(2008) Brides of year 2008

kailing

strawclare> ok ok. but bank loan is really quite negotiable one. You go for the current best interest rate one, later on, reservice the loan with another bank who will be using lower rates to entice you. bank loans are quite like credit cards. threaten to go to one with lower interest rate, question them if they cant offer you a lower rate, they will try their best to pacify you and offer you their lowest rate.
234 235 236 237 (except except the newer 230X)are really quite near the mrt, less than 10mins walk no matter how slow you walk. but 84x is good too. near the popular tampines park and there's a little 'town' at 82x. many coffeeshops, 3 not so branded supermarkets (i still remember their chinese new year fresh produce was going for much cheaper than ntuc and sheng siong's stuff) and there's a rather good st hilda primary if it matters to you. look at the 9XX series too? it's near as well, half of them at least. 24X to 27X may be near in a way too but take note if they are next to the mrt tracks, comments are, they are quite noisy areas.

we intend to take a 30 yr one. a hdb loan is one that is worth stretching cos i will be using the balance in our cpf to do some long term investments. didnt get a new hdb flat cos we failed miserably for the last one year. and when people were getting a second chance at the Premiere (DBSS), we were in hanoi holidaying so we missed that second chance; first time we applied, we werent even given a queue number even though girlfriend stayed in tampines and both of us are first timers. we would like to either stay near my parents or her parents and since she works in tampines, and i have a straight train to work, i dont mind. and my area has no train, nearest train is >2.5km away. yup got hdb grant. first timers should always take grant and get a hdb. always felt that way. if we like to get a private property, it has to be later, not when we are just starting out.

praisey

invite card...each cartoon icon cost $10...what a rip off!
670705.jpg

*Blow giant fan at Strawclare*

Haha last year, my mum already demanded me for priv car chaffeur them around and me to sponsor her & 3 siblings' dresses/suit! :p

I'll pay for their cab fares lo if no car. Calm down, at least this problem can be solved

praisey

meiling: yes, work trip again. very tempting becos with staff price + airport rebate... it is very hard to resist, so far i've failed every trip. IN fact today i bought a pair of shoes, now regret la.

htb now at home tying ribbons on invite cards, i am so proud of him. hehe...

msclaire: milan no fun. only the last supper is there. otherwise florence and rome is much more fun. always rain and darkdark one.

eunicet

nec: Hmmm, it's really a lot cheaper at JB right...But a little too lazy to go over!! Too much of a hassle...

xinglin: I'm the kiasu one talking abt invites, cos I have church invites to do as well...The hotel one I will worry later...But I'm free now so was thinking of doing some sourcing first lorr...

leely: Your shoes are pretty!!
Love the pearly things at the back...I'm quite happy with my white pair as well...But pity they don't go with my purple gown...

strawbsc

Kai & Ling>cool!thanks for the info!!very very useful!!yah..the 24X area abit messy we have realised...
actually we are used to noise..haha..both houses we lived before is just behind bus stop..I can't get grant coz' I think I will buy with my sis..my fh is a foreigner so no hope for grant oso...
I shod oso look at 9xx oso ah...haha..thanks!never tot of it!

green> same here (^-^)..I have to sponser my family's clothes for the wedding.

spoiltbabe> jia you!!dun get angry..cool down..must be pretty pretty bride..dun wan lines and wrinkles on pretty face..

for the rest of the sept brides..加油 oso!!

leely

Eunice> Thanks! My EG is light blue.. so hopefully it'll go well together.. haha.. (never tried the gown and shoes on together before..)

But I've a problem.. During the tea ceremony, I will change to kua.. Wonder if I should just wear my white shoes with kua, or to buy a pair of traditional shoes to go with the kua (which I will only wear for 2 hours at most and it will never see daylight ever again).. Hmmmm...

Anyway I agree with Eunice to get as many things settled as possible while you are free.. I'm currently sourcing for printer for the t-shirts that I designed for the Jie Mei and Xiong Di to wear.. Anyone knows of shops that print t-shirts for a reasonable price in small quantities..?

