(2008) Brides of year 2008

dodolet

Meiling, you can try this song, I will be there from steven curtis chapman, I think it is spell this way. You can go under the wedding songs link in this forum for some inspiration.

For me, I love Collin Raye (most famous song, Love, me), the Gift, And I love you so.

Flora, actually 2.5k of SDJ not bad liao. Mine have to come from my FH pockets as my MIL not earning. We have a budget of 1.3K.

Jac relax relax dun stress.. Later stress till sick worse rite.. cool down and arrow pple to do lah. ^^

bedazzle

Soyabean,

You lunch break is 2 hours?!? wow... then you work fr wat time to wat time? Gotta stay later in office or reach office earlier?

Rach,

I prefer eyelash extension cos more natural. I did a couple of times and really like the effect. Considering the Dunhill cufflink cos it has some unique designs. Tiffany no design, only engrave the brand name. He doesn't like logos/brands. He say I'm a walking advertisement when i carry logo bags.

I wanna go Europe too... but think it'll cost like 20k for 2 pax.. forget abt it. too ex. Going Turkey nxt yr though... is tt considered Europe? Tip of Europe I guess.

cyc

massage.. i miss a good massage too..

lex, when will ur gowns and CS from TC be ready? looking forward to seeing them..

yup.. took pix of my CS but haven't upload. so have been looking at them now and them on hp.. hee..

wah.. Aug-Dec BTB outing? that must be big! but big grp i shy..haha.. i will join the Oct BTB outing first.. if got any coming up, must post k?

u ladies gg for facial regularly? do u think once every 3 wks is too often?

koyoyo

NOw lex,
Dun you tempt meil to buy stuff not good .. guess u need some spanking haha.. Cyc what your multiply nick? can someone tell me so i can add you...
Mrs Kel,
My fren wear mtm cs is not those hugging type think it call a-line (not very sure the naming) look great on her as she already very slim.. I still no confidence wearing CS,... will tag along w Meil n see if i can try a few ...

~sblbee~

lex,
hahahah....im really getting 4getful nowadays n cannot remember a lot of things, used to have a v gd memory one, now tend to miss out on 1 or 2 things :p i alrdy blew my budget le, cannot buy some more new ones unless im gona wear dat for my wking attire as uniform everyday :p

cyc,
quick....post ur CS on ur multiply cos i didnt see anything in ur multiply, it's so bare...must put up more things there for our viewing

oh i go for facial once in a mth...i guz 3 weeks is still ok....perhaps i shd step up to twice a mth cos my skin's really horrible

bedazzle

YL,

it's birds nest not jelly leh... eat more will burn a big big hole in ur pocket..

Gina,
I'm not rich, neither am I slim. I'm just vain. Went for pilates class this morning, but now finished eating 1 packet of nasi lemak w fried chicken wing...hahaha.
You paying for your bridesmaid dress ah... Is tt the norm huh. I might hv abt 6-8 jie meis leh.

Yesterday heard fr my mum quite a few of my relatives will not b turning up for the dinner... my grandma is in ill health, my uncle has alzheimer disease.. my aunties gotta take care of them. I think my relatives only 2 tables bah...=(

shybride

yeah lor.. my AD is less than 2 mths away and i still dunno my SDJ how.. actually FMIL mentioned no SDJ but will get me a diamond bracelet.. then no news after that .. :/

uk_fung

Hi Ladies, uksportgal here....aiya the admin so SLOW.. I email for weeks already no reply at all... my old acct is down... I think I miss out alot hahaha

~sblbee~

koyoyo,
thank u for defending my wallet, trying to save some $ for d top-ups dat i did previously :p im sure they'll b glad to let u try some, den i can admire ur figure n go wahhhhhh :p

mentos

rach> how much does it cost to rent from bridal closet. my colleague gave me a contact for tailoring bridesmaid's dress. it'a home seamtress that cost about $100 per outfit.

lexilicious

Hahahah so who exactly is going down to M&M, I also wanna see! @@

cyc
wah facial.. I finally did my first one after 5 years... and realised why I don't do it often... damn boring to lie there and do nothing... LoL

Yah and I don't see any pics on your multiply! Go add something for us to see see le.. we women are visual creatures :p

