(2006) Brides of year 2006

hi wendy, tks tks~! hehe

Hi suishi, my videographer is also Alex from captured moments!!! but i jus put short form.. haha

AD fotographer: Jerry (cannot put the actual name, cos i can't post)
AD videographer: Jerry (captured moments)

so sorry, wendy... not being clear..

hi wendy, tks tks~! hehe

Hi suishi, my videographer is also Alex from captured moments!!! but i jus put short form.. haha

AD fotographer: Jerry (cannot put the actual name, cos i can't post)
AD videographer: Alex (captured moments)

so sorry, wendy... not being clear..

hihi dawn, my fotoshoot is tentatively during dec05..Gown is not ready yet.. mines from Flamingo..
honeymoon ahh.. i tink maybe to Europe too, depending on whether FH can take long leave..

I am new to this thread and also a Feb06 bride-to-be...

hi wyn52,
Pls add me to the table... Thanks !
nick: sweetiebear
AD:11th Feb 06
AD venue: Carlton
BS: Julia wedding News
PS date: Oct 05
PS venue: think will go Sentosa

Hi angelala,

Our AD is the same and I think we even have the same BS leh !!

Idyll: How much is the cake? Can you decide later after you have collated and finalised most of the expenditure? If let's say, you did not exceed by too much, maybe can have the cake?
306688.gif
But if you have exceeded the budget by too much, maybe then don't have the cake.

Marnie: i am still having the debate myself. Having the cake would be so good, they are all so pretty. BUt i have almost settled on not having it lah cos it's way beyond my budget!

Lipstar: take care of yourself ya? In these past months that i have known you, i always here you reporting sicK! Must pray for good health, good skin etc and that you wont kena it on your wedding day!

Its been a long day and week! My gosh it's only wed! There is so many meetings and work to do...it's been very tiring.

hey racherlle..
good,i'm not the only one that thinks that way then..i hate badmouthing ppl tho, but i mean, weddings are SO important, so i just wanted to give ppl fair warning! ;)

hi greekgal,
really? i only saw their selection of WG..haven;t really looked at EG yet...
but i think usu toga v few ppl would consider...n also i actually goit a specific design in mind already..so afraid that i might not find anything that can replace what i want loh..
anyway, thanks 4 tellin me! at least now i more an xin..=)

Hi Wyn, Thanks for the update. Its good that we keep each other update so that we can be more efficient like deremi..
I think i quite "jialut".., i have church wedding, house and seemingly so many things that i have not done. Other than confirming all the venues, really nothing much has been done...sigh..feel like engaging a wedding planner.

Hi Sweetiebear,
julia btb...im taking ps in oct too. Have you selected your gown? The last time i went to chose 2 weeks ago, she told me that I can't choose the lastest design for EG, so funny since its for studio shoot, it will not be dirtied. which is ur package?

hi bsprof

the emb thing i think still muz see, cos some emb really v ugly.. plus i got v pissed w some shops who say 'oh, we use the same as ted wu, no need to pay so much' CRAP. ya rite, everybody use the same (i think she said CUTTER or sth like tt) as ted wu. -.-

i wanna see at least some samples tt r close to wat i have in mind, v scared i pay for MTM but mtm sth tt i dun like..

i shall go to angels ASAP! mebbe this sat haha..
if i dun like then i shall stick to my bird n cow haha..

thanks a million!

Sorry long time no chance to log in! Thanks for the compliments abt my dogs
diana and Cat hehe..they are my dahlings~

Anyway been busy lately and I got some issues with my AD date..so now asking Pan Pac which dates they have left available..may have to change lor

Welcome to all newbies in case i missed out anyone

Hi Diana

Gd to hear from you! Ironically you are busy doing hand-over while I am busy looking out for better job opportunities as well..hahaa! Yup will bear your advice is mind as well. Infact, service is also one of the issue I dread apart from designs stuff...hmm.

