(2008) Brides of year 2008

wendily

Hi Cabbage,

Yeah, coz i'm more like a bo chap bride. Thats why you see now i'm like so gan jiong already. Wedding on the 19th, the cards are not even done yet! LOL

koyoyo

so nice of u meiling to send the firecracker back to me.. you should pass the happiness to mal they all hehe

How everyone today?

hapimint

ya lor, 7th really a hot date. I think I should find videographer le... seems like such a hot date so better confirm earlier... haha...

hapimint

my side is cos my hubby, though earns more than me but is only one year older than me... then he also work for only 3 years in total after NS. so well, I have been working longer than him...

He has no savings too because he has been giving alot to his family. His family is not well to do....

So well, I cannot expect him to give less just because he is marrying me right? haha... so we plan lor... luckily his mother is understanding to our situation as we are both studying PT too....

Young couple problems... anyway, I already got my flat quite some time ago.....

~sblbee~

hi morning koyoyo,
i passed it to them as well....im fine, gona meet up wif my jc guy fren for dinner at orchard n den shd b going to kino to search for more bks b4 meeting him since i'll b earlier :p wat abt u?

snowypooh

Good morning everybody. Wah, u gals seem to have so much fun with facebook...

~sblbee~

hi snowypooh,
yah we had a wonderful time wif each other in facebook...so fun, got addicted for a period of time but now....have to start to concentrate on my wedding prep (things under my care) b4 my fh flies back else he'll kill me :p

mage

wendily, you are printing 120 pcs or? 120 guests does not mean you need to print for all 120 of them

Price quoted usually will depends on what kind of printing, paper, etc. Maybe you can elaborate more on your card? Then I can help you ask my hubby if its consider ex.

nelle

Really tan2 qian2 shang1 gan3 qing2 (talk about money destroys the relationship) hor.

My mum also feels the groom /his parents should foot most of the bills. I didn't say anything about the intention of 50:50 or 60:40. What she don't know I won't say. Afterall she always emphasize to walk into the relationship with open eyes which I did & still do! My partner & me have been together for about 8 years so nothing surprises me.

~sblbee~

wah, after hearing all these, im glad my mum is understanding cos she knows dat he juz started wking n earns less than me, so she didnt demand much frm d pinjin n tables

vivicaleb

Hi all Sept '08 brides

me new to this forum. am a Sept '08 bride too.
seems like most of you have already gotten your BS done up. me just got my AD confirmed. have not even started w/ my hunting of BS yet

any reasonably good ones to recommend???

ryu

Hi Vivian,
Welcome to the thread
Are you looking for a 1 stop BS or ala carte? Lacy or simple gowns? budget? I'm with signoria nuziale for the fantasy pics, quite reasonably priced but not sure if they are your type ^^

vivicaleb

hi Ryu

hmmm... might be a 1 stop BS but i do not need EG coz me having my solemnization in church, and reception thereafter.
any website for signoria nuziale ???
where is it located?

ryu

Hi vivi,
http://www.signorianuziale.com if you don't need EG can always change to pics. My bridal room is ok priced as well. Heard PMB not bad but I've not been there before. Julia Wedding News has some nice lacy gowns. Margaret Brides are into laces too but a bit ex.

lovebytemi

Hi Wendily.
It is quite expensive. It really depends on the number of colours you are using, the type of printing and the paper quality that you are choosing.

For obvious reasons, the more you print the lower the cost per card is.

I got my card customise and printed. Just received them yesterday. Total I spent about $500 on 250 dinner cards (4 sided colur print, normal sized card) + envelopes + 150 church cards single print (postcard size).

necrosis

mmm....

marriage is not just abt 2 pple hor...it starts becoming about 2 families also..
i really got this lesson when my FH parents came to singapore.
anyway, things sort of work out.

i think i should start moving my ass to the gym also...

was going quite regularly in earlier in the year then can even jog for 5 km on the treadmill in abt 40mins!!
ok, that might be just warm up for your girls, but for me, quite power liao...hahah....
now slack liao cos went on holidays.. :p

cordie

hi meiling...
yah lor, but now no more "iron rice bowl", like anytime u can get axed..so must save whenever possible...and also after marriage, his money will be yr money le...hahaha so we'll get back wat we give...just kidding... :p eh..meiling u also dun keep saying u are fat ok...u be slim compare to me...hahaha...really ok...and i think my mum wont demand a lot of pinjin and tables also lah...cos she actually agree that if can dun have dinner all the better...less hassle...hahaha and the thing is my mum side with him a lot de...poor me...hee hee

baobei123

Finally i confirm the banquet @ Hotel Royal and have changed my AD from 23 Nov 08 to 16 Nov 08.

so now i can start looking for Bridal studio
i have shortlist some.

1)Everbliss
2)Bridal Concept
3)Santiago
4)Whitelink
5)Di Gio

ryu

Hi nec,
wow 5km...i 2.4km already cannot take it liao lol

my htb also not very well to do so we're doing 50:50, however my family is not as understanding.. so like nelle, i don't say too much, what they don't know won't hurt them lol

stnov

thanks kymmie...I have been resting for 2 days at home wif MC....today back at work but have not recover yet...=( dare not drink fruit juice fearing it will worsen my cough....

stnov

by the way kymmie...average price for VG wif express highlights cost ard $1K...w/o express highlight will be ard $850 or so....=)

nelle

marriage is not just between 2 persons. you are marrying his family/relatives/friends and he is marrying your family/relatives/friends as well.

