(2008) Brides of year 2008

jrgal

hi dor and all~!

i hv successfully finished my ps!!hee..reali very happy=p great deal of fun, bt it was super tiring. got some insect bites too,bt lucky read the sgbrides forum b4 tat and brought mopiko..
hey gals,u all muz rem to bring wor.=p

it's a must to bring drinking water also,bt i sort of got no time to drink. Was too excited and happy thus did nt eat much,only ate 1 bread for lunch,then end up feeling faint by the time i reach my 1st outdoor location.hee.. Anyway,i went botanic gardens,and shenton way. i cant wait to see my photos!!

xinyi_reiko

kittyng, while moving things over can do some housekeeping.. hehe.. i cleared quite alot of stuffs..

ya lor got to do up checklist liao..

now i more worried abt RSVP of the guests.. haiz..

lsntyl

congrats, jrgal.
which parts of shenton way did you go to? You went to the temple at telok ayer? I always see a lot of bridal couples doing their PS there.

Gina>what does the package at Celebrity Nails consist of?

Gals, is $320 too expensive for a short MTM CS? Can't decide whether to go for it or continue to hunt at shops...

fruittea80

Hi New, I only added 26 photos. My package came with 28 pages plus layout design. Didn't want to spend too much on the album. My HTB and I wanted just a nice album to keep as we heed the advice of many married couples that 1 good album is sufficient. How much did you pay for 52 top-ups?

Hi Chimes & Mary Poppins, not really in my case as I still have my new flat to reno, haven't started work yet. My MTM WG and EG designs just started as well, so I'm not really ahead of time. Just that I'm also quite tied down with work and since my BS suggested taking earlier, I don't mind doing it earlier. Actually, my BS also claimed that they would send my photos to Taiwan for editing and to do up the acrylic cover for my album, this would take about 3 months. I'm abit doubtful though.

annabella

There's a tailor shop (Dickson tailor) at Suntec Convention Centre, good workmanship and reasonable price too. My brother-in-law had his suit tailor made there last year. For groom suit is $500 (tuxedo set).

I went chinatown yst for GDL stuff, didn't buy anything. Prob will just get the package set from The Wedding Shop for convenient sake.

mary_poppins

Hi nec, 29" waistline is definitely not fat. I am around that range but I don't consider it fat. Just an ugly tummy. We can work hard on it one rite? At times, I also wonder how come all BTBs are so slim cos they cannot even zip up half the gowns for me during the first fitting...

Hi florabliss, I agree with nec that long train and low back doesn't go well together. I choose to MTM the EG cos I feel that is the gown that will be featured in the table photos which people will recieve from us. My HTB was digging out those photos for the wedding dinners he has attended and we concluded that all the EGs are not nice. If you can make one EG that you really like, why not? Remember that it will be the most featured gown on your AD.

flora_bliss

nec, the WG in my multiply is the one tat I'm eyeing. So you oso support the idea of getting tat OTR instead of MTM a new one loh. Ya lor, if MTM I oso dunno wat to change. But one thing for sure if MTM, the train will be slightly shorter. There's just 1 thing tat I'm not satisfied and tat's the colour. Tat gown is slightly more yellowish than the usual ivory colour.

flora_bliss

fiona, I've accepted your invitation. You shd be able to view the photo on my blog liao.

mary, ya lor. Tat's why I got to forgo low back for WG. But instead have tat for my EG.

antakusuma

praisey> give me ur email.

Thanks Anne, thanks Lucky! I can't wait to see the rest of it. share yours when its finished! i am having post wedding blues now!

praisey

i have like 2mths more to count down... just went BS just now to see my rom dress. And i havent done my insert. I had food tasting yesterday, not very satisfied...

nfk22

Hi s'rene, my & my HTB planning to do to JB next week. Any suggestion on where to shop for wedding stuff in JB?

Hi piyo1818, I'm quite familiar with Paris. If u need any help on ur itinery in Paris etc just let me know.

