(2006) Brides of year 2006

Hello Girls

Wddg over oredi! 2 major hiccups!

1) The wddg dinner 1st entrance, as we were walking up the stairs to the stage, I tripped on my WG. Luckily didn't bing-bong-biang tumble down the stairs, merely paused and bent down a little to sort out that gargantuan mess of a dress.

2) We didn't rehearse with the emcees (my good friend and her bf) as I was very tired oredi. Still doing some liaising and planning and editing on the night before AD, thus I just emailed them some standard speeches. In the end her bf got Mr LIpstar and my surnames all wrong.
He said MY parents marry off their SON Adrian X and HIS parents marry off their DAUGHTER Keryn Y. Dunno how they got it all wrong, cos all invitation cards got the chinese names, including mr lipstar and my chinese names and surnames and our parents' surnames.
I was like "Sh!t!" I was so worried my Dad will be unhappy...

But we didn't let the emcees know they got it wrong. Don't want them to feel bad.

Now on to happy things.
I love my hotel - MERITUS MANDARIN.
kao_kiss.gif

The 1st march in, both Mr Lipstar and I were delightfully surprised. The hotel pp had given the guests along the aisle rose petals, and dunno from where got lots of bubbles and those party popping stuff! After that, I asked Mr Lipstar if those welcoming stuff were his idea. He said no, it was the hotel's idea.

Then my hotel gave

1) free flow of beer
2) 2 nite's stay for us
3) 2 mornings of complimentary American breakfast delivered to our suite
4) 1 nite's stay for helpers
5) $50 of room service voucher. On the 1st nite, we ordered club sandwich oredi $20 -_- .2nd nite ordered the famous chicken rice another $20.

I DON'T MISS the wddg prep at all! But I miss the hotel stay and the room service tremendously.
365045.gif

On the 1st morning, as we were having the brekfast in the luxury of our suite, I was telling Mr Lipstar "Wow, so this is how the rich and famous live." Orchard Rd at our doorsteps, dun need to wash up after eating. Come back from shopping hungry, order room service. Shiok man!
365046.gif

hi ppl. it has been a hectic 3 days for us. we decided to cancel our reservation at chef chan as we were not happy with the service that we were getting from them. alot of unhappiness from the parents as well.

we checked out pan pac and will most likely have our dinner there instead on the 8th.

Now on to Kelvin. That guy is a joker man! He also helped my family do things. He helped my Dad tie a tie, and helped him pin the corsage to his jacket. And he became our time-keeper!
He was more hardworking than my friends. He printed out the schedule and brought it along and reminded my Dad to leave when it was time.

At night, with his help, the photo-taking of 51 tables ended by 10.30pm! He is a very funny guy. All the guests like him and praised that he is a humourous guy.
365054.gif

Now on to my lousy BS. My MTM gowns were not fitting at all. On my final fitting on Tue, after altering an inch, I still find the WG top part loose, but my coordinator kept insisting that it is ok. At nite, I tried it on at my place. After walking for a few steps, the WG slipped a little and gaped.
kao_angry.gif
I had to get my Mum to alter for me.
365057.gif

Even then, the waist part was also loose. During the church wddg, the hanging thread (the piece of thin cloth on all dresses to hook onto the hanger) slipped out of view, cos the back of my gown was transparent one. My friends came to tell me, and when they touched my gown, they said "Wah! So loose!"

Wow! Now as I am looking at my hotel banquet contract, we still have a memorable dining experience at Top of the M worth $150!
365064.gif

Now onto my operation. I had a day op yesterday. It started at 1.45. I went under GA - General Anaesthetics. I woke up at 3.45pm. I felt totally ok. I still joked to Mr Lipstar that I can juggle
365065.gif
cos I was singing the circus song.

Arranged for my bro to come and fetch me back, cos Mr lipstar's sis had a similar op a mth ago. She said that the effects of the GA are not too nice, better to hv a car than to take a cab back. Moreover Thomson Medical clinic doesn't have a ready stream of cabs.

My bro came at 6pm. I stood up, walked to the lift and when we were waiting for the lift, the after effects of the GA hit me with a WHAM! I felt so giddy and nauseous. My vision became blur. I had no energy at all. I couldn't stand properly. I felt so terribly horrible. Mr Lipstar had to hold onto me tight, if not I would have fainted.

