(2008) Brides of year 2008

gingerbread_gal

Nelle,
Shall for you to come back then....u must be staying in a really comfy hotel? enjoy your beauty sleep.... I love staying at hotels!

as long as you remove your makeup before you sleep, then no prob at all.

Meiling,
I don't think its going to be very elaborate...cos that gown got some plain areas, so asked the designer to add on stuff to it....i think it will be glittery though....although i was told by a bride that maybe the photograph might not be able to capture it?!?!
Not sure if you can access a fellow Silh bride's multiply (fortunemew) to see the gowns she tried at Silh...my gown is similar....oh, she just joined us a few days ago at this thread.

lexilicious

sue
heheh i'm having a friend tag along for PS too.. amateur PG and big sized guy - so he can help carry stuff..heheheh I'm having a MUA tag along too... for 6 hours only though.. now only hope he's good cuz I paid $600 for him.. and any extra hour @ $150 per hr.. zzz

Cheryl
doesn't matter if you or your FH have the credit card, just remember to phone up the bank earlier to remind them to increase the credit limit for you to sign the banquet bill

cyc
about the fitting, it was just a tentative timeline they gave them,but I'm not worried because I trust them to rush everything out for me..heh.. I'm such a person of trust..

ukfung
the card is only for wedding dinner only.. ehhe... that's why got points

uk_fung

suddenly all of us like so excited again PS! hahahaha if u are getting helper to go along pls rem to let your BS know.. and if u wanna take pic along the way.. coz they also need to arrange logistic..if you have one more pax to join them.. and also some photographer might not like got ppl follow them and take pic.. hee hee :p

furniture mall got diff branch one? all along I thought is the shopping center call furniture mall and there is only one near suntec le hahahaha

yar lor sue is really lucky... sometimes even in the same BS... they also treat ppl differently.. sometimes really luck...
by the way which BS is Sue having? long time never see the table liao :p

providencia

MeiLing, not old lah, just read too fast, cos this thread damm happening. Ya, i mean doing food tasting again after the complimentary one provided by the hotel.

ebride

yap only 1 branch, FM is the shopping centre..hope I didnt confused cyc..paiseh

Mrs Chiew is Hinting liao..cough* heehhe

necrosis

prov,
dont stress abt the food too much...
after your feedback, i'm sure the chefs will take note also.

LSN,
yeah, the dress is super plain, i guess a huge choker w loads of bling wld be just nice.
an excuse to get more jewellery!!! hehehe...

jac,
Cool...cant wait to see your gorgeous WG. ;)

nelle,
anything nice to shop in jakata?
rest well and no one is going to smell you in the bed anyway....who cares!?
hehe...but you still manage to remove make up...disciplined!!!!

am going manila w my mom in a couple of weeks, hopefully can make a dress or two there and buy shoes!!

lsntyl

nec>maybe you can get a nice necklace in Manila? More jewellery is always good! But maybe you can also borrow from your BS? save some $?

Prov> Didn't know can retaste the food. How much extra you need to top-up? The last time I went for a food-tasting, the hotel just noted our preferences. Then they made the neccessary adjustments for the event. We didn't get to retaste the food.

FH is bringing me to HCM next week for my birthday weekend. Wondering if I can tailor an ao dai or even a CS there... :p

ermmm

Hi All BTBs,

Anyone has decided where to go for honeymoon? We have been to those "romantic" cities in Eur. Dun feel that US is that "romantic". Dec also very cold to go northern hemisphere... sigh..

Any other suggestions? Best if SQ flies direct, so we can claim miles. ;)

cyc

cheryl, can ask ur FH to get a sup card for you. like that can combine spending.. that's what i'm doing.

hmm.. will go home and note down all the furniture places recommended by you all! tks girls!

i shall ask my sisters to come along for PS too!! can help me carry things.. hee..

