(2008) Brides of year 2008

ymuznick

wah..
so many people getting married in nov'08..
im 1 of them also..
im in 08nov..
selected the BS and venus but no the AD PG and VG..Any recom?

clarissa

Hi all, I am a Nov 08 bride too. My AD is on 23 Nov. Venue is at Hotel Rendezvous. Bridal studio is Di Gio... Currently on the look out for good PG/VG... Any recommendations?

witch

Muddpie, last sunday I went shopping with mummy dearest too at City Hall....so hard to buy! In the end also went home empty-handed.

I think you can try Robinsons or Marks and Spencer. They have some nice dresses for mums. Too bad my mum's figure is not great or else she would have found something there!

cordie

hi nec
really envy u leh...me also like flora bliss...10mins also must think twice...hahaha

hi meiling
i dun believe in only 1 party paying unless really very rich...as a couple everything must share share...of cos like u say, settle in private lor...

seems i stil quite young here but by the time i get married...also old liao...

yingbin1005

Hi all, i am a Nov 08 bride too!! My AD is 2nd Nov at CSC Hilltop garden. BS is bridal concept. n my PG is Sam Wong.. VG most prob will be Don from forestproduction.. =)

captain_piglet

Hi vivicaleb, if u like vintage lace, i would strongly recommend Margaret Brides. She is real nice and professional...her design and quality are impeccable. Her shop is tucked away at Siglap and feels so cosy and private. The gowns are made of very good fabric and her forte is in simple, elegant, romantic well-cut gowns with vintage lace (german or french). If you don't like lace, she also has plain designs but I would suggest you consider her only if you are interested in lace else it's not quite worth paying the price.

jazzy_chimes

hi yingbin, we have the same BS
Who's your coordinator?

~sblbee~

flora_bliss,
hehehe....guz we r abt d same age but u look so young
yah, bob told him u surely gona kill him if he post d pic of u :p

cordie,
yah true lor, i agree wif u...most of d time have to settle in pte wif my fh so dat he wont look so bad :p
wah u r so young...so u r d xiaomeimei here
so envy

wendily

Today i just went shopping with my jie meis. We were at central LJS for dinner, so we happened to pass by this just beside Star bucks. The dresses are so pretty.

My gals got it at $98. BUt guess what, there is a 50% discount, and they were so happy with their buys. For moms i'm not sure, if you more is more moreden kind, might be suitable.

Their dress are the shorter kind, knee length. Not full length dress. There are some, but not many choices.

But for ppl who are attending wedding, or for you sisters or freinds. Can try the shop.

My mom got her dress from allure, i think more suitable for moms and aunties.

Hi Jojo,

My house will be ready in Jan i think. Be sure i will jio you!!! LOL

kitty_ng

selina and lara, think you are having your PS soon. Hope the weather will be good on that day

Muz take care all btb as many of my friends falling sick bcox of this weather.

blur_queenie

My mum bought her short dress from a shop in MS. Heard from her that the dresses are from HK..

Sigh, my trip to japan might need to be postpone to 30 Jan as there isnt any confirm departure in Mid Jan.

pearlybling79

Hi Rach,
thanks for explaining the GDL. Will you be doing it?Is it a must for all?
Hi vivi,
Divine's was my choice too. Their off the rack is nice and they do MTM EG to keep. Think its neg if u dun want the EG.I like their sexy low back too. Esp,u will be standing at the centre stage and people looking at your back..heehee.. If you want their quote, I have.
Or Julia Wedding News or D'sire
Now D'sire got wedding package promotion. Can look for shirley or Eva. Dennes design are quite good. www.dsire.com.sg
They do ala carte or package too.

itgfe82

dear gals im also a june bride to be,all of u r so fast with ur preparation i have only settle bridal shop n dinner venue...PS is in march and we haven decided on videographer or photographer....i took a off the rack package but cant find any evening gown that suits me...one thing abt bridal i always feel short changed..sigh now trying so hard to lose weight but to no avail..if i cant lose weight by june i will be very set cuz hubbt to be is quite skinny...

cordie

hi meiling
dun say that i'm young, already 26 liao...by time i'm married also ard yr age le...and the fact i married b4 30 is i hope to have at least 1 kid by 30...better for both mother and child...dun need envy me lah..i will also grow old de...most impt is to age gracefully...besides, when i first join this thread...i tot u all younger than me leh...

ling27

thanks for your well-wishes..kittyng

Lara!!! Excited or not??
Mon is the DAY!

hi i wanna be happy, welcome to the thread.. you better start looking for your PG and VG since it is only 6 months away from your wedding now.. Losing weight?? Try to exercise more and cut down on oily food (especially tidbits and fast food).. you should see some results soon.. Jia You!!

stnov

Gers...my other headache will oso be buying outfit for mum....dun thk she will consider CS.....will be tough i guess.....