Wendy

Yup, that poor gal really had a bad experience. Yo.. enjoying life now huh!!! Now is the best time to pamper yourself abit before that big moment..haha Yah, I am pretty worried abt next yr preps due to the 2 7th mth leh....it seems like I must wrap up all details 2mths before the date otherwise won't have enough time. Wah if I shake leg for that 2mths....chiam liao wait cannot fit into my gown..ooppsss! *Stress*

Cat,

Wah Movies ticket nowadays exp..haha 2 ppl go watch muz spend at least 20 bucks...Sigh, so now cannot watch movie liao.

wow charsiew n dawn, Europe sounds nice...
i think i'm going nearby only, say Bali or Mauritius or Seychelles. After wedding n house reno, prob be in debt hehehe..

wyy,
on top of my agenda, i need to settle on venue. Still bargaining with Rasa Sentosa, and feel like giving up and try another plc altogether *emotional*

any maez - for you info.. i do recall some reputable BS telling me they use the same seamstress/cutter as ted wu... when i enquire further, it only meant the level of worksmanship could be the same... the design and pattern is the one that comes from the designers... like TW... and thats what is more impt... =)

paiseh maez, i was referring to the embriodery design and pattern in my previous post.. not the actual gown... hope i am clear to you...

hi lyn!

i dun see that as badmouthing..
it's more of sharing with the rest of the gals the experience that previous brides had..
yup wedding is a once a lifetime tingy.. u won't wan to look back and regret on some issues..

Hi reismion!!
kao_welcome.gif

wao!! your ROM and AD dates are so nice!! both on the 1st of Nov and Dec.. hehe..

Hey yan_06!! dunno whether u're still looking into this thread or not.. but do u think whether u could email me the tabe format so that i can make it smaller? then i can update the table too!! thanks in advance!!

hi popie & chip

wkdays r kinda inconvenient cuz i usually go over to jurong west only during wkends n my bosses also seem to think i dun have a life - lots of last min things always crop up n my plans get cancelled way too often.

sundays r always reserved for FH since we dun meet during the wk...

oh well, anyhow.. we see how it goes ok? i'm sure we can work something out...

EL : You think? Just when I am about to be settled on not having a cake, the other part of me start the debate again..Exasperating...

How's your search on the elusive AD photographer by the way? Any progress on that front?

Turin : I think my budget is alright. I've finalised and factored in all my major expenses for the wedding. My expert bargaining (ahem - if I do say so myself!
) has got me a surplus of slightly more than 2K at present. But practical me is telling me that even with the extra money, better not have cake...*sigh*

Driving me nuts. Someone just pass me a triple layer choc cake...

Yeah, agree with EL - you better take care...words from one bodily secretor (is there such a word?!
) to another.

Hello Ladies!! Happy Midweek.. I can't wait for the weekend!

Hello Wendy, Thank you for your advise. I have actually shortlisted several bridal boutiques and is going to visit them with my FH during this weekend (hopefully can go to all.. list very long... :p). Have been to one.. very nice.. very friendly sales pple..very tempted to sign with them liao but think will see others b4 they really confirm.

And this thing abt the 7th month.. hmmm..I taut only can't have wedding..you mean also can't prepare?? ooppss.. I bought my flat and confirm my banquet venue..both in the 7th month!! :p

CAT, Hello! Yalor! It was quite hard to get a hotel! Think of it..I think called nearly 10 hotels..they are many of them are full and if they are not..their ballroom too big for us..Lucky hyatt still have available and suitable ballroom

As for PS..heehee..I visted one bridal boutique (the same one mentioned above)that i like very much..they tie up with Chrisling..the package is quite good! I have gone to speak to the pple as Chrisling as well.. feel that the top ups are also quite reasonable.

and ladies, you love ghost movies?? Heehee.. I will never go watch! Too scared! Hahaha! :p

wendy, like tat the kick will be reduce leh coz in cinema, the sound effect will really make ur hair stand....hee hee

pearly, ya tickets r beri ex...somemore me book the ticket over internet wif $1 admin fee so for 4 tickets, me pay $39 liao...o...me brought my parent to the movie wif my bf...it so funny, coz tat nite (watch midnite show), me suddenly realise my parent have aged, coz last time wen we are kid, it is our parent who bring us to the movie and we (children) are the ones who r kan cheong are also the one who cry for tibits or ka chang pu teh...but tat day, me saw my father kan cheong to catch the show and buying ka chang pu teh...ha ha...

sel, things will work out...dun wori...

kelly, abt doing preparation in 7th mth i also dun noe can or nt but i tink i will hv to do some of my preparation in 7th mth coz mine AD is planned on 1st Oct which is lunar date ba yue chu shi lor...10 days after 7th mth :-(
btw, i tink sometime it is good to scare urself wif ghost movie which will exercise ur heart coz it will hv to pump faster...ha ha...crazy rite...

