(2008) Brides of year 2008

melo_ddy

Hi Meiling

Hope your teeth are much better now. I usually wear bermudas and tee to orchard too... so you wont look like ah ma lah.

Sue, then can save money on makeup too... haha.

skyea

Hi xinyi_reiko,
Where are you going for your PS?

lara

hi ladies, i juz went for gown selection today.. but feel abit uncomfortable n unhappy now coz actually my package can MTM both WG n EG but in the end all my WG n EGs r OTR.. feel abit lugi leh =( but too late to change

crayongal

okay....
6th July is officially our most popular date!!!

btw, praisey.. i do not have the packages dat u want.. but jus to keep you informed.. i think thomson wedding has v.nice album...
heh.. i saw my fren's album and also their album during last wkend wedding fair at marina sq. it really is not bad..

their package is also quite gd.. =)

ellecim83

Hi I'm also getting married in Nov '08-
AD 22/11@The Legends. New to the forum.
Hopefully can get learn from the rest of u cos FH and me quite blur abt wat to do next.
Looking for BS now :p

apple_gal

May i check with you when is the best date going for the gown selection & trial makeup? Actually i intend to have the photoshot around march next year.
I've just confirm my AD PG, is desmond(freelancer).
Hi, Lara
Most importantly you love the gown that selected. If you don't like, better approach the coordinator.

bunnyhop

Hi ber80 + lovexiaolongbao,
Another secret...i into dancing too...learned salsa b4...liked it a lot but my HTB not so confident... aniway, would plan e prog in such a way tat there would be some surprises.
I like ur white flowers/leaves/dark cloth setting. Contrasts always enhance e visual aspect.
As 4 music selection, think safer 2 opt 4 sentimental/melodious... don forget, we hav mature folks...(parents/ relatives etc) perhaps those ideas can b reserved 4 e Post wedding celeb when we thank our helpers. (",)
E min no. of tables MM has for us is 25. Max-30. Prob stick 2 25 tables lah. I agree w u (lxlb), don anihow invite invite... some guests qite impolitically correct 1 leh...remembered my bro invited his friends n they don turn up! W no reason... most importantly, no $$$. Ofi course, 4 special reasons we understand, but some can b qite jia lat n don offer a token sum (ee si ee si mah)
So,...best checked out e availability of e guests, oso how far 2 stretch e list... qite sure not inviting e entire work place pple 2 wedding. Hence need 2 b sensitive n b prayerful abt e guest list. Hope all things turn out ok.
Rite now, i in e midst of attending a marriage prep course/ MPC done by my HTB church. Hmmm... ani1 oso going thru MPC currently?

Ani interesting learning pts abt marriage?
Mayb can share a few simple pointers: (hope iz not 2 stuffy 2 those who r reading)
A SUCCESSFUL MARRIAGE ...
a. Complements, not compete (Man + Woman -->
We are equal)
b. A man is only complete when he has his wife.
Haha (found this really corny)
c. 1st 3 years of marriage a testing ground. In
fact, when both start to see each other's
flaws n b driven crazy...welcome 2 e
institution of marriage...e conflicts
(lifestyle/ habits etc)set the foundation for
a strong marriage. E cement 2 secure e
relationship is mutual tolerance n luurrrvvve.

2 end,
Lxbl, when u back in Spore n wan 2 look 4 kakiz, if u don mind, feel free 2 drop a line. Meanwhile enjoy e air in Shanghai. Nice 2 noe u here...
Ur ideal WG is lacey/off shoulder n mermaid cut? Hmmm.... great taste. Tink u noe wat material n cutting can bring out ur assets n conceal ur flaws.
One tink my galfrienz advise me is...be open in trying all sorts of gowns...don restrict 2 one. U may not like certain designs on pic, but if u wear it, u might hav a diff opinion... Jus b adventurous n try all designs.
Wow u oso do a PPT 4 ur ideal gown... so on!
At least now, i can fully conc on planning e details cos i really like 2 shake legs a lot...don like last minute stuff on myself n others.
Oki taz all. Im really happy 2 chat w u all.
In fact, i look forward 2 hear ur thots... guess e brides in this thread so far sound qite 'zai'(steady bong bi bi)

Bunnyhop

blessedger

hello! my AD is on 15 May 08. Anybody on the same day as me? :D..btw, usually how long before to go for choosing/MTM gown and photoshoots?

blooms

hey jacqueline, my rom is also juz around the corner, what have u done so far?? I am still quite blur of what to plan etc..hahaha

hpryn

Hi Lara,

Maybe u can discuss with your coordinator to change the MTM to more photo.

