(2007) Brides of year 2007

hubbit

hey Jesdreamz and hushy!
changed my date to 30/11 as realise that 25/11 not a good day for marriage...sigh..so sad that have to give up sun...they only had two suns left 3/11 and 25/11..seems like both dates not very good...

I found my bridal already..combined effort with another fren so we have the same wedding venue and BS...can argue for more things..my BS is Z wedding...their gowns not bad..package is quite affordable...went to Sihouette and Divine but too ex for my HTB's pocket... ahahha

beldry

hey hui..

hmm..ive got the flat last year around jan..went to apply and got it in march.. yah now i think the chinese quota's up le..

vivilim

hello Kyra,

I've a contact for AD photograhper too, I found him quite professional & good during my friend's wedding.. I think his charge is not that high as well..

Do let me know if U r insterested and I will email u his contact..

jesdreamz

hi hubbit... friday (30/11) also ok mah.. Better to get a good and auspicious date.. :)
Me also like Divine but too exp & quite hassle for me since they are ala carte.. I am those fickle-minded type, if too many things to decide, i go haywire... Prefer the one-stop type, no need to make so many decisions as to who to take PS, MUA etc... hehe..
I have shortlisted Whitelink, Di Gio so far.. Quite like their gowns.. Milan seems to have those nice dreamy gowns which i like too..

fudgecake

Hi chere,
My home is at Yishun. Near his parents and near my parents. Best of both worlds.

Baby starlet
Can I have your uncle's contact as well? Can PM me? Do I get discount if i mention your name ? *wink*

Hmmm.... it is still surprising that at this day and age... pple still need to ti qing.. Joanne. Your bf is very brave to ask your parents for your hand when u are away. I think my hubby will faint if I make him do that

Btw,... for the dowry discussion... anyone know what are the list of things being discussed?

Anise
Are u looking at more places or have u decided on orchard parade? I just been to Peony Jade for a wedding dinner tonight and thought the place was really cosy and the food nice

jaspire

fudgecake,
I din know he went to ask my parents while i was away. He oso asked them not to tell me so as to surprise me when he proposed to me cos i just thot it was our anniversary celebration. So he caught me unaware... hee hee.

Ti qing ah, i nid help on the list oso... but i think its different for different dialect grps rite?

babystarlet

hi chick 77 and fudgecake,i had PM u my uncle's contacts,u must mention my chinese name bec he doesnt noe my english name,heee..btw i'm his niece.
no obligations,jus get a quote lol...at least he know i reco u all,shld give u all a better rate.

hi joanne,i think ur hubby is great,he actually got e guts,think my hubby also dun bother and he's scared also ba..
after tht how u noe he actually went to ask ur parents for ur hand?he told u or ur parents break e news 2 u.think urs already ti qing liao right,now shld be e dowry discussions

pro dowry discussion is e "ping jing",the num of tables e gal get,suckling pig etc ba...

chere

hi anise, have forward u the solem packages. You may email the hotel for the updated ones (the prices have been increased after their reno, maybe highlight to yout friend this is for reference only.). they respond pretty fast via email.

wow joanne, your bf is really sweet to do that..

happyface

err, ping jing, customs.. my bf & i know nuts about it. Then my parents and his also not very sure about the customs.. i think nowadays the procedure is simplify? Imagine, next time our children... we also dunno what customs, procedure too..haha

hey gals, hv u all plan where to go for ur honeymoon?

jaspire

Hi Chere and Babystarlet,
Bf told my parents not to tell me abt his proposal. My mom oni tell me after he proposed to me.. cos my parents were sworn to secrecy.. hee hee... (jus kidding!) yeah, i think for us, next step is the dowry discussion. But oso not sure how lah. Think best to keep it simple loh.

