(2006) Brides of year 2006

yo christine,

u r welcome!
gd luck

hiya angeldust!!
9th Dec again~ seems like almost everyone here had 9th as their good date?
how's your preparation going?

Jesmine~ wow 50 tables~ lots of hotels will wanna have you la.. hehe you have no prob having those grand BR.. *envy* i only have 25... so many hotels dun wan me

have you checked when them if the date is taken? better act fast, since Ritz and Shang only 1 BR..

jesmine - ritz is taken already... shang should still be available... btw, welcome... me also wanted to be a 9th dec 06 bride... but now, changing coz hotel not available... =)

purplenic - shang got more than 1 ballroom lah...

angeldust - hihi... =)

Hi purplenic and Lilic,

i have spoken to the wedding coordinators at Ritz, Shang and Hyatt. Apparently, Ritz and Hyatt have tentative booking so prob if i can confirm that i really want then they will check with the couple lo.

wat?? me pissed liao... called ritz and they told me its taken... din tell me it was tentative booking... sob sob...

well, jesmine.. good for you then... all the best then.. hahaha... personal preference - shang and ritz...

purplenic - me sad... i love the suite at ritz... sob... now no chance... if the lady had not told my FH that it is taken, we would have visited them and chance that my FH will like it... sigh.. now he set his sight on the other... sian liao...

Lilic, do you want the no. of the coordinator which i spoke to at Ritz? Actually most prob we will not be taking Ritz since my FH's uncle held his wedding there last year so abit sianz to repeat the same venue cos the guests are the same...

Purplenic... i have blocked off the date on the 9th Dec at Shang... will be discussing with his family again. Most prob will be fix on this but then the deposit is quite a subtantial amt. Unlike Hyatt only need 2k... btw, anyone interested in Hyatt? Got a friend's friend who working as a wedding coordinator there... She is friendly...

hahaha *piss piss* lilic, fight with Jesmine la.. hahah you call them again loh.. tell them you wanna confirm :P

dun sad la..actually Fullerton also nice ma... at most as your hubby bring you to Ritz for your anniversary loh keke

Lilic, the suite at Ritz is really nice. We been there and it is a v large room and we also got the helper room opp us... so basically the whole family was there and then not to mention that there are also refreshments provided... we remembered sitting by the windows and eating the choco cakes with lots of strawberries.

So which hotel is ur FH eyeing now?

hey Jesmine~ my fren also working there
who's your fren fren har?? sakali i also know one hehehe K*****??

Lilic, then you got chance already loh
maybe you call them again to confirm? and bring your hubby along? i'm sure if you tell him you prefer there, he's willing to reconsider?

hahaha cheer her up ma.. very kelian one leh.. kena con
if it's me will also b very disappointed
really not easy to find a venue you like..

A** means not the same liao keke mine is K*** one
but it's a small world huh?? you fren never buzz you to take hyatt?? aiyo.. mine did man!! say until like the sky like tat hahaha but in the end also din sign with her :P

hey gals - i dun want to call them liao.. since they not keen to do my biz the first place... also hor - i think for ritz you gotta pay 80% of the banquet costs one mth b4 your AD...

jesmine - shang is good.. just attended one last night.. food was good... as for the other, i think you can dun try lah.. hahaha

purplenic - you getting naughty huh? din tease you abt marriott now you do this to me?

aiyo dun talk to me abt Marriot man!!
u know the other day the coord called again.. and arrange appointment to discuss the package? she totally forgot she has already met up with me!! I'm also pist off with them.. so insincere

aiyo where got naughty, i trying to cheer you up leh..

i noticed in the table posted in AD in 2006 that our birthday only 1 day difference leh!! hehe me on 21st Sept

Lilic, u attended a wedding at the island ballroom last night? I was there yesterday and i went to see the ballroom... nice. Tower ballroom just renovated and Island will be reno in the lunar 7th month next year.