Hmm massage... *drool* anyone know any GOOD place... I givew up on Javanese massage - it's all run by people with no massage background one.. sian

fumiko_neko

try contiki if u r on budget..
they are a tour for age 18-35..
they sell land packages worldwide
so e tour grp ppl can b europeans, japanese, taiwaness, australian etc..
they are 70% guided tour and 30% F&E..
flyin off in early nov.. WINTER!! keke
i choose thai airway cos is cheaper than british air...
thai air will have transit at BKK but only 2-3 hrs of waiting..so i m ok la..
save money more impt :p

this is e land package i sign up..
http://ph.contiki.com/tours/111-european-encounter
their prices are in USD..so now US rate is dropping..u can choose when u feel e rate is low, then u pay them..as long 30 days before u depature..
and i add on another 4 days F&E in england
so wit e hotel in england cost and air ticket with taxes cost
a month ago US rate compute out for 1 pax = $4211SGD

u can go UOB planner or chan brother to find contiki packages..
i tink some other agents might have them too..but u need to find out la..cos i not sure..

if u have more money, u can try insight vacations..
they are more for older adults with high class taste..

<font color="aa00aa">hahaaa my lunch break, is one hour, but can be 2 hours cos the timing is between 12 - 2, 1 hour within that time . . . but we go 12 - 2 if go gym...

usually we dun leave on-the-dot so it somehow makes up for those lunch hours i guess... but my boss quite flexible, dun really monitor us la... as long as our work got finish and all that, he's ok lor... heh.</font>

~sblbee~

shybride,
actually i listen to both english n mandarin pop songs but i feel dat mandarin pop songs is abit more me, but my fh doesnt listen to mandarin songs n frowns upon d idea...cant even use jin tian ni yao jia ge wo by jolin n david :p

florabliss,
some parents felt dat marriage is between d 2 couple n they shd handle all d financial part w/o having d parents to fork out any $, i feel dat $2.5K is considered to b a substantial amt of budget for SDJ cos some of my frens have only $2K or so...perhaps she'll compensate by giving u a bigger AP as she may feel dat jewellery is not practical :p

sotonglet,
thanks for ur recommendation! shall go n search for d songs actively
have try to compile a CD for these songs soon :p

shybride,
mayb ur mil waiting for d gss to get a gd deal, dun worry gss will start in end may so still got sufficient time for her to get u sth

polarwhite80

i saw lex n wendy (cant rem her nick liao), PS in July.... seems like mine is the 2nd earliest after mrs kel.... mine is next mth end....

hi cyc,

i going facial once a mth....

bedazzle

Kirei...
You are like doraemon leh.. Everything also u can find good deals. Package tours kills us. We hate it and my boyfriend's a wierdo.
Think most likely I'll b back in KL with him after the wedding... sianz.

pooh83

dor, ya.. i paying for my bridemaids dress.. i will have 4 jie mei.. so thinking of renting rather than buy coz dun think they will wear again lor.. and also save some money.. hee.. it is not a norm to pay for the bridemaids dress.. depends on individual..

waxie, i also waiting for gd bonus.. hee.. but if i am going for honeymoon i will go few days after my AD coz already booked 3 wks leave for my wedding le.. hee..

princess_sue

hahah lex, i think so , both the sleeping position and the computer is the culprit. :p lex try the massage at helio asia.. at paragon. its good.

cyc, if we have the money facial every week is ok too haha.. but depends on what type of facial though.

mei, you have to keep your wallet out of reach from yourself hahaha

simplyserene

Hi R&amp;J,

I'm supposed to get my invitation cards from T-Dragon as well. Can I know how long it takes for them to print the cards, outside design only, excluding the inserts (cos I'm doing them separately)? Wanted to go down yesterday but no time.

flora_bliss

meiling, confirm no AP coz she say she'll give me the SDJ during the tea ceremony. Anyway, nevermind. I'm most prob take the $2.5 to buy Gold, then buy the tennis bracelet myself. What's the point of getting the bracelet as SDJ when I have to pay for it.

Wat really pisses me off is the simply bo chup attitude loh. Never bother to ask abt our wedding preparation. Perhaps some may feel that she is giving us all the freedom). But so far, never show any concern leh. We last yr already told her we have booked the hotel and BS and yet last Sun, I accidentally discovered that she don't know all these have been settled.

