(2008) Brides of year 2008

itipit

Hi all Sept 08 brides,

Congrats to all of you lovely babes here!! Haven't look at this thread for sometime, so many couples getting married in September!! Ha...

Have been researching on bridal shops. Been to Margaret Brides, The Wedding Present and Julia Wedding News.

I absolutely love Margaret Brides... I love lace! Have decided to have a lace gown for my wedding. Julia is nice too, and they have such wide selection of gowns to choose from. But my boyfriend thinks that the gowns are too over the top.

Both Margaret and Julia specialise in lace. But Marg has a more subtle, elegant feel. Julia is more extravagant, and more wedding feel. Most likely will just choose between this 2. Have to work out our budget first, as both are more pricey.

Anyone has any comments, pls email me at [email protected]

itipit

btw,

As I'll be having my dinner at the outdoor marquee at Legends Fort Canning. Most people advised my to have an A-line gown. But yet I love those ball gowns with can-can. Do you think it's silly to go ahead with the ball gown as they are really heavy and difficult to walk in... =(

CLS2008

Nick: stnov
Date of wedding: 02 Jan 08
Venue: Furama Riverfront

Nick: Qiqi81
Date of wedding: 05 Jan 08

Nick: Mage
Date of wedding: 19 Jan 08
Venue: Fours Seasons

Nick: Eve
Venue: Orchard Hotel

Nick: Lovebytemi
Date of Wedding: 26 Jan 08
Venue: Rasa Sentosa

Nick: BabyFifi
Date of Wedding: 26 & 27 Jan 08
Venue: Blessed Sacrament Church & Holiday Inn Park View

Nick: Princessnono
Date of Wedding: 27 Jan 08

providencia

Hi Fruittea, thanks for your thoughts. I agree that a separate day ROM on a separate day will burn a hole in the pockets, that's why thinking very hard now. HTB keen to have date on marriage cert as 11 Nov, but parents-in-law insist on a Sat dinner, so we settled on 22 Nov for AD.
Toying with the thoughts of having a unique ROM, separate venue. HTB and I like our choices of dates, we think all very nice, ROM - 11 Nov, AD - 22 Nov, difference between ROM and AD - 11 days. But don't know if this is a strange arrangement.

happinessbliss

Hi Dor,

I personally think that this is YOUR day. Wear what you love...hehe ... how abt this, wear the ball gowns with can can for your first march-in, then after that change to something lighter for your EG for 2nd march-in....hope this helps you in yr consideration....

jiniwin

Hi providencia,
I am also keen to have a unique ROM apart from the AD. Moreover, the ROM date falls in August, which is the Hungry Ghosts' Month and parents not so keen but FH and I do not mind. Do you have any venue(s) in mind for the ROM?

parmida

Hi PSH,

Emailed him..shall wait for the quotes..

Hi love xiao long bao,

U engaged ur MUA already? How much does the MUA charge? Cos me thinking of getting another MUA to do for my mum and maybe my jie meis...

Has anyone engaged their pre-wedding PG to be their AD PG as well??

tinggy

Hi 1192001,

Actually, i contact Little dream. They quote me the below. I heard them playing at Novotel wedding show. Not bad actually. I have tendatively reserved them. I will be going to down to the place they perform to pay the deposit.

Love Me Tender Package
- 2-piece band
(singer + keyboardist
OR singer + guitarist)
- 2 sets ($800), each subsequent set ($300)

Crazy For You Package
- 3-piece band
(2 singers + keyboardist
OR singer + keyboardist + guitarist/saxophonist/violinist)
- 2 sets ($1050), each subsequent set ($450)

Wonderful Tonight Package
- 4-piece band
(2 singers + keyboardist + guitarist/saxophonist/violinist
OR
singer + keyboardist + guitarist/saxophonist/violinist + percussionist)
- 2 sets ($1400), each subsequent set ($600)

tinggy

I got a few other contact.
1) radical Context,[email protected]
seems to be playing purely english song + Jazz
2) THE OLIVE 3 (S) Pte Ltd Website: www.theolive3.com
3)http://www.striiiings.com
Hiring the Piano Trio (which can play bossa nova and light jazzpieces) for one hour will cost S$670. However, if there is no piano /keyboard present at the venue, we can use our digital stage piano foran additional S$250, which would be $920 which is beyond $800. What you could seriously consider is hiring the String Quartet (2violins, viola and cello), which is also well able to play light jazzand bossa nova (though the range of bossa nova would be less becauseof the nature of the String Quartet). The cost of hiring the StringQuartet for one hour is S$690, all inclusive.

dol39481

Hi to all the Jul brides,
can I check something? I heard from my friend that it is not nice to hold wedding in Jun of lunar calendar. Bcos Jun is exactly middle of the year and your relationship will be half only. Any comments? Or how you overcome it?