Purplenic, known my friend for over 10 years liao so she is not pushy abt that. I went to Hyatt and quite like the decor as in the colour of ballroom and so on but then the ceiling abit low hor and plus got pillars but then if abt 50 tables, think should be ok. The other place highly recommended by relatives is Regent but only 45 tables. Sheraton for their food but then hotel old and the ballroom is L-shaped.

really? ok.. confirmed you cannot take them... hahha.. else, they prob think that your AD is this year... hahahah

but you younger right? me old old... hahhaa

lilic, same la.. same year
hehehe
dun worry, it's normal to get married at this age already :P *zi wo an wei* hahaha

Jesmine, i feel that Sheraton's BR okie la.. but got to overcome the L shape thing loh..
I would feel that Intercon's BR looks more worn

I brought my frens to Sheraton then to Hyatt, all of them say Sheraton better leh.. maybe like wat you said, Hyatt's ceiling is so low
abit disappointing hor... if not Hyatt would b a better choice

hi jesmine and angeldust...

welcome...!!

recently i've stepped back as a silent-reader liao... cos i'm super slow in my work and if i continue at this rate, i scared kenna kick out of new job... (Plea for prayer from any sis-in-Christ)

gals - think hyatt not ideal.. low ceiling is bad for big dinner.. the noise gets "bounced back" and intensified the noise level so the whole BR may sound like pasar malam... thats why bigger BR are usually quite tall...

i think regent is good but in your case jesmine, cannot lah... coz regent no private recep area... then you got so many guests...

i think sheraton is ok.. the last i heard, they renovating BR by next dec.. =)

hee, i like intercon for "intimacy" feel... and the recep area...

seems like we all have been shortlisting the same hotels leh...

jesmine - hee, i tot my wedding was big.. but yours is so much bigger.... mainly you and FH frens or parents'? purplenic and i are born in 1978.. you? FH and i looking at Fullerton now... waiting for the wedding show before we confirm anything...

purplenic - maybe we have met in the hospital after we are out from our mum's womb... hahaha

EL: hahaha! very shocking right! all my friends were shocked when I invited them to our ROM celebration! some not very close ones even asked me if it was a shot-gun marriage! my hubby is 1 cycle older den me which explains why we tied the knot so early. yah, i've always wanted to marry young and be a young mummy! hohoho! but don't want alot of kids lah...2 is my max. lols.

yah loh..so many things to do, was quite a hassle but everything rounded off nicely.

my lovenest is located in Jln Membina, just opposite Tiong Bahru Plaza. hehee.

marilyn: yah...i know nowadays ROM at my kinda age will only lead ppl thinking off track and most ppl do not want to be tied down at my age. personally, i feel there isn't really much difference being in the relationship and tying the knot. instead, i feel that after ROM, it brought our relationship to a higher level where both of us know that we are meant for each other and will always be there for each other.

anyway, my hubby's a very liberal guy plus the age difference, he have the mentality that he really needs to take good care of me and this is when the notty Janna climbs over his head and try to bully him! wahahaha!

frankly, i feel really proud to be a Mrs (Lee) at my age thou the initial stage, was irritated by ppl who those mine was a shot-gun marriage only till 8-9mths later, my tummy is still flat that convinced them! haaha!

financial wise is doing fine. as i failed my biz stats thrice during poly, i got removed from course and thus, i started working. of cos with a stupid O level cert, it's getting me nowhere. thus, currently workin as a recep cum customer svc cum admin! minimial salary doing maximum work! haha! haiz. all i'm waiting for now is to try to get my lic asap n work as a car sales consultant which interests me besides SIA air-stewardess which is my ambition since young. too bad, didnt get to complete my diploma. boo~

my dad's very traditional n particular abt this kinda ceremony and so is my hubby's aunties they all..that's y so many things! luckily it's all over now man! heheehe

ivy, dun fret.. learn to rest in the Lord... worries and anxiety are not of God. Trust that He is in control.. pray for wisdom and strength... =) will keep you in prayers...

huh? Sheraton having reno next Dec?? sure anot? din hear from them
wonder if it will affect my date
i asked them the other time they say no plans leh... actually i'm quite worried over these kind of stuff.. esp after the MM incident?

hey, wat abt conrad? i quite like their BR.. very comfortable feeling

i do agree with lilic on the low ceiling issue, dun make the place look grand enough.. esp when you have so many tables...quite odd?

hey lilic, dun think so qiao la..me at ulu toa payoh hospital leh.. i think tat time popular place is KK??

purplenic - relax i mean the lady we spoke to told us that they will be doing some renovation (dunno when) but will complete by dec then.. but she told us that when we asked her... coz FH particular abt the sound system... went to the wedding show.. sound system broke down...

conrad taken on 9 dec too... pan pac also taken i think

hahah.. me at alexandra hospital... =)

Hi All May '06 Brides,

I a newbie in this thread. Would like to be part of it and learn some wedding tips from you gals. My AD will be either 5th May or 11th May '06, depending on the negotiation with our hotel. The hotel in question is Hilton. Notice that most of you have ur ADs on the weekends..*sob* Im too poor, only can afford weekdays...And as for BS, very keen on Sophia's Wedding Collection. Any other recommendations for BS?

