(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi Jenn,

Thanks for asking...
Haven't been visiting the Forum lately cos I was feeling pretty upset abt the wedding prep stuff (my mum side)...

For past few days, we have also been visiting the hotels to check out the rates and told them that mine is an open date and have to wait till the first 7th month then we can get a date. Ok lah, majority of them still went on to meet us...

Good Day!

Hi Corsage

I came across this brand - Vivie, they have a wide range of shoes that will go well with Kua. Think a open-toed beaded shoes is a great idea. Just get one with minimal beadings.

Huiz,
I bought my silver WG shoes at Vivie. It's recomended by Jit. You can drop by Tangs and check if they have that range over there.

i am thinking of going US.. but it will be really hot if we leave after the AD.. still thinking abt it.. hope to set aside some $$ for the trip.. hee hee i will hope to go either free and easy or go there and join their local tours instead of joining a tour group in SG...

Natas fair will be on but heard that sometimes travel agency run their own fair before the Natas fair and i noticed that they give better discount... hhhmm but to book now abit early right?

the Australia and NZ will be nice cos the weather will be cold and nice…

Bali and Mauritius will be a super good place to relaz…

Europe will be nice too.. but my FH finds it too boring.. cos it more of a scenic place…

hhmm.. all u the destinations sound so nice.. i wish i have endless annual leave and $$$$ hahahha...

jhoo, I guess mine is different as I'm not using the hotel's standard theme. I'm getting a third party to set-up the ballroom.

oh, i see..ok, think i wont do any addition decor to the ballroom..hehe, i really cant afford to spend my time on decor as im still the only one doing on the wedding. At least u still have ur hubby supporting and helping. if i do that, i might collapse during my wedding day, haha

hi jhoo & mei,

wat glue u using? i'm tinking of using superglue but tink of the mess it will cause on my fingers really sucks... any alternative? where to buy? how much? thanks

hi shers, dont use superglue.. if im not wrong the kind of white glue can be found in stationery shop. i bought the glue very long ago and till now still can use. u can try search at popular. this glue can be washed easily if our hand kana..not expensive at all..

Hi lyons...Hahahaha...I booked already just haven't paid yet. OHMYGOSH! I just realised ur AD is same as me! hahaha..I'm having the morning mass..I presume that means ur having the afternoon one? Haha..paiseh ah =P

BKK gals....
I am heading there with my younger sister, her bf and my FH. If you see us (4 walking together) having breakfast at asia hotel...one of the gals will be me!!
)) 25th aug = go chinatown dinner and koon 26th aug = chatuchak + MBK area + Siam 27th aug = pratunam + spa 28th aug = sis n bf go back to sgp while i carry on relaxing in bkk.

Justice of Peace....
I alwaz tot that JP will not bother to reply us since our wedding is in March...okie, seems like I got to buck up. Does Mr Chan speak both mandarin and english? I need a bilingual JP leh...my mum and FH mum speaks mandarin. Both dads speak english...

Shoes...
all of you are getting your shoes now? I havent chose my WG/EG so not going to get my shoes 1st.

stacy..
I didnt know that we are "tong xiang" I bought a flat at hougang too...5 rm, resale too. How much you get yours, got grant? Another thing i want to find out from you is - who is your renovation ID/contractor? Can show me some pics of your new place?

Hi Everybody,

I'm new here. Can i join in the conversation too?
Planning that my AD is 3rd Nov but have yet to confirm as my parents want to seek feng sui to see whether is it a auspicious date.
Have a few questions. Before i make an appointment to meet up with the hotel, is it that i will have to confirm how many tables? What if suddenly i need lesser or more table then how? Once i confirmed the date, can i still change?

hey snowie,

dun be so down ya.. as u can see.. many are still willing to help u even when u told then urs is an open date.. anyhow.. jus do whatever u can.. once the 1st lunar 7th month is over, u can start on ur decision making liaoz.. things will be settled so fast till u dun even notice! dun get pressured by us or anyone else.. do at ur own pace.. if not sept-07, choose a later date lor.. relax ya! cheer up babe! ^_^

nicole,

Not me lah...that's Huiz in Hougang. I'm staying same place as twinkle.