Kymmie....1.5K mentioned refer to VG?

hapimint

hehe... then I also quite young... i 25.....

I remember when I go flat viewing... the owner pulled me aside and ask me, how old are you? you look so young.... then I laughed... she seems to be thinking that not possible for me to get flat like that....

Then I told her, i kena cheated so must quickly marry... so you give me a good price k? haha....

In the end, my SO likes her flat the most... haha.....then my SO complained, how come didnt say that I am young but say you only... haha....

~sblbee~

hi cordie n mindy,
wah....u 2 r really young lor, guz nowadays d brides r getting younger too, u 2 r not d youngest i know, cos my BS have 1985, 1983 n 1982 ones too....so im d antique there...hehe, mayb cos i started dating late n dated a few guys b4 settling down so im a late bloomer...n ended up marrying at a later age :p
guz most gals wanted a kid asap after marriage, for me, i think it shd come after all my finances r stable b4 i started on family planning :p

poopa

gers, my mum bought her dress from Vivo... there is this shop : Nichii at level 2 near the starhub shop.. my mum is a size 14-16 type.. and she manage to get a nice tube dress overthere... u may try and take a look there..

ceo38

Dear Marcy & Anne
Thank q so mh 4 sending me WS's quotes on his charges. So u gals have decided to use him? I m confused, if I use him for pre-wedding shots, does it mean that I can negotiate with my BS to cut down their package price since I m nt using their photographer & photos? So WS can still use my BS studio to take indoor shots if nec? Sorry gals, I m a "problem" gal i knw. So many questions. Wahaha. I liked WS's work very mh indeed but must say he's a little steep..

Hi Angel, I think if u have a certain theme for wedding it will be nicer though nt really compulsory. I feel that if u have a theme, yr wedding will b nicer & more memorable. However, it's nt easy to think of themes & to adhere & plan out on the themes. So it's up to u ba.

Hi there Clarrisa & ABC, if u looked at Marcy's post in this thread earlier, noticed she posted 2 websites of photographers.. u gals can take a look at them. Nt bad de.

Hi Sharine, Can I check with you, your photographer SAM WONG, where is he from? Any particular studio or BS he belongs to or is he a free-lancer on his own? Any websites? Is he ex?

Thanks GALS!

mage

Stnov, both mummies also dun want CS too. Both also very kan cheong. So I managed to settle their clothes already.

My mum's outfit was bought from Rose of Sharon in Parkway Parade. She bought a jacket skirt suit.
My mother in law's outfit was bought from Niichi City in Vivo. She bought a black dress and a light blue jacket to match.

wendily, I saw the shop that day. Was telling my jiemeis can go there and see too. So happy to know there's 50% disc now!

So have you decided to go with the card designer? My friend got hers from http://promiseswedding.com/. Just for your reference.

witch

I'm hoping to get Mum a dress with some kind of a glam factor...hehe...

MIL has tailored her gown at Ted Collections lor...so I hope my Mum's dress is just as nice. :p

anneanne

yvonne: girl i read ur post in bliss's thread. actually i felt the same as u, a tad regret after signing but i feel tat everyone expectation is different. as u can see, there are alot of statisfied bliss brides. i am sure their service is up to standard for the price you're paying. so far i didnt hear them screwing any one's big day yet. hahaah. i am sure at the end of the day, you will be glad that you have chosen them. soemtimes its not about the reputation of the shop, but the personality of the coordinator you're dealing with.
enjoy ur preparation and look forward to your big day!

karen: i have confirmed and paid deposit already. i chose to still keep the photography package from my BS is because WS don't do studio shoot one. And I feel that studio shoot is a must for me plus i cant deduct much from the package is i opt out the pre wedding shoot from my BS.

And also, some bridal shop won't allow you to take their gown for shoot without their inhouse photographer. but tats what i like about WS's shoot, very journalistic, very casusal very comfortable. All you need is just a white dress and white outfit for your HTB.

Steep is a little steep la. hahah but you pay for what you get ba!

muddpie

tks gals...will bring my mum to marine parade today after work...kekeke...cos i remb seeing something ter...
mage i will lookout for the shop u mentioned...
my mum super conservative & dun like "too elaborate" kind... meaning...no cs, no long dresses, no tube dress, no sleeveless, no gowns for her... aiyio...*faintz*
my mil tailor made her dress....so i oso hope my mum's dress will be nice & not too chin chai...
panic too...so last min.... =p

anneanne

yvonne: i wore their dress to my rom. but havent try their wedding gown yet. prolly after cny! u?

karen: yes u should meet up and see if u guys click or not. but ws has a very bubbly personality. so i am sure u will find him very friendly!

nelle

I thought people are marrying later nowadays? That's why the government is worried. hahah....