Hi winwin, for me I booked everything myself, from air ticket to hotel etc. Going for 5 days in Hokkaido (Sapporo, Otaru & Furano) and then go tokyo, osaka, kyoto. total 2 weeks. looking forward to the honeymoon =)

tinkybell

Meiling, thanks so much for sharing the idea... will give it a try... btw, u were saying 2mths before wedding then look for master?? will it be too late??

Melody, i saw ur pics on multiply... ur WG look great n ur choice of pink for ur MTM EG make u look fairer... mei mei..

Koyoyo, dun worri abt veil, i am sure ur BS will acceede to ur request for a long veil... if u r wori, alert them in advance...

Sue, how's ur PS today??

Lex, u finally have a feel of it... so now u knw why it too me 2 weeks to complete only the front portion of my shoes?? i strongly believe that der r special needles n sew mtd for such shoes... anyway, we shall not discuss further on the ways n mtds, otherwise Issac no biz le... hahaha

uksportgal, i guess not all BS provide the groom's shirt so some may need to get it outside... not jus a matter of asking or not... it very much depend on the package...

Annabella, still have time dun need to rush... maybe can do abit of research n decide wat to buy nearer to the date..

bunnyhop

This is our month...to cast ur fears aside...jus imagine how lovely u would look on ur DAY!

Like wat xlb shared, u wont wan 2 miss it for a million.
Hi xlb, enjoy ur honeymoon n life as a Mrs...

Gabriel Men**s is indeed a crafted PG...impressive! Hope my AD shots turn out in a beautiful way too! Btw, my AD r in e hands of Ken frm Colourdots n Celestine frm Fotowerke...

simplyserene

Hi qunqun... I know of 2 places... One's in City Square. I think 4th or 5th floor. It's at the back extension. Another is in Holiday Plaza, ground floor, near the optical shop & lift. I think my fiance will drive back to Malacca to get our wedding stuff. I think that's a little crazy, but as long as he's happy

msclaire

I just did my first fitting today, and it was so tiring. Can't imagine how much more tired we would be on PS. We purposely chose to do the fitting right after the BS' show so that I can try the new gowns, but i still ended up choosing the gown i tried the very first time i went. I don't think it necessarily has that wow factor, but i like it because it has a high collar and low back and relatively long enough train. The beadings on it however, isn't that nice. Not the type of crystal look i like, but i think since its OTR, its not possible to get it perfect and im not really very perfectionist by nature. chin chye la. ask the mua put more eyeshadow for me to distract my guests la hurhurhur. So after 3 hours of trying say like 8-9 gowns, htb didn't get a chance at all, so we need to go back again. So glad my bestie was also there to give critical comments. For the CS, the choices were quite limited, but since we've decided not to spend extra on getting on CS, we decided on something relatively simple white and gold CS. Again, need a lot of eyeshadow hee.

2 more mths to PS, and to work off the extra flabs. I think everyone thinks everyone else looks perfectly fine, but we must all look perfect to ourselves. So jiayou everyone who is working out to attain their perfect figure!

prov, YOU SPENT 20K ON A HOLIDAY?????? wow wee.....

funlover

hihi gals!!!

wow!! u gals reai stress mi out!!! r all of us here oct08 brides???!!! u all like prepared a lots of thigns already hor...even gou da li stuff??!!! i haven even get both sides parents to officially meet up...!!

cheryl, u got a vice nice pair of shoes there, love the flowers on the shoes...hahhaa...

lex, my sweaty palsm probels reali serious, even now as i'm typing this message, my palm r sweating!!! i scare i will soak the glove n it will b v disgusting!! although i did tot of using gloves b4, but one of my fren actually pointed this oyut to mi...;p

meiling, to think we both r in the same plight...i juz hope tt i wun sweat too much tt day..!!!

mrs kel, i agreed with mrs chew, ur 3k budget is a bit tight to get so many items...

sairalinde

yeah Home Expo is quite boring. I went already, but they do have some bed & mattress offers there. I bought my mattress and frame at a furniture exhibition earlier this year also. I bought a slumberland mattress for $2.4k.

