(2006) Brides of year 2006

I recently attended a wedding lunch at Marriot. Personally, the dishes were all quite ok, except the shark's fin and dessert. My fren chose the red bean cream with tang yuan. I think the tang yuan wasn't very well done. Not soft and chewy, the outer layer can taste flour and the filling is not smooth..sticky like not cooked yet. Checked with frens from other tables, all commented the dessert really disappointing.
As for the shark's fin, one suggestion, go for a simple one, maybe just crab meat and roe plus sharks fin. Dun opt for something fancy. Coz the one that we had,was filled with so many other ingredients such as bamboo pith, mushroom strips etc that we cannot taste the sharks fin.And taste is not very impressive either, I feel that its due to too many ingredients already.

Other than that, all other dishes were quite good, not salty and oily.

oh gosh..that really sounds like a stressful time for the ppl involved..
But i thought the MUA would settle all the make up plus accessories for her before she leaves? how come the bride had to decide for herself?

wow...the guest list thing must have freaked them out...at least the accesories n the photographer thing can be settled quietly, but imagine having to placate a whole table of upset guests...no easy job man...

well at least the wedding was nice...maybe they didn't have time to plan it all out well with the co-ordinator..

hm..my co-ordinator will be my colleague..n he's helped co-ordinate 6-7 weddings already( for his other friends), so i think he's quite experienced in this..n plus we're teachers, so more or less had to plan big events so have some practice there too lah..haha..

oh by the way, do u gals think it'll be a good idea to compile a list of things to do on AD n before for the bride, groom n helpers together? coz i'm the first one to get married in my group of friends, so i'm a total blur to this wedding planning thingy..
don't know how many helpers are needed, what are their possible duties, who should be in charge of AV stuff...etc

Hazel : Yeah...your pictures were the highlight of the day in the office for me. Cos' today, I was a screaming looney B#$#ch in the office.

My mom is ill and needed to get herself transferred from NUH to SGH and the ployclinic doc. made her travel all the way from Yishun to NUH. Don't know for what so I call the call-centre and start demanding for answers liao. Only when I threaten to sue them that someone called me back...*sigh* Aiyah....Anyways, all settled by 4.30pm today.

Think you should go to your house this Friday to see the flooring. Flooring very important leh...*yuppers*

M&M : Yah how's that interview? Did they call you back re. the working with the youths?

EL : Alamak...you MIA queen these days leh......Miss you lah..*sob *sob*

But glad to hear you're enjoying your new work! A happy worker is a happy person!

Turin : How did the interviews go earlier? Share share leh...

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD in 06</TD><TD>Hotel</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Studio PG</TD><TD>PS Date</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peggy Gan</TD><TD>3-Mar</TD><TD>HIPV</TD><TD>Fame</TD><TD>Fame(Gucci)</TD><TD>19-Sep-05</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby Squid</TD><TD>4-Mar</TD><TD>SAFRA Yishun</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>Everbliss(Jason)</TD><TD>7-Nov-05</TD><TD>Eric</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dawn</TD><TD>4-Mar</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>Whitelink </TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Godloved</TD><TD>4-Mar</TD><TD>Laguna NGCC</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>Everbliss(Leslie)</TD><TD>21-Nov-05</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chris Sng</TD><TD>5-Mar</TD><TD>HIPV</TD><TD>Wedding News</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>16-17/Nov/05</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>8-Mar</TD><TD>Marriott Hotel</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>Whitelink (Vincent)</TD><TD>19-Oct-05</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charsiew</TD><TD>18-Mar</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Photo Language(Ray)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Jerry</TD><TD>Captured Moments </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherlyn</TD><TD>18-Mar</TD><TD>Raffles Town Club</TD><TD>Paris de Brides</TD><TD>Paris(in house)</TD><TD>30-Nov-05</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jocester</TD><TD>24-Mar</TD><TD>Orchard</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>The Edge(Andrew)</TD><TD>16-Nov-05</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friends </TD></TR><TR><TD>Viv</TD><TD>25-Mar</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>NIL</TD><TD>NIL</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Suzanne</TD><TD>26-Mar</TD><TD>Shangri-La</TD><TD>J&amp;C</TD><TD>J&amp;C(Eric)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>RhemX</TD><TD>RhemX </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

How¡¦s everyone? Sorry for the long silence¡K I just came back from China business trip¡K had to miss the bridal show at Bridal Veil by MichelleHuiMin and their promo cuz the trip was extended last minute. Now have to work my charm on FH to convince him that they¡¦re good¡K

BTW, does anyone know of a good JP to recommend? How long in advance do we have to arrange for the JP?