~sblbee~

cheryl mei-mei,
u r younger than me....im a morning baby...rise n shine, no wonder i always feel sleepy at nite :p

koyoyo,
go n find ur hollywood tape soon, bring it to try during ur fitting...so at least u'll know how it looks like after putting it on

princess_sue

hey lex, ya its good to have a fren to go along to carry your stuff at least lighten your load. But if you are driving, then its ok you can leave your stuff in the car. So just walk along to snap pics.

i think the price for the MUA should be market rate. haha... so better put on your mo

~sblbee~

jac,
same here...i adore glittering stuff esp on d gowns dat's y i cant help but to buy so many bling bling shoes frm paradox...hehehe...d same goes for diamonds, cant help but to admire them :p
i dun think i got her multiply...u got any pic to share? hehehe....will b excited to take a look at urs :p

providencia,
yah lor...tis thread is moving so fast until i read until get mixed up le...u going for food tasting again? u mean u had ur food tasting le...ur banquet in nov leh....i havent even tasted once apart frm twice at wedding shows :p

eunicet

Erlina: I'm thinking if you can think of going to those 'romantic' cities in Europe or to US, then budget is not a problem right! :D I went to Canada for exchange programme, and if you haven't been there (though it's freezing in Dec), it is a great place! Since it's winter, places like Ottawa is good cos they have some winter festival, where the whole canal freezes up and you can skate all the way through...And for a more romantic feel, I really loved Quebec City because it is so pretty...And for more city life, Toronto and Montreal, with Montreal being more quaint because of the French influence and more night life...
My few cents worth!

queenie10

anyone of u experiencing any temp limit not approved by banks for banquet.

We tried UOB, DBS, Standard Chartered...only standard chartered approved our application. We were granted $20,000....luckily they approved if not we got to dig out so many cash & cannot even gain points.

luvz17

Erlina: i will be going for 3d2n cruise after my wedding.. that's just to unwind after the preparation. we have actually postponed our actual honeymoon to maldives to May. coz may is their low season so we can spend more days there =)

ahnetsan

rach, not all the girls at PINC causeway point are ah lians lor. the girl who always do for me is a very guai girl. there's only 2 girls who look like ah lian only. but they are still very young.

went for PS ytd, super shagged out. plus i am sick, keep running nose and coughing and throa pain. but it was fun.
i even went for night scenes and went for 4 locations. my PG is great!

my colleague went to do her nails at celebrity nails. but i dun like their french mani colour. my fren did her nails too pink, pink until a bit eeks. haha but their bridal package is quite worth it leh.

lsntyl

Net>Hope you will get well soon. Where did you go for your PS? Think the french mani colour can change. Could be the shade that your friend chose?

raragal

wah.. think i'll get my FH to do the magazine for us.. hehehee.. he definitely knows how to do one.. just a matter of whether he has the time to do it..
But he has done it before.. but the printing is ex.. If we were to print 700 copies... gosh.. we need ard $500 ba... siaoz....

ermmm

Eunice : We have been in Eur for the winter the past 2 years, so kinda been to those place that we want to go in winter already. Other place in Eur will be more suitable for spring. Actually, we haven't really thought of our budget yet.

luvz : Maybe we will take a really cheap alternative for dec, which is claim SQ miles for tickets to Germany and go for his company annual ski trip. Just that we will be going to the same place we have been to twice already, unless they change to another ski resort (which is unlikely). Then we go for a longer honeymoon later. The problem is we both dun have any ideas where we want to go.
We initially thought of bora bora, but it is hell of an expensive place.

Any suggestions for places in Eur for honeymoon except Paris, Venice, London?

bunnyhop

Wow Queenie, u pay by Credit?
Not sure if e hotel we r married in offers credit terms, better check tat we hav deep pockets...otherwise qite embarassing in front of e banquet mgr ya?

Thanks for e reminder and all e best for ur AD.
So does it mean tat UOB/ DBS cant grant cash in multiples of 10k's?

fumiko_neko

er wat e mag for ah?
i saw e website..
not reporting on e whole wedding day?
seem like got articles like normal mag..
i dun quite understand ..
and wat e use of e mag?

fumiko_neko

oh ya..btw..u all got any recommended MUA ah?
i wan to get one to come to make up for my 2nd march in..must b gd in hair styling oso..

my v gd freelance MUA (not fr bridal shop) is not free..her bro in law wedding on e same day as mine..so sad..
then e MUA fr my bridal shop cannot stay until 2nd march in cos got another bride wedding oso..so he got rush off..sad..

pinjie8275

Hi Erlina,

U should go explore the France or Europe official tourism website. They are promoting some honeymoon cities and itineary. Quite interesting, romatic and less hectic...

