(2007) Brides of year 2007

stacy

Compassrose - in the UOB quarterly newsletter, it comes with a small card for cali entry twice a mth...got to use that card upon entry.

ringadingling

hi nee,

I went on saturday...ya should be me bah u tried on the peach halter gown izit? i was there for 2.5hrs before deciding...really feel that Jawn's trio service and friendliness thumbs up!

Hai...now think back hor...abit regret nv buy...haa! anyway if itz really the gown u tried, did u buy? dunno whether the gown still thr or not...

Ya, can u pls PM the link? thksss

yuki31

Mei,

dun be upset ...cheer up .....
i agree with u if both of us n PG will feel more at ease ...too much ppl then a bit stress up

janrick

The problem is i dun even noe wads e market rate. Roughly how much is e average cost for photography? how much is the average cost for bridal salons?

yiplim

sze ming and sunflower, ur both AD is just 1 day after the other.

sunflower, so have u sign ur banquet? I still have not find my BS yet, end of the year then i go find......

huiz

Hi babes,

I'm back from meeting my photographer and I'm so happy! I have shared with him the outdoor shots locations I have in mind and he thinks not many have been there. I will also start earlier at 9am so that there could be more time for resting

jhoo

mei, yup, dont be upset..

now my home is like a zoo..had a dog, and also my neighbour throw her tortoises and goldfishes to us..i told my mum to insist to return back to her or else she will have endless of things to do..

jhoo

same here! i wont want to have others to follow. coz u will have alot of places to go and not station at a place. u have to move ard for different shots and the person who follow will be bored. and also the comfort will not be there and more things to care of

Yeah, i'll be going 2D1N angsana resort next weekend. really look forward to it as it has been a long time since i have a relax trip

compassrose

Hi Huiz,

Will you be having indoor shoots as well? I decide to exchange it for more outdoor shoots.

How's your photographer? easy going and flexi?

huiz

Hi Compassrose,

Yes, I will be having both (me greedy la.... hahaha!)

Andrew's really nice. Very friendly, chatty, honest and certainly not the atas kind. Right Stacy?? heehee....

jhoo

girls, will it be too early to book hotel online now for honeymoon? scare i book and by jan somehow no record etc

gregina

Hmm...janrick

For AD photography, you have a range of $500 to 2k++, depends on whether u wan to have prints, coffeetable etc etc. Market rate for a good one, I would say ranges ard 1.2k to 2k ;) That's like 300 4R prints with album but without collage/coffeetable etc.

For BS, they range between 2.5k to 6k++?? Again, depends on what they offering you ;) For OTR gowns, a normal one-stop BS will be ard 2.5k to 3k. For MTM gowns, it will start from 3.5k (at least). Of coz, if you are going for designer boutiques, it may start around 4k-odd.

IMHO, the cost should be secondary lar. As in, go hunting/shopping around. See the gowns of the BS, the PS photography skills, what kind of package, whether they cater to your needs/style, whether are you comfortable with the person who is serving you. Pls bear in mind, if you go for wedding shows/exhibition, normally the sales person whom you speak to would NOT be the person who will be serving you in the shop.

Then after shortlisting based on the factors I mentioned, then you start to narrow down according to your budget

danadele

o no .. m really having a headache.. haha m looking at the tucky and LTBL photography.. dun noe which one is better.. so headache.. my FH n me share different opinions over these 2.. haiz..

we are thinking whether does the photographers do highlights fer the actual dae as we got the every intention not engaging a VG.. well.. highlights as in before the 2nd march in.. so headache..

btw how's ur preparation.. guess have not log in fer 2 - 3 daes liaoz.. hehe juz seen chere's update on the table.. wow!! so many brides on 30th june.. followed by 9th june then 2nd june interesting..

moon: would like to noe y u decided to tk out VG?? for me i love pics more than video.. so i dun mind spending more on PG.. if can..gotta discuss wif FH..

meie

yuki
Thanks.. I feel better already.

jhoo
I love animals.. I still have a cat & 2 rabbits at home now. When I move away after marriage, I'll miss them so much.