Honeymoon?! ooh... we hope to go Europe esp b4 kiddos come along cos the place is far and i wont wanna bring baby on a long flight... hee hee. Oso romantic for twosome leh... Dats y need to save hard for the "romance in Europe"... haha...

paulinechong

hi .. i m new to this thread. FH and i are looking at 070707 for our customary and ROM dates, as my birthday falls on 7th july :p

izit too late for me to start preparations now? i dun intend to have wedding banquet as i have a busy working schedule and do not have much time for such preparations.

am considering different venues for outdoor solemnisation. such as OCC, amara hotel, traders hotel. havnet decide to go for garden or function room. my future nest will be at yishun.

any advise for me? should i start looking for venues first and BS, PS etc later?

paulinechong

hi .. i m new to this thread. FH and i are looking at 070707 for our customary and ROM dates, as my birthday falls on 7th july :p

izit too late for me to start preparations now? i dun intend to have wedding banquet as i have a busy working schedule and do not have much time for such preparations.

am considering different venues for outdoor solemnisation. such as OCC, amara hotel, traders hotel. havnet decide to go for garden or function room. my future nest will be at yishun.

any advise for me? should i start looking for venues first and BS, PS etc later?

ringadingling

I've confirmed my AD on 18/05/07, still waiting for the transfer contract to be ready from FRF.

So should i be looking for BS next? I intend to go for JB BS too as I'm staying in WL hee..and we go in like once a week.

So far, haben visit any JB BS but thru tis forum, kinda shortlisted Venus/SG Bridal. I'm not taking any studio photography dunno whether got such offers ard in JB BS..?

qiqi09

this week was really busy with work. no time to login.

yuki, have u tried on both gowns? i think which one u r more comfortable in is most important as u need to wear it for the wedding. think u need to feel pretty to look pretty.! Just my advise..
so did u enjoy ur PS (though long n tiring?

when will the photos be out?

Wow Mei, lost weight so envy.. i think i gain weight so sad
well, the dress is a good thank u gift. me not enough budget so i dun think i will buy dress for my jiemei.

Tomolo is my tiqing day... wish me best of luck!

padi

Hi Pauline!
If you don't intend to have banquet then it's still ok. But you need to secure your outdoor solemnisation location. So do check out OCC (VERY BEAUTIFUL!), amara hotel, traders hotel, carlton hotel etc asap! BS is a lot easier to find, there're more of them. So look for your solemnisation location first, then BS. PS can be secured after u find your BS.

All the best!

fudgecake

hmmm... honeymoon.. I also hope to go to Europe also before all the kids start coming in. Now already feeling the stress of having kids as most of my galfrens around my age group are popping like crazy (ie having babies) and some are already onto the 2nd/3rd child soon.

HI Joanne, which part of Europe are u planning to go to? Tour package or free and easy? Currently saving for both the wedding and honeymoon. Wedding really costs $$$... here a bit there a bit... and best part...

fudgecake

hmmm.... are Desmond Ho and Christopher Tay partners ? hmmm... they seems to be the DYNAMIC DUO at most weddings.

Still scratching my head over the necessity of a VG.

Babystarlet. thanks for your PM. will call him about his rates. your uncle must be shocked to receive so many phonecalls from your frens.

apple79

Do they both really pair up a lot?? I din know that when i engage their services indivually.

Actually i think its up to individual whether a VG is needed. For me, I feel that a VG can capture some scenes which photos cannnot capture and vice versa.
I hire a VG also because they can provide the video express thing for me to show during the banquet.

If u do not need the additional service such as editing of the video and photo montage, I think you can always ask one of your frens to be VG? As least capture some laughters or happenings during the big day.

yuki31

Hi piglet,

yap i tried both gown ...the ballroom gown look for grand n princess feeling .... A line is simple n nice n make me look taller n slimmer ...haha my FH prefer the grand kind...so still undecided ...

yap had a lot fun during fun ... PG kept ask us look into each other eye , look up n down then a lot poses ...haha but the next day was dead tired... photo can be viewed 1 week after our PS ..waiting for PG call ...most likely viewing next weekend

All the best for ur tiqing ...i believe everything will be fine :p

violac

hi, i'm a sept 07 bride as well!! here are my details so far...