As for reno, my all DIY..as in I liaise with subcontractors myself. Quality is there but we definately spent lotsa time coordinating things..unlike leaving it to contractors to coordinate.

As for BBK, 4 of us will be going..my gf, her guy, my guy n myself...going chinatown on 25th...maybe if u see 2 couples at Asia for breakfast...that's me loh..hehee

Huiz - Maybe we missed each other at Allure by split sec...hehee... Good luck for yr shopping tonite. Update us ya!

Compassrose - where's vivie huh? I mountain tortoise?

shers.. yup.. you can buy from Popular.. I bought mine from a craft shop at Bras Basah.. a huge bottle very cheap only.

diaodu.. can't accept PM? I have emailed you already.

Hi hi Stacy,

Ya man, we could have missed each other then!

As for Vivie, I help Compassrose answer u la.... heehee. It doesn't have a specific shop but is a brand that most major shopping centres like Metro and Tangs carry.

Hi Nicole,

Yes, I am the Hougang dweller

I got a 6 year old EA resale there. I got it for 339K, floor space 137 sq m. I did get the grant as I am staying near my folks. As for renov, I did not do much as the house was in very good condition. Only did some paintings, change the loo tiles and the entire window grilles and panes. Spent less than $10K in all. So there is no need for me to get an ID afterall. And thankfully the place is already in some kind of country style which I like. I do have some pics taken long time ago. Can email them to u. May I have your email pls?

I shall be going down this weekend to tidy the place up before my FIL visit on Sun. Will take more pics of the "latest updated" version of my place and show u more then

My FH wants to go Egypt, Turkey or Greece...Anyone been there before? Any comments?
I am actually thinking of using my air miles to redeem ticket, so costs will be much less, something to consider since we will all be spending so much...

Hi Jaslyn,

I'm also having my ROM outside. Wont ROM allocate 1 for you?
Who did you choose? why?

Sorry for asking cause i dun understand y need to choose own JP.

May I ask if any1 got any idea where to find a heart shape box? Tot of getting one as my ang pao box for my wedding in Jan

Mei, yap if sew on will be more secure ..unless the glue really stick tight ....keke :P

okie u let me know if u got any photo on the faux pearl strands but i think i have a rough idea of wat is it like ..keke :P

jhoo, icic ....can slowly train ur little prince to walk ...still have another 5mths to go ...keke :P so sweet got flower gal n page boy ...me dun have.

i think gift shops may sell heart shape box...

u girls r 'advancing' to corsages n ang pow box already!! wow so fast... i'm impressed.

seems like still got a lot of small small things to settle... i better write down a detailed to-do list soon...

nez, I think I saw some heart-shaped boxes at a shop in Far East Plaza, the shop sells wedding stuff.. sorry, I forgot the unit number of the shop, I just happened to pass by & saw it.

yuki, here's a website with some pictures.. inspiration for you.. can add feathers too for a nice touch... http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/promise2love00/album?.dir=/b284&.src=ph&.tok=phWFMqEBX2YMJMrX There's one with pearl instead of ribbon, nice also, Item WC9880. What I suggested is multiple strands of pearls.

Here's another nice website that teaches DIY wedding crafts http://www.save-on-crafts.com/weddingcrafts2.html

originbaby, I feel it's better to get small things done first, whenever we can. As the big day draws closer, we'll be focused on the bigger things & may forget or not have the time to settle the small things.. call me kiasu, but I completed my ang bao boxes in May already.

Hi Cactus & Jenn,

Gals, really appreciate your encouragement.. Thanks.. Am looking forward to know my AD otherwise really afraid that the hotels I want are fully booked...

Yup, just another week more towards.. At the same time also hope our parents can be more compromising..

Hi all...thnx for all the info...will cx out the plcs u gers mentioned. Jus done my corsages over the weekend, so now looking for the ang pao box and guestbk...only went to kalms to look, but it's kinda ex man. Thnx again!

nez, try shopping online or you can go to bras basah.. various shops there stock wedding stuff like ring pillows, guestbooks & angbao boxes.