Hi Atrina,
We got so many simliar things.
Me also study and working too. My wedding is in June and my new home is at coris, buangkok too...

antakusuma

hello PSH,

Dun worry about shaking leg i'm way behind...=) and thanks for ur offer i'll take it up if i need it, serious.

I'm going for EE in February... I'm Christian but my HTB is catholic. But i'm sure MPC is good for everyone, religious or not. Just some tried and tested fundamentals for marriage to work out...Are u christian PSH?

bunnyhop

Yap lxlb...i agree w u.
Marriage is another ball game. Basically my HTB n i hav talked a lot on many issues... even e unpleasant ones... i a gal who likes 2 noe e worst scenario; can say im a pragmatic optimist. @ least when something crashes, we r mentally prepared. Very impt... ("o)

Apologies but wat is EE?
Likely 2 join my HTB in a presbyterian church. Tried Brethren and Methodist envt...more comfy w word based churches.

Wat abt u? Does it mean u also going 2 b a Catholic 2? If so, which church r u marrying in?
LBNL, gotta get ur AD PG/VG early loh... e good ones r hard 2 get leh. Confirm those hard 2 get stuff or people 1st. Then u not so stress stress.

Take care. Bunnyhop/ PSH

ling27

Hi Lara, my fren also had MTM gowns in her package but in the end she managed to find her dream gowns among the OTR ones.. So dun get upset as you have found the gowns you like.. My fren managed to bargain with her coordinator for a few more photos for the 'trade in' of gowns..

ling27

Hi apple_gal, did your BS coordinator tell you roughly when is your first fitting when you signed up their package? I'm having my fitting (OTR gowns) and trial make-up two months before my photo shoot.

ling27

Hi gals!! Shared with you something from the wedding dinner i attended at the Mariott last night.

'Tekan' methods - usual stuff like suan tian ku la, groom dancing 'chicken little' moves, singing song and reading loudly 10 promises to the bride.

As the couple started off early in the morning (before dawn), they had time to go for another round of photo shoot. These photos were presented in the photo montage during the dinner.

1st march in - frens threw flower petals as the couple did their march in. Sweet...

2nd march in - after the couple's 2nd march in, they danced waltz gracefully in front of the stage. It was done beautifully.. wish i could dance like them.

'Yum Seng' - all the xiongdis gathered and stood in front of the stage. The first 2 rounds of yum seng were performed by the xiongdis in an orchestra manner with one xiongdi standing in front and 'act' like a conductor. The final yum seng was done with all the guests.

Wedding favour - dark and white heart shaped chocolate in a box. All of us at my table finished eating the chocolate as the dinner started at 845pm. Hungry!!

xinyi_reiko

Selina,thanks for shaing...

The yum seng part very interesting and funny too.. heh~

Even 2nd march in have to be spectacular.. running out of ideas lehh..

apple_gal

Hi, Serena
Actually my BS coordinator told me is depend when i want go for photoshoot. If in March, she will be recommend to have fitting at least 1 month earlier. My package includes one of the gown MTM. Will it be kind of late for MTM gown for only 1 month?

jfaith

I have just completed my ROM on 28/09 and had a short trip to Bangkok. Now...go to start working on my AD next year. Does anybody has any timeline planned yet, I am lost on what to start first. According to my BS, I should do my gown after CNY and PS in July.

Not forgetting, the top list - LOSE WEIGHT. Sian! need to lose at least 6kg!!!!

