(2008) Brides of year 2008

babyfifi

For SDJ: My MIL wanted to give SDJ cos she is teochew. She allowed me to choose my SDJ myself. I said I prefer white gold cos yellow gold looks weird on me cos of my skin tone. She brought me to TianPo & let me to decide with a particular budget (I think 3K) she gave to FH. FH acutally said that he would top up if I exceed but I wanted to save money for them so I got a simple set of white gold with diamond. Total damage I think less than 2K cos FH's cousin was there with us with some very good 50% members vouchers.

As for my Mum, actually we wanted to sub with AP but grandma say cannot. So my mum got me a set of yellow gold jewellery. Can wear with Kua.

For MUA: I have the same prob as Elaine. My MUA say not enuff time to help mum's do MU. So I went to find another MUA to do for mums.

For PSP & Xmas gifts: Anyone keen on a Creative Xen 4GB? I might be getting one as a free gift but have no use for it. Thinking of selling it to buy myself a camera.

nelle

Thanks, girls. Now I walk like abit ah ma. haha...
My sis yakking away say that after my wedding I will let loose & become flabby back.

I was surfing the net and saw many many ads/sites on MUA, photography, etc. IT IS mind boggling.
I have met a few photographers as well. after awhile, everything is the same liao. haha..

princess_sue

hi gals.. ...you gals make me so eager to try on gowns. ... i also wan to know what will my FH say... ..:p

let us all jia you to reach the size we want ! yeah..

koyoyo. can one...just put fruits near you.. then you will eat already.. somewhere in front of you on your table.. then you can easily reach out for it .. and munch while working haha.. that will fill you up abit.

try la... maybe that will help. wink wink.

hapimint

spending double? Nelle, sorry, i dun quite get... haha....

Yup, its all up at this website... but of course, the album looks nicer with all the digital imaging... like 3 pictures in one page... just like singapore... not those one picture per page type... haha....

http://photos.netvity.org/KMG-Pre-Wedding

Now I am considering to take one more photographer and videographer for AD. i already have a photographer but my SO says one not enough... faints...

i have some GDL stuffs to sell away to those who needs it for their GDL. my AD just over 17-Nov.

1) a pair of clogs - big pair for guys & small pair for gals. only display outside my bedroom toilet for 12 days (wedding rules). now keep it inside plastic bags and store in my bomb shelter. selling at $3.

2) a pair of red mugs with "XI" word - also display for 12 days inside toilet without using it at all. still very new & clean. selling @ $2.

3) 1 small red handkerchief with "XI" word - my mum bought for me but i did not use it at all. selling @ $1.

4) 2 bottles of orange syrup - in glass bottle bought from NTUC. exchange back during GDL. expiry date is Aug 2008. as we do not drink so decided to sell it away before the expiry date. selling at $5 for 2 bottles.

all items self collect at punggol drive.
pls pm me if u need any pix. thanks.

i have some GDL stuffs to sell away to those who needs it for their GDL. my AD just over 17-Nov.

1) a pair of clogs - big pair for guys & small pair for gals. only display outside my bedroom toilet for 12 days (wedding rules). now keep it inside plastic bags and store in my bomb shelter. selling at $3.

2) a pair of red mugs with "XI" word - also display for 12 days inside toilet without using it at all. still very new & clean. selling @ $2.

3) 1 small red handkerchief with "XI" word - my mum bought for me but i did not use it at all. selling @ $1.

4) 2 bottles of orange syrup - in glass bottle bought from NTUC. exchange back during GDL. expiry date is Aug 2008. as we do not drink so decided to sell it away before the expiry date. selling at $5 for 2 bottles.

cordie

hi meiling
wah pay in full ah? i do agree that is good, if i have the money i also would do that...but then mum was telling me last nite that if u book BS so early, if the shop close how... hahaha...but think the shop wont run lah...rt ryu?

think i also must buck up on exercise liao...been too slack...

hi meiling...
thats quite true...think will discuss with htb that, but for rom think will stil pay instalment (vit M not enuf)...09 then try clear all payments b4 AD...and try to have some money jus in case...

thanks all of u here
really learn a lot from u gals here...glad to be part of the thread...

necrosis

oh, ask you girls ah...if it's not too sensitive,
who's paying for the wedding expenses?

or, rather, in the singapore context, traditionally, who is expected to?
lol
mostly, i think i'm footing the singapore wedding bills, incl BS, and prob most of the banquet...

ryu

Hi Cordie,
they shdn't close down lar hehe touch wood...

