(2008) Brides of year 2008

simplyserene

Wow looks like most of us are already really hot into our wedding preps! It's great to see that things are smooth-flowing

We went for our food-tasting last evening with both our families. Apart from 2 dishes that needed improvement, everyone agreed that the other dishes were fabulous! Hopefully they'll be able to maintain the same standard on the actual day. Topped up a little to change the dessert to their signature dessert. Thought it would be something nice to do for our guests. Unfortunately didn't manage to bargain for more perks but we're easy. I think we'll be able to work something out.

We also discussed about the GDL and AD day stuff like dowry and gifts. Thank goodness my fiance's aunt was around cos she spear-headed all the discussions. So we've got the basic stuff settled. Both our families know that everything will be borne by us so they didn't ask for much. *Phew* Mum said no hard liquor cos nobody drinks them, so sparkling wine will do.

My brother was taking the minutes and it was really funny to learn that he gets ang pao and new clothes as gifts cos he's not married yet.

It was a good get-together and I'm glad everyone enjoyed themselves. The next step now will be to choose the wedding card and start printing inserts. My friend it's better to start early, just in case.

flora_bliss

meiling, the best thing is it's only 2-3mins walk from my current home. Any time I can go home. I guess tat would help to alleviate those pre-wedding depression moments.

I've just received another piece of good news. HDB has approved my appeal for the 40K grant. Hooray...

dodolet

flora, congratz ah.. lucky gal too. ^^. Anyway any time you feel the depression coming can also voice out here and we will hear you su ku also. ^^.

Meiling, lol like tat also can ah.. I think alot pple will queue at the MP office liao. ^^

gingerbread_gal

Nelle,
thanks for the pics...will check with HTB if he likes any of those and will get back to u asap...the stickers are cute!

Flora, so envious of you...got a flat now....although to me,
$26k COV is still quite high...but guess its fine for u cos its in AMK and location is good. Good thing you didn't take up the previous flats u've looked for cos u got a better deal now. Congrats again!!

Nec, i like french manicure alot - classic and elegant....would love to do french for my nails but its such a waste of $$ esp since i always wear gloves.

necrosis

nelle,
very fast ah you! ;)
will let you know later.

jac,
yeah, gloves on most of the time.
but i was testing out the french, just to see if it'll look good for PS and AD.
and it does!!
lol.

provid,
nail art? like flowers n crystals? mmm...i'm way too chor lor for such feminine things....very incongruous on me leh. ;P

princess_sue

haha lex, trust me, my fh is bad at buying gifts. So i am not expecting much... ( i guess i may be disappointed hahaha )

mei,
thanks, i do hope my bd will be a good one tomorrow too

chilli crab? haha i only like the gravy, i nv fancy crab haha. coz i find it very troublesome to eat. hehe...

~sblbee~

cyc,
no prob....do keep me updated....shd b going down on 19 apr to see wat's their progress :p

sue,
dun worry....im sure will b a memorable one b4 u bcome a mrs...remember his proposal? he oso took u by surprise mah :p
i got a human crab pincer extractor....but smtimes it's better to get ur hands dirty cos it'll tastier :p

jule

wah.. you all are really fast, I was still thinking of doing my cards and food tasting in June.. Is it too late ?

~sblbee~

providencia,
yah lor, if u dun do watever they tell u, they'll nag non-stop....n if u do n failed n they'll keep quiet so i guz it's d best way to keep them frm nagging...
oh i dun live in toa payoh but my fh's aunties do, so when we went up to d DHL balloon, they kept calling us n said they can see d balloon but we cant even see them :p

florabliss,
congrats on getting ur ideal fat n oso ur grant of $40K, it's really a huge saving for u! can use dat $ saved for other purpose le
when will u b expecting to get d keys of ur flat? wah...so start to think of reno ideas leh
so envy

sotonglet,
yah lor, i was like couldnt b bothered when my mum mentioned to me but my fh stupidly go n agree n said he'll make time to do so....really waste of my precious time :p smtimes juz duno wat r out parents thinking....always believe in wat ppl say....

nec,
dun worry, u r not d only one...my manicure always hardly last for a week cos of my constant typing n oso my rough character...so it's a waste of $ for me :p think i'll juz do a simple french mani n pedi for PS but more elaborated designs for my AD

providencia

Flora, everything is going well for you now, no more stress.

nec, ya flowers and crystals, look quite nice, i also chor lor, so haven't try yet, but for the sake of looking mei mei during the wedding, i shall try to be feminine on that day

flora_bliss

meiling, fats can never be ideal ya. hehehe.... Still not sure when can get the keys. Now really researching around for reno ideas liao.

nelle

flora, see if you want to engage a interior designer or a PCK-type of contractor. As I have my own designs, I use a contractor who just follow what I say.