Nath-Adrie> My AD PG is going to be 1950 Photography (Chuianfeng), you can edit that into the list in your next update.

clareliu

actually me also intend to go bk my sec sch for PS since my bf and i met there but it was being demolished and totally change to a new building.. so no pt gg back for PS.. haiz.. no feeling to the new building

bedazzle

spoiltbabe,
just book a taxi for them. Book the merc taxi. or the london cab. Not a big problem bah. Maybe they just feel it's ur big day, they wanna dress nice nice, so better if they hv a chauffeured car. can arrive in style.

bedazzle

strawclare i v silly leh. I emailed ur bro ask him to b my videographer, then he reply say ur wedding is same day as mine...haha.. I forgot also.. blur.

dodolet

leely, cool the shoes very gu niang! I like!!!!! You got ur money's worth of it liao. ^^

Eunice, show us ur shoes ah. ^^

My EG shoes and My WG shoes
670744.jpg
670745.jpg

vernwyen

dor:
to me is a waste of money, i can put tat into better use
Wat pissed me off was tat I asked my sis to get her bf to pick mum and dad, then my mum said 'this should be provided by the guy side'. She everything like wan to divide clearly but she doesnt know tat EVERYTHING comes out from our one year savings... sigh... i juz hope all will end soon.

strawclare:
erm... We having the same AD ya 0_o so your bro sure cant do for us liao..

green:
phew! luckily i do not have to sponsor them. If they gonna say tat i will cancel the banquet liao.

simplyserene

$10 for the freaking cartoon?! That's absolutely absurd! Not as if it's some Disney/Warner Bros cartoon character. Which printer is this from?

Btw praisey, saw your links. I think you look very very pretty

bedazzle

pzzzz... pissed w a cousin now.
Just heard from my mum. When my mum told her about my wedding, and ask if she'll be able to attend. You know how this cousin answered? "Aiyah, so early, how I know whether tt day I can make it or not."

If I were there, I'll tell her u wanna come, come, dun come I won't notice either. Dun like her for the longest time.

The fact tt tell you early is so tt u can make arrangements mah, and the earlier we tell you means we treasure your attendance mah. You want me to invite you last minute just to make up the tables meh.

Dunno wat she's thinking. Even if she dun wanna come also no need to say such thing mah. No wonder she's still left on the shelf.. late 30s liao. I'm so mean. But I really wanna tell her to f&*& off man...

simplyserene

Hi qunqun, so many corsages... which one did u choose? I'm gonna DIY by getting really nice sequin ribbons and little cloth flowers fr this handicraft shop near my office. Then I'll just need some velcro & craft glue to glue everything together

I'm going to see my fiance's handywork this weekend. Hopefully they turn out fine

eunicet

leely: So pretty! I'm sure the shoes will go very nicely with the light blue gown...And as for printer for t-shirts...Hmmm...My bro may have a contact...How much are you getting charged currently for the shirts and what's your budget and quantity required? Can ask my bro...

SotongLet: I like your white shoe especially!! So preeeeetty!!! :D Where's it from??
Here's mine!!
670758.jpg

spoiltbabe,
Try to kan kai a bit
Wedding is one in a lifetime. They have no more chance to "chop" us like that in future right? Treat these as presents to them for their involvement in our weddings!

Dor,
I haven't asked guests yet cos I think they can't confirm now. I'll start asking in July.

I'll want guests to tell me directly, Come or Dun Come! Haha your cousin's reply give problem in our table allocation.

raragal

strawclare> hee..welcome..thats what forum is for.. but i guess i'll be in here lesser from now on...
FH dun like.. and we been quarreling alot.. BECAUSE i frequent forum too much..and neglected my work..
Soo. gotta compromise.. i'll be in only 1 hour every nite.. and that is if its still early.. so. anything real urgent.. PM me ba.. :p
Else.. i'll try to be in still

fortunemew> hahaa... did u click on it before or after i sent out the link?? Coz.. maybe he still editing.. hahaha..
and yet to finish edit.. haha.. i dunno.. its okie la.. but so far he give me i click..always correct leh.. keke.. :p
Coz i posted my own link.. i didnt post his main website.. :p

i think spoiltbabe signed the consent form.

dor> nope.. its nearer to Yishun MRT>. its at Blk 293

Not at Khatib at all..

We used pen provided by hotel..

You can see from the slideshow.. quite a nice looking one.

spoiltbabe> consent form is to be given on ur day to go and make declaration. When u efile... u'll be allocated a day to go and declare..
thats when u need to go and collect ur cert and submit consent forms.. etc.. :p

By right, your wedding car should fetch ur parents to the restaurant. After he sent u to the restaurant for make up, the wedding car should go back to your place to fetch ur parents.
Thats the usual practice. Bride's parents the biggest on that day.

