(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hey ladies, i agree wif Babystarlet. Age is definitely not an issue! U girls are so open abt ur own age - dats great! hehe...dun be afraid is the best thing rite! Heheh...

I'm born in 1981 btw...

Hey Chick77: i guess the average price that i've came across so far for PG will be from 1-1.5k. Dat's the usual one. For VG, think u will have to ask the rest of the girls liao. Heheh..me not having any VG mah. haha...

Hey girls, ask u all hor...for the modern chinese style, did anyone had the guy's side go over to the girl's place meet up the family to 'ask for her hand'? Anyone still got use the 'matchmaker/negotiator? If dun have, how's the usual 'way' to go abt set 'the date' for ur AD then? Hehe..share wif me k!

haven't been posting much cos had been quite busy with work but have been following the thread.

Babystarlet & anise, I'm also born in 1980.

Chere & Joanne, do you have the solemnisation package for Plaza Park Royal Poolside to share?
not for me but for a friend..had mine liao=p
Her bf just proposed and sourcing around for her. can email me? thanks in advance. [email protected]

Hi Stacey, welcome to the thread!

Hope you iron out your issues and it's not major! Lots of things to discuss when getting married.

Have you gotten an apartment yet? or intending to stay with in-laws for a start?

Hi anise and any ladies who are still sourcing for venues,
see if this may help. got it somewhere last time (again, can't remember from where/which thread =p):

Questions you may want to ask when you book your wedding banquet
1. How many complimentary barrels of beer are included in the package? How many litres per barrel? Cost of extra barrel of beer? Can they throw in an extra complimentary barrel of beer?
2. How many complimentary parking coupons can they provide? What happens if you need more? Same questions goes for the invitation cards.
3. What are the corkage charges for hard-liquor, stout and wines?
4. How many complimentary nights of stay is provided? If only one night, try to get two nights.
5. What is the number of tables a waiter/waitress will be serving? Who is their pool of banquet waiters/waitresses?
6. How many people are invited for the trial-dinner? Full or partial menu for the trial-dinner? Is the trial-dinner on a weekday or weekend?
7. Are wedding favours provided? What kind?

Hi twinkle,

Tks for the warm welcome...hehee..

Oh yes, got my own hse...bot a resale...not staying wif ILs cos too far fm my parent's place n our workplace

hi huichin,

yea had been busy at work so not been online much. right now, haven't had time to do any further wedding preps except signing with ron over the weekend..

As for your query about 'ti qing/ask for hand in marriage', eh, in my case, my bf asked my parents only after he proposed:P I do know of some friends who asked before the proposal.
but if you mean like settling all the stuff about decision on choose date and all, hmm mine is not a good example cos we made most of the decisions ourselves e.g. date we anyhow choose what's available at the venue we like and what suits us etc..
I know some will organise a rather formal dinner for parents of both sides and discuss the details/expectations..

haven't ask my parents about the dowry thingy yet, so can't give input on that..

Hi Tingster, thks for sharing ur experience. I guess nowadays we, the new and younger generation oso prefer to choose and decide on the things ourselves...hehe..

Hi Mei & hapict,

Thanks!! At least I can rest my mind.. Mei, its great to know someone here same wedding day as me!! Which banquet u hav chosen??

Jan PS is ok for AD on 070707. I m doing my PS this coming September...so I am earlier than u gals...

I oso get myself a 5-room flat, resale 13 yrs old... the conditon is pretty ok. I only spent 3k in painting and touching up only.

But I do agree with Miaka, there's more cleaning to do as the floor area is bigger, meaning more money spent on furnishing too

30-40k for reno is sufficient in my humble opinion. If you wan to look for contractor to do quotation, I can recommend mine, most of my colleagues used him, and his price are very reasonable.

hi jazlyn,

haha.my brain works in a funny way. i did forget my anniversary b4 le (so ashamed). i didnt noe what happened to me that time. so terrible.

hi hui,

ya la, i think thats what i'll do la. shd be taking PPR's gazabo for the solem b4 banquet.

Hihi Chick77 & Joanne
Haha.. we are OLD BIRDs here... nowadays the women are getting married at a younger age

hi Chere
Thanks for the congrats.