Good morning to all !!!

Hi Angelala,

I will be selecting my gowns in Sept. Oh is it? I thot we can choose the latest design for both WG & EG for the studio shoot... okie, will check it out when I go for my selection. So will u be using their in-house makeup artist? I have not seen their work so am abit concern. As for my package, I don't have the details with me now, PM u tomorrow ya.. Cheers !

Hihi dawn...

My AD is on 24 Mar. Guess wat, I've HM plan to europe too! Which part are you planning to go? If money n time permits, I'd love to go switzerland/paris/italy/london...haha greedy me. But after setting aside for my banquet & other miscellaneous, I dun have much fund save for my HM..sobsob...So am trying to work out the most budget europe tour. What do you advise?

There are quite a number of mega travel fairs lately but there is no itinerary for next march yet.

Hi SEL, hope you get your new dates soon!

Pearly..yah..movies are expensive these days man..so I went to Clementi area "empress" to watch..$7 bucks for weekend tix...anyway that cinema for those who never been there...it's not really that "empress" place ok...in the middle of the "MAID" show there was a worker talking on his handphone at the top left hand corner of the cinema..there was a lobang inside the cinema..so can hear...toilet old looking seats not comfortable...Well that's y it's $7 bucks for weekend..

Hey gals! sorry to MIA for awhile. busy with my ROM (28 more days).

Sel, oh no, hope everything will be ironed out soon. Take care and dun fret ya?

Kelly, happy searching. going BS shopping is very fun but do it without ur FH first until u roughly know which ones u want. or else those ppl will hard sell u! abt the 7th mth thingy, i also kena scolding from my FH's mum for printing and sending out our ROM invites!! i mean come on! my FH is gg for reservist, by the time he comes back only left 13 days to my ROM. how to send???? MY FMIL also requested us to push our AD back by 1 mth cos mine is 15th of the 8th Lunar Mth, she said no time to send invites etc etc. Printing also cannot, collect album also cannot, fitting also CANNOT!!! Arrggghhh!!!! as Wendy said there are 2 7th mths next yr means i gotta send my invites out by July when the wedding is in Oct! KAOZZZ!!

Hey Wendy, heee hope u are having fun! me rather stressed with my ROM, cos everything cannot do.. haven't confirm my flowers, menu and guest list. waiting for the gal to reply me abt the wrist corsages and also need to source for headband for my flower gals!!! some more my HDB apptm is up soon i haven't shift my funds out from my CPF!!! and work is piling up!

Stressed Bear!

hi dawn,
my PS is on Oct10, still not thought of the venue yet but hopefully I will not be ask to go the "durian"....kinda bored after seeing so many BTB taking photo there...maybe I'll be going Marina South ???

I will be having a church + dinner wedding with a week gap. As mentioned eariler, thought of going for a short trip in btw (maybe 3D2N trip) to relax....so I need to really get all matter settle by feb before i hand over the details to my helper to oversee the things when i am away...so what do you think? Which location will you suggest?

For my HM, thought of Greece but at the end of this year , think my FH & i need to sit down and review on our budget again. In addition, not sure what to expect at Greece.

hi viv,
Rasa Sentosa....Hmmmm....quite a lot of logistic to settle i guess.if you really like the place, i guess you need to wait lor else u can go see other place like Fort Canning...

how about Mt Faber, oso not a bad place.

hi Dorami & Pertina,

thks. the fortune teller helped us compute 1.

nice meeting u gals 2! :D

how's ur prep? mi oni 've not settle on venue yet. :p hotel hunting's exhausting.

hehe talking pin jin huh? better discuss with ur own mum or test water ask her how much is enuff...from other brides past experience hor...usually she say chin chai or yishi yishi is not really one...sometimes she juz tot at least more than 2k or 3k is enuff...

sianz...$ again... whose pin jin is pay by urself one huh?

Hi YY

concern is if u go during the one week break before ur dinner, scared u might not enjoy to the max....cos u still got another one to go.
greece is a nice place ,i tink although i haven been there yet.

hi charsiew, viv and jocester
me also in debt after doing my sums. so poor esp when hse is also in reno. plus expenses for all furniture and appliances. My photoshoot in dec.Ask u - is it risky to do in dec cos most pple say is rainy season....sighz.
But mygowns still not ready yet. so cant do much. Design also havent lay out yet. How abt u girls' gowns , how it looks like?

