(2008) Brides of year 2008

pooh83

kirei, ya.. i agree tat it is subjective.. btw i didnt say that mr/ms wedding club is gd.. i went there once and find them quite pushy so in the end nvr sign with them.. base on individual preference ba.. hee..

dor, ya.. i not working today..

rach, thanks.. i will contact her to find out more.. price seems quite reasonable.. and plus alteration somemore..

shybride

xinyi, urmm.. good question.. it's like a thank-you present to both sets of parents.. for bringing us up.. my hubby's sisters and some frens all got give to their parents during their wedding.. we thinking of buying watches.. see whether got any other ideas from the other BTBs here..

lsntyl

fortunemew>glad you managed to get what you want in the end. Hope you like their portfolio.

Kirei>looked through your contiki tour package. Not bad. Some of the places quite nice. But personally, I still prefer FnE leh. Europe v easy to travel around and with FnE, can really spend time getting to know a place.

lsntyl

kirei> I think bestman refers to 1 particular brother wor. The one who's closest to the groom just like the maid/matron of honour refers to the main bridesmaid.

cyc

koyoyo, my multiply nick is yuik. add me!!

erm.. ladies, i know my multiply acc is v empty now.. i will try to post some pix by this weekend. PROMISE!

hi uk.. haven't "seen" you in a while. tks for adding me in multiply!

lex, i usu sleep during facial. v relaxing, except for the squeezing blackhead part! haha..

sue, i think cannot go facial every week right?will make face very sensitive i think.. ??

tinky, i got a package (facial and massage) with true spa. so thinking of using up that package before i explore on other massage places. no good recommendations.. true spa is ok lah.. we should all fly budget to BKK for massage. cheap and good. and then shop! haha..
btw, my PS is on 19 Jun. actually FH wanted postpone to July cos of work but in end we stuck with 19 Jun. think late jun for PS is still ok.

pooh83

dor, dun be unhappy abt the banquet issue.. for my case, i just tell both families tat cant exceed 50 tables including me and hb friends coz tat is the max le.. then maybe each side abt 20-25 tables ba.. ur grandma very sick ar? u must be very close with her tat why so worried..

bedazzle

Gina,
Wah, you dun mind 50 tables ah. Actually I want just 25 tables, then I can hold it at Beaufort Sentosa. Then I got a shock when he say he wants 30, plus my side, abt 40+ lor. Went through a lot of trouble to find banquet locations cos hard to find one to accomodate so many pple, on 14 sept, and within our budget. Then my boyfriend told him dun invite so many long lost neighbours etc, he was v unhappy. Then reduced to 20, and my side also cut down, so now we have abt 35.
I'm not v close to my grandma, just that see her v poor thing, then my mum and aunties all v busy looking after her. My mum has no time to think about my wedding. =(

Fortunemew,
You finally got wat you want... hurray

YL,
I also prefer FnE. Can sleep anytime I want, can eat anytime I want...

nsling40

msclaire, i started my wedding preps before my FH proposed to me. I told him if he dun propose i will not marry him. He secretly bought a proposal ring and he finally proposed to me last month. Maybe u should "hint" to him about it.

nelle

msclaire, don't be disappointed. My partner did not proposed to me as well. Not everyone will get a proposal that is worth remembering. He will get you THE ring..just a bit later. Maybe he is expecting some $$ to come in later so he can buy, and he does not want to tell you about it yet.

lsntyl

dor>hope your grandma gets better. Now must b v xinku for her and all of you looking after her.

I know what you mean lor. My FH's side has 3 times more tables than my side. So at first got quite a bit of unhappiness. My parents and I shocked got his side got so many close relatives. We really wanted Peony Jade but we could only squeeze in the relatives for dinner. No space at all for friends and colleagues. That's why we had to do a split day in the end. Works out more expensive but at least we still get the venue we want.

nelle

oh, forgot to add. My partner is 'lucky' that I wasn't into all the grand proposal and all that. My concern is - so long my name is in his will.

yes yes, it is mean old nelle talking.

fortunemew

hi Dor, really hope ur grandma health will be fine... i can understand, cos my aunt health is not good.... even have heart bypass operation before. my dad already passed away when i was 22yrs old (6 to 7 yrs back)...so i really hope my aunt who dotes me to attend too...

in fact, i very scare during my soleminzation (before banquet), i will cry lor! cos my dad is no longer ard to see me marry to the man i love.

now i am even thinking should i include my dad photos in the wedding montage....also scare if my family members/aunt see already will get emotional. cos my dad is really a nice father all along.

anyway, will stand by my close friends to hold tissue papers during my soleminzation.

pooh83

dor, i hope tat i can stick to 40 tables.. but dun know if my hb side will add somemore ppl or not.. currently my side needs abt 20 tables le.. dun be upset.. anyway my mum have time also seldom ask me abt my wedding.. most of the things all settle by me and my hb.. i just inform them the venue, time etc.. hope ur grandma can get well soon..