If Bora Bora is over ur budget, u can consider Maldives. Quite similar style.

flora_bliss

nelle, I'm gonna be somewhat similar situation as you next week. Travelling to KL for biz trip. Catching the 7:10am flight on Wed (which means I've got to be at the airport by 6:10am latest), 45min flight journey to KL airport. Fr airport take train, about 28min and go straight to my KL office. Got to complete the whole proj by latest by 4pm on Thur. Zoom to airport and take the 6:50am flight back to Spore.

gingerbread_gal

Meiling,
you can go and look under my contacts on Multiply and see from there?
Ya lor, my gown is gonna be quite glittery and i was worried i will look silly.... :p

So how much does it cost to have the food-tasting again? I would have thought that since their food is not up to expectation, they shld give another complimentary one...

LSnTYL, i sent u an invite to multiply as well

gingerbread_gal

Erlina,
I wanted to go Tahiti/ Bora Bora for honeymoon too but too costly and we dun have the time to go.....
anyways, for Europe, how about Prague? and Russia (Moscow)?

Prague seems to be a really romantic place....
For Canada, I can recommend Victoria, Vancouver Island, BC. Its not exactly romantic but more quaint.

What kind of honeymoon are you looking at? winter? island?

ahnetsan

llyn, my colleague din choose the pink mani, it's the manicurist who chose for her de. my colleague told me that she dun wan the pink, but the manicurist kept saying it's nice and suit her. dunno them lor.

i hate to take medicine. so sucky one. eat liao always feel like sleeping. so tired and sleepy

nelle

nec, Jakarta nothing to buy - to me.
Or maybe, I didn't have a chance to go to the shops to see!

provi, most of the clients in indonesia so...
Got another client base in taiwan but no need to go yet. Taiwan I will go siao liao. Always need to tell boss to advance my pay - to shop..hahahahahah......

mei, you know why aliens dun wan me? cos the only time I am alone is sleeping, then I am too smelly liao (very hot & humid here, I think worse then singapore cos more polluted)...hahahaha.....

Removal of makeup very impt. Why? Becos I will be deeply embarrased if the chambermaids see the eyeshadow color, diff powder colrs and all that on the pilowcase and bed sheet! hahaha.... :p

nelle

flora, dun wear too high heels cos cannot walk very fast! Must drink alot alot of water hor, cos you actually dun know your body is very thirsty.

providencia

oh dear, this thread is moving so fast, that some of us are reading things wrongly.

MeiLing and LSnTYL,lol,aiyoh, i haven't tasted the food yet, my AD is in Nov, how to try now? It's Praisey who's getting a re-tasting of the food, that's why i curious to know also how come can re-taste food at no cost. I know my hotel will charge for re-tasting

LSnTYL, i also going HCM, but only in June, can tailor clothes, but i dun noe if they can do CS well. I add u to multiply also, can?

I'll be going bali 2 weeks from now, any wedding things to buy from there?

Flora, u mean u taking the 6.05 pm flight back? not the early morning one, right? this schedule is crazy.

Jac, checked with Four Seasons before, if you not happy during food tasting, can request for change of food items, but can't retaste the food, if u really want to try, then make a booking at Jiang Nan Chun to try, at your own expense. Dun worry, gowns with lots of bling bling will look nice, really like to see your gown too.

jazzy_chimes

hi Lost, you're really lucky to be able to do your PS there fast cuz it was one of the OD locations that we had in mind and upon enquiring, we found out that they don't allow wedding photography unless u r their club member or holding wedding there.

samanthaquekys

sue,
your BS really good. have MUA follow you. mine was one hairdo all the way. makeup also never touch up. coz i'm make-up idiot. lol...