Hihi Happyface
Andrew is the principal fotographer at Segami. I was lucky to get his old rates as I emailed to him in May but our meeting was delayed till now due to my work commitments. he is quite nice to stick to the previous pricing given to me. His works are good. Maybe u can arrange to meet him and see his works and ask him to package what u require for your AD pics? He is quite flexible and maybe can "teh" him a bit to give you the old pricing ?

Hmm.... for me... we just tell our parents that we WANT TO GET MARRIED!!!! did not really go through the talking stuff and dowry stuff.

hey hui..mine is walk-in..

left with all the low levels..tsk tsk..so got 3rd floor.. once in a blue moon..some shameless cats will crawl up to the 2nd floor and cat call.. hehe counting down to moving house again..

Hi Iruka,
I'm not sure if there will be repercussions if you drop Elson for a lady coordinator. If you are worried abt that and dun mind his service, another you can consider is having a girlfriend with you whenever you go down. I do that too.

Candy is pretty popular with online brides here, seems all the online brides except me have her as the coordinator! But my coordinator Josephine is also good leh! Hehehe....must say nice things abt my coordinator too...she has been such an angel and also fun girlfriend to me.

Think you shd consider if you are ok with getting a girlfriend to be ard all the time you are there or you will still prefer to have a lady coordinator. Most imptly, you have to be comfortable. And I am sure DiGio will understand.

thank u Jenn & juju

U gals are really great and I'm glad that i've u all to help..

I will go through the list of geomancers and visit one of them when my FH is bk from his BT.. Hope i can get the dates which i want and join u gals in action to our AD

Happie preparing prettie brides-to-be =)

Btw, Jenn can you help me to update as ive already booked my BS with Everbliss.. thanks ya..

haven't posted for a couple of days, how r u all? i've been busy with my work n meeting the shorlisted PG. signed up with edmond leong finally. my bf likes his works especially the editing, n find him a nice person to work with. chere, kindly help me update. thx.

now considering whether should i get a VG. any recommendation with price less than 1K? budget tight! thank u!

sassybride> we have the same pg! Jus saw edmund's prices has increased ald....

my hb oso proposed then tell my parents we wanna rom ald, made him ask them for permission. i pretend to fall asleep kekekke!

Hi babymiki, do check with your coordinator bt the timing ya? Cos I am using PPR Stamford Room on 070707, and have asked them to keep the gazabo available for my reception.

Hi Lys, do you need another recommendation? PM me if you do.

Hi Ambush, when did you get your unit? I tried checking online to see if any units available but hor they say chinese quota full.

Hi Anise,

few more things to add to ting's list of useful qns:
8) Any hidden charges like projector, sound equipment etc

9) Any overtime ot surcharge if dinner ends after 11pm?

10) Additional room for helpers during the dinner event

Good luck for the hunt for your venue ! Keep us updated.

since ting brought up e topic of ti qing,jus askn if u gals' parents already meet up and both knew the AD date yet?my side,we haben tell my hubby's parents the exact date yet,not sure when shld do it.

hi sassy bride,my uncle is a professional VG,if he's not free on that day,he can get his colleagues as well...price shld be less den 1k,do let me know if u wan his contacts to enquire further.

Good Morning Gals

Finally finished my PS on Tue ....yst was dead tired so did not managed to come in forum

Overall was fun ....but when we went outdoor it was raining
.... but we continue to take some pictures till the rain stopped .... we went outdoor abt 4pm and PS was finished by 8.30pm ...went back BS to return gown and by the time we left BS think abt 9++ ......

I took 4 gowns n korea style indoor so guess it took quite some times for the changes of hairdo n makeup ....now praying hard that the pictures turn out well ...

We got our frez to take some shots quietly ...haha

can give me some opinion? I am quite short abt 1.5m only ....i am deciding between a A line gown and a ballroom gown with long train ...which do u think will suit me better? My FH is on the tall side ....

Hi Rainie

My coordinator at MM is Henry.

