(2008) Brides of year 2008

~sblbee~

hi nec,
thanks for ur well wishes! sure hope to rub off some gd luck frm d brides in tis forum :p

hi ryu,
for me, it's my 4th attempt for balloting...it's big no, small no, big no....hopefully will get small no if there's a pattern in tis :p

hatemenot

i didnt hear good comments about angel either.. that she was 1 hr late for the rom makeup or something...

My GDL is this sat! alot of things like not done.. haiz

hi kymmie, my ROM decor and hand bouquet was done by lovedroplets. she's very good and the decor was really nice! not very ex too..

http://www.lovedroplets.com/

ryu

Hi Jac,
I agree with Nec, take care when visiting some of these BS they can be very persistent. You don't need to sign up on the spot, take your time. My BS told me to try on the gowns, roughly talked about the packages and told me to shop around and compare.
Don't be impulsive and sign on the spot hehe

ryu

Hi Meiling,
hehe hope you get a small no this time then. My friend's no was huge .. gradually getting smaller nos but still not gd enough for her to get a flat... shd get there soon thou hehe.

ceo38

Hi Marcy,

I have not sourced for the AD photographer. I am abit confused here. I heard that we can get the photographer from the BS for the AD photography. I have a fren who signed up with D* G*o, she got her photographer who took their pre-wedding shots to be her AD photographer. So I dont know if I shd go source ard for the AD photographer or not. Sigh.. me confused and lost at this.

anneanne

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lydia</TD><TD>1/11/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anne</TD><TD>1/11/2008</TD><TD>TO</TD><TD>Bliss Bridal </TD><TD>WS.FeldBeryl</TD><TD>Bigdaypictures </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ciremis</TD><TD>1/11/2008</TD><TD>FSH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sassy_girl</TD><TD>1/11/2008</TD><TD>SH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jacqueline</TD><TD>1/11/2008</TD><TD>SLH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winnie</TD><TD>1/11/2008</TD><TD>FCC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Katherine</TD><TD>1/11/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepyapple</TD><TD>2/11/2008</TD><TD>CH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>qinying</TD><TD>2/11/2008</TD><TD>TO</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>William Chua</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline</TD><TD>2/11/2008</TD><TD>GPPH</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fruittea</TD><TD>2/11/2008</TD><TD>HI</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lost</TD><TD>8/11/2008</TD><TD>HIPV</TD><TD>Signoria Nuziale </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>chemie</TD><TD>8/11/2008</TD><TD>FSH</TD><TD>Volan Coulture</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>y|bbubippah</TD><TD>8/11/2008</TD><TD>MM</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>chimes</TD><TD>9/11/2008</TD><TD>FR</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>1950photography</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starry</TD><TD>10/11/2008</TD><TD>CCH</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>funfun</TD><TD>11/11/2008</TD><TD>NCQ</TD><TD>Mon'liza Wedding Castle, KL</TD><TD>1950photography</TD><TD>aterlier X </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maple</TD><TD>11/11/2008</TD><TD>GPPH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve</TD><TD>11/11/2008</TD><TD>BG</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>HappyMrsKoh</TD><TD>11/11/2008</TD><TD>MM</TD><TD>Margaret Brides</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>pang</TD><TD>11/11/2008</TD><TD>GH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>keer13</TD><TD>13/11/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rommie</TD><TD>15/11/2008</TD><TD>FCC</TD><TD>Bridal Elegance </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>anomaly</TD><TD>15/11/2008</TD><TD>HH</TD><TD>Golden Horse</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>denril</TD><TD>15/11/2008</TD><TD>FR</TD><TD>Jazz Bridal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>blanqq</TD><TD>15/11/2008</TD><TD>YLG</TD><TD>Santiago JB</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>16/11/2008</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD>Silhouette </TD><TD>Tri-angles</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jiniwin</TD><TD>16/11/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane</TD><TD>16/11/2008</TD><TD>OCC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>new_here</TD><TD>17/11/2008</TD><TD>RP</TD><TD>Inspiration</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karen</TD><TD>21/11/2008</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>Ritz Couture</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xin</TD><TD>22/11/2008</TD><TD>FR</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>tingie</TD><TD>22/11/2008</TD><TD>FRF</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blessings</TD><TD>22/11/2008</TD><TD>HH</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>Visio Workz</TD><TD>Visio Workz </TD></TR><TR><TD>Brenda</TD><TD>22/11/2008</TD><TD>RTC</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michelle</TD><TD>22/11/2008</TD><TD>TL</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>charma97</TD><TD>22/11/2008</TD><TD>YLG</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhixin</TD><TD>22/11/2008</TD><TD>AH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>providencia</TD><TD>22/11/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mycelestial</TD><TD>22/11/2008</TD><TD>SLH</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Marcy</TD><TD>22/11/2008</TD><TD>TH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>MoMo</TD><TD>23/11/2008</TD><TD>HIPV</TD><TD>Di Gio </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sleepydopeey</TD><TD>23/11/2008</TD><TD>MM</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>23/11/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christina</TD><TD>23/11/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinky81</TD><TD>26/11/2008</TD><TD>RS</TD><TD>Emanuel B </TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celinn</TD><TD>27/11/2008</TD><TD>OH</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alvin</TD><TD>27/11/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nicole</TD><TD>28/11/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lin</TD><TD>28/11/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>buttercupz</TD><TD>29/11/2008</TD><TD>TH</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stay</TD><TD>29/11/2008</TD><TD>SLH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Layling</TD><TD>29/11/2008</TD><TD>HH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jfaith</TD><TD>30/11/2008</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD>Bliss Bridal </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Su hui Jun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bean</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>necrosis</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Venus</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