Ya would be great if we can go for HM together.....got company...
Havent plan which part i want to go yet, but like jocester me also v greedy ,want to go all places. Spore not much places for ps, most places Btbs have taken liao.....eg marina south, esplanade...and the infamous sentosa. Let me know if u gals have any ideas...

hmm.... don't intend to let her know lor.... anyway, i take it as a form of my repayment to her for bringing me up and it's just a token of my appreciation to her. and i feel that no point letting her know cos not sure if she will be happy or not and better that she is unaware and for my FH side, at least he not so siong.. so kill two birds with my $$ contribution .... haha....

Hi hi sel..
Nice to see u ard…hope things will be ok at ur side..do let us know if u need any assistance..cheers~

Hi hi pearly..
Nice to hear from u..heehee…kinda relax for me now..**ops** i guess u might really need to plan carefully approximately whc period will u be mailing out ur invites..also for ur GDL..since ur AD is on the 7th,.i guess if u r giving out ur invites on the 1st day of 8th mth (which means u left less than 3 weeks to RSVP b4 ur AD), maybe it shd still be ok for u…can try to “pre-inform” ur friends abt ur wedding date b4 the 2 x 7th mths & tell them u will be mailing out the invites to them at a nearer date...at least they are more of less notified…can start to get their mailing address early so that u get to consolidate them..wow..i can see that 7th is a very popular date..seems like majority of the Oct 06 brides are having their AD on 7th..for my case I got their mailing address at the last week of jul & 1st week of aug so that their memory remain “fresh” on the date..then proceed to print my cards 2nd day of the 7th mth…but some of the pple thinks that the printing of the invites shdnt be done in the 7th mth..i guess it really depends on individual..i m slightly ok since I was working part-time earlier..since ur ROM is on feb 06 & if u will be inviting ur friends, then take the opportunity to keep ur friends updated too..but of course, u can also mail out the invites to them b4 the 2 7th mth but I find it too early..cheers~

Hi hi Kelly_pink..
Actually it depends on individual..some parents are more “pan-tan” than others…some believed that as long as the major preps are nt in the 7th mth, it shd be fine, for eg: 7th mth, try not to buy ur GDL stuff or go for ur food-tasting or cannot start renovating (but if already in the midst, is ok) or 4 mths b4/aft ur wedding cannot attd wake/wedding of other pple etc..i guess it’s still quite flexible..as long as ur future in-laws & parents are pretty flexible, then it’s easier & more relax for u lor…heehee..

Hi hi Diana..
Nice to know that u r gg to do BS shopping this weekend..update us more, ok? It’s true lah..watch at home dun have the kick to make ur hair stand..ok lah..bcoz want to watch it with my parents too (coz I heard some said this movie is abt some of the old folks’ beliefs + they dun wanna watch at the cinema)… glad that it’s a nice show & ur parents enjoyed it…very happy to hear this..

Hi hi Bear..
Heheee..so fast, less than 28 days, u will be upgraded to “MRS”..oic, ur FMIL also said cannot give out in 7th mth..then I think u really got to “try to avoid” it when u r doing the customary preps…actually I understand it’s hard for u to please ur FMIL also..but no matter what, must try to “endure” any possible “conflict” if she’s quite “pan-tan” abt such preps in the 7th mth lor…I duno if it’s a gd idea for u to give out ur invites in the 7th mth (2mths ahead of ur AD)..but maybe this is something u might like to discuss it out in…relax..relax…must be a beautiful bride…cannot be too “kan-cheong” if not will usually forget & tensed urself, then no gd for ur health lor..

hi charsiew,
mi too appointed Alex personally to take AD video for me, he a very friendly guy. There a thread on Captured moment but disappear liao, wondering where has it been to?

Hi bluegal,
Able to share yr ROM photo? How do u find her works?

berry,
we will depend loh, if my dad agree to the amount as per discuss, then my hb will give, if not, i will top up the different loh.

actually i think we women often caught in a difficult position..... if i speak up for my FH too much, my mum complained that i "grow wings and fly out", then if i stand on my mum side, FH complained that i not understanding enough.... then still got to consider relationships with FH's family.... sigh.... not easy....