One of the many reasons I keep shelving my marriage till after 30! Yes, yes, I am that oooold....:p

nelle

Girls, if any of you loves to read, the book Love & Respect : The Love She Most Desires; The Respect He Desperately Needs By Emerson Enggerichs is very good. It is more relevant if you are a christian as it carries some extracts from the bible.

My partner and me are not christians. We just enjoy reading alot of self improvement books.

Another good book is, The Four Seasons of Marriage by Gary Chapman. This is much more easier to read

wendily

Hi Mage,

This is as per the quote i got.

Size: 18 x 12.5cm (Flat Card)
Material: Majestic290gsm
Print: 1C
Others: Envelope

I'm not doing any hotstamping, just normal print. The paper i chose is more on those shimery pearl paper.

Only 1 color print, gold or silver.

Its not even a bi-fold card, just a single page card.

The designer didn't really talk to me bout the design but she wants me to pay 50% first before she design.

As i'm really rushing now, thats why anyhow choose a card company.

flora_bliss

I absolutely agreed with meiling that it's the ego thingy for guys. So usually I'll let Matt do the upfront payment. Then we'll settle/ divide the bill in private. This will give him more face and dignity in front of others. For us, we are fortunate in the sense that our parents don't really comment much on our wedding preparation. For those whose parents feel that the groom should foot all the bills, maybe can get your man to pay first then later share the cost in private. After all, the less details they get, the less fuss they will be able to make.

Meiling, so you and Bob has been "gossiping" abt me huh... aiyo... wat else he said har? During my fren's wedding, I noticed that he was very attentive to details and very creative leh. I had a fun nite hanging out with him that nite.

nec, your running power is so impressive. I think now I can't even make it for 10mins. Feeling so ashamed.

~sblbee~

nec,
i agree wif u, marriage is d union of both families n relatives as well as frens....hehe, i cant imagine wat's life like when there r more n more ppl coming into our lives...as if we dun have enuff to worry abt :p
wah....u really power leh, can run 5 km? wah, u can join d army liao...for me, 2.4 km is my max liao, somemore i think i'll peng shan now cos i've not been running for mths :p

cordie,
yah true, u see lah, my bonus all went to paying all my credit card bills liao...so sad :p im trying hard to save but as when it's drawing nearer to d AD, u realised dat there r so many hidden costs involved in d wedding...every single details need $...sigh
b4 i realised it, more $ is gone

yah, guz we must b glad to have understanding mums else duno how to continue wif our wedding if our families r demanding, it's kinda hard to rely entirely on d guys unless they r super rich or super capable :p

nelle,
thanks for d recommendation for d books! im going to hit d big 3 in a couple of yrs' time too! :p

ryu,
i can oso b considered as 1 of d older ladies (ahem) amendment...mature ladies here :p

flora_bliss,
hehehe....guz most guys r ego so let them have their say 1st in public n den can lecture them n settle d rest in pte :p wah, lucky leh, his parents r d more ma fan ones, my mum is still ok...so initially faced my bit of prob as well but luckily managed to resolve

no lah, he does call me up n chit chat n we did meet up for makan b4...he usually has v nice things to say abt his brides one
so he didnt say anything bad abt u...dun worry :p yah ur pic in chelsea's wedding is v chio leh *wolf whistle* bob said dat u r gona kill him for it :p

vivicaleb

hi Ryu
thanks for sharing the weblink.
heheheee.. now i understand what do you mean by fantasy pics ... guess i am not into that. i am more into simple and basic photo shoots

i am more into the Divine and Blush Blush kind of person. what does PMB stands for???

sleepycat_2

wendily,

The paper u used sounds like the one I used for my bookmarks. I found the paper in Popular. Paper weight is 250gsm. You can consider DIY-ing if you have access to a good laser printer. 120 cards is quite okie.

If u are rushing and not really insistent on custom design, I would suggest you go to focal ad, pick out a ready design and get them to print the wordings for you. It will be faster and cheaper.

hapimint

Haiz... my parents also quite understanding but for PJ and tables and ang baos sure must have so no choice lor... we start saving lor....

muddpie

ladies,

any recommendations for mummy's dresses?
my mum...so last min...reminded her 3 mths back..she keep saying no need to buy so early...now then kan chiong...ask me when i can accompany her go shop for her clothes...hai...
i've been to OG...she claims is too exp...like 300-500+ & above...then my mum dun like cheongsams....wonder where i can bring her to...care to share?

icyxiaozhu

Hi Vivicaleb, Congrats n welcome~ I second Ryu on signoria.. do not need to be fantasy pics.. they have e normal photoshoots too.. anyway PMB is Precious Moments Bridal =")

flora_bliss

Ladies, me oso next yr 30 liao.

Meiling, yes I did tell Bob tat I'm gonna "chop" him up... luckily he escaped fast. Oh btw, I've just confirmed engagement of a jazz band. Saw their performance last sat. They were impressive that nite.

mage

wendily, that's the exact same paper I used to print my wedding invites. I bought them from this shop call Fancy Paper (opp National Library), printed from my home 3-in-1 Canon printer. Mine is few shades of purple on my card, double sided, no fold. Total cost less than $100 for about 90 pcs inclusive of envelopes which is a lilac pearly paper.

I think the cost could be due to design cost as well as the mould they have to do before they can print.

The cost was the reason why we decided to print it on our own.