~sblbee~

snowypooh,
wah...oso gd can get ur off in-lieu on another day so wont b so crowded...envy envy

sue,
nvm, sun feel sad. like wat snowypooh say, mayb u can get double pay for woking on public holis...
aiyo, actually dun put makeup better for ur skin leh, unlike mine, my pores alrdy so big n everyday kena clogged up by makeup...u oso can save $ like wat mal said :p wah...i oso have to set aside some $ for buying makeup :p

mal,
yah, im going for my root canal filling on monday, hopefully can do crowning on d week after nxt...den can say byebye to d ugly white piquid-paper like plaster on my teeth :p
my mum always comment dat as i get older, i dun bother to dress up n always wear casual clothes like tee-shirt n bermudas even to town area, machiam like an auntie, listen alrdy i so demoralised

colt_26

hi JK,

my AD also 15 May 08 at Marina Mandarin. Where yours? I just completed my PS last week. have you got your BS yet?

good to complete things early and plan ahead.

koyoyo

yo meiling, how we dress does show our outer look .. but no matter how much glamourous clothin u wear ... the beauty must radiant from within.. i have seen supermodel wearing only tee n jeans.. so it all the style from u...

~sblbee~

koyoyo,
yah true...hehe..dat applies for other ppl only...cos they got d look, figure n beauty :p
i can only b qualified as a super ah-so :p

poopy

hi all, mine is 8 March. Yup...one hot date..
I have not done anything for home yet! Will get keys only in Jan nxt yr, it's super rush..so I am settling most of my BS stuff now first. No choice. Wht abt you all? Roughly when will you be doing banquet food tasting and guo da li huh?

feilinc - 1/3/2008 - Traders Hotel - Di Gio
axeljes - 1/3/2008 - Dragon Gate - Bliss Bridal
moomooland - 4/3/2008 - Orchard Hotel - French Bridal
caramel980 - 8/3/2008 - Wesley Methodist Church & One Rochester - Dang Bridal
muffin - 8/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - French Bridal
purpleclouds - 8/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Bliss Bridal
tummykitten - 8/3/2008 - Raffles Town Club -SeletarBraodway
poopy - 8/3/2008 - Oriental - Sattine Bridal
bedime_bear - 9/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Santiago Bridal
090308bride - 9/3/2008 AD - 10/3/2008 - Intercon - Ala carte
laura_yaya- 9/03/2008 - Carlton Hotel - French Bridal
sylvia - 9/03/2008 - The Laguna
Jesteress - 9/03/2008 -
elmo - 15/3/2008 - Hilton - Sophia Weddings
Snow - 16/3/2008 - Orential - My Bridal Room
Meepley - 22/3/2008 - Club Chinois - ala carte for gowns
sealy me - 22/03/08 - S'pore Expo - Bridal concept
Yoko - 23/03/2008 - Oriental - Bridal Veil
Junjun - 29/3/2008 - Carlton - White Link
Anabelle - 30/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - Whitelink
Jen - 30/3/2008 - The Regent - J& M Design
serlz - 30/3/2008 - Intercontinental - Silverlining
Mine - 30/3/2008 - Holiday Inn Atrium - Di Gio

buttercupz

Hi Starry,
my ROM is on 30/12/07. when is yours? actually felt a bit conned by FB on the package loh.

Jaqueline/Starry,
How's your prep for ROM?
so far i hv settled venue, clothes, rings, ring pillow, pending short honeymoon to cfm. whatelse to do?

lara

hi erina.. ya lor.. coz my BS package was supposed to b MTM (EG & WG) but in the end i took OTR for all so i asked them if i can have more photos instead but they said cannot

strawberri

Hi all, I am a sep 08 BTB too. 14 Sep 08. Wow... after coming to this forum... then I realise how much preparation I have not done! I have only sourced for the banquet, ie at Carlton onli. Still looking for other stuff... I am thinking... why not add another column 'Love nest' and your renovation contractor in the table for references? btw, what is the purpose of the table?

daffier

me n my hubby is looking at end 08 or early 09.

he wanna check out his sister lunch wedding early jan 09 but actually i'm not in favour in lunch wedding cos guests norm think it's cheaper than dinner but actually not tht cheaper..

CLS2008

Hi GND,

If the sales person visited you in Singapore, he should have brought a big luggage bag consisting of a lot of samples. I also have the same doubt as you but they told me they brought all the materials from the shop which i think it's true because i visited their shop in JB prior to them visiting me in Singapore. Because my home is earth theme, so i don't have much difficulties finding the right colour. And because they are experienced, they also give some recommendations which i find it tasteful when i don't know what to pick.