Soya> its at T&T Instant Print. City Square Level 4, next to Printemps Bridal Studio.
Very near.. Going in late June or early July. ANyone wanna follow me then? To print our wedding invites

bunnyhop

Hi hope im not spoiling e mood of anyone but in e light of e recent natural disasters (in e month of May), lez remember e afflicted n grieved ones...

Beri heavy heart when i saw e pix...
kao_cry.gif

M may u hav a blessed honeymoon...
it sounds more relaxing than going thru e wedding prep...haha...all my frienz tell me 2 enjoy...tough leh...

flora_bliss

meiling, i always wanted to donate blood. But I'm told if weight is less than 45kg then cannot.

msclaire, there's nothing for me to do there mah. Alone, no nice tv program, too tired to go out shopping. So can only study loh. And of course, sleep early since i woke up at 4am tat yest morning.

Praisey, at least your milan is more fun than my possible biz trip to Mumbai.

princess_sue

mei, you make is sound so ez... ok i shall pluck up my courage and try it :p enjoy your award presentation today

hi gals... enjoy your weekend and c u next week
cheers.

providencia

MeiLing, never mind if i can't get to keep it, i dun have space for such a poffy gown, so will be happy if i just have a mini one.
This country is proud of you!! We needs more pple like you, to donate blood. ha ha.
Really, on a serious note, the blood bank is always short of blood, so this is a really gd deed.

Flora, yup, can't donate if u weigh less than 45kg, so that rules out both of us for now. I gather that the project went well?

praisy, milan!!! always wanted to go. So exciting.

flora_bliss

prov, I din manage to start my reporting coz the senior guys at KL can't finish their template. Can't blame them oso coz the concept is new to them. So instead I'll hv to go thru everything step by step with them for the past 2 days. Kinda change my schedule or target result for this trip. Now can only start doing my reports next week, when they submit the info.

I oso cant donate coz I'm slight anaemic. Might faint after donating.

crown

spoiltbabe,

i think your bridal car can pick them up after they drop you mah. Then no need to purposely arrange a car and waste money. My mum said the custom is the bridal car come and pick the bride's parent. So after we arrive the restaurant to do makeup, the car will go and pick my family up

crown

London cab is not cheap. I thought of renting one but i find the price too ex. I rather borrow a friend's car then help them to top their petrol full tank. Keke

fumiko_neko

i wanna check wit u all..

does anyone attend a wedding, and through out the wedding dinner, e wedding play music only? not songs..
like those spa, yoga, classical music??

u tink is beta to play song or music only?

koyoyo

Melody,
Thanks for tip will be checking em out.. Your friends running so will i get discount if i mention your name ?? hehe
Cheryl,
Hoho i know what you mean... let me ponder.. creative juice has run out again..Gosh is away today sob sob i am so alone ...

Meiling,
good for u on Donating blood..Haha i only recall donate blood once in college days now how do we go about do it if we wish to???Congrats on getting an award.. you deserve it !!

Sue,
Perhap we can go together and donate some blood. Enjoy ur holi!! Now i should start to plan my wkend.. gog for one more fittin on my mtm hope it turn out nice,....

berry_egg

Hi S'rene,

your invite is really a good piece of work. like the composition and the effect.

Hi qunqun, the corsages are nice leh. which one did u pick? i'm thinking of making mine but where can i find those satin roses?

seems like most of you have gone for food tasting. I have scheduled for mine end of the month. hopefully it would turn out well. tonight i'm suppose to meet my In-laws to get the si dian jin. kind of stress about it. well.it's suppose to be a good day (my parents are more excited than i do, looking forward to know the type of jin they will buy) But the first thing that pop into my head when i woke up is "oh no.. it's the gold day later.."

vernwyen

dor:
your cousin is haughty... boo... tell her to let you know earlier so you can give the seat to someone more worthy.

green:
trying not to take things to heart, but it is tough when she use the you-all-everything-also-dunno tone to tell me.

rach:
oic... thanks for your advise! so i can only eFile 25days before our ROM...

rach / crown
Our bridal car is a london cab. Been wanting this since day one
As ours is a wedding lunch and solemisation before that, there is no time for the cabby to drive to and fro to pick my parents. Unless... unless after he send me to my fh house then go and pick my parents and drive them to the restaurant 1st, which i find is toooo early.

neko:
personally i like songs to music. Or you can have a mixture of both?

antakusuma

M> Yeah they were so professional right! and the supper was super yummy! I also put something in my blog to recommend all the vendors i used. Tell us about ur wedding soon!! And ENJOY UR HONEYMOOON!!!!

