(2006) Brides of year 2006

angeldust

hi daman - welcome. ipod.. i have also.. planning see if conrad have audio cable for me to just plug and play. otehrwise i will have to use CDs.. meet the technician first see how techno savvy first.. sekali cannot plug and play mp3 from the ipod for AD. ya.. olden pple like to equate women with pigs lah.. cos most prized possession mah.. pigs expensive leh.. so a sow is more expensive than a male pig lor. then also.. last time pple poor eat veg with rice or rice with soy sauce lah. so can understand that.. HA HA HA HA..

hubby hakka so i know a bit of hakka customs -

1) Hakka bride need to carry an apple from home to groom's home. represents PING AN. But cannot drop apple along the way.
2) Hang pork piece at back of sedan (car) to aviod the bride being eaten by beasts on mountainous regions
3) Throw a fan = Kai Zhi San Ye before sedan leaves the bride's family home
4) Couple to walk over the charcoal stove to cleanse themselves before entering groom's home
5) Rice is thrown when couple entering groom's home.

Think Hakka GDL have include Sugarcane on top of oranges as fruits.

K ek eke ke checked these out then mummy said.. we follow hokkien bride traditions. HA HA HA HA HA cos me hokkien.

xfiles_wolvie

ribbons-hahah ok...ba and related products...

angeldust-wah thanks for the hakka customs also..hehehe my friend all starting to want to find out more. heheh...i tot charcoal stove is canto..hehe..din noe its hakka...throw rice reminds me of hse dong tu time.

chillipadi25

daman - thanks for sharing
4 brothers that means i must tell my hubbie to get at least 4 person to help him...if not sure the pig can be carried or not...kekeke...

angeldust - this is soo interesting...i like the part on the apple cos i find it soo meaningful.

sockling

wow... so many customs **faint**. i feel lucky that mine is going to be very simple. :p my mother just wanted ang pao (in lieu of roast pig and pants)and oranges for AD. we will buy the roast pig first and return him the head and tail to bring home when i come back for tea ceremony. that way no need to carry here carry there...

compassrose

Hi cute koala,

Guess it's becos all of us refer to the same tong shu. Mine is ROM cuz can secure a dinner banquet on that day.

U?

I am okie with it cuz i have more time to source around.

vaax

Hi Daman,

Thanks for you contact! I went to Da electronics just now get the tv. Yeah the white one is limited edition and more ex than the black one
But I like it alot and it matches my home! I got my washer and dryer too and the price was almost $200 lower! Thanks! Induction cooker is not using gas but rather magnetic fields. Hmmm... dunno how to explain but u go to Tangs they have u ask for demonstration, it impressed me and my HTB a lot so decided to splurge on that!

angeldust

daman & jingles - u are welcome. I only investigated on hokkien & hakka customs cos its related to my wedding.. i know cantonese has the 4 hai wei. Mummy said that is for cantonese so no need. Then mother of the bride has to wear a Kua as well. Black top with red skirt. The bride wears red top and red skirt.

Other interesting facts that a friend kindly advised me. For example, Peranakan bride has the following customs:

1) Wear the kebaya, beaded shoes & bag handed down from generations
2) Live chickens (male female under bridal bed to see if rooster or hen cames out first)

Disclaimer: Not very sure abt the above peranakan customs so pple who are peranakans can help.

Hainanese - my mum is a hainanese so I also know hainanese customs ( abit of what mum can recall from her wedding)

1) Hainanese bride & groom have to makan this HUGE "jian dui" ball made of flour and BLOWN to as big as a football size.The round ball thing represents "TUAN TUAN YUAN YUAN" or something.
2) 2 Coconuts are used to pray to the gods instead of oranges.
3) Coconut kueh is used to pray to the gods as well instead of Xi Bing used in Hokkien or Cantonese or Teochew customs.