If you want to feel more comfortable, you can visit their shop in JB. Actually, the surrounding shops around Sentosa the Store has 2 - 3 curtains shops which you can visit around to get a good feel.

Regard the invitation cards, i am glad you have the same sentiments. I have checked with my hotel and they only offered to exchange my cards for 5 complimentary wines. So i am still thinking. I saw on the forum about recommendations on Focal Ad. So i am taking a loko there end of the month. Hopefully it won't be too expensive. Thanks for mentioning the printer you went to.. Perhaps i can go and have a look.

Thanks thanks.

~sblbee~

hi jeslyn,
welcome to this thread! i'll update ur details when i go back to office on tue ok?
do let me know if there's any additional info u need me to update?

antakusuma

hi PSH, no la not going to be catholic. will remain as methodist. It is difficult to be something else when u've been someone for so many years. It's hard to convert my HTB to be methodist also. We're ok with each other being what we are, but its more the inlaws, they are very staunch.

EE is Engagment Encounter, the catholic version of MPC. I'm getting married at St Francis Xavier. u? where did u book?

~sblbee~

hi melody,
hehe, guz im oso at d auntie age...so might as well b an aunite lor...aiyah, dun care liao, anyway i oso start to have d auntie syndromes like back ache, shoulder ache etc like my mum, can b jie mei wif her liao :p

bunnyhop

Hi lovexlb, mua in a presby church / ORPC. 1 lady in Sattine / oso a Christian mentioned tat some churches may b a bit stricter in e BTBs WG on tat day. Hmmm... hope can find a WG tat is pc (politically correct) 4 e occasion yet not diminishing mua's assets... haha.
I had been 2 SFX 4 a retreat b4... not bad but a bit far from e central part of Spore...
So coincidental, tink i basically a Methodist @ heart... been in MGS/AC setting during my schooling years. Enjoyed this period of being close 2 Him all this while.
Though in a Methodist setting, everytink every org... but so far, i enjoy e spontaneous fellowship n refreshing sermons so far... in fact i found my closer young adults kaki (when mua young n innocent) in a Methodist church.
Guess wat... my HTB oso an AC guy... ! *sigh...
Tink we qite got 'chemistry' in tis thread...
Keep e sharing going... (",)

Hopefully when u back in Spore, we can hav a chance 2 meet in Sattine shop... face 2 face...
tat wld b so cool!

oh ya share more abt how u r org ur Big Day leh..
Like e order of events etc or anitink tat comes 2 ur mind.

Mayb if over time, can oso share more using our email acc...
Take care... lovexiaolongbao

b_n_l

Hello PSH,
AD photog is covered under our BS package... we've spoken to the photographer, so that's settled. As for videographer, we tot of engagaing this guy who works with the photog. Seen his works and he's good, but HB and I decided to save on the $ and get our friends to help out with a simple one instead. Am sure will juz chuck it one side with the photos. Haha

Yep... dont like to do things last min oso. :0 But also dont wanna do PS etc too early coz I know I'd change my mind abt locations, gowns if the time-gap is too large. Haha.

MPC.... for us we have completed one such course conducted by an external anglican church much earlier on. Now attending our own BP church's one, which has a more biblical focus than the other.

BTW, u guys got ur love nest liao?

tinkybell

i am back from my holiday last mon, but was too busi with work that i have no time to log in... have missed out quite abit n hope to catch up soon....

Hi Jeslyn,
welcome n shake hand with u cos, our big day is on the same day....

Snowy, u r not the onli 1, i need to work tml too.. n the sad thing is i am working today also... run up n down building to coordinate some work, entire body aching now..
for those who are on official off tml, have a good and fruitful day... for others like me who need to wrk, dun think too much and the day will be over soon...

princess_sue

hi jes, welcome to the oct thread..
My cousin will be holding his wedding there too next sept at furama... :p

hi all... i am in the office already... sad man.. you gals mus be hvg a sweet dream now.. hehehe. nah .. where got double pay.. sat is a working day so no holiday in liew juz tt we dun have to work on last sat.. . so good to hv 5 day.. still got off or in lieu.. so envious.

hey... gals... some of you mention abt doing some simple reno right? go visit the expo gravious living .. free admission. we went there ytd to look at some wardrobe design..so you gals can go take a look for those who are intending to so something

cheers.