(2006) Brides of year 2006

daman - cantonese? paiseh no idea man... ours also rojak already.. dunno who correct who wrong.. when in need.. we apply ur rule: ur suggestion is taken into consideration but not necessary implemented.

panda - great. paiseh din pick up call yesterday.. beri busy in opic meeting.

roast pig - we using ang pow to replace. anyway me dun wan roast pig one also.. cos i knew the true meaning behind it and was aghast. ha ha ha ha ha... as for long pants, inside must have 1 ang pow in each pocket to represent giving "FU" to the groom.

daman - hmm .. i not too sure leh coz heard frm my frez take 3mths to book ...but during my time i dun think need 6mths ...haha i forgot liao too long ago ..i m cantonese but my parent only requested for roast pig lor coz we wan it to be simple. i think there is those canned pig trotter oso ...but we din wan tat coz no use to us.

princess - i was looking for Perfect Dream at MQ the other day coz i remember u saying it was very nice but they din have it there so did not get to try .......if u like it then get it ....keke :P i plan to go IMM showroom first before looking for Andrew again

maez - sorry to hear abt ur reno .... try to get them to make changes n change to the way u wan it ...hope everything will be in time

pandalic - it great that u love your WG ... i believe the final WG will be beautiful ...

angeldust - the samsung c long eye will pain? hmm i wanted to get samsung leh but we can spend long time infront of the TV if c long will eye pain then i better let my FH know ...haha

hi yuki and daman, yeah.. made my point clear wat i dun like aredi.. hopefully the changes will turn out well..

daman! i wanna see pictures too! can PM me the link? btw, u have the theme setups for RTP? can i see also?? :P many thanks!!

vanessa, okie, i will PM u the phone number..

panda! so happy ur WG is nice! im keeping fingers crossed that thu will be SUNNY!! i gg for outdoor.. :P

eh marnie..... YAY ITALY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! keke. 92nd minute to be exact

lipstar: i'm not a big veggie fan either so we whack a seafood pizza la ok?

oh, PS, esp for marnie: ITALY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

da man ~ yup, long pants 4 chang chang jiu jiu (this is given to groom from bride's family)... and roast pig and cakes and SDJ from groom (tin SDJ originally not cantonese custom, but now seem nearly everyone's doing it)
as roast pig is rather ex, some ILs will agree to replace it with cans of pig trotters, depends...

mic mic...you know me ar? ;p

oh..that cake shop ar.. erm I dun have the address..it's in serangoon north estate Opposite the one and only NTUC..can't miss it.

They do for alot of companies cakes company like motorola, RSAF and many more ans that includes wedding...erm...the name is weird ....*breathe..*

"CHANG WANG CAKERY"

Where you travelling from?

2 TIER : sgd 115 without lace 3.5kg fresh cream only
2 TIER : sgd 126 lace 3.5 kg fresh cream only
3 TIER : sgd 212 lace 6 kg freah cream only

If got more $$$ go for cherylshuen!!

YAH...my office colleague same AD as me! it's indeed a hot date!

yuki - yeps.. the salesman said lah.. but i suggest u go see for urself.. like say. stand 15-20 mins there and compare both.

OL - to clarify further for Daman:

Roast Pig w 6 or 8 oranges- groom to bring over to bride's family on AD during hui niang jia. Bride's parents toc hop body portion and replace with a pair of pants with 2 ang pows inside + replace the oranges with new ones. Groom to bring head and tail + pants back to parents home. Represent's a woman being a virtue and so to speak "clean". not a wanton woman.

SDJ - Teochew custom. Cantonese its Long Feng bangle. same as Hokkien.

Pig Leg - Hokkien custom traditionally to represent mum's pain for giving birth to daughter. I akin it to mum's giving away a pound of flesh away. Sounds like A Merchant of Venice - Shylock requesting a pound of flesh from poor Antonio who is so in love with Portia. If birth mother - only front leg. if Step mother - give back leg. Think most will give right leg and not left leg.