Coconuts are used because Hainan island in the region of Sanya in China is near to the sea so they have loads of coconuts but little temperate fruits such as oranges. ke ke ke ke ke

Just some interesting stuff to share with all. I skipped and simplified my procedures. HA HA HA HA HA..

Sockling - slowly digest. more to learn but best is if u can ask ur mummy list down the things she wants so u can inform ur hubby before hand.

xiaobai1

Hi Designfreak

I think the song is under the sea. Cause inside the lyrics keep repeating the words under the sea under the sea. Do you have that song?

Hi Soudez

Thanks for ur advice. Now I am very busy cleaning my new house and album collection in 16th July. I still need to go out to source the bears for my bridal car on the actual day. I have checked with the bridal shop, they only provide me with flowers and ribbons. Guess that is the standard car decoration. I have to get my own bears to tie it on the bridal car. Hee Hee

Yeap I have tried their food once, and they also told me the same things as ur hotel. I think I will check with hubby again whether he wants to go for an earlier food tasting session or not. Me don't need to be so kan cheong! Hee Hee
Anyway, I will remember your advice in my mind. Thank You.

Hi Wendy

By the way, do u still remember where is ridhuan's shop location? Where do we meet him if we want to go for the wine tasting session? Do you have any idea??? Cause I wish to know his shop location before I decide I want to buy the wines from him or outside shops. As he didn't provide free delivery for orders below $300. As I don't need so much wine. Still considering him..... Hope to get ur reply soon.

Take care Ladies and Gentlemen

Xiaobai1

morn ladies,
ha..guess all brides have the same experience.. but so long as the gown dun fall off can liao..keke..

ladies,
so how?? who's interested in the gathering?? can we decide on the date and location?? who willing to sponsor their love nest?

so far, seems like only me, geraldine and asura interested..

sandsand

angeldust..... *clap clap* wow! u really did a lot of research on the customs ah!

the hakka traditions sound very interesting.. this is the first time i am learning about hakka traditions.. the apple bit and the piece of pork bit is cute.. havent seen b4 yet.. havent see a piece of pork tied behind a car b4. i will open my eyes big big and see if got any pork behind.. but isnt it unhygienic in our time? i mean, now so many animals got so many diseases, then we fly the raw meat about in the open.. imagine if the custom asked for duck or chicken meat.. oh man, bird flu everywhere?

i've ehard about the big flour ball for hainanese b4.. inside is hollow one right?

peranakan wise,yes the bride has to wear the kebaya that is handed down.. me not wearing cos my size dont follow the peranakan side.. my size follow my british side.. so cannot wear.. sigh, it would be really sweet to wear it though..

any of your parents giving u guys family heirlooms? care to share what heirlooms?

september

soudez, we are arranging for wine tasting at another place which have the same wine as Ridhuan also...and if nt wrong the wine tasting shld be free....

Oct 06 brides-to-be gathering-cum-wine tasting in Jul 2006 (pls add in ur name to the dates u r available): -

Time & Venue to be confirmed..

jul 7 (fri): iceglacier, beatrice, Diana
jul 14 (fri): wendy,iceglacier, beatrice,huey, Diana
jul 21 (fri): wendy, huey
jul 28 (fri):

angeldust

Hi ribbons,

ya I was kinda "forced" to learn abt the customs cos my MIL is quite traditional in some ways. So had to use Geomancer as a weapon to ward off some of the funni requests. nowadays no one hang the pork liao lah.. imagine if hang surely the traffice police come after ur wedding sedan cos u become ROAD HAZARD. ke ke ke ke ke

Nope no heirlooms on my side. ke ke ke ke..

