(2007) Brides of year 2007

moonylove

pk : eh.. ytd i juz quarrel wif my FH over nth.. silly rite?? i oso dunno wats wrong.. haiz.. ;(

jaspire : haha.. i din noe i cant rec PM til u tel mi leh.. haha.. i go n deactivate it liao.. ok i will PM u my hp number..
hope ur eyes r doin gd.. so gd hor.. can rest at hm.. mm.. feel like taking leave on Mon.. haha.. hate to wk on mon..

strawberries : heng gt u gals here.. to advise mi.. if nt tink i will go crazy.. haha..
i v lazy to exercise one lor.. ask mi to jog i sure faint.. but i like swimming.. dut hor recently keep raining spoil my plan.. ;(

fudgecake : long time nv c u liao leh.. u r v buzi ar?? i was tinkin to go join some CC classes for kick boxing or wat-so-ever but hor do alone v sianz.. haha.. 'xin you yu er li bu zhu'..

pk : wah.. u having so many tables ar?? -_-" i sure faint lor.. i only 28 den spare 2 tables already near to faint liao.. urs is dbl mine leh.. pengz.. mi n my FH's saving oso nt alot.. in fact i only started wkin 2 yrs only.. hw to save alot.. sometimes i feel dat im nt earning enuf.. but lookin at my peers.. im earning more den dem leh.. still dun understand wher my $ goes to..

fudgecake

haha. same situation. Me and hubby are the eldest and most of my parents and parents in laws'frens and relatives are already grandparents. In fact, my MIL been saying if we got married last year, we could have had a baby in the year of the golden pig which is a good year to have kids.... haiz... so many chinese customs to be mindful of... the date, the time and even the year to give birth ??

missypiggy

hi priscillia,

i've aready booked 23rd nov with meritus mandarin. so now i'm safe.

Ya. most are done by we gals. becos we are the one who are more particular in every ting.. nice & gd price. whereas the guy are jus there to pay. lol. actually before the preparations start, we have compromised within ourselve to avoid conflict in such that wedding will be incharge by me & he'll be incharge of the flat & renovation. however looks like, all coordination is done by me.. feel super stress & 'overloaded'
once failed mission & i kanna cold shoulder from him. hmp..
*sorry am jus venting out my 'anger'*

danadele

alamak moon, how come ur tinking so funny..?? y muz it be definitely a son ahz?? unless ur parents or in-laws are stressing u on having a baby boy ahz.. but all this cant sae one ahz.. under the medical point of view hmm .. ehz.. too chim to xplain to ur hahah..

me also the eldest in the family but my hubby is the youngest..actually my situation is different from ur .. my mum wanna me continue to study fer a degree while working whereas my hubby side was asking him when to settle down.. haiz..fer me can onli do one thing at a time.. cuz budget constrain

sourz27

jesdreamz: Tks! I'll check out the other threads too.. ya went to see the bridal suite room.. very big n nice.. super big TVs.. hahaha.. ya n the best is still the jacuzzi... hehehe.. but a little worried on the dinner part such as food, service etc..

priscilla: ya think so.. looks new.. but rather odd shape, like semi-circle shape though.. with pillars in the centre of the ballroom.. tat's also one of the main problem for us..

have seen all 3 venues but main issue is still somewat the price factor..

moonylove

strawberries : haha.. dunno lah.. cos my FH is the only son mah.. mayb i watch too much drama liao.. haha.. scare later no son my MIL ask my FH to take another wife.. haha..

danadele

haiz.. moon guess u really tink too much hahahaa ehz dun watch too much drama ahz.. oops i also like to watch hahaha

*yawnzz* ladies i chat wif ur later gotta sleep if not tonite cannot tahan.. good nitez

tryphena

jhoo, better drink lots of water and take care of urself...

guess all of us cnt sleep well and still worried that thins nt done properly...

skinnybeany

janice>> I'm not sure if there's direct flight to Hua Hin cuz we flew to BKK then take private transport to Hua Hin.

eve>> elch is rite...did u go too early? :p

aGnes>> I bought two sets of vanity set, some paintings, plates & bowls.

