(2006) Brides of year 2006

yongee86

jmon,

calm down.. both of you are adjusting to married life mah.. give and take lah.. or have a pact like whenever both of u quarrel, the next morning must 'patch back' lor n not allowed to give each other bs look?

lilic

<font color="0077aa">angel, next dinner we go eat peranakan food!!! good??? charlie's at katong is pretty good for peranakan food.. endorsed by my FMIL.. wahhahha</font>

hots

Most of u r takin PS recently... Any places for outdoor to recommend? My PS on 28th Aug. Wanting to shortlist a few places.

Thanks Hor!!

jmonster

antonia,

i've calm down and talked to him this morning and offered to make coffee for him. but he just ignore and made himself cup of coffee after he brushed teeth and washed face.

then i just left the house for work without saying anything to him... if he still don't want to talk tonight, i also bo bian

yongee86

jmon,

maybe wait til he calm down then talk to him again? newly weds leh, not good to be in cold war. maybe tonite he will be okie with you already.

initially, sure will have disagreements lah coz adjusting to each other's 'constant' presence in each other's lives now.. jia you!

joyousonline

yup had my AD liao..finally everything's over..yeah managed to get breakeven....managed to get 4k of surplus...but of course still hv to pay for wine and martell...pay MUA, pay PG..give parents some..so also left not much..hehe..

the whole day is fine..except for my naggy aunt..who keeps bossing around..everyone is not happy but no choice..she is like tat..just when gate crashing, she shouts dun play dun play and ask the sisters to stop..what a joke! my sisters all very annoyed..so they opened for them..haha but when they all come into my room..my sisters dun care about my aunt even though she knocked the door loudly for us to open for the groom..hahaha sigh..she became the topic of the day than me!! she went to groom's place also tried to boss around..sigh..but to give her face we din say anything..sigh..she even made us kneel down in front of my inlaws even though hb's granny din request us to kneel down..as if her house liddat..real real angry..sigh!!

when we went to chinese garden to do photoshoot, she also came along..sigh sigh...wat to do...

then on monday, i hv been having fever, sore throat, cough till now..been on mc since yesterday..was given another day of mc till wednesday..sigh..so weak until i no energy to go online..

kenjoc

Wah~ Thanks for all the advices!!

Hm.. So hotel.. avg is 3mths before AD, i can give them a call ar? Okie okie..

As for the paint.. Sigh.. too late.. the contractor said that the price i paid for ($1050) not inclusive of plastering, so they nv provide plastering for my walls and painted on it right away. Now the paint colors dun look even on certain walls.

Shoes.. hehe.. I bought one new pair for my WG,a cream color one. I'm still thinking whether to buy another pair for my red tea dress (I got one matching shoe, but wear a few times liao).

Ti-Qin need to look at dates ar? Hmm.. nothing was mentioned by my FH and FIL about the Ti-Qin lo.. so I'm sure when should be the appropriate time to do it. Is there a lot of things to prepare after ti-qin? Think they will doing it most likely in Oct, do I have enough time for preparation?

Furniture and Applicances.. Hehe.. I'm buying everything lo.. The house is empty.. keke..

yuki31

Jo - for mine, after Ti Qin we din really do much yet ... juz causal discuss on wat my parent wan for GDL n AD .... will be arranging another parents session nearer to GDL to finalize on wat they wan n wat to prepare ... think ard Oct /Nov...

jmonster

think he will be ok by tonight from what i knw him so far, if not i just keep quiet loh. if not, the more i say, the more angry he is

soudezne

I'll be gg for my PS in 2 weeks time... wondering if i shd colour my hair and what colours.. any comments abt this?