Dun worry Fun lover, me also have not prepared anything for GDL. Just learning from fellow Oct brides on what they are doing. Me in the midst of sourcing for IDs/ Contractors for my house reno. Abit irritated coz all of them taking own sweeeet time to get back to me.

What are your estimated budget for furnitures & electronic appliances? Can share share... i was budgeting abt $6k to $8k? Realistic?

koyoyo

haha lex,
OOps u did it again .. now meilng got the Permission to shop again liao haha..
tinky i agree call my bs , my coordinator ask me wat veil for wat gown n i realise i cant answer her lol.. anyway after resting for 1 mth i am excited to go for fitting.. bought 1 "bust free" bra haha i felt conned it like normal bra padding just tt it super exp haha fiant right.. my mission for invisble masking bra tape search continue haha

raragal

straylamb> hahaha..pray hard loh.. can la. i tried the last time i did nails.. lasted abt 10days before it really start to break down.. hehe.. :p

Gina> MMm.. heard abt celebrity nails.. mmm.. dunno if wanna go there leh.. haahah..else just stick to my Yishun one..
but its 2 french rite?? but if wan bling bling leh?? how much they charge??

Hey ladies... 4 days to my ROM..and i changed my ROM gown today!! hehehe..
Soooo happy now.. coz its much nicer than my original one... and I'm bery happy with it!! hehee..
Didnt really see it before.. keke.. :p
But one more inch to lose before 10th May.. then it can fit better...
now abit tight... too tight..almost cant breathe..but can zip...
so.. need to lose one inch. i also duno how.. but really gotta watch my diet in the next 4 days! Hehehe..
Changed one of my OD gown as well...and i'm more satisfied this time round.. keke.. ;P

I'm happy with all my gowns! And I love MBR!! hehe. :p

~sblbee~

cyc,
hehehe....i agree wif cheryl dat we r long-lost neighbours or room mates...mayb she's lying juz beside me...
wah u did so much for ur home alrdy? envy leh, i didnt even have d mood to buy anything for my rm

cheryl,
im a morning bb...wat abt u? im sure im older than u in hrs...hehehe :p

addy,
thanks for ur compliments! i intend to use d stickers to seal my envelopes....juz saw my fren's invites yset frm marriott, v pretty...my invites pale in comparison

melody,
wah...long time nv tok to u at nite alrdy n u've made so much progress, at least ur EG skeleton is out...mine was a pc of cloth when i last saw it :p i think both ur WG n EG r gorgeous so dun worry abt it...u'll sure look mei-mei on ur PS n AD de

i actually wanted my fh to try making a mandarin collar shirt but i wonder if he looks nice wif a short neck...wait look funnie so must let him try 1st b4 we tailor...will bring him to do some shopping after he's back...

annabella,
thanks for sharing d contact for tailor, think i heard of d tailor b4 but havent really been doing enuff research in tis dept...

tinkybell,
no prob...esp if it's wif u gals, always gd to share ideas n resources tgr n hope it turns out well for u too

oh...i was thinking of going 3-4 mths b4hand cos i intend to wk out my AD prog earlier, was looking at d format last nite...dun think i wana wait till 2 mths b4 like wat my master suggested cos i feel it's a bit late :p

funlover,
hehehe....my colleague had similar prob n tot of undergoing op but i dun think i'll do dat :p think on dat nite, i'll juz have to keep my cool n oso hopefully d aircon will vapourise all my sweat away :p

koyoyo,
yah i agree wif addy...hollywood tape frm topshop is gd as many of my frens used it for revealing tops too....go n buy it

sue,
so how was ur PS? how was ur experience? bet u had lotsa fun since u love taking pics...hehehehe, tell me more abt it n share ur pics if u have