Daman - stove one ah.. i find dangerous.. ha ha ha ha sekali gown catch fire. throw rice ya.. usually for hse rice & salt.

xfiles_wolvie

jingles-nt necesary 4 of pple required. it will mke it less heavy since spread out to 4 pple. 2 person will pant. but if the bro u find are muscular kind...2 is enuff. hehe

vanessa-wah u chopchop go call and buy huh...fast leh..beri fast..hahah..so u gt everything from the same place as im? was it the same person that attended to me that u are liasing with? oh induction..as in gt a blank black space for u to heat up the food 1 isit? if nt then i better go check it out at tangs liao...really sua ku...CSK is in the hse..hehe..CSK = chin sua ku. hehehe

angeldust-which chicken comes out first does it represent which gender the baby will be? hmmm..thanks for sharing...heheh

xfiles_wolvie

angeldust-ya lor...so must hold up the WG. if nt gt to pay alot to the BS...

princes-can helpname sme peranakan food? i eat alot..but duno which is which...

a question to test u ladies. roti prata is malay or indian food?

angeldust

Daman - BINGO. if rooster out first, baby boy. if hen comes out first, baby girl. was prepared to use "bird flu" as a reason to aviod having chicken shit on my bridal bed. So question is.. if both come out first then twins??? then what if both refuse to come out? then what? HA HA HA HA HA HA...after that what to do with them? kill & makan???

yongee86

good morning..

ahaha.. my hubby also step on my gown for both 1st and 2nd march in..

how's everyone adjusting to marriage life?

i have just compiled my AD photos into a movie montage, can check it out on multiply.

i don't mind joining the gathering but i don't stay in the east leh.. choose somewhere more centralised location lah..

jmonster

i m interested to join the outing. but my place is not ok cos too many pple as staying with in laws..

agree with antonia that we could possibly meet at a more centralised location like orchard, city hall, marina square, etc

antonia,
marriage life is not easy... just quarrel last nite...*(&^%$@#

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">Da Man,
Got alot of peranakan dishes leh, like:

Ayam Buah Keluak (Angel, &amp; my fave!), Nyonya Chap Chye, Pohteh (chicken, potato and mushroom cooked in gravy with sugarcane, fermented soya bean and Peranakan spices), ark tim (sour duck soup), bak wan kepiting (crabmeat), otak-otak (barbecued curry fish) and chicken kurmah (chicken cooked with spicy prawn paste).</font>

september

o...btw, i hv check wif my MUA on additional charges for curling the hair on AD, i told her i wan to curl my hair for both day and nite...guess wat...she say she will nt charge me....hurray....so happy...whahaha

tingz

arggg....! so good. i was jus calculating, on AD if use fake lashes (day &amp; nite) + ampoule (day) + curling hair nite = at least another $100! faintz

kenjoc

Aiyo.. long time nv come in.. can't catch up with the threads lo.

Since all of us getting married in Dec, wanna ask check something with you all:

1) Hotel: Are we suppose to contact the hotel to check on food tasting and collection of invitation cards? Or wait for them to contact us? And when are we suppose to start doing those stuff b4 the AD?

2)Renovation: Is it that, if the wall is uneven, the paint will turn out to be uneven too?

3)Shoes: Is it that the shoes that are to be worn on the AD has to be a new pair?

4)TeoChew Custom: Any idea when should the guy side go and ti-qin? What are the stuff that the bride have to prepare and buy?

5)Feng Shui Master: Any recommendation?

6)Furniture and Appliances: Any Recommendation:

Da-Man: Have you went for your PS? Is there night photoshoot ar? Did you and Da-wife bring along own sets of clothings?

Pai Sei.. so many questions...

september

huh...so much....siao bo....i tink i will probably skip the fake lashes lor....so uncomfortable...actually i was tinking if my MUA wan to charge for curling hair, i tink i will probably opt to curl for nite nia....coz hubby and me like the look she do for me during PS for both my WG and EG...but we like the EG look better...hee hee...till i get the pic i will show u gals like....

september

beatrice, o...u also whitelink bride hor....her name is Irene Tan....

wow u wan to get drunk huh...hee hee...tat will be reserved for October Bride Hen Party in Sept lah....hohoho...

xiaobai1

Hi Diana

Good news u are going to curl ur hair and the makeup artist is not charging you extra money. Me is not sure of my hairstyles yet.