Oct 06 brides-to-be gathering-cum-wine tasting in Jul 2006 (pls add in ur name to the dates u r available): -

Time &amp; Venue to be confirmed..

jul 7 (fri): iceglacier, beatrice, Diana, Soudez
jul 14 (fri): wendy,iceglacier, beatrice,huey, Diana
jul 21 (fri): wendy, huey, soudez
jul 28 (fri):

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">panda,
charlie's is 'endorse' by my grandparents too.
They live at the next street. Ivins, Bibik's Place, Nonya Bong Kitchen are also 'endorse' by them. keke. But knowing my grandma, she always claims her nonya food is 'the best'. (U know how old ppl are like lah. haha)

Daman,
Check your mail.

jingles,
U are collecting your cards quite early hor. Im thinking of getting mine in late sept. hee. But agree on the sending out early part. I already sent a 'save the date' email to close friends. Official invitation cards, i shld send out in early nov bah. Too late anot ah? </font>

angeldust

panda - me cant really take spicy.. needs LOTZ of H2o + rice. YUM YUM.. but i still eat lor.. need a lot of TISSUE also when i eat cos wait i will runny nose one..ha ha ha ha so usually when i eat spicy.. i try eat at home.

elven - suggest u use chillipadi's for catering.. GOOD man the peranakan food. but pricey lor.

jingles - ti qin, my wasnt particular.. we all go dinner then old folkies discuss I JOT down on paper as eveidence so they dun come tell me they change their criteria later. HA HA HA HA HA

lilic

<font color="0077aa">princess, my fiance's aunties and mum think theirs is the best too.. wahhaha.. its a common pride lar.. wahhaha..

just share with you all, my fiance's late grandma specifically taught each of her daughter some specialties.. its like a legacy to be passed down and they are told not to tell each other wat is so special abt their specialty.. funny hor? while all the daughters can cook all the dishes, somehow the one who is taught with the particular specialty can present that dish in a much tastier manner.. the secret recipes are passed down to their own daughters now.. quite cool hor? my fiance ask me to learn.. but i think i will drive his mum to early grave!! wahahha

i like it best when all the 6 daughters gather together and prepare their specialties.. *yum*

eh, then next time your grandma cook, invite me leh.. wahhaha, my bf is ard frankel. *hungry*

vanessa, i dunno wat to order coz fiance and mum will do the ordering.. hee, i go for the soup coz i like soup.. my lovenest in the east but now i staying in the west..

aiyo angel, no spicy lar.. kekekek.. and hor, please dun instigate princess to cater peranakan food for her wedding.. coz confirm it will not be as good as home-cooked no matter how good it is.. wahhaha, princess will prob be cast in stone by her grandma... kekekek... </font>

bigbig

Oh Cat,

you are in Oct 2006 thread too mah... That thread is too fast pacing liao... I really can't catch up... kekeke...

Hmmm... I should be travelling from city else it would be fr AMK...

I am not familiar with that area at all... not sure I can find it...

btw do they have a website?

chillipadi25

elven - hehee...yeah lar no doubt i too early..for me after printing will dessiminate to all in month of Oct. So for those who cannot come will send another round to infill their seats in Nov...If the cards were sent out too late to the infill, it will also be too obvious to them. So earlier for me, i can play around with these vacant seats. U may also want to think of contingency plan just incase some ple never come and cards will not be send out too late

angel - aiyah my hubbie also jot down on that day, best part is now he lost the paper liao!!!! kekekeke....actually with or without the paper also doesnt matter, cos u know parents lar...even if B/W written on paper they also can peng wei (change words) one...so haiz see how lar...

panda - hey this is sooo interesting leh!!!!! hmmm next time i also must learn some skills so that can pass only one skill to each...hmm wat about teach one to make wool, one to sew cloths, one to do marketing, one to do accounts. So in the end they can sell cloths for a living and neither can live without the other....kekeeke so meaningful leh!

xiaobai1

Wish to join u all for the gathering but me and hubby are shy ler. Hee Hee

I will update u all again whether i can join u all for the next gathering.

Hi Beatrice

It is nice to chat with U ! And really thanks for the song, you really is a great help to me and thanks for your encouragement regarding my studies.

Hope to chat with u in msn again.