~sblbee~

cutiephinphin,
im so sorry dat i cant help u on dat cos my IT skills r real lousy....all d btbs here knows dat cos i dun even know how to post a pic in d forum :p

cutiephinphin, nec n mary poppins,
a 29 inch waist is definitely not fat cos it depends on ur body structure, if urs is rounded den congrats cos u cant tell it's 29 but if urs is like mine broad n flat den even a 26 inch will look like 29 inch or bigger...i got such prob...ppl always give me v big sizes n assume dat im big which is v demoralising

fionachua,
wah...so gd wor, at least u found sth whereby everyone said it's nice during d 1st fitting, i duno went down how many times den found my WG n decided to mtm my EG....u really can shop chop n settle ur stuff unlike me :p

florabliss,
i like d WG dat u posted in ur multiply...if d yellowish tone is not obvious in pics den go for it....cos if u intend to mtm WG den if u want more details like long train, extra beads, extra lace or sequinns, everything oso need extra $, i dun think it's worth it cos u wear only once n u dun get to keep it :p
my AD WG dat im gona use for my 1st march in is oso yellowish...most brides didnt take it cos of d colour but i feel dat there r many details dat can draw d attention away e.g long train, sequinns n laces so i decided to choose dat...will b slightly different frm d usual n oso more elaborated

lyntyl,
i got my CS frm mama n misse...if u find their otr dun suit u, perhaps u can consider mtm but i honestly feel dat wif dat $320 top-up can get u a decent short pc so it's ex....

msclaire,
wah...after ur 1st fitting, u managed to confirm ur WG n CS, wat abt ur EG? d gown u were describing is ur WG or EG? ur white n gold CS sounds really gd, i saw a bride wore tis colour n she looks extremely gorgeous...gd choice

u dun need to worry abt flabs cos u look so pretty n slim in d pics...juz concentrate on being a beautiful bride on ur PS can le

btw, have u gotten ur proposal yet? hehehe....must b looking forward to dat special day

fortunemew

i am the latest in PS shoots among u girls.... mine on 7th July... my photographer will be in Greece to shoot PS for his customer during the last 1 week plus in June to early July. and not sure my evening gown is ready by June..... so can only choose 7th july.

dun think i can print my wedding photo on the card since my PS is so LATE..

=====

Gina, okie thanks..will check out the spa u mention.

princess_sue

hi gals... i m back !

mei/ haze, thanks for your sweet little sms sorry i didnt had a chance to reply as i didnt have a chance to look at my hp till the night and i was so damn tired really.... and thanks gals for your nice and well wishes here

gosh taking PS is really tiring man. but the weather has been very nice to me ytd by not giving me scorching sun and a beautiful sunset.

my MUA and PG are really good and pro. My MUA followed me out and each change of gown , she change my hairdo and everything. she is so sweet and attentive. they even bought lunch for us in their studio which is really very nice of them.
i only finished at about 8pm last night and i started out like 8.30am in the morning. Can you imagine a 12 hr shoot i am a dead corpse man and my hair is so brittle with all the haristyles and stuff so we mgt to find a salon tt was still open at around geylang area about 10+ to wash our hair.. luckily its not those sleazy ones . Then at least when i was home i need not go through the hassle and difficult time in washing the hair ..
oh and i saw a few other couples also doing their PS at Botanic garden and Changi beach,

So those of you who are going to take PS soon, do take note of that too. best is to have someone wash your hair after everything is done.
so by the time was home its like 11+

btw, for those doing outdoor, its best to check if your mua will be out with you, coz i saw the rest of the couples taking the PS when i was outside, they are only with the PG, so its a one style all the way.

alrighty, i have another 400 emails to clear now...shall come in again soon :p

providencia

fiona, brown and champagne are unique colours, have you tried on brighter colours? do they look off on you?

nec, i also MTM WG and EG, so can only envy other pple.

parisey, why u dun like the food?

flora, just thinking if the kind of lighting might affect the colour of the WG? what kind of light did you view the gown under?