Still slowly choosing and considering... Wondering if my makeup artist will be so good to curl my hair for free or not.

But last time, she do hair setting for me. She also didn't charge me extra money. She also didn't charge my hubby when she do the hairstyle for him during the photoshoot. Hee Hee. My makeup artist only charge us for the ampoule.

Slowly counting down 3 months to go....

Xiaobai1

vaax

Daman, we all started out being suaku
I was suaku once too with this induction thingy but the auntie at tangs enlightened me! Hahaa... I bought the tv, washer and dryer from Dav's as recommended by you. I went to Sweeten at bukit batok to buy my oven, coz only they are the ones besides mayer to carry ariston built-in ovens. Got it $50 cheaper lah.. haha cheap thrill but still savings, coz getting married and house renos not cheap man!
Hi jo,
I cannot answer question1, coz i am only have church wedding. Renos.... hmmmm the wall thing, are you asking whether you should plaster the wall 1st? Strongly recommended if going to paint colours(i.e not white). Shoes am still looking so new ones, but better wear a few times 1st or else on that day got blisters not so cool
I'm not teochew and fengshui me dun believe :p Furniture must slowly and painfully look. Appliances got Dav Electronics, Sweeten Electronics, Goh Ah Bee to name a few
Whew... hope i answered ur questions!

sockling

jo, me not sure of other things but for me (1), the hotel will contact me 1-2 months before AD to collect cards and food taste. i think invitations usu have to be sent about 1 month before AD (anyone pls correct me if i'm wrong) so they will usu pass the cards to u beforehand for printing, etc.

angeldust

Hi Jo, see replies in <>

1) Hotel: Are we suppose to contact the hotel to check on food tasting and collection of invitation cards? Or wait for them to contact us? And when are we suppose to start doing those stuff b4 the AD?

<some>

2)Renovation: Is it that, if the wall is uneven, the paint will turn out to be uneven too?

<yes.>

3)Shoes: Is it that the shoes that are to be worn on the AD has to be a new pair?

<prefably>

4)TeoChew Custom: Any idea when should the guy side go and ti-qin? What are the stuff that the bride have to prepare and buy?

<ti>

5)Feng Shui Master: Any recommendation?

<used>

6)Furniture and Appliances: Any Recommendation:

<etronin>

angeldust

ok dunno what happen to my post.

repeat again.. paiseh

1) hotel will call u 3 mths before AD to collect cards, discuss decor + arrange food tasting session.

2) yes. will be uneven, alternatively apply white plaster on the entire wall &amp; even out but will cost u a bomb.

3) best if its new pair. cos i encounter groom shoe spoil on AD. then bring to mister mint to repair. SO IMPTLY.. BUY GOOD SHOE!!!

4) This one check with geomancer for gd date. then bride side to prepare list of pin li required from the groom and discuss the wedding procedures. bring a pen and paper to jot down the discussion.

5) Fo Guang Hang at textile centre. 62917244. the cheapest i could find. ha ha ha ha ha

6) Etronin Electronics at Tampines Blk 801 St 81.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">wow.. interesting lessons on traditions.

my two cents worth.. i am marrying a peranakan.. no hand-me down kerbaya coz most of my MIL's are made with ke-tok lobang (embriodered holes along the seams) which means that the kerbaya cannot be altered.. hahah, so i confirm cannot fit.. last time the girls so slim!

my FMIL bought one kerbaya suit for me for the tea ceremony recently. then she giving me the kerosang (the 3 brooches linked with a chain) passed down from her grandma.. =) i supposed to pass it down next time too..

princess/angel - i like ayam buah keluak and ark tim!!!

jo - i teochew.. for ti-qin, i guess its anytime bah.. my bf came earlier this month.. if particular, maybe gotta look for geomancer.. we din prepare anything, bf and his parents came my place for formality coz in my case, nothing to negotiate coz my parents have no requirements. bf only asked for my mum's permission and blessing for him to marry me.. then after that, we went out for dinner.. </font>

pony_pang

Hi Diana,
No la I dont drive so want town area hehehe...