Take Care

xiaobai1

lipstar

I know u quit oredi. But u sd they will pay u ur untaken leave, so I thought u hv to serve the full notice. So when is ur last day ah? Paiseh...

small_one

Dorami and Linda

Cos the embroidery and beadings on the bodice look very flat. The gown is ivory in colour liao, then they used the same colour beads... the design looks flat.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">vanessa, i not teacher lah.. not so 伟大. kekeke, if i am a teacher, i think nobody will want to go to school anymore.. wahhahaha..

quite a lot of easterners in this thread.. hee, i am only an easterner-to-be. wahhahaha.. where is your lovenest? i am at east coast..

jingles, you are beri cute.. make me laugh non-stop.. but yah, i like the idea... somehow, i feel that peranakans are very family oriented and very closely knit even among extended family.. its as if every other week, got some family gatherings.. its nice actually.. even the younger ones will make an effort to come.. if not for the entire day, they will turn up for the food at least..

keke, my family very small.. and i am only close to my immediate family and my auntie's family.. the other relo like seemingly far far away.. so i kinda like it when i joined in fiance's family gathering.. i hope next time i can open my house to family gatherings too.. but with my culinary skills, it looks like a tall order!!!</font>

jan193

Ivy.. hope u hav tok to ur BS abt tis.. mayb u can hav other options for d beads n all.. cheer up.. try to come up w other options w ur BS n ways to improve ur gown

i m pretty upset over my EG too.. but my frens tell me tt it'll probably look better w makeup n hairdo.. so i'm crossin my fingers for my PS.. tt i'll find d EG nt tt bad afterall

chillipadi25

panda - i also like it too leh!!!! cos whenever everyone comes and have a nice time eating and joking. I feel so happy
that is wat i am currently trying to adopt, close outings/short trips to KL with inlaws involving with my sis-in-laws....so happy. Dont worry my culinery skills is also....haiz cannot make it. But try to do something simple like small creative cup cakes, colourful dessert or some exotic flavour tea that u will like everyone to share. I had done mango pudding, almond longan jelly last weekend. Ultimately it may not be the food everyone is aiming, it is just a good time, so so long there is some food to entertain them, good host and good atmosphere, i am sure everyone will enjoy!

small_one

hi Dorami

I have called the BS. But because I am very lousy in asking for things, there's not much progress.

I am now waiting for the PS to be over and see the pics first. If it's really bad, then after Ps I most likely ask insist on a change of the WG.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hey jingles, you are a great accomplishment compared to me liao.. fiance said the food i prepared feed him still can.. but if go to his family, i will be condemned.. wahhaha.. i know wat you mean.. but i too scared to take the risk.. coz very stressful one.. even his 12year old female cousin can run the mum's kitchen on her own leh.. *shame on me* they got high expectation of food.. think quite typical of peranakans.. =p</font>

xfiles_wolvie

angeldust-wahpiang...kill and makan..whose going to pluck out the feathers? hehehe..wah u tam xim leh..indian muslim..hahha...buy good shoe for groom...this reminds me..i nt yet go buy...i gt duck feet...slightly flat footed and watever shoes i wear..leather shoes, it tend to wear out quite fast..so far the longest lasting pair is hush puppies. i like their shoes..comfy and long lasting for my legs. now gt GSS better buy from them..def cheaper...70+ instead of 100+...no wonder...the name etronin looks familiar...read abt it b4 leh...hehe

princes-tink i only eaten the otak otak b4..hahaha..the rest tak tahu leh...i nt yet send "save the date" emails leh...heheh..actually come to think of it..duno who to send to...close relatives gt no email address. ahhaah

jo- heres my contribution

1) better to depend on ourselves than wait for hotel...
2) dun really understand abt the paint part..sori..
3) shoes should be new for pantang purposes...
4) to go ti-qin nothing much...depends on both mothers...see if bride mother said must get a matchmaker or no ned...must do this or tat anot..ti-qin is 1 thing..GDL is another. normally ti-qin is the part where all will discuss on the GDL...
5) cant help on fengshui master..
6) furnitures and appliances i gt some contacts..when u ned then i PM u..