I reached home at 7+. As long as I could sit or stand, I felt better.

Any of you gals know where to buy those beads used to do those simple handicraft neckless?? i wanna make use of the beads for my AP box
I think nowadays theres lesser and lesser handicraft shops around le

magical, you not scared that this super close friend see your post in the forum talking about her? hehe One of my hb's good friends postponed his flight just to make it for our wedding too.

selina, I think next time u don't have to attend her wedding if she isn't married yet.

Gintonic, don't know why such people exist, so hurting... but at least you saw through their true colours which is a good thing in some ways.

<font color="ff0000">angeldust,
Wah, 6 laps already very impressive! *claps* Agree abt the 'traffic jam' thing, very sian to swim halfway then stop becos' some kid is swimming across the middle. But no choice lor. Hee.

Daman,
Okie okie, tok to u in RTP thread.

cLOuDs,
Okie, i go read your mail later.
Looking fwd to seeing u in church next time after u move in. Hee

pandalic,
I also like to take off my shoes when im in the ofc, &amp; when im driving! I always sit cross-legged in the ofc, abit unsightly lah, but i dun care, im in a all-female working envr. Haha</font>

Pan-Not the Tang&amp;Co that level, think should be the one at B2 lo. Can't remember. Hee..
Paradox can dye back to black, at additional cost??

Clouds, me also sick cat, with some asthma background. Dunno why lei.. exercise regularly still can fall sick. Chiam..

elven - 6 is very little leh.. i used to be able to swim 16 to 20.. haiyo.. drop standard liao.. but i know if i can do 6 oredi very gd given that i beri long never swim liao.

panda - i also take out shoe in opic... HA HA HA HA HA

Jo - if i not salah its 80 bucks to dye it black.

hi hi dwarfs..
nice to hear from u..how's things at ur side? have u chose ur gowns? care to share more with us? thks..thks..ya, i m really looking forward to see my baby this Oct..hopefully baby can also come out exactly on our 1st Wedding Anniversary this 2 Oct 2006..haha..it's indeed a diff feeling aft u have the seed of ur love inside u..heehee..i guess the next gathering will probably be in May ba..do hope to see u then..cheers~

hi hi shimei..
wow..i guess u check with ur mum or ur future hubby ba..coz some of the things cannot be saved one..if must spend for the wedding..then will have to buy lor..i guess ur mum is concern abt u ba..that’s why she call to see where u r lor..talk to her nicely..i m sure she will understand one lor..maybe wait till u r ready to buy the costume jewellery then we go over there again with the rest ba..see how it goes then..cheers~

hi hi designfreak..
hmm..i think most imptly is to get a place u both are satisfy with the service level as well as ambience lor..actually did u check out Grand Shanghai as well? Seems to be a nice place with nice ambience as well..i heard quite gd reviews abt the place there..since u r splitting the customary &amp; dinner, surely u both will find more time &amp; also not that rush ba..then u both will get more time to freshen up..hope u manage to get the dinner venue settled..cheers~

Any swimming to intro for swimming at nite lo?
Most of the pool, evening time will be pack with swimmers, aqua classes, kids &amp; adult swimming classes.

I like to swim when few pple ard one.. so i normally swim in afternoon, and now with the swimming strip marks on my back.. sob sob..

NT, yaa.. i very afraid of "ma fan". prefer everything simple and chop chop.

Ivy, comeon, I din win the draw too.. Your first fitting right? your gown looks flowy and classy.. Is that your wedding shoe? Nice.. I will be going down to my BS to start designing for my teadress and hubby's suit.

thks for yr advise. the worst part is she got the cheek to sms me to understand her situation that this is the only time she &amp; her bf can spend time together. what is that? don't tell me they can't go holiday some other time? i plan to get married once in my lifetime only. so? just shows what a friend she is. i know this only after 14 years. sigh.....

Hi Selina
I can understand your agony as I am facing the same situation as you. Really can't tolerate some lame excuses. I'm so afraid of seeing my friends' messages or phonecalls these days, really terrified that they will turn down the invitation. Now wondering how many "no shows" on that day. I havent sent out my cards, intend to do so by this week. Boo me!