pkum

i wld prefer a girl.. princess hehe.. but hb wants son.. he wants to have a bro to protect his sis. hehe we oso think too much.

my saving all go to the wedding..

blurZsotong: so u haf booked meritus mandarin? i almost signed with them too.. but as i am only inviting my mum's side and our paretns with frens, i haf barely 20 tables... (my FH is a PR so only his parents coming over) and the small ballroom at mandarin isnt tt 'li xiang'....

understand ur frustration.. cos sometimes when u need their 2cents worth, they will say leave to u.. but when something goes wrong, u sure get it rite? lucky for me, so far no issues yet.. and samw like u, we haf agreed that the wedding thing is my scope and our hse will be his.. anyway we are both lookin at a simple design and we both are rather similar so i think should be fine.. dun wori, jus grumble all u wan!! i can lend u my ears.. i believe all the BTB will lend their ears to u too!!! jia you!!

sourz: ya, tts why u haf to think twice.. most impt is tt the venue must be cosy and easy for u to move arnd on tt nite too.. think twice.. btw, i booked with Hilton...

oh ya, is there any WhiteLink BTB here? i am thinking wat shld be a comfortable time range i shld haf if i wan to MTM my gown and take my photoshoot in May? pls help!!!

kayemoss

Yup, cant sleep well coz worried that things re not done... I guess we all got to relax.. Coz i think alot of things cant be finished also... Heheh

So tiring, just went to my new home and now back in office... Really wan to go and sleep now... ZzzZzzz........

missypiggy

sourz27,

u have to know wat's ur budget, from there den choose venue, so that u dont have to waste time to make a trip
i heard holiday inn parkview not bad.

cutebear13

elch/junie>> we went ard 7 plus..have our dinner there. so by the we finish our dinner is nearly to 9pm like that..i remember we were happliy shopping then realise quite a lot of shops are already close by 11pm like that..this was 3 years ago la.. so maybe they extend their shopping hrs ??hee hee

elchwong

junie...issit hard to bring all those hsehold items back? Need to pay xtra taxes? Maybe I can consider flying over to BKK nearer when my flat's rdy...

I din go to the fair...jus reading the forum oredi confuse my decision making (e.g to have VG or nt n etc)...going to the fair will only make it worse esp when I've oredi signed up for a BS n pending to sign contract wif M Hotel...=p

skinnybeany

eve>> huh? heheee....i think even though they said close @ 12mn...think by 11pm+, some shops wld start to close liao.

drea>> not the dressing table type...but for the toilet type (i.e. soap dispenser, etc)

elch>> the items I bought are not very big so can carry back & within the baggage allowance cuz we have extra 20kg allowance.

but if you're considering to buy big items, may hv to ship bk. I saw in Chatuchak & suan lum, they hv a shop on courier services.

missypiggy

hey priscillia,

Meritus mandarin do have smaller function room of minimum 15 tables. Anyway, Hilton is a good choice too.. initially i have shortlisted hilton as one of my choices too.. my fren worked there as well. however, i do not like their ballroom.. a few big pillars which will block the view & the short L march in which i dont like. though meritus mandarin do have pillars but the ballroom is big enough & will not block view.

elchwong

junie...icic...hope can go BKK soon...but I doubt so cos got so many things to do tis yr...

eve...paiseh I've only heard of shang but nv really noe where it is...=p

clueless_mei

moon! haiyo, think u watch too much drama... hahahah actually i think u are not the only to have -ve thots... ever since i started the preparation for the wedding and hse, there are more conflict between me and FH...
There are times i just feel very upset and would pick up a fight with him cos i dun think he is as enthusiastic as me and such… or I think he he spends too much time gaming and etc… plus I think it becos once we decided to get married, I kind of see him differently.. no longer a bf but someone I have to spend the rest of my life with, so more expectations..
He always say I worry too much and think abt unnecessary things.. so I also try to think less and worry less… just tell urself, everything will be all right and try not to let other pple comments and stuff bother u too much…

clueless_mei

jaspire, glad that u are feeling ok! forgot to thank u for the contact... know wat? ur eye surgeon is in the newspaper - mind your body today! saw his name on the newspaper and thot, that's jaspire doc.. hahaha
have a good rest! dun stress ur eye too much!