the PS we not yet go..7th july. will update all abt it..getting fatter every minute...me stil eating tidbits now..sigh..hehe

vanessa-oic...wah..built in oven..u gog to make alot of cakes in future for ur hubby? hehe..just kaypohing..

pandalic-wah "teochew nang, kah ki nang," hehhe....ya lor..very interesting...like some martial artrs skill and ea will get their own disciple...hehe..then have a annual competition...hehehe.. me talking nonsense..hehe..

jingles-haha okok...abt the 4men...agree with the peng wei.....hahaha

Hmmm seems like a lot of teochew hubbies for u ladies...hehe

yuki31

Da Man - haha me same case leh ....less than 2 weeks to PS and i had juz put on abt 2kg .....wow c weight upset liao ... keep snacking n having late dinner ...haha

jingles, pandalic - my cooking oso not too good ..i only dare to cook for my FH n myself ...haha scare other ppl taste scally kana condemm ...haha but i like to make pie n cakes but dun like the cleaup part..haha..stopped some time ago liao ...

angeldust

panda - ha ha ha orh.. i jsut suggest mah.. otherwise ask the family to COOK lah.. then sure noone complain abt the caterer. ke ke ek ek ek..

vaax

oh i love cooking!! That's why i insisted on having a built in oven. I bought jamie oliver's and nigella's book to cook. The dishes are really simple and delicious. I scored points with my future-in-laws there! Haha... the receipes in there use the oven quite a bit so i needed the oven. i'm not so good with baking cakes but make pies, roasting chicken etc ok lah. And i know ariston is the best oven for cooking
I ate a huge slice of Devil's choc fudge cake from Cedele just now
very guilty now... but it's simply irresitable!!
Oh, on Sunday my church pastor said something really funny that I'll share with you, he said the wife we need to follow the husband's lead and the husbands need to swallow whatever the wife cooks!!
My love nest is at Laguna Park, facing East coast! Will I be seeing you a lot panda? Haha..

xfiles_wolvie

yuki-ya lor...work causes me to have late dinner also..then thinking of eating veg only and no carbo...but difficult. trying to maintain "No carbs after 6pm" but difficult ..unless from now on, no rice or noodle for me after 6pm...but eat with parents difficult...they will say eat more rice less tidbits...sigh..herhe

vanessa-agree on jamie oliver..he can be the western Fang Tai. heheh. i like to watch him cook also leh..interesting...unlike martin yen...martin yen maybe US fang tai..oliver is UK fang tai...hehe..

starris

Hi Jmon, what happened? Don't be angry lah...not so good to quarrel esp newlyweds leh. I used to be very bad tempered (my parents also cun tahan me) but evensince I stayed with my hubby, I mellowed a lot, though occasionally still throw tantrums. Sometimes husband and wife must give and take, since it takes alot of fate to become one. Cool down ok.

Hi Gals, central will be good. At least more pple can join mah. Let's make it a weekend lunch?

Hi Antonia, dun think I'm your multiply contact leh. can you invite me and share your ad pics with me?

lilic

<font color="0077aa">humpff, just back from fire drill.. shagged!!!

angel, kidding only lar.. i know where you coming from.. kekeke..

vanessa, not sure if i will be near you.. my lovenest will be nearer to bayshore.. but now looking for a rental prob nearer to frankel or marine parade. =)

kekeke, you must be very homely.. i dun like cooking unless its necessary.. =P</font>

angeldust

daman - i missed ur post. roti prata not indian muslim food then i dunno liao.. ha ha ha ha ha ya lah the chicken wasted mah.. then what u wanna do.. KEEP AS A PET meh?? ha ha ha ha ha yeps best buy now but my hubby said... still so LONG dun need buy so EARLY lah..