~sblbee~

florabliss,
hahahaha....i didnt realised d typo until u pted out to me...ok, i spell again "F-L-A-T", guz d one wif fats definitely is not u
i wld really love to engage a ID cos im completely w/o any ideas n i'll juz go "wah......" whenever i see ppl's nicely renovated flat

berry_egg

really so fast leh..jule, i am also planning to do my food tasting and card printing in end may.

same goes for the emcee script. As for honeymoon stuff, it would be left till june.

nelle

Interior designers sometimes drives you up the wall...hahaha... can't blame them sometimes as some changes will destroy the look of the house completely.

For those intending to have children, do factor in a safe environment & furnishings. Installing window grilles, furniture with rounded corners, matt surfaces, etc. will be part of the requirements.

jule

I already booked my honeymoon during Natas Fair as I only had a window period to travel...

Oops.. maybe I should plan to do the card printing in May..

berry_egg

Hi JJ,

our coordinator and designer are the same group.
my EG is rose red colour. and i choose their speciality embriodary wedding gown for the actual day. However it is not the elaborate, grand structured dress cos i'm not suitable for big can- can gowns as they made me bigger in size. Dramatic hair styling is also out for me.

Our banquet venue does not allow for a big gown too; otherwise hubby would have to walk in front / behind me. In total for the PS, it's 5 outfits.

Hi piyo,

yup, it was fun. Similarly we prefer to have nature as the theme for our photoalbum - hence botanical and east coast jetty. Also, i just let the MUA do watever she wants on me; afterall they know wat goes best for different sizes of brides. So we just rest the brain, turn off the hp and enjoy the whole day.

I did brought the newspaper and ipod in case hubby gets bored. but in the end we chatted, laughed and joked with everyone the whole day.

providencia

MeiLing, ya, i know the elders' patterns. sometimes really wish can shut them up, ha.

u mean they call u while u are in the balloon and they say they can see u? they got x-men powers?

Flora, u have an idea oreadi for ur hse? if not, then hit the bookshops for inspiration.

When i get my own hse (if ever), i will engage a ID and make my hse look nice nice.

Nelle, u think so ahead, planning for kids already? very sound advice.

nelle

provi, er, no. Not intending to have any children. I am just a selfish person who wants to be able to afford luxuries and travel as and when...hahahaha......... :p

Just relating some stuff from friends who did not cater in the child safe design layout of the house, then in the end, regret and spend more $$ to re-do some parts of the house.

providencia

nelle, so admirable, u always teaching us abt how to save and plan.
Can bring your kids when travelling. Feel that children should not restrict our lifestyle, I'll plan when i'm ready, hee hee

As for the hse,like you say,better do the necessary, make it kid-friendly now.

dodolet

wow... Sigh.. I hope i can get my flat soon.. T.T... I keep getting impossible priced COV for the flats i like..

nelle, den better make sure no "accidents" happen ah. ^^;;

I love balinese design or zen design. I dun think I will wanna have ID too. Paying for something that I can design myself. >.<

another few things, no glass or mirrors from top to bottom type in the house, washable walls and anti slip tiles too for child safe homes...

nelle

sotonglet, persevere...you will get what you want.

haha... no no no 'accidents'.. I have high faith in the pill.

resort style homes are good...esp when you go back after a long day and it feels like you are stepping into a resort... except no masseurs and helpers to take your bags, bring slippers to you, give you a tub of warm water to soak your feet...hahahaha...

waxie24

SG brides was down last nite ard 10+.. I couldnt access the site until 11+..

kirei> wat about getting a digi camera with 2 or more memory cards.. snap a few shots n bring the memory card to print, switch to another card to continue snapping while it prints?

princess_sue

haha mei i was really 'surprised ' for my past birthdays lor hahaha....
i m not a fan of crab except for its gravy so i always give that a miss. i am very lazy one.. anything tt has to use hands to eat, i will pass it. haha :p

momo18

sorry give me your email as i have to add you as a contact and all you need is to do a short registration

THanks

lsntyl

I've been eating a lot of mangoes recently. Parents bought a lot cos prices are supposed to be cheap. :p

the digital photos idea sounds fun but will it take too much time to print the photos and get the guest to sign?

apple_gal

Hi, Gals

Was busy these few days with work &amp; not feeling well.