You can book the hotel first online.. no need to worry about no record as they'll give you an email confirmation, so that is your secured booking already. So long as you book through a reputable website, it shouldn't be a problem. I have booked hotels online many times, so far no problems. Anyway, in any case, you need to cancel, most hotels don't impose a cancellation charge so long as you cancel 72 hours beforehand.

cactus_79

Hi Kenshare, I'll be leaving the hotel to do the floral decorations. The hotel floral decorations are rather lacking, but we've decided not to spend money on additional flowers... We're hoping to cut down our costs as much as possible.

jhoo

i see..2 months ago when i checked the rate online, the hotel is $80 per night only. yesterday when i checked, it shoot up to $96 and some even $106..price shoot up very fast so tot of booking it first and also can stay at my ideal hotel

huiz

Hi schnauzie,

I guess wedding photography is something very flexible. Depends very much on the preferences of the couple. It's kinda the same to the PG coz he has to commit one full day to the couple already. Indoor or outdoor makes no diff I suppose

corsage

hi girls, are your grooms wearing light or dark coloured suits? I picked a cream one for day and a dark one for night, now I dunno if I made the right decision
Dunno if it is better to just stick with dark coloured suits?? I'm at this stage where I'm worrying if I made the right choices in outfits!! Both his and mine =p

huiz

Hi corsage,

I guess your choice is fine. I have seen grooms wearing white during the day too

Btw, are the suits for your man to keep? The only downside of choosing a cream suit is that it can't really e reused in the future lor.

How ahout your outfits? Y u not sure if u have made the right choice or not? Did u choose MTM or OTR?

jhoo

hi mei, u know where i can get nice ang bao packet? i went chinatown few months back but recently when i go with my mum, the market has closed down liao

stacy

Compassrose - cannot lah...else how do they know you've been there for how many times this month. The card is for them to sign...so they can keep track.

huiz- Agree that Andrew is a easy going n flexi guy. Should be fun to work with. Think he's better in outdoor shoot. I'll be taking both outdoor n indoor..but prefer more outdoor shoots. Aiyah...tok abt him hor..he's suppose to call me back to give me some dates for Jan shots...muz call n check with him later.

Corsage - I've seen grooms in light colour suits for day n night...guess it depends on how the guys feel..eg: comfy with wearing white..etc. My guy will likely to go for dark coloured suits as he is very fair, quite fat..so light coloured would not suit him well. Anyway, he prefers dark coloured too! What colour will you be having for your outfit?

schnauzie

keke ok..think i shld be opting more of indoor coz i hate goin out to the hot humid weather..somemore me very shy *blush*

kekekekeke

meie

jhoo

Yup.. the rate goes up as the date draws nearer.. for me.. I think there's no harm booking early.. anyway, we don't pay first, so it's fine if we need to make changes later on.

The market has moved to a temporary location, beside the outram mrt.. I'm not sure if those wedding shops have moved there too. Anyway, I took a name card from a shop last time.. maybe you can try giving them a call & see where they are located now?

Hui Xing Toys & Department Store Tel : 62248848
Tiao Xiang Department Store Tel : 62222572

I've bought those wedding angbaos before from Popular Bookstore.. maybe you can check it out too.

compassrose

Hi Huiz/Schnauzie/Stacy/Corsage,

For PS, I am having solely outdoor shoots. Maybe becos i am more of a outdoor person. hee.. Having both will be nice too.. It's easier to change for indoor shoots.

Corsage,

Yup. Light-coloured suit is nice too. Plus it's not a colour that guys will normally wear and he will stand out among the rest of brothers.. My FH want to wear a bow tie instead of carvet or tie.. Haha.. I told him that what if he is mistaken as one of the banquet crew.. hee..