clueless_mei

pk, i haven't thot abt babies yet leh, think i only think that i will try to not have bb so soon... want to enjoy "er ren shi jie" first...
hee hee in fact was thinking of buying a puppy after AD leh, cos i really think that the hse is very quiet with just the 2 of us.. exp my FH is so into gaming..
aiyah, how everyday no mood to work.. hahaha

blurZsotong,

i haf seem both of meritus's smaller ballroom.. actually haf seen hyatt's too.. but only Hilton makes me keen.. cos the meritus one, we haf to do the cocktail recep inside the ballroom and i dun like the short march-in, plus the 2 big pillars by the side.. and for hyatt, their small ballroom is really SMALL!!.. the one at Hilton happens to be able to haf a poolside reception before the dinner.. and its a long straight march-in.. nt the other short L shape march-in... hee

so which BS haf u signed up with?

summerice

oh ya i also collect my invites....but not my cards so at least 1 thing done.

I only sms those very long friends that i am inviting first...and ask them how many coming only. i guess the rest i will tell them maybe next wk or feb.

chendol

wah you march brides are really ahead of the curve!! so well prepared.

I think I will ask my office colleagues next week, and then other friends in week of first feb... ask too early they might not be able to commit... send cards out too early people might forget too i guess. but for us, one month before is CNY so hopefully our card doesn't get lost amidst all the CNY goodies and cards!

anyone getting cakes for relatives to send out together with the cards? Any idea whether your FH's parents or FH pays for it?

stacy

Twinkle - my parents asked for 20boxes of cakes. As I'm not having GDL, relatives will collect the cake after tea cermony on AD. As for who pays for it hor...actually me n HB paid for almost everything. We r not expecting her ma to pay

max0924

hi, juz wanna share some of my comments.
i do not like meritus personally as the function rooms and ballrooms have pillars, my 1st priority is pillarless free.
holiday inn package is really attractive, though the ballroom has pillars, but it is in such a way that it does not block the ailse, quite nice actually. but the last i heard, the dates are all taken.
for M hotel, i have frenz frenz who made quite a big loss, due to the fact that people actually do not know that M hotel banquet dinner is pretty expensive and bec it is a pretty new hotel, alot of people give small hong baos. i m not sure abt the ballroom but i heard the suite is beautiful.
i have not been to parkroyal at beach road, but i find that it is pretty inconvenient, so i chose the one at coleman street. ballroom no pillars, suite got outdoor jacuzzi, near to cityhall mrt station, food from szechuan do hua and within my budget.

sourz27, choosing the venue is very subjective, it may be ideal for me, but may not for u, u must set your priorities right and start the search NOW! heehee...must be KS, like us
happy searching and keep us updated.

huiz

That's precisely the reason why I am so kancheong to send out the cards to avoid thw CNY period. I have this fear that the whole place goes into a bit of limbo during this time and its hard for me to even go out to buy things that I need or contact some of my friends. What I will also do is to contact them 2 weeks b4 the event to confirm their attendance. So I m kinda an irritating host who keeps bugging the guests! hahaha!

I will only be getting less than 10 boxes to give to the closer elders. To me, it doesnt matter if hubby or his parents or even both of us pay for it. The important thing to me is that we present something good in respect of the elders. For my case, his parents left everything for him to settle coz they are now so far away.

ya sourz, i agree with momo.. u haf to start early.. if nt all those tt u fancy might be taken up.. plus its always go to be the one who choose first than be the one choosing frm the leftovers.. somehw i think, psychology, we will tend to feel tt we haf very limited choices.. thus, good to start early..

clueless_mei

cpigl, i'm not sure abt Toshiba LCD TV, but i recently bought the Samsung LCD TV and so far has been good... =) initially also dunno wat brand to buy buy after recommendation by the sales person, we shifted from buying a Phillip LCD TV to Samsung as the performance is better..

As for the fridge and others.. if u looking for design i will recommend the fisher and paykel.. very very nice..