AH - Amara Hotel
BG - Bliss Garden
CCH - Conrad Centennial Hotel
CSH - Church of the Sacred Heart
CH - Carlton Hotel
FR - Furama Riverfront
FSH - Four Season Hotel
FCC - Furama City Centre
HH - Hilton Hotel
HI - Hotel Intercontinental
GCW - Grand Copthorne Waterfront
GH - Grand Hyatt
GPPH - Grand Plaza Park Hotel
HPIV - Holiday Inn Parkview
MM - Marina Mandarin
NCQ - Novotel Clarke Quay
OH - Orchard Hotel
OPH - Orchard Parade Hotel
RH - Regent Hotel
RP - Raffles The Plaza
RS - Rasa Sentosa
RTC - Raffles Town Club
SH - Sheraton Hotel
SLH - Shangri-La Hotel
TH - Traders Hotel
TL - The Legends
TO - The Oriental
YLG - Yishun Lake Garden (OCC)

Hi Nov brides and grooms! So sorry for the hiatus. Hee... hope the table is updated. Do let me know if I have missed out anything!

hapimint

yup... agreed that some BS can be quite pushy... I went a few. Found Digio not too bad.... but well, in the end, we signed with sattine... but santiago is good too...

Anyway, if can afford the time, I prefer to go al carte... haha...

raragal

Hi all....

I'm also a Sep BTB!

BS: My Bridal Room (Glad to see that there're many here...

AD: 8th Sept 2008 (Looks like I'm the only one... think 7th Sep is popular coz its Lunar 8th of 8th Month? I like 8th Sept coz lunar is 9th of 8th Month.. heee.. 89 98..easy to rem... and its 08 09 08)
Venue: Still pending Meritus Mandarin (Mandarin Ballroom)
Yet to confirm PG and VG, might get cousin-in-law to help. He's good!