Hi,xinyi
You get your album le ma?

Hi, Moments
How your Photo selection?

fumiko_neko

oic..no wonder..i didnt receive any emails for new messages posted..

ya a lot of things to take into considerate if i m gonna let my guests sign off comments on photos..
anyway got to do research first
my hubby said he might wan to go buy the wi-fi cam..and if workable, next time we can freelance such services for other couples who are interested..
hhhahaha

tinkybell

Sue, it is my turn now to wish u Happy Birthday... Sheng Ri Kuai Le... have a wonderful day n may all your wishes come true..

Cyc/Meiling, my teadress will be from the BS, but if cant get then most probably will get it outside....

Meiling/Sue, u girls talking abt crabs, i had 2 great crab feast for my Bday last yr... thinking of the butter crab make me drool... yummy... n i am kinda different cos i like to get my fingers all dirty...

apple_gal

Hi, Xinyi
Thanks... This is my 3rd edited layout, the layout which is 2nd edition is already ok, so my BS never email me. Total i have 17 pages, here only show 4 pages. The longer one is my chuan tao zhao. Please give some comments.. Not sure i need further edits or not..

tng

Brenda and Mary Poppins - i went to meet the banquet manager at PR this afternoon. she's totally professional and very personal. however, there's another wedding at the adjacent ballroom, so i guess it'll be very crowded and confusing. havent signed anything yet. die...

Sleeygal, how's the service, food and ambience at GMR. Spoke to katherine on the phone 2 days ago. she suggested me takin the 3rd level ballroom, with 6 pillars!??

flora_bliss

SotongLet and nelle, we have the same taste. HTB and I have decided on a balinese/ simple resort theme for our house. So now we are trying to research on these designs.

ttyy

im thinking of engaging VG for just the morning session. usually how much is that? quotation for a full day session (day &amp; night) is $1,000. i dont really think banquet need to video, right?

ttyy

i got my pair of silver shoes (4 inch), brand kiki at bugis for $50.

hmm, saw that u all are looking for ID? i have some names to refer. if u need, let me know. these are those which i hv shortlisted for my renov last year.

fortunemew

yo waxie/kireneko, i also like the digital guestbook idea, but dun think my htb wants it. i may try to get a friend who is good in photography to shoot n show pictures of us n the guests onto the projector. once the projector show the guests faces, it will give them a warm special feeling that they are part of the event.

i did ask my PG before to do that for me but he say not possible cos he shoot in high res, not jpeg file.

moments0442

apple_gal <<< hiye.... sorry reply so late... these few days started my new job... no internet access... therefore can only check forum @ nights...

I went to second selection of photos... still exceeded ... by 20 pictures.... so gonna go for the 3rd selection... trying not to top ... kekeke... ur photo up in multiply??? cool... i going to take a look!!! =)

shybride

wow nelle, you really helped the stall to get a lot of business for their stickers!! the stickers so cute, i will prob use them to paste on the bedroom &amp; main doors. oredi bought the normal double xi stickers.. shall use them on the GDL items &amp; other misc stuff

i m doing up my photo album in multiply now.. hopefully can show u my photos soon!

breakfast

irene (irenezcf)> Hi there! Sori for the late response. So how was yr wedding dat day? Hope it went well... Yup! There were indeed many things to prepare esp when my hubby &amp; I decided to include our customary 3 weeks b4 our AD. Phew! I'm glad that everything went well &amp; made the rite choice of having VG on my AD coz every moment was captured.
I am vy happy that I can still go back to the moment when the guys arrived outside my hse for the 'gate-crashing' whenever I start playing the 'morning highlights' agn. U wouldn't believe this...till now I am still watching @ least once a week! Hahaha... teared abit for a few scenes in the 'highlights'. Lolx.

raragal

kire> ya i think down.. i also didnt receive any emails ... i was wondering why... my FH very happy abt it though. i wont have to face the PC... hahaha...

TY>It'll be good to video...esp ur march in..

Hehehe... My FH is an ID..