Hi magical
Have you collected your key from HDB?

blur

the shoes will the only thing tt went through ROM, PS and AD, other than my hubby and myself. It's the only momento that we will have.

When's your appt with DC?

hi Ash lady
so you also dun have ti qing? your mum dun mind? my mum like not so happy..
want to act blur but just can't, cos they have not meet each other at all yet. Mean that wedding dinner then 1st time meet?? nightmare

hi tsukushi!
not worried la.. if she sees it then so be it loh, the truth is i am upset about it ma..anyway i'm not upset coz she;n not coming, i'm upset coz this sort of behavior is quite irresponsible.. m anyway she doesnt come in here 1 la..

hi greekgal!
i'm collectign them this friday! yayy... =D
but will only be able to open door on saturday late afternoon coz PILs wan to do some throw rice n salt thingy n hubby finishes work at 4 on sat only..

hi gintonic, selina n nancy!
yeah.. so i suppose what we can do is just skip these ppl n move on to those who are true people loh.. after all, for every 1 person like that, there may be 10 more that go all out just to help you..

Selina, next time just don't attend her wedding loh. LOL

We won't know who will fly aeroplane the last min, but if it happens just be glad to see another true colour. No point distressing over such people lah, got so many things to stress over already.

Magical,
I heard that open door must be done in the morning before noon. They say it's not 'auspicious' to open door when the sun is setting, cos a bit 'yin' already.

i've learnt 1 thing fr my hubby during our wedding preps...dat is pple who attend our wedding r those who truly wish us wif blessings!!

just to check the angpow rate

AP need to give at both place right??
so for brothers, my HB mum will give 28 then sis give 18
then sis my mum will give 28 then give 18 to bro

is this ok or not too much??

tsukushi,
oh no! really ah? hm...but makes sense ley...aiyo..then how?
can open door without my hubby? i mean, will it mean bad luck or anything?

I agree that at this point u really see who r the ones that will stick with u thru thick n thin...i've got friends flying in fr Australia just for few days to attend n i'm so happy they r willing to do tt just to b here...
as for those who don't seem too sincere, i guess they dun see it as important..remember tt we r so caught up in it n all excited but to them it may just b a really expensive dinner at a nice hotel....some ppl think differently lor..
BUT most important thing is to make this occasion one a HAPPY one for urself! Its UR BIG DAY! its not worth it thinking over n over bout the bad stuff...

finally settled my seating plan todae..meeting up d AV tech 2ml to test out all d songs + montage.

Hey gals,time flies so fast..and all of us b walking down d aisle in few wks time. glad to hv noe all of u. hope we will still keep in touch after our AD. will share my AD video n experiences after my AD.

Hi Ivy,

nice gown
glad for u that it turned out the day u like!

I chose my gown already but still thinking whether the other one which I was choosing between might be better :P

I saw this pair of peep toe shoes with the edge lined with crystals in a few bridal magazine.. it is a MTM by leap'in lizard &amp; it cost >$200 to made.. am not too sure if i should spend that kind of money... still hunting around for something similar BUT cheaper

hi Junebride,
They'll meet during the food tasting loh. But my FIL like dunno how to ti qing &amp; they are the not so traditional type. Maybe i'll get my FH to ask my mum what she wants loh...haiz. Hope that'll be enough for her though. :P

Lipstar,

So glad for you that most of the things went well..heheh, even glader when u say Kelvin is good! hahah *Thinking of coming up with a tv program call "Ah Jean Hao Jie Shao" * hahha!

Now my turn to have headache, alot of people now call up and say cannot make it! 1001 excuses. U name it, I have it! One even told me " u better pray hard it will not rain on sat, else I will not be attending cos I dun wanna get drenched!" Gals, CAN YOU BELIEVE IT!!!

Anyway, went to ROm to get my cert for my solemnisation on sat, and also collected my gown. Very satisfied with my BS cos they really do a good job! Think must bao an Ang Bao for my coordinator after the wedding, cos she really very gd!