Hi Nec,
me and htb going 50-50

As for paying in installments, i still believe not paying in full until the service is complete hehe just incase they get all the money and forget about me ;)

~sblbee~

hi mindy,
dun worry...i got 2 PGs n 1 VG as well :p

cordie,
hehe...i guz those BS wif reputation shdnt b a prob ba, must have trust in out own choice...trying to pay off things slowly but hope to clear everything b4 my AD so we can concentrate on d house if we get a flat after dat

yah, it's better to keep 20% cash for contingency n not pay everything at d same time cos smtimes we need d $ :p

nec,
for me, it's mostly 50:50 cos my fh juz started wking last yr...traditionally most of d expenses r paid out frm d guy's side but it must depend on both sides' consensus :p

koyoyo

haha sue,
i used to have fruit on my table as one colleague love to give apples never eat... until they are rotten.. only 1 fruit i put on table n will eat it .. Banana cant stand them rotting in front of me...
Meiling
Jiayou cut down on snakcs.. anyway u said u cant fantasy on ur idol even when ur FH is away. That good news that goes to show ur FH is important to you.. And i am sure ur FH will be the types that say "Wow" or show a "dazze" look on his face type... u are like his princess la.. haha envy..
Sue ,
Haha i am curious to know ur FH reaction also hehe...
Polarwhite
So nice u have EG desing ready... sound like a pretty gown... esp when u say cinderalla gown...

nelle

According to chinese tradition, the groom's family should pay for ALL the expenses. But as time pass, the couple foots the bill. Most modern couples split the cost. Or either 60:40.

necrosis

oh...
ok, thank girls.

cos i've a ceremony in india too... :p
expenses there is mostly air tickets!

mm...true, don't pay in full till service is complete.
i agree with that.

mm...meiling,
what AD PGs did you get?
i havent started doing AD PG/VG research n all...
any recommendations?
the rest of the girls...?

~sblbee~

koyoyo,
thanks for ur kind words....hope he'll b stunned in a gd way but when he started to comment nice things den i'll scold him mushy....hehe, we women r so hard to pls....
mayb i've grown out of those airy fairy stories liao so i know dat there's no more hope for me in reality :p

lovebytemi

Stnov,
U need a lot of water, rest and orange juice. This really helps me to recover quickly. Vit C and fluids and rest is the most important.

koyoyo

haha
dear facebook ladies.. koyoyo has just toss u a firecracker now let see which lucky lady got it explode under her hand./...
*grinz

jedilim

Hi S'rene, if i say that u recommend me to Andrew, will there be any discount or something?? i really trying to keep to minimum buget so will be great if can get some discount or extra freebies like montage etc?

Their package is $788 slightly above my budget. i saw their website portfolio and think it's rather nice, but i duno which ones are from Andrew or Austin.

lovebytemi

Stressed... think i am falling sick too. Now desperately searching for a videographer as well.

Thinking if its worth it to look for videographer anot... its like want to capture the memories yet dunno if 10 years down the road we'll look at it... sigh... all so expensive as well. Any of you have videographers please recommend ok. Thanks Babes!

hapimint

I havent go find mine yet cos well, my AD in dec mar... haha... still got one year to play around with... hehe....

Anyway, for us, he tries to pay for as much as he can but its more to if he can, he pay. If not, I try to help too lor.... what is the point of calculating to such details... make everybody unhappy also mar....

haha..... I am slacking on exercises too... in fact, my sister seems more enthu than me... she been going to the gym so that pretty during my wedding mar... haha.... i jia lat lar... everything prepared by my sister and SO... I super slow... haha...

necrosis

hi luvz17..

what hotels are you checking out?
maybe we can exchange info and all that...since seems like we're the only 2 still searching..lol..

simplyserene

Oh... Aiya... I won a $100 discount voucher from Novotel last time for cartoon animation but threw the coupon cos nobody wanted it. Mmmm... Can't remember the name of the company. Their works weren't exactly very impressive to me.

simplyserene

The ones on the website are mainly Austin's stuff. Write to Andrew to discuss about the price and they'll see what they can work out. Yea... You can say Serene recommended him to you.

hoitytoity

hi miki
Congratulations! if it is any consolation, at least u will not have guests giving u the excuse that they r not coming cos' it's the opening of the olympic games (08/08/08). :D

cordie

hi nec
me same with meiling...htb jus started working not long also, so adopt mindy way help wherever i can lor...

hi ryu..
i'm like u lor...dun pay til i get full service...scare they recd money face change....hahahaa

blur_queenie

Does anyone has any recommendation for photo printer? I'm sourcing for someone who can print good quality wedding potrait. My photographer quote me 24x24 for 480 which is too ex so I'm not getting from her. Did manage to source some price at Bras Basah but dunno which is good.

wendily

Hi JOJO,

My friend stays at blk 484 leh.. so qiao!