You can also try Paperchase at Borders. I bought my wedding album there.. they've got nice guestbooks too.

originbaby, me doing a bit here n there till i blur oso ...haha i got a list but nvr update ..haha havent started on corsage juz gathering some ideas so wun be lost :P

Mei - thanks for the website ...they go have quite a number of design for us to choose frm ...nice nice

Girls.. just a reminder.. if you would like your jiemeis to wear matching outfits/dresses, do let them know beforehand so they have ample time to shop.

Hi Tulips

ROM will allocate a JP if you ROM at the following premises:
1) Their registry office
2) LoveThatBinds (Cherish room, Love room, private suites etc etc)
3) Masonic Garden/Restuarant (also under LTB)
4) StarDus

For other premises like hotels/restuarants/beach, you have to choose your own JP and invite them yourself. Hope this clears up your doubts

Btw, anybody had Mr Tang Kan Hoy as your solemeniser? Can't find any feedback on him leh...

Hi Snowie,

share with you something:

My fiance's parents were insistent on 29 Sept 07 for our customary tea. My fiance was insistent on Shangrila, but Shangrila was taken on 29 Sept 07. My parents refused to have wedding lunch on 29 Sept cos they are of the view that wedding lunches are done in a rush and show that the gal is desperate to get married...

In the end, our families were so supportive of 29 Sept 07 customary tea in the morning, 30 Sept 07 wedding dinner.

Fiance and I hope to start wedding dinner early on 30 Sept 07 cos it is a Sunday. Although we paid a little bit more to the MUA and photographer to come down on 2 seperate days, we feel it is worth it, cos it is less rush, and my parents will be able to properly hold a "3 day return" dinner on the evening of 29 Sept 07 to show that the newly wedded couple returns to the bride's home, which is in line with chinese tradition.

I'm sure things will work out for you even if the venue you want is fully booked by the time the date comes out.

Hi tulips,

Its ok..

I don't think ROM will allocate one for u..
I was told by my hotel coordinator and my cousins that if u ROM outside, u will have to
arrange a JP for yourself..
Think its because you are inviting them out..
then u have to arrange for their transport also..

I choose Mr Sim Hong Boon..
My hubby just look at the list then start calling anybody..
at 1st my hubby called the JP list and all sound so unfriendly and all say they are not sure if they are free or not on my ROM date..
so my hubby decided to look for JP at the grassroots leaders list..
then just happen to call him and he agreed on the spot... he even assured us that if he cannot make it, he will help us to arrange for another JP..
so we decided to use him lor..

jhoo.. I did lots of research ever since my bf proposed.. lol.. I bookmarked all the websites. I'll share whatever I can with you girls.. minimise our stress.

eh,me tht of gg europe also,but dun think gt so much $$ after our reno and wedding,so need to see how.
is e natas fair really such a good bargain?i dunwan to waste e admission ticket go in,den din book anything

Hi Cactus,

I can see that both have gone thru alot of disagreement between parents. Each parent wants their own way and ended up both of you have to compromise..

For my case is that, my mum side, cos she keeps on changing her mind of getting how many tables of ang paos. That is critical for us as it will affect our choice of hotel. Initially she said she don't want any tables, then after hearing frm my grandmother's opinion then she wants 1 VIP + 5 tables and finally now she wants all the ang paos of the guest from the bride's side (incl my guests as well)..

So do you know when is actually the right time for both parents to meet up? (At point of time selecting AD date?)

yah, it does help alot..i must admit its a stressful period for me right now..how i wish i can apply one month leave and stay at home to rot and do nothing...

Hi Snowie,

Yup, we went through alot of discussions. I can't say there were heated arguments or major disagreement. Our parents are very polite towards each other - there's still a very good relationship. Just that we give and take within our limits. In the end, I like to see it as "everyone wins".

I understand waht you mean when you say that your mom keeps changing her mind. My mom also.. listen to her aunties, my aunties, my grandma.. her colleagues.. listen to everyone.. in the end, have a long list of expectations. But we try to meet it and so far my parents are happy, my fiance's parents are happy too. Therefore, we are happy.