YL, so u have 2 days of banquet ar? did u manage to get peony jade in the end? heard tat the food is nice there..

superwoman_cqy

Msclaire we have been preparing for the wedding since last sep but no proposal yet. But Im not particular about it as long as he treats me well by giving in to me every now and then and be committed to our marriage. Okay I sound like Im consoling myself. We havent even gotten our wedding bands..

haha Nelle I like that.. his money is my money but my money is MINE..

Luvz17 kickboxing class is shiok! You will feel this rush of adrenaline when doing it.

FLorabliss dont let the SDJ thing get you down and affect your relationship with your MIL. Actually what is the significance of the SDJ? Im not sure whether I want it cos I dont think I will wear them..

Meiling.. Hougang is not ulu and my future home will be very near hougang..

fionachua83

msclaire, i also did not get a proper proposal my hubby tat time only ask me u like this flat ma? Then like tat we go ROM and buy the flat liao but at least he bought me a wedding band and a diamond ring and dun think he will do so.

fortunemew

btw, Dor, my gal friend also have many tables juz for the male side relatives...15 tables!!! her mother in law juz assume everyone will come....also never really confirm guest list too. my friend is having a headache now....i also worry for her as her wedding coming soon in June. i tell her that i will help as much as i can during her wedding.

hopefully things turn out well for u and her.

vividz

hi s'rene, printing of wedding card quite fast, mine took least then 1 week to complete. I took 210 cards. yesterday can collect ald, we asked them to print for us. my invitation card looks better when printed on the card, so we printed on the card itself.

fortunemew

LSnTYL, so you have two days of banquet. yes i have heard a lot of good comments on peony jade. u made a right choice!

my relative held her soleminzation there 1.5 yrs back,n she told me they arrange by boat (i dun know how that was done then though as i didnt attend). Even the soleminzator that she recommend me told me he still remember that special scene!

providencia

msclaire, although i had a fairly decent proposal, i'm still waiting for the ring.
If i were in your shoes, i would stop all wedding preps. Cool off all wedding issues and act nonchalant until u get the proposal (of course, u can secretly continue to source and prepare, just don't let him know). See if it'll work for you, it always works for me. The other thing is to pray for patience and tolerance.

lsntyl

gina>yep, 1st day is ROM lunch for friends and colleagues then 2nd day is AD + dinner for relatives. In a way oso good. Less likely to kena sabo at the dinner. :p

fortunemew>hope your aunt gets well soon too.

lsntyl

fortunemew>rach checked out the arrival by bumboat. Think is pay extra $300? Not sure. Basically, the boat will pick you up somewhere then bring you across the river. Then you dock at the quay outside Peony Jade.

gingerbread_gal

Prov,
Your hotel is FS is it? I rem my co-ordinator says the songs have to be original...copyright issues....i was like....there goes my itunes collection

msclaire,
maybe your HTB is trying to give you a big surprise? and that cos u kept asking for it, he felt that it won't be the surprise that HE wants. So he's waiting for the right time? I suggest you give it some time...actually we a re a few of the lucky ones whereby our HTB are very enthu in the wedding prep...I'm so proud of my HTB, he's with me every step of the way, even reading (erm i think more likely, flipping) the bridal magazines with me. so seeing that your HTB is with you throughout the wedding prep, i think all you need is time

Actually now that we didn't manage to get a new flat from HDB, HTB was asking me is it a mistake not to get a hse before proposal...Well, I told him I'm glad he did what he did cos it feels weird to me to hunt for a flat before we've agreed to commit to each other for life.

lexilicious

cyc
your facial/massage package with True? Ouch.. they've very expensive I find, their 60min massage is like $150+ for non-members.. I don't suppose you have a True Yoga membership? Cuz I'm rotting away along in True Yoga cuz everyone I know is with Cali LoL

heheh fly to Thailand? I'm dreaming of a getaway before all thew edding preps go into full force :/

Uksport
wah where did you poof to dear? Hahah...

eunicet

Elle: I also don't know how to compare! That's why my budget for VG is low low low! :D

Cuiling: Thanks for offering! My email address is [email protected] appreciate your video experience...And the quotation you were offered...

pin&jie: Your combo package was a VG package or a PG package?

bedazzle

Fortunemew,
Hope your aunt gets well soon.

Fortunemew, Gina, YL,

I'm ok lah. I also don't care liao. Just hope everybody turn up lor. If they don't turn up also no choice. Let nature take its course. My mum just wants very simple things, so it's easy... it's my bf tt side. His mum is so enthusiastic. First son getting married.

Peony Jade is good. I thought the boat is free? Ya, the bride and groom will arrive by boat. Then you can also hv the outdoor dining area for your solemnisation. I think they also give 10 free passes to a pub at clarke quay area right.
Good idea to do it on 2 separate days. Can set different kind of atmosphere to suit the crowd.
Thought of doing tt too, but being lazy me, I just wanna get it over n done with in 1 day...

mentos

fortunemew: I know how u feel. I lost my pa 7yrs ago too. Be brave girl :D Ur father will be very happy for u up there. Actually I am worried that I cannot control my tears too so I've decided to omit even the Thank you spech portion from the banquet

dor & fortunemew: Hope that ur love ones will get well soon

cutiephinphin

Yes for FS the songs have to be from original albums. I was told that too. So there goes my collection as well.