panda - ke ke ke ek :p

xfiles_wolvie

angeldust-i tink roti prata is muslim food cos indian gt naan and chapati as well. their own version....of cos cant keep as pet..they will live in fear of duno when will be killed and served on the table..

yuki31

OL - ur BS is which 1 ah? really y make the bride cry? dun think too much ....stay postive else will spoil ur mood ... so far how they treat u? ok everything?

xfiles_wolvie

angeldust-yyayay..worry till death...hehe

OL-relax...getting pissed off no use...must ensure they dun treat u the same as that bride....me areadi nt that happy with BS tat gt to pay makeup for next day if raining during PS. hmmm...and also change from MTM to OTR, nothing to get from that. and also initially gt free ROM package...bt we decided to put ROM on the same day as AD, but they said then no more ROM package..wah kow..that means 1 makeup from there gone. cant bring over or anything or exchange.

chillipadi25

OL - hur scary leh! who is ur BS?? dare to make a bride cry on her AD :s:s

jingles/panda/yuki - kekeke try lar...must learn some special skills...dont forget the way to keep a man is via his stomach
so no harm putting some effort to learn

daman - yeah lar...parents as big as the sky....watever they say are the gospel truth and millatary instruction..keke

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">panda,
U &amp; fiance are most welcome to drop by my grandma's place when she has her cooking sprees.
She loves guests! Somemore you new home will be in the east, very convinient. keke. One sister gets one specialty recipe, thats cool! Wah, can imagine the day where all the sisters gather. Yummy!

jingles,
Wah, u very capable leh, do desserts for FH. =) I think my hubby will be over the moon if i fry an egg for him. haha. But i should try cooking hor, i rem i enjoyed my home econs lessons last time leh. Hmm. :p

angel,
I tried chili padi's before, food was good but pricey. =) My family loyal supporters of Angeli's. Decided to go for them for my church wedding. Yay. =)</font>

clouds_54

Hi OL - It's me looking for AD PGs. Thanks for the contacts! Hv checked out Jon keng but abit pricey though. We only hv a budget of $1k :p coz we overspent on other stuffs already. Hv met a number and it's decision time. Haha....

Hey Princess - you going for Angeli's? Is it bcoz they are famous for peranakan food? Am thinking of Kriston. Seems like long-timer in the market. Hv you heard of Purple Sage?

chillipadi25

elven - hey i also home econ last time leh
took it for O level subject that is why i have the interest of cooking lor
so interesting still remember the crazy times when we have to rush for time and spin out dishes within certain time

chillipadi25

clouds - kekeke sorry just kpo hur - although ur qns is not directed to me but yes i have heard of purple sage. One of my galfriends used to work there and their service/food quality is good leh!

clouds_54

pai sey, missed out the post that OL wrote.

Hey OL - Don't fret. Sometimes, it may be the different expectations that each individual bride has. If things happen on actual day, it's very likely to be the MUA liao, as gowns shld hv been ok before that. Hv you had your trial MU?

clouds_54

Hi Jingles!

Heee... thanks for your feedback. Their presentation looks very pro lor, include deco and setup.... attended a church wedding 2 weeks back and the reception was done by them. Find it good actually, but hv to chk their prices. Hoping to find out more if anyone ever used them too.

vvn

can i ask what time and where is the wine tasting? i should be free on fridays, but i work in ulu changi so not sure if by the time i come out your gathering ended or not?

i will ask my FH and see if he's free to join too.

let u all know soon.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">princess, thats a deal! hey, think i am using angeli's too... i used them for various biz functions.. only one word - GREAT!!!

jingles - honestly, i really dun like cooking.. and i quite bo-chap.. if a man strays, he strays.. food or no food.. my theory is both parties must be committed in a relationship.. =)

clouds - purple sage is good too.. and they tie up with pine gardens for pastry and cakes.. but coz i used to angeli, likely to stick with angeli.. =P

princess/clouds - i going to see helan again next week.. overhaul of my EG i think.. wahhahaha</font>