Sigh... I'll grumble but still I'll have to show her respect since she is MIL. Can't make things difficult for my HTB.

raragal

shybride> wah!! $68 AP?? I've never gotten this much of AP before as a jiemei loh.. most couples dun even give.. only received from their parents... mmmm... wah... can i be ur jiemei?? hahahahha....

You mean gate crashing?? depends on ur budget loh.. the last jiemei i was... we managed to squeeze $500++ from the groom.. there were 8 of us... and its the 1st time i got $70 for gatecrashing loh... haha...

But we intending about $288 for our gate crashing la... coz alot of things to pay for.. super siong liaoz... we dun earn alot also....

Actually i've done up a planner.. with the AP listing as well.. and i've included the denomination table also.. can one glace see how many of each denomination we'll need... when we wanna start bao-ing.. hehe...
If anyone needs, can get from me...
But is a very comprehensive planner with all programs, schedule, timing, expenses, everything.. into one excel... so.. if anyone wanna for reference, let me know..

Leave down ur email.

xinyi> wahh... u also good.. got $100 for AP...and still got dress.. wah.... i'm impressed!!!
Yaya... from my past experience all very little leh.. even gate crashing also sometimes only got $88 in total!! split into a few jiemeis.. only have like max $40 with all the parents AP!!
So.. Mmm.. but I'm giving my JMs and XDs more la... hehehe... since they are already helping out, feel bad to give too litlle.. but i have 12 each.. cant give that much also leh... else very siong! hehe.. :p
You give so much only $900??
I give lesser than u already $2000++ loh.... kaoz...

tinkybell

Hi Brides, look like alot is going on here huh,... i missed out quite alot le... sigh...

I saw Wendy &amp; Lex's PS in july, what abt the rest?? i also tot of doing it in late June but not sure if this is too late.

Cyc, u mentioned abt massage, u got gd recommendation?? i long for a good massage too

raragal

kire> don't think can get from u tonite also.. sigh.. coz i got Cell grp.. will reach home 12am... Mmm... we see tmr how okay?
Else sun liaoz... heheh.. paiseh..

I also coughing nowadays.. sigh.. dunno why...
ROM coming.. jialat. once i fall sick, i take very long to recover de... sigh....

mentos> so how much u paid for it??

the bridesmaid dress is 3 for $100.. for rental.. includes alteration.. i think very cheap...
Its normal.. not very elaborate kind.. but i think as long as same material and same color.. i'm happy enough.. ehehe...
check out her website loh..

www.bridalcloset.multiply.com

Gina> Yah.. very likely i'm taking it.. unless there's any more cheaper ones loh.. hehe... but basically its all tube only..
My gals are going for fitting in June.. so that she has time to alter... u can always email her and find out more first..
or just leave a comment in her multiply loh....
She'll reply and give u her number one..

Seem very nice lady..

I did laise with her last year.. she has she has 12 of the same one... so at least i know i'm fine ma..she did mention June may have new stocks..
So i think thats why we going down in June to check it out..

dor> no leh.. my coll engraved his hubby's name.. very nice.. $200++ i think..
I thinking to get him his favourite watch from Casio ($500) or cufflinks(which he seldom wear now.. no need formal wear..)
or to get him something else.. sigh... but i'm broke! sigh.. wanna buy watch also can't loh...

Europe need $20K meh? I tot $10K enough liaoz... packages in tour abt $3k++ each ma..

hahhaa.. i also love nasi lemak.. the coffeeshop at my place super nice one loh.. hhehe..
Next time we can have gathering at coffeeshop. wahhaha...

Oh.. i not paying for the dress.. i asked if they mind paying for it...they say they are okay...
Mmmm..see how la.. if by that time i already got the money, i pay for them loh,... thats $360! *gasp*

wah... only 2 tables?? my immediate relatives already 7 tables.. alot of children... i mean.. our generation one.. 20 of them!
Plus some of the grandchildren.. abt 30 liaoz.. hahhaa..

