dat ur CS turns out well, im nervous abt mine, d sad thing is dat i realised dat during my period, my body tends to b rounded or i've grown fat

jac,
im really looking forward to viewing ur EG, must b v pretty de cos ur WG is alrdy so beautiful...

sotonglet,
dun worry...not every gown suits d bride too...so i ended up mtm mine too....cos smtimes d style n colour dun match :p hope dat u'll have a wonderful experience at ur BS nxt week

himawari

I am oso looking for PS venue. My PS is on the 20 June which is friday. I am oso worried that popular places might b v crowded and I will feel v awkward with so many eyes looking at you during PS!!

princess_sue

haha mrs kel you are still so young... one of the youngest amongst us you know. why would you be left on the shelf and you are pretty too

mei, no wonder .... ya i can understand... bz bzbzbzbzbz.... me too... so xian.