Still looking around for a good cartoon animation.. besides Stefine and Coffee &amp; Tea Dreamworks... anyone else have recommendation?

koyoyo

hi chuchun
u seem to be rather strict to ur diet and exercise regime i bet u are a beauty... any photo to show? I am not that "hardworking" i agree due to work and other factors sometime it hard to have dinner before 8pm.. for me i use to do JC boxercise but stopped for quite a while.
It normal to slim down n lose up to 4kg but normally it only for the first month subseuqent weight lost wouldnt be that obvious . that what i gather from a doctor... whatever u gers do , take care not to be too concerned about the weight number cos sometime it just losing of water and tt maybe dangerous also..

nelle

I agree with the comments on BS. They are really nice &amp; friendly to you at first, then when deposit paid, you see true colors. Do take note of the packages, most of the time, you want an upgrade/additional items at the end (e.g. most pictures/poses, etc.) and that is the time they really charge you like mad cos they know you have no choice.

I'm sorry, cordie, I forgot to save the message to myself when I PM nec. I don't have the number with me now. Nec, can you help me to forward the message to cordie if you have time? My apologies on this.

Nec, may I ask (I hope you are not offended, if you are, I sincerely apologise) if it is ok for you to find a geomancer as you are a catholic? I just call him SiFu and start telling him my particulars (plus partner's). He needs 1-2 days to work out and print a nice booklet for you. Then he will call you to tell you when it is ready. That's when both sides agree on appt date&amp;time for explanations.

lara

hi xinyi_reiko, u can try Stacey Chan, 91124545. she charges $60, incl transport, eyebrow trimming &amp; ampoule

necrosis

m hotel also 7th booked.
as is marina mandarin and regent.

i din check the 27th date for you, cos now then i read your post. :p

i think hyatt has a room for 7th.
can try.

me looking at 20 or 21st.

any lobangs?

necrosis

morning girls...
ok, me work up a bit late today.

crossing fingers n toes for all your balloting numbers, SMALL!!! *positive thinking*
lol..

nelle, not offended lah.
my mom is the superstious one...then the online tong shu she asked me to use says 20th is inauspicious for wedding.. :p
i dont care....but still gotta explain to her mah...so if i have this great shifu to say that 20th is very good for me/hubby, then she cannot object liao!

can i just call him and tell him the info, when the book is done then go down?
cos yio chu kang quite far lah...
plus i only need him to check for dates in dec.
quite fast? hehehe.....
and no need to explain to me also...my chinese is very jia lat, i'm quite banana in some ways :p

gingerbread_gal

Ya, I agree I should not sign up on the spot too. HTB felt that Santiago was quite okay...but I was really persistent in wanting to visit other shops too. If not, how to make informed decision right?

Ryu, what BS is yours? Think they are quite nice to tell you to shop around. The guy from Santiago, told me he heard a lot of sob stories about other BS though he didn't name them. So the impression I got was he's putting others down while praising his to the skies.

Nec,
ya lor, he say the offer only valid for that day. If go back the very next day, no such offer. When I heard that, dun feel like staying there anymore.
And yep, I've been reading what the forummers have been saying abt the BS, that's why chose to go to select few BS whereby the service is supposedly to be good even after signing the contract.

One thing though, I don't know where I can get info like where the BS are holding their roadshows. Currently I only know abt BOWS2008. Do you know where to get such info? Is it those where you have to look out in the papers?

Mindy,
I feel like going ala carte too! Anyone with experience here? Only problem with ala carte is dunno if the BS will lend more gowns for PS, in case it gets a bit dull with just one WG....wondering if the PG we get for PS will allow us to get soft copy of all photos....

nelle

Hi nec, thanks.
You can just call him &amp; furnish him with the info, then ask him when the book will be ready. If he says, e.g. Sunday, you ask him if you &amp; partner can meet him on Sunday at xx time. If you/the geomancer not avail, then fix another day lor. He is ok on things like that as YCK is his residence. Very safe place (I've been there a few times on wkends, always full of relatives &amp; kids talking, watch tv, etc.

cordie

hi nec and nelle
recd and thanks...i always get confused btwn u 2 leh...are u 2 sisters? hee hee

yah hope all the brides in this thread will get their houses soon... fingers crossed..