I think the best time is to meet up before selecting AD date. The guy's family may want to invite the gal's family out to indicate that their son wants to marry the daughter. The gal's parents will agree in principle. Then the guy's family will ask for the gal's parents' year of birth to ascertain the animal sign to choose the date. They will also ask for the gal's birthdate.

Then they can talk about the AD stuff...

In my case, this is the time-line:

early dec 05 - fiance proposed to me. I told fiance my parents want to host an engagement dinner for us so I can't accept the ring.

late dec 05 - fiance's parents invited my parents out to say their son wants to marry me. We confirmed solemniztion and engagement dates. We said customary some time in 2007.

april 06 - our engagement dinner - my parents hosted it and invited close friends and both sides extended families. we excahgned engagement rings. My parents bought my fiance his engagement ring. I wore the proposal/engagement ring.

July 06 - fiance asked me to ask my parents if Sept 29, 07 okay for customary. my parents said no problems to me.

July 06 - Fiance's parents came to my house to discuss GDL, said they will give pinjin but never say amount, indicated number of tables guy's side will give us,SDJ. My parents showed fiance's parents the sets of jewelry and the type of jia zhuang they will be giving me on customary. They talked about an chuang also. Fiance's parents said they will calculate auspicious dates for GDL and an chuang. my parents left it to them but agreed in principle.

immediately after leaving our house after everything was agreed upon, fiance and I brought our parents to view Shangrila cos fiance likes that place alot. parents agreed to that place (our money, btw), and we signed contract.

So our understanding is there are no more outstanding issues between our parents. My parents have told me they will be taking all the angpaos from the tables given by the guy's family. this is in accordance with tradition, my parents say. my parents will be quietly returning us the angpao $ to my fiance and myself cos they dun want us to suffer financially but told us to keep quiet about it cos it will be a loss of face to the gal's side if my parents dun want the angpao $ as it signifies that I'm worthless to my parents.

to add-
most of the time, the gal's parents will have alot of expectations cos they dun want pple to gossip and say that the gal "anyhow" marry... some pple will say "must be pregnant".

Also, some parents will feel if the wedding is not grand, their daughter will not be treasured by the in-laws because traidtionally, it is the guy's family who pays for the wedding...

These days, it is the couple who pays. This is not a bad thing.. cos the couple can control quite alot of the wedding preps... It's even better if both sides of parents are not willing to help out financially. THe thinking is - you don't offer to help, you don't have any expectations.

Of course, we try to meet our parents' demands.. but only within our ability. Like, my fiance's parents want 28 tables for their relatives...my fiance put his foot down and said.. only 17.5 tables cos we are not having more than 35 tables for the wedding. So , we divide the 35 tables equally. My fiance's mom stopped asking for more tables. I also told my mom if she wants to invite more pple, she wil have to pay in excess of our 17.5 tables. my mom agreed and even said she will return me all the angpaos. so what appears to be a bleak situation may have a good ending.

Hi Cactus,

Think yours is rather clear story when your fiance's parents has formally invited your parents out and discussed over the meal.

For mine, my bf popped the question in early July and formally inform my mum in the later month. But both parents are not formally invited out for discussion yet.. So when nothing is being confirm my mum, of course, has the tendency of changing her mind everynow and then. Nobody advise us anything nor his parents wants to take the initiative to make the first move to invite my parents. Nobody seems to be interested.. Now I know must quickly ask my bf to organise both families to meet up for discussion..

But I hope my mum can really as understanding as your parents in not to accept all ang paos otherwise we would have to hold our banquet in restaurant..

Thanks for sharing

Yup, think you should get your bf's parents to ask your parents out to discuss. Best is to finalise everything. save alot of headache... speaking from my experience!

actually, you dun need to resign to having it in restaruant if u really dun want. U can cut down on the numbers of pple you want to invite and only invite very close friends and relatives. They are not likely to let you make any losses. That's what we are doing for our wedding... we limit both sides parents to only 175 guests each including family members. As we are paying for the banquet, our colleagues and friends and immediate relatives are within the 175 guests. Whatever in excess of 175 seats, we give to our parents each. If still require more seats, our parents just have to pay loh. I think we can cut our losses this way cos we control the first 175 guests on each side. We just need to fill the seats up with pple close to us - limit the loss.