[WD] 22-Sep-07; [V] The Sentosa Resort & Spa; [BS] ??; [AD-PG] ??; [AD-VG] ??; [A] 25; [NH] Punggol

anise

fudgecake... i still looking out for venus.. to open to more choices.. i guess RTC for me is out.. cant manage to get the min tables... so the food at pheony jade is nice huh.. maybe can check it out.. BTW i agree with apple79.. guess if u dun need additional service.. den asking ur fren to help out in VG will be fine and nice enuff... like dat u can spend the money on ur HM instead.. go to more places =)

chere.. thanks for the mail

fudgecake

Hi apple and anise,
Thanks for the advice. Will continue to dream about it.

Hi Anise,
How many tables are you looking at? Any preference for hotel or restaurant? Location a factor?

jaspire

hi fudgecake,
yeah, having to save for wedding... honeymoon then hse is a big headache leh. My bf says its best to go europe during sept/oct period as its autumn. Go during july is too hot. We hope to go venice, switzerland, paris? Think shld be able to go free n easy loh cos my bf studied in UK before. Hee, actually haven really planned yet cos still got time mah... wat abt yrself? Decide when to go?

Most of our frens are having their 2nd/3rd kids oso... super stressful. I oso hope to hv kids but i guess its best to leave it all to God. Haha... patience patience...

fudgecake

hihi joanne,

Hmmm.. we would like to go straight after the wedding. then feel more like honeymoon mah. July is a hot month... hmmm... did not know that. Must reconsider the timing again. Now sure about which part of Europe to go though. A fren of mine just came back from Italy and was raving about the scenic sights.... If have $$$ and time... I will definitely take a month or two to tour Europe.

I guess patience is the virtue. Nowadays... when i go out with my gfs... feel abit out of place as they will be talking about pregnancy, gynae, milk powder, breast feeding..... hahha.... I can only sit and absorb all the new things learnt. Guess these pieces of information would only be useful when it is my turn

anise

hi fudgecake...
Having 20 tables the most.. as in preference for the banquet.. hmm i wan food that are nice which i find it's imp.. as in rest or hotel.. in fact no much preference.. as long as the ambience is cosy n nice, it's fine for me.. For location, not to way out... jurong is a NO NO

SO ur fren all tokin abt those babies related topics.. hmm guess that will come in handy in near future.. of coz u can abosrb n learn rite now =)

qiqi09

I am back from tiqing dinner... Well i can say it turm out just fine... it was a bit embarrassing at the beginning when everyone sit down.. but after some ice breaking frm his aunt, i can say things go fairly well..

yuki, glad u enjoyed urself during PS... will think u can ask to wear it again n maybe get ur hubby to take pic of u in both gown n see which look u prefer...

pipilili

hi twinkle (chendol)
thanks for your concern. my 1st appt is sept and my 2nd appt is in oct, i think. i think its god's will if we cant get the grant + deferment blah!!! what to do....govt want us to get married but dun help us. very difficult!! now i feel that getting married can be SUPER PEK CHEK too...

fudgecake

Hi Anise

Hmmm.. 20 tables at most.... then should check out the following places

1) Peony Jade at Clarke Quay. Good food and service. Lots of good reviews from BTB in the forum. Near MRT and easily accessible. Thumbs up.

2) Sichuan Douhua restaurant at Grand Plaza Parkroyal at Coleman Street (City Hall). The food is prepared by the chef from the original Sichuan DouHua at Beach Road. Went for business lunch recently and the food is exqusitie! Also, the restaurant is newly renovated. quite nice. Also near city hall MRT... easily accessible.

3) China Club. Good cosy ambience but food so so

4) The P1nes. Near Stevens Road. Not sure on the food quality though.

5) Gim Tim restaurant at the Grassroot Club (AMK). Great value for $$$ and the food is superb as well. However, not much decor and ambience. However, can spend on abit more $$$ to get the florist to add more flowers

beldry

Hey hui..

hehe yah..we wanted to have our home housewarming and rom at the same time.. so we got the JP over and catered buffet.. was fun..hee..

chick77

Hi Babystarlet, thanks for your uncle's contacts, will call him.