msclaire, u are back! aiyah, no need to scream the 20k, i'm already very embarrassed.
it's for 2 pple, crazy right? don't know what possess me then, maybe it's the lure of the branded goods. The 20k mostly went to bags,shoes and clothes. So cute, using eyeshadow to distract the guests, but I like your easy-going atitude, what matters most is that you are happy with the end product.

fumiko_neko

waxie, $70 for 90mins is really worth it..cos the price they puttin for first trial already cost $128 and is only 1 massage..
so exp..

i will b in HK for 4 days! keke..

i tink e birdnest really works!! my hubby say my skin is smoother now when he touch my hands and face..keke..

msclaire

prov, i think we all want to heck care the rest of the world and buy all we want if we could! good job if you've done it at least once in your life! heheh.

Mei, the gold and white is a CS. It isn't the silk kind..more like brocade...or the harder type of material lah, dunno what you call it. Actually their selection really not a lot for CS. Let me describe...
1. hawaii print. my bestie n htb nearly fainted when i came out
2. gold with nice white lace at the collar, with mermaid end. Really not bad, but too big and long. Can alter size but cannot alter the top half length, cos it was meant for a bigger person.
3. Red batik CS. Perfectly ideal cutting for my body. Even MTM also not so perfect. BUT HOW TO WEAR BATIK DESIGN?! I almost didn't want to bother trying. Sigh. Cut perfect got what use.
4. Didn't even try the pink waitress looking one.
5. Purple shimmery machiam thai silk material. It's not bad.
6. Gold n white CS. It's very much more white, with a light touch of gold, on the heavier material. I think it's slighter nicer than the purple, and since it's a wedding, so i wear white lor. That's why i chose it.

At first i wanted to wear a CS for my tea ceremony, and wear it again that night. We wont be having banquet, but having dinner in restaurant with both immediate families. But I think if i dun change my mind abt the CS, i'll go find another evening gown for the dinner. Must look ard first, see have anything otr anot.

lsntyl

Meiling>paiseh, you mean $320 is ex or not ex for a short CS?
If you don't mind, can I see your CS too? My multiply ID is ilynt1

florabliss and msclaire>can see your pics too? V curious after reading all the comments.

lsntyl

kirei>I also find the bird nest works. Skin feels better overall and I got less breakouts during my last period. But recently lips v dry. Donno why.
Enjoy your shopping and eating trip. Are you going to Disneyland?

Fortunemew>I'm the latest cos my PS is on 23 and 24 Sept. :p

Rach>congrats on finding something better. Don't forget to share the pix! I'm really curious about your gowns. Oh, FH and I decided to print our wedding invites with T&T le. He even has a rough design in mind.

BTW, you gals have facebook?

fumiko_neko

no le...i went HK disneyland last yr..dun really like it..

save money for other shoppings..
keke..

nope i dun have facebook...too many such things..
last time frenster...now face book..
create so many but i oso nv use..
so dun wan to waste my time..keke

~sblbee~

msclaire,
wah....u really can remember every single detail of d CS n described them so well...hehe, i bet u'll look great in d white n gold CS cos it gives it a modern touch to d classic design

u r buying another EG smwhere or getting frm ur own BS? it wld b nice to wear different outfits so i think i'll go wif ur idea of wearing a EG for d banquet

hehehe....dun worry....dat day will come soon, perhaps he's still planning d finer details n waiting for d special occasion :p

lsntyl,
i got 2 short CS below $300 n 1 below $300 so i think $320 is still ok but if u mean have to top up another $320 for added items den it's not worth it :p u can add me at sblbee at multiply

lsntyl

hee, then what do you intend to do in HK? Just shop and eat? Look for Hello Kitty stuff? Maybe you can find some unique wedding items there.