PSH> will keep fingers crossed for you. now shd be the most stressful time. =) U shd keep urself happy cos god blessed u to be where u are.

rjwedding

hi praisey: the cartoon u choose is cute.. same here, paid extra $10 for the cartoon.. think that's the normal rate..

hi qunqun: nice corsages. how much u pay for yours?? my friend will help me do them.. but I need to buy the materials for her.. u stayed at cck?? me too.. i stay at cck crescent.. my relatives are all over sg, from bt batok, woodlands to tampines.. hahah.. so i will running ard SG on that day..

hi iris_met: oic.. good lor, not need to wake up so early.. my hb wanted the fish to be in hong kong style, so be it lor..

chipydale

I'm not into having a walk-in wardrobe. Cuz i'm tinking it won't be practical unless you have the space. Cuz ur wardrobe will take up part of a room, and somemore, there's no doors to keep it from dust. Those clothes u seldom wear will get dusty fast.

strawbsc

dor & spoiltbabe > oops...sori!!I totally forgot!!okiez..I will ask my other gfs if they have lobang coz' got some in advertising line.cheers~

dor > dun get over pple like that.I think u will be happier with her not in ur wedding also..haha..the most impt thing is u and ur fh and close ones with you during ur wedding lor.A happy bride will be a beautiful bride~smile~ (^-^)I also have this prob with my colleagues(i think they will rsvp in sept only) but I m not gonna think so much liao.worrying and fustration dun help @ all..only will grow old with lines..

~neko~> I prefer music but up to u and ur fh bah..

rach >For me..luckily,my fh dun noe..haha~~otherwise he will jump oso liao..haha

simplyserene

Eeek... I didn't know the printer is T-Dragon. Maybe they did tell me the rate as well but I wasn't paying attention, but I honestly don't think they shd charge that much anyhow.

Hi praisey - thanks for your comments

Hi berry_egg - thanks for your comments on the email invite too!
I sent a couple out to some friends yesterday and received positive replies from most of them. Very happy. Most of them have known us for the 7 years that we've been together so it means a lot to us (esp me) to have them witness the wedding

kailing

oh my god!!!!

the property agent just called me, for the house that we purchased at 350k, the valuation report valued it at 335k !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That means a COV of ONLY *drums roll* ... 15k !!!!

Oh my oh my oh my. For a unit that's so near the central, with good amenities around, me and fiancee are jumping up and down. Up and down. Up and down. happily jumping though. haha..

based on our past house hunting experience, we had expected a COV of 30k but we also knew what a good renovation can do to the valuation report so this was not totally unexpected but it is indeed a wild dream that had came true.

due dilligience and hard work really paid off this time.

yeah!!

we decided on buying the house like 10 mins after viewing it and now that the seller had a shock at how his old but well renovated house can fetch such a price, the agent told us to avoid going for 2nd viewing too soon. owner is still shocked i think.

fortunemew

dor, can understand ur frustration. my HTB call up a relative which is his late mum's sister...n she say "why your wedding divide into two days! so troublesome." and even tell us that we should put to 1 day. then she say her son also getting marry in Dec...she was like saying "oh so you n ur family can come to ours in Dec too"...

i am thinking if that is the case lor, she must as well dun come.

i told my HTB that i don't even wish to go to her son wedding...ask him n his dad go can already. anyway, we juz invite the eldery to our wedding too.

fortunemew

wow rach, so the manicure is near Khabti mrt! great i can go there as i work in north area. cos going to be jie mei next Sat...will be another busy day man.... think i can visit that shop for manicure n pedicure on Friday nite.

ya i click on that link after ur posting..maybe he is still editing.
but after many hrs, i check back his mainpage n it is still wrong. hee...nevermind, next time if i visit his website n found any "bugs",will email to tell him directly.

fortunemew

alamak, sorry! typo. i mean near to Yishun mrt....but also nevermind, near to my workplace. hee.

Rach, do you have the tel no? need to make appt first before going?

strawbsc

Kai & Ling >congrates!15k only!!wah...soo goodz!!Can I ask when was the valuation done?what was dated @?recently??So the owner's previous valuation had expired is it??so u did a new valuation?

fortunemew & dor> haiz..some relatives are like dat lor..I m not inviting any relatives to my wedding.The only family members are my parents and siblings,not even my grandparents...none will be invited..my mum dun wan to have this kind of prob...abit weird lor.but I dun mind..haha~