I don't have a soft copy of the contract. Will type it out and email you =)

hi all.. the update.. ^_^

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">BTB</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DAY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">VENUE</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-PG</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-VG</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AGE</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">NH</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">jenphua</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wed</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jazreel Low Collections</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jazreel Low Collections</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Rivervale Crescrent->Buangkok Tivela</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">rainie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22nd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritius Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mr &amp; Mrs Wedding Club</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mr &amp; Mrs Wedding Club</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mr &amp; Mrs Wedding Club</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mr &amp; Mrs Wedding Club</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Woodlands</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">wen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22nd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri La</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kai Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lighted Pixels</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yuppies Production</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">kate</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">23rd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sun</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Plaza ParkRoyal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bukit Batok</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">juju</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fri</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Oriental</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tuckys</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tuckys</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ngjoan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hiltop Garden</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3D Lab</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3D Lab</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">25</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bukit Panjang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">au yong</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Central Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Everbliss</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Everbliss</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Relative-(Photographer fr Kowloon Bridal)</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Punggol</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">kyra</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago Wedding Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago Wedding Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hougang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ham ham</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holiday Inn Park View</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Divine Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">CCK Crescent – w/hubby</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">taRea</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Novotel Clarke Quay</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jawn Happy.Ever.After</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Punggol</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">faithz1528</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-La</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thomson</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">vivien</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Everbliss</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">minne</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">huijuan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">priscilla</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></td></tr></table>

Hi stacey,

Good to hear you've got a resale. I'm currently looking for one. Have seen about 12-15, and wondering whether to stop the search since we found one that we 'quite like' but with resale you never know if something better might pop up.

How many did you view before you decided? was it a tough decision?

hi stacey n twinkle,
i actually planned to stay with ILs for a year while looking for flat. my parents werent very supportive of the idea and told me to get my own pl.
we searched everywhere (from HDB to resale to condo) we have finally found the one near to my parent's pl. Its hard...but you just got to flip the papers everyday and tell all the agents you speak to, to keep a look out for you.
now we are trying to get the staying near parent's grant which might be a prob cos we r only legally married in march 07. (rom + traditional)

Hi Nicole,

I think it shouldn't be a problem. Just write to HDB and ask them to defer. I think if you call the HDB hotline they will tell you who to write to. You have already started resale proceedings for that flat you want? I think if the gap between your second appointment and ROM date is 3 months it's supposed to be ok.

Cutie - will settle on venue 1st (within this or next wk), then start looking ard for BS n APG, VG.

Twinkle - oh...for hse viewing, my guy was not in town..so only me and mum went for the hse hunting. Visited ard 8 hse, but still prefer the 1st one we saw and decided to pay deposit n stop our search
...only after we paid for deposit, FIL (who knows FS) came to see FS, luckily he said all is fine..in terms for FS. So if u r concerned abt FS, prob can get ur FS master to go with u once u decide on the hse (before u pay deposit).

Actually, buying resale got certain risk..cos u dunno what will happen, how's neighbour, owner got owe $, etc.

Hello everyone!

This is my first post, so i am supposing this should be the right place to do it. I am another april 07 bride

I'm not very firm up on much plans yet, so far only got the date and BS. Will have to seek alot of advice from you guys! heee.

hi fudgecake, thanks for the note on resale flats and agents. So where is your love nest?

hi ting, i do have a copy of Plaza Parkroyal Hotel's solem packages but they are not the updated ones as from what i know they have increased the price after i signed up with them in April. Guess it's best to obtain it directly

yah i know... our parents are concerned about the risk. but i'm sure only a minority of those who sell flats are doing so te escape debtors so can't quite suspect every flat we go and view lah... even though we did check for 'fresh paint' outside, haha!

what size flat did you decide on? we went to see some old 4 and 5 rooms (about 15 yrs old) and quite like the 5 room flats cos they are spacious and dun have bomb shelter unlike the brand new ones offered by hdb these days. master bedrm also bigger than new ones....

not so concerned about FS, so doesn't matter. wow - you paid deposit without your FH seeing it first? hope he likes the flat in the end, since both of you are going to be the ones staying there!

chick77.. just met with the coordinator at orchard parade hotel.. wanted their ballroom but it's already booked by someone.. however their rest still available.. quite ok for the rest.. at least not as cheena as i expected it... so shall see how..

thanks for the list of questions, for those who had highlighted mi =) appreciate ur help.. hmm seem like after meeting them coordinator, i din manage to get any additional perks except those already stated.. did ask for helper's room, free flow of beer if taking the cheapest package, additional stay in the bridal room, all not possible as he mentioned the banquet itself is already veri cheap as compared to the rest of the hotels one.. or when i really confirm den he will entertain us with all that.. really wondering. He oso mention to me saying that the price gonna revise pretty soon.. cao.. adding stress only..

as for the ti qing.. hmm my hubby haven even ask.. anyway we oso dunno how to go abt doing it.. wait till we got our banquet settled den tink of that... lol

chere... dun mind to share the package with me as well... my fren oso juz propsed to his gf.. so he sourcing for all these info =p send to [email protected]

For those of you who have or are sourcing for AD photography and videographer, any good &amp; reliable recommendations?