Ya I am also whitelink bride my MUA is angela nice lady but she commented my hair too thick she got problem even bundling up my hair. So I think I will go and do a spa perm one month before my AD.

By the way I went to pick my photo liao. A top-up of $500 for another 10 more photos for my album (total of 38 photos for my album) and extra 20 raw photos for my own digital keeping. (total 58 digital photos for my powerpoint presentation) not sure if it is a good deal.

flipfreak

hi xiaobai. i dun have the song. why dun u try the disney soundtracks? if not, can try downloading off the net. shldnt be hard to find.

yuki31

jo - for my case, the hotel will contact me 3mths before AD to choose cards, select AD theme, arrange tasting. u can call them up if u wish to discuss eariler or make any arrangement.

for AD shoes, my MIL n mum say got to be a new pair ....not sure abt others. but i planning to wear for ROM as well so can pratice n season the shoe ...haha

my FH is teochew n for ti qin , we done it think in april...cant remember ...basically we arrange for a dinner session then my FH will ask my parent permission n blessing. we did not really c the dates juz arrange a suitable time to meet n have dinner formally.

yuki31

angel - Etronin Electronics at Tampines Blk 801 St 81 good? i go c c when i free .....planning to go that area this week .....haha

chillipadi25

Daman – kekekee I think safe side better call 4 liao…scared later on pant then cannot fight away my jie mei how………..kekeke

Jo – here are all my suggestions :p

1) for food tasting/cards it is always better to ask them then to wait for them to contact u…I super KS one…ultimately this is my wedding rather than theirs – always better to ask them can we collect the cards liao, is there any new design for card etc etc….so my suggestion is to ask rather than to wait. Will be collecting cards from them end of July and start printing after lunar 7 month. Food tasting normally few months after the contract is signed with them 3months??

2) Yes inorder to make it smooth – u will have to smoothen the concrete wall first before applying coat of paint..if not no matter how u paint wall will still be the same..

3) Yes normally for a trend items worn on AD is to be new – aka new start of life mar…grow up liao, time to marry so everything must be new….for me, I even intend to wear new everything beneath my clothes…haha but all these are of cos up to preference and individual

4) For me, my hubbie is a teochew already discussed this in march, at least we can get the foundation right anything that is minor can re-discuss closer to wedding dates – at least everyone reach an agreement on major issues and common understanding on the stuff. Bride side normally will buy the house stuff such as bedsheet, the bedside lamps, spittoons. For guy side, all the food, eg pastries, roast pig, phoenix/dragon candle, etc etc..

5) Eh cant recommend u leh…I am my own geomancer…kekeke

6) Furnitures – erm have to elaborate lar…cos I buy my furnitures from all over the place…so let me know which item u are looking at so I can suggest

angeldust

Panda, princess - ^5 man!!!! Ayam Buah Keluak.. the buah keluak.. drools..

yuki - basically etronin is a dealer. look for Vincent. They wun have much models for display so u can go check out the models u want at courts or best denki, jot their prices down go to Etronin and ask for a quote. Etronin has one branch in Bedok Central also but i went to the Tampines one cos near my new home. On top of that, delivery was FOC cos so near. HA HA HA HA HA.. They are located directly opposite the Tampines Neighbourhood police Station near St Hildas Sec School &amp; Jun Yuan Primary School.

yuki31

angel - okie i go have a look when i drop by ....keke :p nearby delivery FOC ah? my house nearby leh but not my new plc ....haha
okok i think i know where ....the stretch of shops rite? which has a BS there ......

angeldust

Yuki - correct along the shops where GHA Tampines is. easy to find. no worries. *winks*. i think u gotta ask. cos mine was nearby so delivery was FOC.