Pig Trotter's cans - typically hokkien custom; supposedly replace the pig leg but now pple give the cans cos nice to have the pin li and the cans are redistributed to relatives together with cakes during GDL.

iceglacier, wn & compassrose, thanks for all the "kua shoe" suggestion... will try those places as mentioned.. will update if i manage to find :-)

Blur man with all the traditions? What the real reason behind the roast pig? Tell me can? :P
yeah the samsung white tv is like a huge apple monitor way coooolllll....

hi ladies...wah seems like now the topic is on reno, tv and pigs

renovation - maez...i also suffer the same experience when doing my reno. Let me tell u the ultimate ar - my contractor forget to link the gas pipe for me while installing cooker and kitchen top...so can u imagine....

tv - hmmm i bought my tv in this TV shop from Suntec...cant recall the name. But the series is MEMO lor...super clear...especially now watching world cup series is really super clear man!!

pig - kekeke i just hope that when my hubby comes in with his brothers they will have the energy to carry the pig and come in in one piece...hope that while my maids are teasing the bro, it will drop on the floor!!

vanessa - think the pig starts long long time ago lar...it is some kind of status to show off to the girl side indicating how rich they are lor. Then u know - long time ago roast pig is a must for most happy occasions, especially for the cantonese (eg before they start filming movie they will also cut a roast pig)...So it is a must have item for auspicious occasions. So normally this item is only compulsory for cantonese brides...that is me lor..kekekee and as what angeldust explains - head and tail of the pig must be return to the groom....

Hope this helps ;)

Haahaa jingles! Wah my goodness that is a huge booboo man!! So how was that prob resolved??hahaaa... anyway my house no gas coz we using induction, that one super amazing. Have u guys seen it?? It's like magic! Haahaa

U gals relax and have fun at the photoshoot, then will look pretty pretty
I had mine at the forever popular Sentosa..... there were about 5 couples there on our photoshoot day!!

to clarify again. the true meaning behind the roast pig is that the bride's family normally request because it represents their daughter is a V_____ (fill in the blanks urself). later it translated that, the more expensive the pig, the more worth ur daughter is. So if the daughter is a qian jin xiao jie.. then the pig requested will be an expensive pig. -> this explains jingle's theory of the expensive pig.

In olden china, pigs are prized possessions so u can see.. most traditions, they use pig to represent wealth and women's worth. ke ke ke ke ke.. and if the woman is infidel.. what they do? drown them in pig cages lor.

yep, pig represents 黄花闺女.. hahaha.. hope i got the words right..

anw, my main furniture still coming in on next monday cos its youth day n i no need to take leave, so it shall remain but the tv console will be changed.. will wait n see how things go..

now shall juz hope that no rain on thu :P

pinkbuMMy: Sure sure. Seafood pizza it shall be. But I eat v ma fan (picky eater). I don't take onions, so the pizza hv to request no onions.

Hi xiaobai
I hv collected my cards and had my food tasting 2 weeks ago, due to the lunar 7th mth.. hv not yet visted the printers tho...

I'm getting a bit confused.. is the mitup for ridhuan's wine or for other wine tasting? I couldnt confirm the date as yet as i'll be away one of the weekends in july but its not finalise yet...

congrats everyone.. welcome to the mrs club..

starris,
i agree with u.. my heart was thumping so loudly and i was so excited that i couldnt breathe.. then while i was walking in, i felt so blessed and happy.. but then there was only 1 worry in my mind then.. muz walk carfully.. dun trip and fall.. ha!! then b4 the march-in, i told hubby to walk carefully and not step on my gown..