I've not been to Disneyland actually. Donno why, just not that interested in it.

cyc

wow... tks sue for the tips! glad you enjoyed ur PS yesterday. i doubt my MUA will go out with me.. did you have to pay extra for this svc?

cheryl, where is furniture mall? paiseh, a bit suaku.. yes! pls share with me your save money tips on getting furniture!

addy, tks for feedback on home exh.. will discuss with FH to c if still want to go.

mei, actually i'm not so into buying furniture. prefer to buy facial pdts and dresses/shoes/accessories to prep for wedding. its FH that wants to buy furniture. he sees more value in these things.. haha..

new_here

Hi Fruittea80,
We top up another S$2.6K
The photos v nice,cannot bear to reject them.hehee.
My BS actually advise to have PS early.
At least 6 mths early,must have suffient time for amendment.
I can only get the album end Sept08

lsntyl

Meiling>Thanks! Sent you the invite for Multiply le. Think I'll drag FH with me to M&M later to have a look. Its $320 for the CS, top up more if I want more embroidery.

msclaire>My FH also took a long time to propose! Even after almost everything for the wedding was settled and I was wearing the proposal ring cos I complained I didn't have much time to wear it before I need to switch to the wedding band, he didn't propose. But he finally did it on our anniversary last month.
He said he was waiting for the special date cos he know I sure want to rem the date. Maybe your FH is thinking the same way?

For OTR EG, I saw some at Allure Charix at Amoy Street that's not bad. The lady told me they will be getting new designs soon so maybe you can pop in to have a look? Price was about $400-500, depending on the design, I think.

~sblbee~

sue, no prob....welcome back! so happy to see u tis morning...glad dat u enjoyed ur PS n oso enjoyed whole process....thanks for ur valuable advice too! think my hair will b like hay after 2 days of styling too....so nervous now...it's polarwhite's turn nxt :p

cyc,
heheheh....wah another mei-mei bride, for me i too lazy to apply facial pdts le....but i like to shop for shoes, dresses n accessories....nxt thing have to shop for accessories le....but must wait till my PS n see my MUA's variety :p

flora_bliss

meiling, the WG is nice tat's why having a headache now. Anyway, I'll go try on the gown again and then decide.

prov, the lightings may have slight impact. But the BS was quite bright (wif the sunlight coming in) when I was there for the selection.

The pic is in my Multiply blog. The view is restricted. You can give me your multiply ID and I'll grant the access.

msclaire

LsnTYL, if he is waiting for our annivesary...then it will be exactly 6 days before our wedding. i dun really think that he would buy sth that cost that much so i can wear only 6 days hurhur. but then, u never know how they think.

waxie24

kirei> you keen to try HK authentic ç§æˆ¿èœ (eat at their house kind)? i've been to one, if u keen, i can pass u the contact.. ard $50 per pax..

fumiko_neko

go lantau island cos they say the buddha and the view there v nice by taking their cable car..
then go macau eat desserts..
then shop for hello kitty stuff!! keke

lucky is after my PS day..
if not cannot eat n eat n eat..

nw i m back to my meal replacement diet..
so xinku of not eatin FOOD n carbo..

disneyland i tink i will go florida or LA or jap some other times..when i have more $$$
keke

uk_fung

tinkybell: oh I mean the suit the jacket actually.. shirt understand coz seriously after PS the shirt is like SOAK with sweat hahahaha...

Hey Sue, hahahah sound like u have fun and yesterday weather is good.. no rain and got sun! and u are lucky... your MUA go out with you I think most of the case is MUA dun go with you one... hahaha and yar! the hair part ... really good idea hahhaha that time after PS I go home is spend so much time to wash it off.... and get the hair neat and nice again hahahaha really tired... and u are super.. u can still come to work the next day hahahha.....

Just to share.. last Sat went to this industrial place.. near CCK.. where all the furniture warehouse is.. Your might want to go there too... but abit hard to go ..ulu place.. but suppose to be cheaper and more concentrate....I do see sofa that is below 1K small one not big one.. but if u are not asking too much then maybe u can accept those...

By the way did anyone of your went to seahorse? think they got 1 or 2 sofa.. find it not to bad and is rather cheap... with that price.. the quality consider good better than outside.. er.. where have seahorse ?? compasspoint have one.. not sure other place sorry

What about Katong mall? anyone went liao?