I'm not trying to be rude. Just want to hear some comments, tat's all. Do pardon me if anyone of u is offended.

antakusuma

1192001, nhh is a 5 piece band, n they dun charge per head. i think they can be flexi to play longer if the crowd enjoys them. but if y put off then move on, no point.

little dream is 750 per head, so if u want 3 piece thts 2K already.

PSH, I think its the idea of leaving and cleaving from ur mom, being totally independent. I come from single parent family so i feel like i owe her so much despite her tough love. if i want to go back to niang jia, i have to fly from SH to jakarta. cannot anyhow quarrel...

tinggy

xiao long bao,

I dont think little dream is so expensive. I already got their quotation. $1050 for 3-piece band.
(2 singers + keyboardist
OR singer + keyboardist + guitarist/saxophonist/violinist)
- 2 sets ($1050), each subsequent set ($450)

bunnyhop

Hi parmida,
Who did u ask 4 AD PG?
Actually, there r many PG who does both pre n AD. Then u may wish 2 re-neg w ur BS e costing if u wish 2 engage e svc of another PG 2 do ur pre wedding shots... (",) Hope u hav success in getting wat u wan. Mua oredi paid up 50% downpayment 4 my AD PG...luckily got bonus @ year end...haha
Hi long xiaolongbao, i can feel ur slight apprehensiveness in moving ahead 2wards marriage. Frankly speaking, even though im beri blessed 2 hv my parents w me...there r always many uncertainties ahead of us...somehow i don seem 2 feel 'well fed' by e marriage prep course i had few mths ago in his church...soooo i actually bought some Christian books on Marriage n Family recently from Tecman...good steal, as itz on 30% discount now...if u don mind, when u touch down, i can pass u some of my books on this area. Even though these r American authors, but i personally espouse on e values they hold dear in raising up kids...(both my htb n i qite westernized in our thinking, though not necessarily upbringing)

Now i understand why u miss ur mommy...my encouragement 2 u is 2 trust ur relationship 2 Him n work on it together. Oso, tink no quarrel is impossible lor...more imptly is wat u 2 agree 2 work on after e quarrel...(i mean conflict mgt) as we r 2 very different beings, not possible 2 always say yes yes 2 all things...agree? If say yes 2 often, will b perceived as a doormat...
U remember in Christianity, women r expected to be submissive? (4 e right reason)Im reading up on tis area so as 2 b more equipped in marriage as i do hav my headstrongness moments.

Moreover, quarrelling can b done in a restrained manner...e.g. intellectual debate? As long as mutual respect is invested in each other's emotional bank, such outburst cld b better cushioned by a bed of love n care... (my 2 cents thots)

On a lighter note...wat else do u need 2 prepare when u reach Spore? Can share share?

hunnybunny

Heya...

Recently, a Tiffany design, white gold ring my mum gave me started giving me a really acute rash on my ring finger =( ... the skin turned red, itched and the skin started peeling T.T

I surfed around and I found out white gold actually is a bad choice for people with sensitive skin because of the alloys mixed with it to make it look white. Also any yellow gold ring under 18k is bad for people with sensitive skin.

http://engagementrings.pricescope.com/wgvsplat.asp

I don't know if u have sensitive skin or not, but I never knew that I would have a reaction to white gold! I was shocked. I thought only cheapo jewellery gave me problems... eg. copper in jewellery turns my skin blue... nickel causes my skin to darken... skin will also peel a bit.