Yah, i heard that 9th Dec is auspicious date.

Hi there Ivy...

Lilic,
i am born in 1981. Most of the ppl we are inviting are from my FH's side. Cos his family is in the motor trade industry.

Shucks..just realise that 11th of May falls on the eve of a public holiday...now got no choice but to hold it on a weekend already. (For those who didnt know, 12th May 2006 is Vesak Day)

Janna, does this mean u are also typing all this at work? Or are u like marnie on leave today? im taking intermintent breaks at work by coming into this thread.hehehe notty me strikes again!

well, im not sure why would pple think of your marriage as a short gun, tat didnt came up my mind at all. Eh we each shared how we met our FH. Wana share with us ;)? no obligations babe.

WOW in customer service ah? ME TOO! I hate it..i hear screaming customers all the time
emotional distress! I cross me fingers for u on the license thingy! Oh i know your house is! My granny stays very near there
Its a very good location!

Hey can i ask, any of you going to make/buy wedding favors? I cant stand the chocolates the hotel is providing..its too common. but than again, i only budgeted $250 for about 300+ guests muahahahahaha.

wow, both of you so young.. make me feel so old.. sigh, by then next yr 28 liaoz... *sob*
makeup also super thick liaoz

anyone know how to create the table TinTin did? think she not free la.. today never come in..

EL: wahahaha! yes! i'm typing all these at work! lols!

my FH owns an educational company which provides enrichment lessons for pri/sec sch. When I was still studying during my poly days, my fren recommended me to him to work as one of his trainers in sch. boy i tell u! our first impression of each other was not very good. I felt he looked like a boring person back then n he disliked my dressing at then. He even "told me off" in front of some other trainers that I should dress "older" and I was like DUHZ!!! I was wearing office wear at then, pink top with black pants!! what more he expect man! I was so infuriated with him that time! Nobody has ever told me off lydat! But he did called me up to apologize after the lesson ended and I was like...pretending lah, saying "oh nvm lah" when in actual fact, I was so angry n fed up with him. wahahaha!

At that point of time, i was in our mutual friend's car and I was complaining to him like hell..saying that he was very mean etc..haha. thinking back, i find it really funny

i'm those kinda who forgive n forget easily..very nice one. hahaa. den one fine day after lesson, he asked me to go lunch together. he aso asked me to call our mutual fren along lah. as our mutual fren was on his way n we arrived earlier after the lesson, we lunched together first n conversations took place. well, find hima really down to earth and sincere person.

subsequently, we went out for drinks n meals etc..den i wanted to let my parents cross examine him! wahahaha! asked him home for mj! they hit it off! he grew to love me n my family. the rest is of course, history! hahaha!

the customers i meet aren't really screaming ones. i'm workin in the high end watch industry...so usually meeting snobbish customers! on the lines are usually agents..so quite okie.

my lic thingy is a damn big prob! i've been taking my practicals lessons n they are progressing really well! but!!!! i've been failing my FTT! I failed 2 times liao! i dun udnerstand why somemore...i know how to do lehh. *pulls hair* my next test date is on 1st July! wish me luck man!

yah, it's a really good location! heh.

besides choco, they dun offer any others? i'm a bride to be with Plaza Parkroyal..i love their chopsticks they have..but they say now no more liao. so upsetting. i duno what else to choose too.

btw, i got really upset just now when i called my banquet in charge to fix an appointment to amend some of my contract details, only to find out that, SHE HAS LEFT THE ORGANISATION! i was so shocked. i met her in april and now it's may and she's gone! w/o informing me somemore! another lady taking over her, Fiona, dun sound too keen to meet up to discuss the details. sian.

EL: Saw this. It's within your budget. You may want to consider. For Kitkats (70 cents each - min 96 pcs), Standard bas (50 cents each - min 240 pcs), miniature (30 cents - min 350 pcs)

288701.jpg

Hey Jana, thanks for sharing! very interesting and dramatic your love story is!
Like those serial shows we watch; loggerheads become lovers

I find it intruiging that all of us have a different set of story to tell; and how we all met our partners in a different way. So ladies, don't say your love stories are boring or common, i really think each of our background is one of the kind and unique. Whoa, that's philisophical EL for you!

Hey, m&M, i love those chocolate designs. You have the website or contact number?? Me interested.
U getting them for your wedding as well? Chocolate is kit kat ah? I am guessing we can choose our design 90cents IS within me budget :P