Yes i do agree with everything Jac said abt proposal etc. One should not get married coz it's time to do so or coz of the house. Before everything comes in, it's rightfully that both at least verbally if not by action agree to commit themselves to each other's lives and not just assume coz you're in a relationship.

It's also not abt having a blingbling on the finger or a grand affair or kneeling down. It's the sincerity of him wanting you in his life and if you feel the same way too.

lsntyl

dor>Hee, hope Peony Jade will be good too. After so much chasing, I finally got to see my draft contract today! The boat is not free but doesn't matter since FH and I not really into it. Ours is ROM lunch so sure v hot. Don't want to melt in the heat.
Solemnisation should b on the stage in the restaurant for the same reason. Actually, if I can, prefer to have everything on 1 day too. Less trouble and pay less. Now, I must pay for PG and MUA for 2 days. But its ok lah. decision made le so make the best of it.

I forgot who talked abt jetstar yest but they having promo again. So tempted to take a short trip b4 the wedding to recharge...

bedazzle

ya YL,

I actually just ordered one pack fr her. But a bit scary to buy such things online leh. I think after this pack, I shld just stick to buying from the shops.

bedazzle

Mentos thanks. Sad to say, my grandma's v old. Don't think she can really "get well" you know what I mean. Just give her the best attention we can for now...

YL,
You're right. Decision's made, don't dwell on it anymore, make the best out of whatever we have. I also wanna take short trip, but no money + no time.

I just checked, the whole of August is Lunar 7 month. So we can't do any wedding preparations during tt month? So we only have may, june, july!!!

nelle

wahahahaha... die liao.
The reason why we marry is becos of the house. If marriage cert not required, we won't go through this at all. Trust me to bring down all society values, yes I think I must be mad :p

cyc

lex, i have 2 facial/massage packages.. conned into it after trial! haha.. one with True Spa, one with Body Contours. i do my facial at a neighbourhood beauty salon.
nope, no True Yoga membership. i used to have CF membership but expired last Nov. didn't continue cos v crowded.. never manage to squeeze in for the classes. thinking of signing planet fitness or amore.

shybride

nelle, actually not really excited.. dunno why.. more worried i will fall down during the march in or be too nervous during the solemnization.. :/

fumiko_neko

gina, oh not u ah?? then i forget who mention ms/mr wedding club during our gathering at my hse..keke..paisei..

initially i plan F&E cos tot will b cheaper....but then F&E turn out spend more money and need to find accomodation etc...and travellling is exp in euro
and every1 say F&E is more exp than tour packages..
anyway, i no money
so stick to tour packages lo..and somemore this contiki is semi guided n F&E..i tink not so bad...quite flexible..

lsntyl

dor>no house so don't dare to buy mattress first.

Kirei>I'm sure you'll have fun. I heard Contiki is quite good too. And the travel companions can be quite interesting.

Europe can be cheap. But must do more research.
So far, all my travels in Europe is FnE but I normally concentrate on 1 country at a time. Its much cheaper this way. For your Europe itinerary, go so many countries, if travel by yourself, sure more ex esp if you take rail.

fumiko_neko

ya i will go euro next time if got money and travel a state at a time to explore in depth..
but cos first timer...since fly until there liao..so must fully utlise and go everywhere..
haha..

dodolet

Pinjie, I am also intending to get my VG from phototerrain. Now in the process of meeting Lawerance to look at his work and confirming. ^^

lsntyl

hee, is not bad idea lah. Get to see more places then next time you know which country you like best lor. Florence and Venice are really nice. Must show your pix! :D

lost_in_space

hey gals...

so envy u all.. got SDJ.. my hubby teochew.. MIL supposed to give me SDJ..

Story line..
1st time : she told me she bought, I said orh
2nd time : she told me teochew dun give SDJ, I said but my grandma said must give
3rd time : she told a granny told her teochew need to give SDJ to DIL
4th time : she told me gold prices too high, can dun buy
5th time : after a lot of other issues.. FIL said he must give me SDJ cos he is teochew, MIL said give me $$ to go back.. lucky hubby said dun give $$, if later lost it.. if not later buy too exp, MIL will say me greedy, if buy too small, MIL will say me lose her face..
6th time : MIL told me that she will bring me out to buy in Oct, my wedding is early Nov.. so rush.. haiz..

qinying, SDJ is given by MIL.. for teochew customs but nowsdays all MIL will give DIL SDJ.. the purpose is to let DIL wear the SDJ on the actual wedding day.. to show relatives and her parents that MIL adores her DIL..

cantonese is to give dragon and phoenix bangles..