Hi Chris
if your scroll up to earlier posts I had posted the venues where I bought my shoes

Hi Babysquid
FH and I smiled until our mouths ached...initial pics on phtograhper's pc our smiles were so fake haha
...though i'm only about 35kg but FH had to carry me for quite a few shoots indoor and outdoor and nearly dropped me onto the ubin rocks haha....at first not much conversation between us and photographer....at the end FH and him were chatting like brothers

Hi Ericia,

Hahah...ok..maybe I will share with you my experience after I went for my gown fitting..Skali I more fussy than you =p

magical, its best to compile a "TO DO" list &amp; to engage a close friend as coordinator. Cos u b very busy on that day. Your coordinator needs to take care almost everything...even the wine control during the banquet. As for the no of helpers needed...it depends on individuals. usually its gd to have Even Number of JIE MEIS &amp; BROTHERS for the bride &amp; groom. It will sound more auspicious!!

This thread is moving. Have gone MIA for a moment leh... :P

So hows everyone preparation? Still left 5mths plus to our AD leh... la la la....

Me have listed out what I have not done leh... Most of the important stuff is clear. Now left with those small small stuff which is really headache mann! :P

Hi Rachel,

By the way, if we want to hold our ROM outside, we do not need to be so kan cheong on the registration rite?

Quick update. I'll reply to the other posts later.

Yesterday supposed to have 2 interviews.
First at 2.30 at a job agency in Orchard followed by a company at 4.30 at Raffles Place. The agency has a few vacancies, but not the job scope that I want. So they will call me when suitable ones come along. Then I went shopping.

While I was shopping halfway, suddenly the second company called me and said the interview is cancelled. My reaction was
313855.gif
. There was a silence for about a second, while I try to decify what she meant. So I asked "Oh, you mean you have found someone already?" Then she said "yeah, unless you want to consider other positions."
313856.gif

So yesterday was fruitless.

Idyll: Aiyoh! Why so inefficient?? Poor Mum. Luckily the capable daughter managed to settle and get answers. Don't worry about the yelling. They inconvenienced your loved one.
313860.gif

prinzess, u got ur JP? or is it too kiasu to book now?

now starting to think abt the songs to use for the dinner haha..

anyone thinking of renting convertible or other vehicle other than merc? haha, crazy me trying to think of crazy ideas :P

bsProf, thot u down to 3? still not done? but when u planning to shoot ur PS? next year got 2 ghost month so pple usually avoid tt.. fyi..

hi purple,

most pple on msn lah.. so tt's why nobody say anything...

aiyo, i bought before the weddings and travel.. its useless.. ha ha ha ha i flipped thru Bliss and Female brides.. i damn chao kuan one.. i will go Times Bookstore to flip thru their open mags before i decide to buy. if nothing interesting or nothing i see i like. i dun buy..

hey maez, me also looking for car rental leh hehehe u wanna get convertible ah? u know where to rent? pls share ur info with me hor hehehehe

u fast go to songs liao ah? hahaha actually i sort of know wat songs i wanna use.. but should b outdated by my time hahaha

thanks angel
i was quite attracted to the cover..hehe lucky you tell me useless

eh.. i cannot msn la~!! kena block from web based and my colleagues deleted all their installation

EL,
wat's yr email addr? I went to one of the archive to find, but cant...so lazy to find again...

Marnie,
So, what's the reason for going to SGH? Its so far..Not as if their facilities &amp; dr r better....

HOME &amp; DECOR
I would call my designer on Thurs to chk if flooring is done....if not, go gai gai

halos...

purpleblur, our list is long, but i think some gals changed their AD.. eh, i may have to change mine also.. hahahaha... *sianz*

maez, in any case, i will take my PS during the 7th mth lor... hahahah.. i not pantang.. ask the rest, they know my pattern... hahahahha

hi purple,
im thinking abt convertible or beetle, but wun REALLY do anything yet cos its v early haha.. but i think shd be able to rent, if i do get any quotes then let u know :P

i got too many songs leh, tts y cant really decide.. heehee.. so will think n think n think somemore.. jialat, alot of white hair from all my thinking..

huh? proffy, y u changing? thought it was a blessing for you to have a dec date available for Fulleraton
wat happened? bring forward to the 7th mth means ur design will start very soon hehehe

maez~!!! i'm also thinking of getting beetle
but i heard that it's abit squeezy leh.. is it true that we can rent fron VW directly?

purpleblur.. long story.. anyway, instead of changing, will prob hold on 2 separate days.. hahaha... customary and church on 25 nov and dinner on 15 dec.. no lar, not changing to 7th mth lar.. hahahahah.. PS should be in 7th mth.. hahahaha... anyway, got update, i will tell you ok? *kekeke

beetle too small for your big gown lar.. unless you get the 2 seater and your hubby drives...

hey ger, 2 days would b good for you
not so rush.. huh? PS done in 7th mth? i thought you wanna do it same day? *confused*

hehe i not going for big gowns leh.. mine most likely going to b simple A-line...