You bought a new or resale flat?

I wanted to buy that block also, but no units available laioz..

pinkyting

hi luvz17 & Nec

i'm aware that holiday inn atrium is oso available on 27/12/08 leh.. my AD is 27/12/08, i did ask them abt it...

Can try carlton, traders, le meridien, furamar riverfront.. the very last time i check, this few hotels still got late dec weekend...

good luck to both of u... no worry...

pinkyting

very long didnt get in touch with this thread liao.. abit out hor... anyway, happy for those who hv finally settle on certain things.. those who forgot to make herself mei mei, muz faster huh... those applying flats, dt worry sure can get wan.. next year jan is my appt to chose flat at coral spring.. hopefully i got it.. keke.. bless me please.. keke... btw, my cousin got try meiji collagen drink leh.. she say it does work leh.. so maybe can try la.. Flora Bliss Jia You!!!

thats all for now.. lets work hard to make ourself mei mei, watever we wish for oso come true... take care..

ceo38

Hi Marcy, I alrdy checked out his website liao. Fell in love instantly. His shots r absolutely fantastic. I love his work. Just wonder how much are his charges for pre-wedding shots and AD photography lor. Emailed him le but still no response. U have any idea on his charges?

marcy

hiya Karen, u can actually drop him an sms and he will forward his price list to you. I have the soft-copy, do u want me to email it to you?

necrosis

oh...ok thanks liting...

me will try those later...prefer those along orchard road, cos relatives dun like to go far far. :p

traders i went to see, a bit too small for me (25 tables + dance floor)

Luvz17, regent has 27th available.

flora_bliss

Hi ladies, I've out the whole day so now then can log in to see all the discussion. I missed out so much...

I remember there was once where I overworked my body during a ABT class. The next day my body and thigh was so sore that I had problems walking and climbing up and down the stairs. From the way I walked, my colleagues thought I was pregnant. Hahaha... And every stairs I climbed, I would go "Ouch Oww...". I've not been visiting the gym for quite a while. Now that I'm on leave, I'm gonna go there everyday to get back the momentum.

As for the wedding expenses, Matt and I would share the cost. But there are things that he feels that he should pay instead of me.

Nec, I have the same AD PG as Meiling. It's Bobman. He's nice and just took the AD photos for my friend. My VG is from Aspire Studio. Nice work at a reasonable price. You can see more of his work at http://jinghongmsg.multiply.com/.

Liting, I tink to make the meiji drink work, I better take it out of the cabinet and put it in a more visible place. And I'll be going for my very 1st facial on next Fri. I hope it's gonna be ok.

hibernate

nelle: my mother wants my bf to pay for most of everything

but both on us on tight budget lar .. hais .. so maybe 60:40 to 70:30 ..

cordie

hi hibernate
then maybe u can try tell yr mum time is different liao as a couple must help each other...wedding afterall is the union of 2 persons...so cant make 1 party pay most of everything...

sealy_me

If the MUA have finished her make up for u, then u decides to postpone the outdoor shoot for whatever reasons, u needs to pay the MUA. Think this is quite standard for every BS right?

~sblbee~

cordie,
yah lor, sad hor....our fhs only started wking not long ago so have to help out wherever we can, hopefully things will get better when we both have our increment nxt yr :p

liting,
thanks for ur well wishes! really hope to get a flat soon, as for d mei-mei part, try to go for monthly facial as far as possible but for d dieting part, it's kinda hard due to d festive season whereby there r so many gatherings n feasting...sigh, juz hope dat i can b more determined when i see yummy food :p gd luck to u for d flat selection too!

flora_bliss,
dun worry...heard so much nice things abt u frm bob...he said u look v cute n not fat, so dun always say u r fat hor, esp when u r in front of me :p same here, though it's 50:50 in most things but my fh paid for more stuff than me as there r certain things dat he felt dat guys shd pay *EGO* :p

hibernate,
poor thing....yah i agree wif cordie, in d end if he had to pay for most things n ended up in a financial fix, tell ur mum dat it wont b gd for u as well cos it ended up being both ur prob after marriage...unless he comes frm a wealthy family or he has lotsa savings

apple_gal

Good morning, ladies...

Hi, xinyi_reiko
Normally the BS MUA will charge us S$80 each for mum or jiemei. If outside, it may be cheaper, S$60 or more.. Me also trying to source... But my mum say don't need to spend so much, she would rather go to the facial salon for makeup which is cheaper...

wendily

Halo Ladies,

Wanna ask you if my invitation card for 120 ppl price at $396. Is it expensive?

Mine is customised wedding card, including printing and envelopes.