Stacy, How? I go surf UOB wedsite later and see if I can find the card.. I must have threw the newsletter away.

jhoo

i see, thanks so much for the help. that time when i went chinatown to buy the angbao, those are very cute and nice. so thinking of searching more special angbao

jhoo

John little mega sales is coming again at expo on 5/9-10/9.. check it out if u can get cheap bedding, bedsheet etc etc

stacy

Compassrose - Yes, its definately easier to change for indoor shoots. Outdoor shots might be difficult...got to find a clean n big toilet to change..so it will not dirty the gown..else, can change in the car.

Abt the card, no worries lah...I also lost mine :p. Muz go n dig..cos nowadays, I used gym in the opic. Else, can meet up at sports hall..if staying nearby. M staying East!

huiz

Hi Compassrose,

Talking about bow ties, my hubby told me last night he wants one too! Alamak, I told him that this is so typical of his profession. So many doctors like to wear that. Either people will rightfully recognise him as a doc, or will think he's a waiter too. ahahaha! But then again, I have promised him that I'll get him one. Kinda unique too

Hi Stacy,

Mine will be on 4 Jan. Betta call him early in case he gets fully booked. Seems like his business is getting better and better. There were 2 couples choosing their pics when I was there last night.

moonylove

strawberries : same reason as u lor... haha... i love taking pix more den video... can u image we went to HK for 5Days n we took a together of 800+ pix... dats crazy rite?? but i like to shoot every moments down... dats y... ;)
furthermore my PG, he is quite a nice guy n we like his wk and we are askin him to do our morning highlights for us to play during the dinner time. For VG... we really dunno wat to look for n dun haf anyone in mind... den we tink we wont take out n play everytime so juz leave out the VG lor... haha...

stacy

Huiz- just called Andrew...he said he might be going away for holiday in Jan..so haven't give me his available dates in Jan...he've got few dates available in Dec thou'. But I've got to check with my BS if gown would be ready by then.

All - Chat again tomorrow! I'm going for Comex this afternoon and would be coming in office tomorrow.

compassrose

Hi Huiz,

Ya ya.. Most doctors will choose to wear a tie.. Wonder why? My brother in law too, he wore a bow tie for his wedding.. haha.. You can opt to tailor make one. Jit recomended a plain black want. Don't go for the satin material type, think it will look more like a waiter.

Yeah Stacy! But i stay kinda not near nor far from you. Normally, I go to cali with the trial pass. There is about 4 branches in Singapore, if you apply for all, you will get bout few months of free gym usage. Get a friend who is a member to get you the trial pass.

huiz

Hi Stacy,

Oh then I suppose his holiday will be after 4 Jan lo. But try to get the PS done by end Jan (hopefully he doesn't go for a too long hol) so that there's enough time to get the albums done up nicely

Me also thinking of going to Comex during the weekend. Meanwhile, enjoy yourself!

nee

ya ringadingling rite haha... i tried on the peach halter neck when Susan told me that u considered for quite a while.

Dun worry, i believe the one u bought is just as nice

I din buy any WG from Jawn cos its more economical for me to get a package.

What about urself, u r doing ala carte? Link sent. She is my colleague's fren and i hv not try out any service from her, nt sure if there is any posting regards her.. u check it out k?

stacy

Compassrose - I've been there with the free pass...but the sales staff there are very pushy..kept asking u to sign up their package! Sign!! That's what pissed me off...normally, I sign it and siam from the sales..whahaaa

Huiz - his holiday not confirm yet. He'll call me tomorrow to give me his available dates. Comex will be crowded over weekends...but my ah lau prefers to go on last day..he always said can get better deals as they don't want to bring soooo many things back. Will be looking out for laptop and ISP.

corsage

haha, my fiance also mentioned wanting to wear a bow tie. He's in the financial industry though! haha
Anyway I asked that he wears a cravat instead =p I don't much like bow-ties unless it is for a full tux.