Lipstar, dun forget to share ur pics when ready. Think we must arrange for another "post wedding" gathering after Hazel and mine wedding.

And where is PINKBUNNY! Say want to arrange manjong before my wedding??

pandalic, haha ya lor ....but i go sentosa i saw those gals in bikini so nice no tummy ....haha.

angeldust, haha maybe ....but it attracted u to the swimming pool instead ...keke :P
so fair n square both can "bio" ....keke :P
me sometime join my FH in "bioing" gals then he join me in "bioing" guys ....haha

magical, or choose Sunday when everyone is free? I'm not sure whether can do without ur hubby or not.

Hey girls, did you do 'an chuan'? What did you do for it?

tsukushi, yes i b having AN CHUANG. It will be on fri(CHU YI) as my new bed is only in today noon 27/4. The AN CHUANG date is chosen by MIL. She will just push the bed into the rite position...lay our new bedsheets + light up the table lamps + leave those dried fruits wif a plate on d bed till our AD. after the AN CHUANG, my hubby will sleep on d floor till our AD.

Hi Gintonic,

Yes. do share with us your AD video and experience.

Hi Magical,

I think it is best to have your hubby to open the door. understand that the open door is best to be done with all the owners.

gd mrg ladies,

yuki - yeps.. can "bio" but not "lust" can liao.. HA HA HA HA HA..

jo - hmm.. cant help leh.. if wanna swim at nite.. maybe go to a friend's condo?? private so less pple??

<font color="0077aa">hehehe.. yuki, guess we were all once like that.. wahhaha.. ribbons, i talking abt those supermodel category ones.. thats why i said with those exception, everyone has a tummy... so doesnt matter.. even if a bride is chubby or fat bride, i am sure she will glow on her special day..

diamond, guess its really up to individual whether you wanna spend the kind of money or not.. my theory is "you like it, can afford it then get it".. so that i wun regret when i look back.. kekeke

angel, you giving me idea.. next time i rent out swimming pool to ppl interested to swim at night.. each entry S$5.. hows that? whahhaha.. then for you, FOC lar.. =p</font>

<font color="0000ff">Tiglet</font>

thank you~! yar, finally understand how we girls can be very fickle-minded...

Hope you will be pleased with your final decision~!

<font color="0000ff">blur</font>

Dun worry lar. I believe you will be in the safe hands of Jessica. She has a reputation to preserve right?

365375.gif
"Ah Jean Hao Jie Shao?" -_-

Yah! Sure will share photos!

I am very satisfied with the video express of the daytime events shown during the banquet.
365376.gif

Speaking of which, how did you find out about Kelvin one ah?

Jean ah Jean: pinkbunny went to Japan mah with her boss and boss' wife, she should be back yesterday.

Gin,
I just took a look at the calendar. Tomorrow is a good day for AC! But still, I don't know what's the significance of AC...

Nancy,
Now you remind me... I remember somewhere saying that the owners must be present and be the first to step in or something like that.

What are the AP rates you girls will be giving?

Speaking of last minute excuses, Mr Lipstar and I also got quite a few, but none as ridiculous as your "u better hope it won't rain, dun want to get drenched -_-" friend.

Mr Lipstar got more friends last minute didn't turn up. But I notice this month really got A LOT of pp go overseas. Most of my guests' reasons are that they went overseas. A few fell sick. My mum's colleague said he is not going bcos got no clothes to wear. -_-

In fact, a few days leading up to the wedding, every time got sms, can't help but have the dreaded feeling of "Who cannot make it yet again?"

<font color="0077aa">angel, then after that we go cheesecake cafe??? *throwing bait at you* wahahhaha

jo, honestly i dun care.. he can see for all he wants.. i am pretty confident of myself.. wahhahah.. anyway, i think if a guy is only attracted to physical beauty, he should be dumped asap.. wahhahahaha</font>

starris i think they should be open on weekends
Bliss collection is at pagoda street opposite people's park complex

Gals, can i check with you how are the wordings on your invitation card? My HB only have a elder sister and they put on the invitation card "only son" ...hmmm is that correct? cos my in-laws say that they should put "youngest son" or "younger son" cos this shows got elder sister....how ar??? which is correct?