Jasmine, yah I kept telling my hubby don't step on my gown. Cos my EG is has a relatively long train, he kept on stepping on it esp when we walked around to take table photos.

hi all... i'm new at this thread! happy to see this lively discussion.
maybe i intro little abt my wedding.. AD: 9 dec 06, BS : bridal veil, Dinner: Shangri-la, PS: Utopia, Photostory (AD).

about the customary, i am following cantonese traditions too cos mum is canto. she said alot of things can simplify now... just give angpao in lieu of the long pants and pig. Hahaha... sounds very practical and convenient to me (and for her surely) altho oranges are a must!

if i were marrying off my daughter i would just request for things i like to eat.. haha :P

<font color="0077aa">hi sockling, welcome.. we are a crazy bunch here.. if i may speak for all.. kekeke

one thing for sure, you sound like my mum.. she only request from my fiance teochew biscuits coz she wants to eat them.. the rest, she is happy to do away with them!</font>

Just came back to work. The AD was tiring.. but we truly enjoyed ourselves... we sang a duet for our 2nd march-in... i like it a lot.. cos when we were singing, it was as if there was only 2 of us..

Now counting down to honeymoon, which is in 3 days time!

By the way, my video would only be ready in early sep.. whereas the photos would be ready when we come back from honeymoon.. long wait hor? I cant wait to see the military march-in and the duet.. hee

i agree with u gals that our gowns always kena stepped haha :P my hb also keep on stepping on my gown and for our 1st march-in, my PG complained that my hb walk too fast and kept on blocking me from the camera lolx cos we were like hiding from all those party poppers haha then 2nd march in was so much better

Hi soudez

Have the restaurant manager asked u why u want the food tasting session and card collection so early, since it is going to be another 3 more months before october comes. Just wondering......

What reason should I give to my banquet manager? Any good ideas to share with me.

How is ur food tasting session like? Is the food tasty? And me kpo a bit what colour did u use for ur wedding invitation card? Just wondering.....

Take Care

Xiaobai1

hi gurls.. yar mann... tink most of our ps are durin tis few wks... hope all of us wil v loads of fun!
.. mine is tis sat... and i hope all goes well! hee...

Forget to ask do anyone of u has the little mermaid songs??? I wish to use one of the little mermaid songs from walt disney as my lst dish fanfare. Cause I like that song very much. If anyone has a copy of little mermaid song, can email to me. I remember the title is under the sea. Thanks a lot. Next time, treat that person drink kopi! Hee Hee :P

Take Care Ladies and Gentlemen

Xiaobai1

Lipstar,
r u sure its only onion?

hw come U can come here? tot U shld still be acting guai....in the co.

ok, all,
So its /b{14 Jul} for the gathering?
Time?
This time I cfm I wont be late....cos I not working

went for my 2nd fitting yest. a little disappointed though. Hopefully you girls can comment a little on my WG when the pics are ready for viewing.

But I am happy with my EG though.

jen, will be praying for fine weather.

My PS is in another 2 weeks' time.

hi hi.. i m back to work too..

i m super sleepy and tired.. kept dozing off this morning, lucky the manager didnt see it :P

gera/jasmine/starris/asura,

same here... my hubby kept stepping on my gown though it's quite short already. not only him, his brothers also step on it and dunno who got so excited that spilt drinks on my gown...

Hi Xiaobai

Instead, the mgr was the one who worry for mi in case lunar 7th mth, cannot do preparation.. she "blow" mi to collect the cards since end last mth.. And 2 weeks later, i told her i wanted to hv the food tasting schedule the follwing week and collect the cards together, and she immediately say ok leh.. no question asked...

Xiaobai, not to worry ya.. furthermore, customer is always right mah... =) if ur rest mgr really ask, jus tell him lunar 7th mth lor... cos its a fact whh cannot be denied...

During the food tasting, the flr mgr introduced to us the dishes, the presentation, telling us what their service be like during the banquet, how serious they'll treat our feedback, and we to return them the feedback form after the session etc...