hi jac..
my htb like the BS that ryu recommended that he didnt even want to shop ard anymore... hahaha...but i'm ok with that lah...we should be signing up the same BS as ryu cos true it must look nice and all, but no need spend too much money cos after a while, the permanent place for the album is cupboard...thats wat i feel lah...

chun_chun

kyoyo, well, sad to say, it is always easier to preach than to practise! i have all the theories in mind but i am an emotional creature, so each time i feel stressed or down i will just heck care abt the theories &amp; eat like a junk food monster! so still working hard on it... and so all i can share here are the theories i read or hear
yup! i have a multiply a/c can add me. hope you wun be too disappointed.. haha! fattybombom13

chun_chun

meiling, i see ur pics u rather thin le. but then again, it is always good to be thinner! keke. but kyoyo is right, got to watch out and take care the method, dun be obssessed with the weight. &amp; noted! will try to get it done by Jun! thanks!

nelle

Hi cordie, no, me &amp; nec not sisters.
My own sister don't participate in this forum. hahaha... she goes to cozycot.

princess_sue

hi mei... ya ... me too love all those sinful stuff.. hehe. you know la.. how i love those korean and jap and fried and oily .. stuff... i cannot resist them. :p

that explains it all for us man.. :p

hi chun2 and koyoyo..

ya.. losing too much at a go is not really healthy ... but first of all.. we have to get started first.. hahaha.

~sblbee~

chunchun,
u r mistaken...im not thin :p hehhe, in fact im fat but hor, cant help it as my weight is not going down but up :p
hope to lose 2-3 kgs by jun
let's all jiayou tgr n hope all of us achieve our goals

~sblbee~

sue,
aiyo, frm d way we eat we can see each other's bad habits can liao....hehe, mayb we shd motivate each other not to eat those sinful stuff, it's hard cos i juz popped another choco in my mouth...ppl gives choco during festive period n there's lotsa yummy food...hard to resist d temptation :p

graceyong

The main difference is on the Guo Da Li part between different dialect. If you parents or in laws are modern then it is fine, make it simple. If one side is quite particular in "face", then you have to more careful.

Guo Da Li normal list are alcohol, fruits, pin jin and roast pork (whole small pig), some jewellery, seafood and the biscutts

the more the guy side give the girl, the more "face" the girl side have.

As for me, i don't need to comb my hair the day before my wedding *but if your husband is cantonese, then you have to do it* but boy and girl have to do it together

Actually there isn't much tradition for a hakka, as we are quite close to cantonese (but not like teochew have to go out the door before dawn)

So basically the tradition in signapore are quite similiar to the hakka style.

let me know if you neeed more info

necrosis

you gals sourcing for AD PG/VG and MUA?
my BS doesnt supply all these lor...since it's from JB.
(no car also, but i'll just use whatever i have)

jac, i also wanted to do a la carte...
but sourcing for a gown was such a headache...
i thought of buying online, from ebay or some of those china sites that can copy western designers...
but then, no guts. :p
in case the gown sucks, then it's like 800-1k wasted.
plus, need to find EG and tea dress separately.
and what on earth would i do with the dresses later?
sell off? also can, but may not find buyers.
keep? so waste space.
then make up....and hair accessories...:p

sourcing for PS PG is quite fun..(1.5-2.5k)
found a few very nice ones...and can buy off all the photos for a lump sum...(~1k)
of course, printing the albumn on our own would cost abt 1k also (for example, a second coffee table albumn, same quality as BS)
end up, i feel cost more...nearly 2k more...and too much trouble and risk. so decided against.

wendily

Hi JoJO

I'm also staying Segar, at Blk 470.
Hopefully we stay very near.. haha.. can go over to each other's place to play!

HICabbage Princess,

yeah now very busy hor.. but i still make it a point to play every week leh..

I feel so lethargic without playing MJ..