Hi Fudgecake n Jaspire, me in same boat as u leh, practically all my frens have 1 kid at least n planning for 2nd one already..stress...we got a lot of catching up to do..

Hi Anise, maybe u wanna try legends at fort canning? It has minimum 20tables requirement for Sun-Thursday. You can look for Jenny, lemme noe if u wan her contact

Seems like Europe is a very popular destination, me oso wanna go Europe for honeymoon, but with all the wedding expenses, etc..must budget lah..probably wait for the NATAS or other travel fairs then book..??

yuki31

Hi piglet

Glad to hear that everything went smoothly for u :p
Did u all discuss on AD or GDL things?

BS dun allow us to take pic
i will try to ask them again when we select the photo

yuki31

Can I check for ROM at ROM itself, is it true that there are only 14 vancanies per day? Do I have it efile at 12mn to be safer?

Any suggestion what kind of gown n color for ROM?

yvonneoh

Wonder if anyone know the "laws" for the bridal party?

Is it true that number of sisters and brothers has to be same?

Is it true that married friends cannot be the sisters/brothers?

Does the bride/groom need to give them angbao? If yes, how much is then appropriate?

Please drop me an email [email protected] for the feedback. Thanks

happyface

i heard tht there will be natas fair, twice every yr, one in sep another in mar.. maybe can hv more freebies or discounts at the fair.

i oso wanted to go europe lei but after the wedding, think will be broke..so maybe go to more affordable cty first... like fudgecake, we prefer to go str after wedding then hv the honeymoon feelings...i'm considering places like japan, australia or new zealand...

jhoo

Hi Yuki, great that you enjoy the PS
..no i din take all. I have a total of 51 photos for my one and only album. and i took 6 hardcopy back which is FOC and different poses from my album. i have no intention to take all coz a while later the album will be in cupboard and also i prefer spending more money on building my home
as for gown for ROM, get something that make u look pretty and slim, haha, forget abt color then

Wow, mei, u slim. i think im getting abit heavier, argh...

piglet, that's good
. most likely i wont have tiqing, but let them discuss what they want on the day we go for food tasting. both families met a few times liao, haha, and also my MIL even visit my nephew when he hospitalised, keke

Yvonne, did hear before, but not following that. im having 6 sisters and 4 brothers, as long as its even no. as for married friend, yes, heard that before too but some of my sis/bros are married. as for angbao, i think no need. but both side parents have to give. for mi and my hubby, we will be giving them a good treat prior to wedding, and also let them meet up first before our wed, hope it helps

fudgecake

Chick77... we have lots of catching up to do man. Anyway, my hubby and I are ready except that we have yet to gone thru the customary marriage. Our ROM was 2 years ago. We are still like 2 big babies staying together

Happyface... New Zealand would be my 2nd choice. definitely would want to go straight away after the wedding to enjoy the honey moony feeling

jaspire

wah... really 3 of us must "jia you"! Me n bf oso ready but must be patient and wait for our customary marriage loh... also maybe wait till honeymoon. Already decided on europe and bf prefers autumn cos he say its better and cooler... straight after wedding? hmm... unless we change location but i dun wanna go NZ... went there b4, its really really scenic but journey from places to places is bad cos takes such a long time as the places are quite far away. One tip is really must self-drive... so u can stop at yr own whim and fancy. When i went NZ 2yrs ago my family and i took pkg tour, so not so nice loh...

loveangel

i'm hoping to get 16th Sept...not sure whether it'll be an auspicious date for us cos we have not consulted the FS yet. We have made tentative bookings for this date at HIPV & Pines. I didn't know that it's taboo to consult the FS master during the lunar 7th month. Oops.

FH & i went ring shopping today!!! I finally have my solitaire...now just waiting for his official proposal haha.

Btw, can update mine? Age 24, NH (AMK).