Compassrose, I'm also thinking of just having outdoor shoots coz I like the natural look. So I haven't quite decided! Dunno if I will regret =p

huiz

I love cravats. It's so classy, and at least its something different from the usual tie. The poor guys really have so few suits to change into, so I suppose it's good to let them play around with the bows, ties and cravats to create something new.

Stacy, can u help me look see look see if there's any good digi cam offers around? Thanks in advance!

huiz

Hi Compassrose,

Oops I missed your message at 11.52am. Thanks for reminding me not to get the satin type. Ya, I do agree that it makes one look more like a waiter. Furthermore, if they are not careful, the cloth might get "hooked" thus leaving an ugly "scar"

Does Jit mean that a plain black one goes well with shirts of all colours? I am in a fix deciding what colour to buy coz we have not decided on his shirts yet. By the time we decide, I am afraid that it's too late to get a good one. U know la, shopping is like this, when u go around specifically looking for something, u can't find it. But when u slowly look around for it and look see look see here and there, the chances of getting a good one are higher

danadele

yup moon i agree wif u too.. when we go fer a trip we will have plenty of pics etc.. till now have not tot of whether to buy a video cam either haha.. we also have no vg in mind too.. haiz

summerice

Corsage me also thinking of going to personal trainer, thought of taking up yoga. Heard that yoga can help to lose wt especially the lower part of the body.

Maybe ties always get in the way so doc always go for bow smart n easy.

My HB also thinking of wearing a tux and a bow tie, but later he told me since we r not having banquet then he cannot take tux already. Plus he told me tux is for formal night event not for work. so now he is thinking of getting something else. HB said seldom ppl wear tux for wedding in spore, i guess its because u cant use it next time.

corsage

Summerice: Do you know how much a personal trainer would cost? I'm thinking of just getting one for the short term, to work on specific body parts to tone up. Think I need someone to guide and push me =p

Yeah, tux is probably more suitable for formal dinners. You could rent one though, instead of making one

chendol

I'm still on leave so haven't been accessing internet as much.

I was in Healthland Sathorn on Sunday - 27 Aug around 3pm... saw many hongkongers actually. Even in the shopping centres and chatuchak there were quite a lot of HK folks. My FH was saying that it's very near to fly from HK to BKK even nearer than Sgp-BKK!

Btw, just called Amore today and their free sessions for UOB ladies card holders ends today! So I just signed up for Pilates later, might as well.

I go calfit sometimes as well... but hard to find the time. esp with wedding preps now in addition to work and family...

My FH is wearing a silver cravat for the day and a blue cravat for the evening; dark suit. Not getting a tux, cos figured not much point topping up for just the shiny lapels. hee. We made a wing-tipped shirt for him to wear with the cravat in BKK too, from his favourite tailor.

Have finalised my WG and EG! Love them very much! Mine is an A-Line WG with can-can underneath though... V-shaped waistline, lace applique.

Summerice,

Think ballgowns are not that in fashion nowadays... unless you want to project a really grand feel. I guess ultimately it's what makes you look good. of course you must like it too. Personally I deferred quite a bit to my designer cos I trust her taste, and she's delivered!

summerice

corsage 3yrs ago an instructor who is from a hotel gym offer me about $500, but cannot remember for how many session. Maybe if we stay near we can motivate each other.

Rental of suit will not look nice. They only alter the sleves length of the coat only.

ivied

hi jhoo,
Just for your info, the temporary market is next to Outram MRT station, opp SGH. (Exit the station via Outram Park East-West line)

Their ang baos are cheaper than outside. You can take a look there.

ringadingling

hi nee, ya i doing ala-carte as dun wan any PS. so buying from BS sales or tailor made.

Anyway, had rcv ur link will try to search under her name if there's any reviews...thanks!!

Anyone of u here know whr i can find advices like what type of gown to match wat type of jewelleries? As I have no BS so there's no designers to help me match nicely...all DIY. Appreciate any kind souls to provide websites/magz to me if come across such issues...thks in advance.

jhoo

oh ivied, not at the new market ar? i did go ard that new market and they are selling cloth instead..i see, thanks