Hi kyra,

I know a freelance photographer (from a good friend's wedding), if u r interested let me know??
I will email u his no. but how much is your budget??

Nick name: Nattie
AD Date: 1-Jul-07
AD venue: Orchard Parade Hotel
BS: Sophia Wedding Collection
PS Photographer: Sophia Wedding Collection
AD Photographer: Sophia Wedding Collection
AD Videographer: TBC
Make-up artist: Sophia Wedding Collection
love nest: Yishun

Nick name: pocalyndas
ROM date : 060606
ROM Venue : carlton hotel
AD Date: 010707
AD venue: Furama City Center
BS: Everbliss
PS Photographer: not taking!!
AD Photographer: Lim from everbliss
AD Videographer: maybe my colleagues
Make-up artist: christine from everbliss
love nest: Bishan

Nick name: wilest
AD Date: 01 Jul 07
AD venue: Furama Riverfront @ Venus Grand Ballroom
BS: JB Venus Bridal Selection
PS Photographer: Deric and Leno
AD Photographer: TBC
Make-up artist: TBC
love nest: CCK Crescent

Nick name: alya
AD Date: 07 Jul 07
AD venue: Four Seasons Crescent Ballroom
BS: Di Gio
PS Photographer: Ben from Di Gio
AD Photographer: Gary from StudioMobile
AD Videographer: Friend
Make-up artist: Di Gio
love nest: Yishun (searching)

Nick name: Niko
AD Date: 7-Jul-07
AD venue: Fullerton Hotel
BS: Ted Collection
PS Photographer: TBC
AD Photographer: Hilarion Goh
Make-up artist: Jesslin Ng
love nest: Toh Guan

Nick name: Padi
AD Date: 7-Jul-07
AD venue: Plaza Park Royal
BS: Style Bridal
PS Photographer: TBC
AD Photographer: TBC
AD Videographer: Probably a friend
Make-up artist: Eileen Chan
love nest: TBC

Nick name: violetcrystal
AD Date: 070707
AD venue: Sheraton towers
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings
PS Photographer: Photo Language
AD Photographer: Sam Wong
AD Videographer: Kevin Yap
Make-up artist: TBC
love nest: TBC

Nick name: Jazlyn
AD: 07.07.07
AD venue: KL
BS: Printemps in City Square, JB
AD photographer: Kevin Han
AD videographer: TBC
Make-up artiste: TBC
Lovenest: Pasir Ris

Nick name: mrs evelyn lim
ROM Date: 14 Oct 06
ROM Venue: Changi Village Hotel
ROM Photog: Edmund Leong
AD Date: 140707
AD venue: TBC - considering Raffles The plaza
BS: whitelink
PS Photographer: whitelink
AD Photographer: Edmund Leong
AD Videographer: probably dont have.
Make-up artist: Whitelink
love nest: lavender

Nick: miaka05
ROM: 16.11.05
AD: 28.07.07
AD venue: Church of Our Lady of Perpetual Succor (only simple reception after ceremony, no banquet)
BS: Z wedding
AD photographer: mayb a fren
makeup artiste: TBC
lovenest: clementi

ROM date : 070106
ROM Venue : my home hee..
AD Date: 010707
AD venue: Novotel
BS: Everbliss
PS Photographer: Leslie
AD Photographer: Andrew chua
AD Videographer: my hubby's friend who's oso in the business
Make-up artist: stephanie from everbliss
love nest: Sembawang

wow great!
so mine will come first, follow by jesdreamz &amp; hubbit.... so interesting!
Florence seems quite nice too. just hope that she won't leave. so hubbit, u found your BS?

hmm.. for me, my bf came to my hse while i was away on a biz trip to ask permission from my parents to ask for my hand. Then after proposing to me, he told his mom and dats when she suggested to seek auspicious date. Ti qing or dowry discussion will be done at food tasting loh, kill 2 birds with one stone mah...

for PPR package, nid to get from hotel cos i m not sure if they revised their pkg. Likewise wif chere, mine is oso obtained during apr.