Yo blurblur

Utopia's work quite ok...but I didn manage to speak to Travis. He was engaged with another customer when I went down the other day.
Happy shopping for your banquet venue ya

hi gers,

bsproffy bo bian one.. or else she prefer all in same day..

purple, simple A line suits most gers..but A line i prefer can can sewn on gown rather than separate cos the A line is slimmer and it will drape better... car - dunno much how abt hertz??

purpleblur, you make me blur also.. hahahah.. i mean if i take PS, PS will be during the 7th mth lar...

agree with angeldust, tried so many gowns liao.. those with can-can sew on, looks better than if you wear can-can separately.

Hazel : My mom works for SingTel and they don't cover medical expenses incurred at NUH. Only ones incurred at SGH so have to get my mom transferred lor. Besides, in terms of travel time, SGH is definitely much closer. Also closer to my office so if got problem, I can just pop by and see to it.

Lipstar : Aye...so sorry to hear about your "adventures" re. the interviews. But I always believe good things to those who are patient.

Girls, yesterday I was slowly fiddling with softwares to do the slideshow...alamak...I'm sooo inept. Only found out how to play one song for the entire slideshow after fiddling for about 45 minutes!!!
My choice of song will be the instrumental version of The Verve's Bittersweet Symphony....*swoon* LURVE that song!

Though I probably think Meraj wants to have another song....Hmmmmpppfff.....

Also, (STILL) trying to crack my head for songs to play at the reception. Think my playlist is behind schedule....Any input from you Girls?

hahaha see my nick will know tat other than i blur myself, my job is to also make others blur hahahaha

if u not pantang, then take in 7th mth, no one will squeeze with you loh hehehe the photographer also more time to do nicely for u
since they will b super free that period hehehe

eh, if the BS uses seperate can-can, possible to ask them to do it sewn in meh?

i only have 5 jie meis..then plus 5 brothers, total 10, even no. mah...can right?
sigh...but out of my 5 jie meis, only 2 can be totally dependent on, 1 so-so, n the other 2 have shown that they can be irresponsible..SIGH......... my hubby says give them less impt jobs...but like what?

Hi Jocester
yeah ultra super underweight....hehehe..157cm...abit worried about the outcome of pics....keeping my fingers crossed...so far like the first few shoots though

Wow Peg,

u r xtremely underweight leh.... much lighter than me when u r even taller than me.... teach mi hw to stay that weight... sob i gained so much weight in e past 3 years... donno wat happen to me...nw have to lose about 5kg (advisable) so that i don look so chubby....

Linda,
tks tks....

wow, thats fast hor.... I used lily white for my living room walls and dinning area. Only used sandstone for the wall behind my tv area and foyer...it looks bery cosy though ;p.

Wonder wheres the rest of the gals ....

paging for snowy,Daphne, Winnie...

If I'm not wrong, I guess is in her genes. Like my colleague who can eat n eat w/o putting on weight. I'm striving towards my ideal wt too. But has been lazy lately...

marnie,
behind schedule? I haven even tot of songs
but I m thinking if I shld ve some music played during the entire dinner...I mean those soft, slowing music....

wow all sick gals...me too...
linda i paint my living room all orchid white...hee... coz i like white... it look spacious with the white...
i intend to buy wallpaper to paste on the wall for tv console there... but haven source...

newbbi,
actually wanted something behind my tv area also, but the "tiles" we want is beyond our budget. c how 1st loh.

berry,
oh dear, you also sick!
how are you now? better?

gals,

i didn't know there is so many kind of white leh.
i only told my contractor, i want white. hee... think i have to check what type of white he is using.

i think ur contractor will show u the catalog of all colours... there are many whites...
lavender white...lilac white...lily white...orchid white... and etc

Hi skyblu, nope didnt drink any wine that day haha.my fren also didnt order as it was lunch and they had alot of overseas frens who will be flying off after the luncheon.

purpleblur..

i think u can try but i feel that BS may not do it correctly if they have nvr done it before. personally gowns with can can separate have this problem..
if u dun wear the can can correctly, when the gown drapes over, u might see a "kink" and the gown wun flow nicely. cos duchess satin is a soft fabric not stiff fabric like thai silk where it can be structured.

bsproffy - take PS in 7th mth u remember to ask tucky to erase the "hao xiong di" away.. mua ha ha ha ha...

Hi Blurblur

Wow thats great....glad to know that you have confirmed your banquet with Hyatt...

sure hope to hear from you after your trip to Utopia...

I used to eat &amp; eat w/o putting on weight.... but all of a sudden i gain so much when i started office job... argh... very frustrating...
kao_angry.gif
... alwaz wanted to do sports but alone then a bit e erm no motivation &amp; lazy... sigh think really need put in effort liao... sobz...
kao_cry.gif

Hi Lyn, who was the PG? How come he/she couldn't stay till the end of everything?

Hi Magical, less impt jobs could be like preparing the tekaning stuff. I guess this is simple enough??