I have a big family.... father's side already 10 siblings... mother's side 6....
FH's father's side 14... mother i think 4... hahha....

nelle

flora, nvr mind lah. I think my future MIL only buying me two bangles. My partner says his 1st and 2nd sis-in-law also receive the same.
Other items my partner will need to pay himself.

lingelle06

Hi Eunice,

I have just asked for a few quotations for VG only. To my surprise, the quotes can range from $700 to $1,300! I dont have high expectations for VG too, perhaps, its also because I dont know what to expect ;p

My budget is anything below $800. So far, I haven't really shortlisted any VG because I really dont know how to compare, haha!

luvz17

Flora, dun get angry... y not just settle for the 2.5k for something else and hint hubby for ur tennis bracelet for present?..if that is the case, the bacelet will be more meaningful. dun force urself to buy the bracelet using the budget she gives, or else u will always be reminded by it everytime u see.. not v gd. lucky u dun have to stay with MIL. I dun even know what my MIL will buy for me, she never said anything... duno she will buy on her own or ask me to choose... roughly i know wat my parents will buy for me... =)

as for the gathering, i dare not commit yet. i will let u know at nearer date whether i can make it.

amore kickboxing class gd??

xinyi_reiko

rach, i added up the angbao amt.. i only have 4 jie meis, then gate crashing, we decided to give $188. So I divide out, then plus each side of the parent give $12 each. So all these brings about $100 for each jie mei. Dresses part, I bought online, 3 dresses for $64, very good deal. All of us like shopping online, so we have no problem buying anything online.

XD part, we also had 4. Adding up the angbaos also around $100 each. They driving also, so ok to top up alittle more.

Then my JMs and XDs, will be helping out at night, to be recep, emcees.. so thats why each person come out around $100 each. Which i feel is reasonable lah. My AD on weekday and they had to take leave to help.

the rest will be PG, VG, meipo, driver, MUA, 2 kids that roll the bed, my brother that open door, all these giving them $20 each.

the rest will be kids, will be giving $6 each.

So is around $900 at the moment.

I been 3 times jie mei before, only once i gotten so much. hehe..

providencia

MeiLing and Rachel, tks for telling me abt 'Heng Heng' - very funny shop name.

Flora, don't put a price tag on yourself, maybe she doesn't mean it. How come you have to source for SDJ yourself? U scare she buy something biang?Since u'll be getting the diamond bracelet urself, why not task ur MIL with the SDJ, just ask her buy gold blocks, better than some biang gold jewellery?
I won't be getting SDJ from MIL - this she has made clear, but it doesn't really bother me, as long as my HTB treats me well.
Ya, must learn to see things open (kan kai dian)

I haven't started looking for wedding songs yet, see, i'm so behind in my wedding preps. I have a collection of songs lurking somewhere in my computer, mostly english, the songs that sotonglet suggested, i think i might have it, I'll go search thru my PC and post the songs on multiply.

Jac, ur hotel is my hotel? what u mean by cannot use downloads?

berry_egg

here's my update of my progress:

1) PS done- waiting for the review
2) Food tasting - Mid to End May
3) Namelist - 50% with verbal confirmation
4) AD schedule - 0% (to start in End May)
5) Guo Da Li - 50%. Left with the purchases and exchanges in early July
6) House Renovation - nearly 90% Left with pieces here and there.
7) Ang Pao Box - 0%, engage 2 of my creative jiemeis to help out.
8) Wedding music - 0%, hubby's task
9) Wine Selection - 0%, hubby's task
10) Photomontage - 0%, engage a friend to help out, schedule to start in June
11) Invitation cards - 0% to order from T-dragon and plan to issue out in early June.
12) Honeymoon - Sept Europe Free &amp; Easy Trip 5% (only confirmation of places to go)

geez.. seems that i got alot more things to do.

fumiko_neko

rach, can give me e auntie no?
i dunno hw to use multiply..
or can i go together wit u to c e jiemei dress?
got clothing for brothers?

wat e english name for brothers?
jiemei - bridemaid
brother le?? brideservant? or bridegroommaid?

fumiko_neko

for euro, if u go F&amp;E is more exp and tiring than tour packages..
unless u go euro b4..then u can try to go one state and try F&amp;E..
otherwise, first timer, i would recommend tour packages..

i hope contiki will leave me a gd impression lo..
at least forums say they are gd..

fumiko_neko

but tink abt it, sometimes forums comments oso quite objective..
like gina or who go mr/ms wedding club say their services is gd..but forum post until rot say they not gd..

so is up to own luck and fate mayb..lolz..