So I just want to caution you ( and going to email some of my other friends) about really considering getting yellow gold 18k at least or platinum for THAT ring - it will suck right if the wedding ring can't be worn or has to be replated (not sure if it is costly) every 2-3 years because it causes a bad skin rash.

poopa

Nick: Elaine
Date of wedding: 27 Jan 08
Venue: York Hotel

girl_next_door

wendily,

they charge me $900 for a 3 piece band consisting a Vocalist, Pianist & a Saxophonist. Their rate is quite affordable compared to market rate.

Did you check with them their rate and availability? I heard that they dont take up too many performance a month cos they either have other full-time job or with families. This band thing is a hobby cum side income for them.

sleepycat_1

Nick: Sleepycat
Date of wedding: 19 & 20 Jan 08
Venue: Trinity Methodist Church & Peony Jade Restaurant

girl_next_door

Nick: gnd
Date of wedding: 06 Jan 08
Venue: Ritz-Carlton Millenia

sept08bride

Wow indeed a long list, so many couples are getting marry in sept 08. Congrats to all BTB.

Most hotels had increase their prices due to F1? Luckily I've book mine earlier.

providencia

Hi Jiniwin, I wish you luck in convincing your parents on having your ROM in the Hungry Ghosts' Month - I failed terribly. lol.
Haven't done much research on venues for ROM as still thinking abt the costs involved.
Some random thoughts on possible venues - museums (like the atmosphere there), hospital (cos that's where we met) and chartering a boat (my top choice).

pearlybling79

Hi Dor,
I went to Margaret's Bride and Julia Wedding News.In the end I chose Julia as i like to be over the top with the wedding gowns.For M'sbride, you can MTM, but be mindful of how much lace you want, as she will charge..but her works are billiant. Julia isbased on off the rack. Can't keep your gowns unless you wanted it..and it is according to their latest design..

I saw Legends too and I agreed with Happiness qand Bliss that it is your Day!! So wear what you want. When you look good, u feel good too!

flora_bliss

Nelle, I've adopted the same approach to safekeep all the contracts, receipts and other miscellaneous documents. At the same time, I'll keep track of the outstanding task on my progress tracksheet. I guess by doing things in a more organised way will make things easy for my HTB when he need to check something.

apple_gal

Good morning, Girls...

At last, I've bought 1 pair of white heel at Anna Nucci.

Hi valerie,
Thanks, i have received your spreadsheet. It is very detailed.

xinyi_reiko

morning gals.

yesterday photo selection is great.

I topup alot of photos *faint*, 2 albums in total.

Those interested in view some pics can go to my multiply site.

Hi Lara,

yup...Randy is actually my hubby's brother...btw, 4 of my jie meis and xiong dis are couples...

hope you all find it useful...cos the wedding planner that comes with the mags are not as detailed like an chuang and GDL stuff...plus i think the ang pow calculation will help with the budgetting...

lara

hi valerie.. then i think shun ai is my sec sch classmate haha.. used to b my lab-mate too
did she act in some tv serials b4?

apple_gal

Hi, Xinyi_reiko

Wah, you top up so many photos. Total how much photos you top up?? Can i your multipy to take a look on your beautiful photos..

vividz

everyone from this post are welcome to join. since dec too busy for most of us, Jan seems gd, let set it on early Jan then.

Dolphin, I also heard of that too in fact my mum also unhappy abt it, angry with me for abt 1-2 weeks like tat. After tat I told her can't be changed if not we got to waste 3K just for tat. so she no choice got to accept, I also dun really know how to overcome it. sorry.

princess_sue

hi gals... i m back! lucky i could still catch up with the posts.

hi mel, good we have another kaki who love jap and korean food, we can always go together and have an eating session.

wendily

I will post up the list tml in excel format. My sis just gave birth, spent the days sleeping.

Baby wakes up only at night, but sleep in the day. Make the whole family play with him all night. LOL..

wendily

BTW, where to print wedding cards ah? Any recommendations? I don't have design or anything and i think the hotel not providing me with anything also. I'm on a budget, so hopefully something cheap and nice.

I also need to find gift box to put the wedding favours in. Anywhere can buy?

wendily

Alamak.. The list so small leh. Anyone can teach me how to post up ah.. They keep saying my attachement exceed the dimension, i have no choice but to upload this so small one! haha..

witch

Nick: gnd
Date of wedding: 06 Jan 08
Venue: Ritz-Carlton Millenia