The food is nice, have a couple of remarks and request, and all things went well... but of cos during the actual banquet, due to mass production, i think marking dwn at least 10% of the standards is inevitable...

they have 2 clrs for cards, gold and ivory... i took both.. keke

welcome sockling.. if u want to modify traditions to things u can eat, u should do what mum and i decided to do.. we dont want a roast pig (cos i cannot stand the oil smell), and pig trotters, we wouldnt know what to do with them.. so mum and i decided, we will ask for her favourite pork product... bak kwa!!!

welcome sockling

for me, we will be taking roast pig, SDJ and cakes.... for roast pig my MIL suggested bringing over 2 so we return 1 ...like tat dun need to cut ....not sure abt it.

Traditionally... the pig, have to chop n leave the head and tail, then place trousers wrapped in red cloth in the middle. return as if its a whole pig...

but, it seems a really messy affair (oily) and so my mom say no need lah, juz put an angpao in place of the trousers :P heehee

and.. another item for GDL.. used to be liquor, but my mom said will replace w wine since these days, not SO many pple drink liquor as compared to wine..

actually the pig is not GDL bring leh.. for me, its for 迎亲..
which is actual day.. when i return home..

for GDL, only oranges, pin jin, wine, å«å¥³é¥¼.. i think thats it, will update if i recall anything else.. (this is simplified version lah.. so its up to ur folks, pls dun quote me that this is ENOUGH or anything.. jus sharing..)

hazel: U also know me well man. I don't take food with garlic, onions, cheese (but I can take pizza), milk ,alcohol, bird's nest (allergy). That's it for now. keke.

hazel: anyway, what do you mean by "act guai". I am really guai (obedient) ah. I tok your head then you know.

How come fri not working?

ribbons - my mum also suggested bah kwa. HA HA HA HA HA.. but i said cash better and i can use PIG picture Ang pow to represent. cute and nice.

maez - u are right. the Pig is not for GDL. its for ying qin. but nowadays if use ang pow. they do during GDL so save trouble cos AD date.. many ang pows exchanged so better do so during GDL.

da man... i paid abt $100 to my instructor for borrowing his car for testing...

me cantonese and hubby hokkien, last week his grandma and parents came to "ti qin"... for GDL, they will bring long feng candles, wine, oranges, raw pork, ang pao to represent chicken, four "hai3 wei4" including abalone, sea cucumber, dried oyster + dried scallop.. and also pin jing. Then my family needs to return part of these gifts.

the roasted pig will be given by groom's side during AD, when the bride back to her home. Then bride's side needs to cut the middle portion and put the long pants, 2 oranges and ang pao in the middle, and return the pig's head + tail + legs to groom's side...

here is just for sharing.. it is more important tat both families agree to wat they wanna give and take... initially i also thought must follow certain rules, but think it is quite rojak nowadays... most important is tat both familes are happy!

yeah same here..my hubby keeps stepping on my gown.
i m on mc for 3 days ar...since monday..sigh..also dunno what happen..running fever, sore throat, cough, cold..

ribbons-okok...hehe..thanks....i gt prep a baby room also. hehe..wah idea leh..bak kwa..heheh

angeldust-ya...i gt no ipod to test..plug in my portable hard disk with mp3 inside bt they gt no reaction. hahahha..no prob..use the rule freely. heheh..1 angbao ea huh? ok..i tell my friend...thanks for the further information inthe other posts. hehe..wah i din noe wedding roast pigs is link to pig cages..heheh

yuki-oic..okok..thanks for the help..will go ask around. hehe

maez-check ur pm. i dun hve the themes for RTP. hehe...cos da wife decided on the spot...so din bother to tke pics. heheh. paiseh.

OL-oic...ya i noe..sdj now all have..rojak country with rojak customs.

vanessa-i wan to see the pics after u hang up the giant apple monitor k? heheh thanks ah..dun understand ur induction gas thingy...can elaborate further...is it those u turn will ignite n gt gas come out at the same time?

jingles-dun worry...wont drop. but it at 1 side. i did that for my friend as well. hahaha. but its heavy man. the pig. 4of us carry like carrying sedan like tat. hehe..

waiwai-oic ic...thats cheaper version than da wife....yeah thanks for ur help on the canto customs. I will pass it all to my friend.

Thanks ladies for all the traditions.