Is this call addiction? LOL!

luvz17

i help u ask ard coz i will still emailed alot of hotels for my new date...
how many tables are u looking at?
any budget/ criteria?

jv_moments

hi truff

do u have to pay for another day of PS due to rain? I found out mine have to.. was quite surprise abt it...

any other gals experienced rain during outdoor ps and got to postpone? izzit the same for all bridal shops?

anneanne

hi marcy!

I have simply nothing but all praises for WS. Yes, his rate is a lil steep but i feel tat its impt to get someone you really feel comfortable with and like his portfolio.

Ws is a very nice guy. And his portfolio shows his professionalism in this line. His passion for photography impressed me. I am into photography too tats why i have higher expectation when it comes to photos...

and I got him to shoot our pre-wedding photos too! Coming thinking of it, I am very exciting looking forward to it!

witch

BTW, anyone here getting si dian jin as part of your GDL items from the groom's side? I told my in-laws that I dun want si dian jin and in return they will give me ang pow instead. Now huuby is asking how much should the ang pow be. Any advice? Should the amount be similar to a set of si dian jin?

princess_sue

hehehe mei... as i am typing away .. i m also popping cashews into my mouth.. hahaha. we can really walk hand in hand... hahaha

ya lets motivate each other.. scarly we all eat more together hahaha... coz we are so much into food.. hehehe

simplyserene

Hi Dolphin - I'm not too sure what you mean by our responses will influence the date of your wedding. Shouldn't it be a date that both of you are happy with?

BBIguana - Do you mean animation for photo/video montage? My AD photographer will do a photo montage for us...

bunnyhop

Hi parmida and xiao long bao,
Seems like our parents n pils havnt really meet n chat w one another only till e crucial moment...(",)
My htb n i r preparing them 2 meet this week...really hope things turn out fine. Actually 2 pre-empt ani unexpected occurence(s), my htb kinda met up w my parents 1st 2 hav a better understanding of ping jin or ping li stuff. Afterall, on e gals side, our 'worth' shld not b 2 meagre or 2 exorbitant...we r ok w giving only e ping li + following e Cantonese customs on AD...(but up e amt slightly more lah so as 2 b inclusive of e ping li items)

Speaking of gdl items, i believe there r a lot of interesting stuff in Chinatown...my gal frien who recently got married even managed 2 get 2 Snoopy bride n bridegroom 4 their wedding car...So cute loh! (",)
H'r @ her wedding i oso observe e imptance of trusting some frienz 2 run e show on AD...we can do e planning but in e process, itz wiser 2 involve a couple of frienz 2 tie e loose ends 4 us. I actually witness e haplessness of a bride when things r lost or misplaced...itz jus way 2 stressful 2 e couple...

On hindsight, if we hav e fortune of being involved in our frienz wedding for e next few months b4 our Big Day, i believe itz useful 2 take note of e afi (areas for improvement)... usually itz e small details tat unsettle e couple, esp e Bride.

Lbnl, guess e preventive measure is 2 ...
a. come out w a comprehensive plan in *feasibly
advanced time
b. involve n inform ur helpers of their
duties/responsibilities
c. b watchful over those suppliers u liase w
(florist, BS, gdl suppliers...etc)Back up w
alternatives if e original supplier fails 2
deliver
d. anticipate those guests who wont b able 2
turn up on ur AD despite rsvp-ing u (in short,
wat 2 do w empty tables tat day) Seems like
different hotels hav varied arrangements.

Oso, as e Big Day draws near..., avoid last minute changes unless u really don hav a choice

Itz tiring...but w steadfast planning, itz within our ability 2 pre-empt ani unwarranted mishaps along e way.

Haiz...jus my 2 cents worth of observation after attending my frienz wedding...
Perhaps ani bride here can share things 2 look out 4 on AD...?
(ani body settle ur selection on Bestman/Bridesmaid or Flower gal/Page boy so far?)