uk,
thanks for all the sale n furniture update. i know katong mall is VHIVE. i bought a study table from them abt 7 yrs ago. rem its very cheap n very sturdy. good quality. now still in good condition. so i was thinking of checking it out again at katong mall. but haven't got time. waiting for FH to go together.

talking abt my 3k budget.. so far we have selected sofa, tv console, bedframe, mirror n drawer chest that we like. less than 1k. so left with bedside tables, wardrode, lighting, paint and wall stickers. should be ok. can't wait! i'm excited to see how my design will turn out.

annabella

Hi Meiling,
Yup.. got the tailor contact from a friend who knew abt it in the forum too. My father and my husband did one suit for $280 last year for my sis wedding. For groom suit, they charge $500 with more stuffs. If yr husband like the final product, can always go back and get them to tailor made the pants, think it's $100 for 4 sets.

Hi Cheryl,
The wedding shop is solely own by World of fortune, it should be the same shop we are talking abt. I was told the package is $198 and $168.

Hi Addy,
I did my house reno last year, I think 6K-8k is not enough for electronic appliances. For kitchen appliance alone, I spent close to 6K for WM, Fridge, Hood and Hob, Oven, Microwave, Rice cooker, Toaster. I did alot of price comparsion and got my stuffs at a very good price.

I spent 6 months sourcing for ID design and quotes before I start my reno. We spent a lot of time finalising the design and discussion with our designer, the reno took abt 5weeks to complete and move in on the 6 weeks, days before CNY. It's a very tedious and enjoyable process. You'll need to start research on electrical appliances as well. I'm not able to share the shop where I got my appliances b'coz the shop has closed down. For house reno and wedding preparation at the same time is not easy. T

aec

Hi Sept Brides
my AD on Sept as well...but currently looking for a restaurant to hold the banquet. I'm selling my hotel banquet due to some personal reasons...any of you can intro me nice restaurant that able to hold about 20 tables and not so expensive?

raragal

kire> its just for fun to give out on wedding day.. inside can be ur love story.. or anything at all.. to give to guests loh.. just something extra la.. u changed ur nick.. i tot who's that. haha.. :p

huh? ur MUA cannot stay meh?? just for 2nd march in ah?? MMm.. abit hard.. the one i know is for whole AD.. $888.. but he's real good.. :p

Ah Net> better rest well hor.. :p

skyea

I'm taking leave from the start of June, which is one week before my AD. Will be gone for almost the whole month. Hehe.

raragal

SunShine> which hotel u from?? u sold ur hotel BQ already? :p

Dragon Gate? Or Tung Lok? U got buy Style Wedding Magazine ma? Inside got a lot of listing and their prices leh.. :p

Have u settled ur BS? PG etc??

fionachua83

wao gals too many post liao no time to read today nw then can reply.

florabliss,thanks for letting me see ur photos.

providencia, i hav already chosen a blueish-purple gown, OTR WG and KUA for my PS during my first fitting still hav to think for another 5 gowns. Will try for other colour like bright green and pink when i go down again.

nelle, wao finally see u online me also tot u MIA haha. Envy u all get to travel so often for work and holiday but never expect u so busy when u reach there till no time to shop around. Poor thing must take care of ur health.

keer13

Hi Nec & Fern, thanks!

Hi Nylek, welcome. I also like their WG, but at that time I went there, they don't have much EG. Guess they have expanded their selection.
So, how's other preparation coming along?

Hi Erlina,
Thanks for opening the thread to honeymoon. Been thinking about my destination for the past few days. Also looking for a place not so cold as our wedding date in Dec.. Anyone can advise.. Also on a low budget. Max 5K for 2 person. :p

cyc

mrs kel, you r AMAZING! got so many pieces of furniture and spent less than 1k! yea.. must show us pix of your love nest when completed with furniture!

cheryl, i haven't receive ur email leh..

uk, checked out furniture warehouse web site.. really got a lot of variety. just that the pix too tiny to have a good look. may go down to the shop to look see.. tks!

ebride

paiseh cyc, I gt mixed up of u & Mrs kel. Coz I thot cyc is mrs kel..mrs kel is cyc..opps my mistake!!
wats yr email again. PM me can? Mrs kel is the one I email to previously.