<font color="aa00aa">great help for sore throats - eat the dessert fu chok (beancurd skin, best with an egg thrown in)..!!

or drink the Allswell Starfruit drink... also very soothing...</font>

lara

wah.. actually i didn't plan to give my jiemeis angpow leh coz im paying for their dresses ($500 for 4 of them) n i was thinking since parents got gif APs to them oredi n hubby will also give them during gatecrashing so I dun need to give oredi.. very stingy hor

shybride

rach, i did 1 time jie mei got $88 ang pau from the bride.. then plus from parents &amp; gatecrashing, got quite a lot in the end!! how much u giving your JMs each? $2000 total is a lot!!

can i have the planner pls? just to chk whether i have missed out anything.. [email protected] Thanks!

by the way how to budget the gatecrashing ang paus? i won't know how much the JMs will ask for right? and i will be inside the room.. should i tell my JMs the max they can get? or what?

and any suggestions for presents for the parents??

xinyi_reiko

hmm.. shybride, why need presents for parents??

Lara, wow, you also another generous one. hehe.. other than dresses, i paid for MUA for my bridesmaid and one of the jie mei who is going to be my emcee, at nite. Which cost $50 each.

msclaire

Hey Flora, don't let it get you down. But say all you want here, we're all listening. Hope you get it sorted out, maybe your MIL really doesn't mean it that way. Getting started on the right note is also important to keep the relationship right.

Actually you got me thinking about what I was already thinking about last night. Till now, my fh still hasn't proposed, even though we're actively preparing our wedding already. We started talking about getting married cos his mum asked us to go see the showflat to be balloted (see only), but the area was so good, we decided to ballot. So ballot for house means must talk about getting married rite? Once in a while, I will hint about it by saying I still have chance to say no to him. Abuot a month ago he told our friend in front of me that the reason why he hasn't proposed is cos i keep asking! That's just an excuse cos he also hasnt bought the ring. I even went to see with him, when we were shopping for wedding bands. I don't mind that his budget for the proposal ring or wedding bands is not very high, but last night I realised it's been almost 2 months since our preps, but he hasn't at least asked me if I am ready to give my life to him, or spend the rest of my life with him, etc etc. I think you gals know what I mean. His redeeming grace is the fact that he's super involved in the whole preparations and I know this means a lot to him. But still.......sigh. Getting a lil disappointed thinking about it.

bedazzle

rach, gina,

My friend went europe for honeymoon, for around 3 wks they spent close to 20k. They go for low-mid range hotels, food etc. Another friend went Italy abt 10 days spent abt 8k.

initially my jie meis v excited, keep telling me they wanna wear standard dress, go tailor make etc. But now a few of them want to be different and wear different dress. Up to them lor... so far I hvn't gone to any wedding where the jie meis wear the same thing one.
My parents separated, we don't keep in contact with my father's side, so only left my mum side. Really worried about my grandma's health...
My bf's father is inviting 20 tables worth of pple, his family members only abt 6 tables, so I dunno where the 14 tables of them come from. A lot of unhappiness arised from this issue at the initial stage of our planning cos he wanted 30 tables for himself. Dun talk abt it... I dun care liao, I told him as long as they turn up I'll b happy liao...

Kirei,
You are so lucky can go far far for your honeymoon. I've nvr been out of asia leh.

fortunemew

hi soyabeans, i had call up Stefin, ask Alvyn some questions if he still have Video service n wedding animation for my AD, n he said yes. i can't help it so, i told him that i am very angry with him ...but of course, i told him nicely lah. cos that few times he keep insisting to me n my friend (total call up 3 times) that their schedule is full for animations, and he didn't ask me if i want video for AD. he should have tell me straight that animation can only be done if i take the video too, at least i can discuss with my FH n made a decision fast. instead of us hunting n visiting other animation companies and other video companies and not liking it in the end...end up one big loop, only get to know Stefin can do for us if we take their combo package. (tell him all these too).

anyway,he reply they only have a few slot of animations quota each mth and it is full. But as for video + animation quota, it is till available.

okiez....i have fix appt with him to see his portolio on monday.

Phew..!!

pinjie8275

Hi elle,

U might want to get quote from my PG&amp;VG as well. His contact can be found at http://phototerrain.com/biodata.html

I signed up his combo package at S$1288 with lot of things included... Even MTV montage....

He is a very nice, humble and most importantly not hard sell person..

You can say Serene recommend you... (^_^)

Hi cuiling, mind sharing ur photos with me too.. My email/MSN is [email protected].

Hi Melody, my AD is same as you.. Can add me in ur msn too then we can keep each other updated on preparation pace. kekeke...