It is very expensive to bring up children these days. My colleague whose girl is gg PAP K2 (in Jurong area) next year, was given a book list that is $280, without buying school uniforms/shoes/bag, etc. yet!!! She says haven't get bonus already broke. As she also has a son gg Pri2 (just normal gov. school) next year, so she has spend over $400 on school stuff for the 2 kids, even before school opens.

No wonder some families can't afford to even go m'sia for family holiday.

~sblbee~

nelle,
hi 5, i tot so too, but i was amazed when i hear how young our follow btbs r...guz we r d ones d govt r worried abt, not them :p
i agree on d high expenses dat's y im putting off family planning until d time is rite :p or d $ is enuff :p

kellyduffy

Hi All Nov Brides,

Good to meet you all here ... I just joined the job of wedding preparations, AD is 15th Nov..
Venue: still looking.. =(
the rest not started.. =)

vivicaleb

hi all brides to be

thanks a bunches on your choice of recommendation
i will make a trip there

will drag my HTB (husband to be) to go with me. he's pretty particular on what i wear. he almost flipped when i showed him Divine's gowns.

Rach - can you send me the quote you have from Divine for reference? (at least i've an indication) thanks ya!
email: [email protected]

lara

thanks Kittyng =)

Selina, not very excited leh coz worried abt the weather haha.. tonite will b going for fitting!

hihi i wanna be happy. try not to eat after 8pm n eat lesser rice during dinner..shld b helpful =)

nelle

The contradictory part is, the govmt wants people to marry & have kids. But flats near parents are so expensive (usually parents stay at matured estates rite?) with those high cash above valuation that the couples have to pay (like what many of us here experience now).

So if the couple stay far away (e.g. SengKang/Punggol/Jurong area etc, cos cheaper) then how to travel to parents' place to 'deposit' the kids before gg to work? We all know the high expenses has make single income family quite impossible, if not one of the couple can stay at home.
Having said that, it is difficult to manage a healthy family life. No wonder we have many kids who crave for their parents' attention & will resort to anything to get it.

Not everyone can afford to drive (cars consider as a luxury for mid-income couple). So logistics are tough.

This is a terrible chicken & egg, vicious cycle.

baobei123

Hi Anne

i saw.. then mine is diff fr urs..
she is telling me will get for me gd MUA and designer.. dont know if they will do as promise..

shyantiffy

yoyoyo!!! HI GALS!!!

been awhile since i last come here... now can breathe abit liao la.. finally got my banquet settled...& now confirmed to be a JuNe 08 bride....

cordie

hi meiling and nelle
now that u guys mention, though i did think about costs of a child...i nv realise that its gonna be so exp...wah...think i must save more money if i wan kids leh...if not think i have 1 can liao....eh.. nelle...then maybe u can consider living with parents lor...then no need 'deposit' them...

nelle

That's why I choose the selfish & easy way out - not having any kids!! haha...
It's not a matter about money & all that, just that I don't, um, particular like kids. There's no maternal bit of cell in me at all.

raragal

Esther> Errr,, whether if its a must, depends on ur parents on both sides leh..
Usually what people do is to go ard sending invites to all relatives.. coz its a form of respect i think.. to personally go there and invite the 'elderly' (lao3 yi2 bei4). Respect them ma.. and then where the groom supposed to come in the morning and give ur parents ur ping4 jin1 and those canned trotters legs,etc etc... so...
I think its rather a must ba.. chinese tradition la..

vivi> Hahaha.. yah.. i thought when i got Divine.. hehe.. www.mybridalroom.com

Check out the thread http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/459753.html?1197600772

So far... i only seen 2 negative comments on MBR... and that is abt the sales staff not attending to the customers.. but that was because all the staff were already engaged with customers and they were already asked to wait a while.... when i was there.. they were all busy too.. but one of the boss actually asked the designer out to talk to me.... and she entertained me for 4 hours... without showing any sign of impatience or irritation... so far, besides good service, reasonable pricing, nice gowns and designs, they albums are really one of the nicer ones that i've seen compared to some at TP. Heee... check it out yourself..

Talk to them and you'll know..

hapimint

haha.... my SO already asking me on when he can be a father le leh... but I told him no no... I want honeymoon period first.....

My SO parents live in woodlands... so well, its easy for me to get flat there.... not a problem for that... hehe....

Actually I thought I am considered quite old le.... heard of people getting married at younger ages...my own sister got married at 24... so I am one year later than her... haha....