(2006) Brides of year 2006

hi krissie!
welcome!
i went to sophia once n find that they have good service...friendly n not at all pushy .. gowns very special..
but price wise abit too steep for me..so in the end didn't sign up..
u can go n see their thread ... maybe u'll get more help over there..^_^

i signed up with BZ coz find that their package very value for money..n if u go into the BZ thread..u'll find no complaints at all..so for me, BZ was a very safe choice.. =)

Hi Cloudz

You also have 50 tbls??
whats ur budget for the whole dinner including printing fees and also wine & beer?

hi krissie!
welcome....been to hilton to look at the ballroom.not a bad place but if u need a big space then there will be pillar at the centre of the ballroom.

hiya Celine

you've got mail

Welcome gintonic & cloudz & krissie!

hi noticed about the rain...racherlle, i'm also planning for an outdoor solemnisation...is ur totally unsheltered (meaning for the couple?)

magical, today got WIS, did u manage to check it out?

tissuebox, u may want to estimate ur no.of tables, then ask the hotels ur interested in to email you the package details (esp when the hotels have minimum and maximum no. of tables). For those u narrowed down, then go and meet up with the co-ordinators 2 view the ballroom..else u will have to talk to many co-ordinators...can be a tiring affair.

Finally meet some Sept 06 brides...hee hee...

I am very kiasu...already bought the wedding rings, booked bridal studio and hotel for wedding dinner too...Actually, it's because my best friend is getting married in Nov this year so went around with her to see many things that's why I settled many stuff liao...=)

What about you gals? Have you got anything? Now that I have settled most of the AD things, I just need to source for a new flat...if not, I have to stay with my in-laws...

Hi girls...! Wah...so many posts..My eyes nearly popped out.....

So I have my hair cut short at my shoulders, confirmed my malay bridal shop and watched Madagascar at Lido to boot(!)

Janna: You SOOO young.....Now how I wish I was at that age......*swoon*. Eh...and I never thought it was shot-gun marriage. Last time, our mothers all marry at that age. I think most important is that you must be mentally and emotionally ready to be in a marriage cos' it's for life, right? But congrats! And lemme guess, you hubby dotes on you right?? *kaypo me* Lucky you...

What else do they give you as a choice for the favours? I think chopsticks you can get from Chinatown. I have seen some at nights they sell rather cheaply. Maybe you can get there if you want and have your contract amended?

I think you need to get someone from Parkroyal and get things sorted out as soon as possible. Don't leave it too late or they'll think you are just in for the ride.

Marilyn: Oooh...KitKats!! YUMMY!! I have a few in my fridge as we speak - may just have some.
But it's really cheap lor. Does it cost 70 cents for the chocolates and the wrapper or just the wrapper. Is the chocolate made in Singapore?

EL: No need to be stressed lah. Can just trust your own instincts and go with what you are comfortable with as regards the deco. Sometimes, less is definitely more. Take me for example. My idea of centrepieces are one group of stalks of red gerbera stuck into halved oranges (a play on the colour theme of orange and red...geddit?
) This is subject to discussion with the deco people I have engaged for my wedding (you know Malay weddings with that special stage thingee for the "king and queen" to sit).

Before I forget, have you tried those flower floating candle thingee? It's about S$1.00 each from places I have seen. Or what about those sandalwood fans - sooo oriental and since our wedding is going to be in April (hottest month) and yours is for tea, it would be perfect!

Meraj lugged incense sets from JJ Night Market in Bangkok. He bargained to about 33 baht for each (minimum 300 pieces) so it was a very good deal. I am very satisfied.

Jean: Can you update my bridal shop please - Rouz Couture. Thanks, girl!

Hi tissuebox, yah, we have about 50+ tables. Min for Meritus Mandarin grand ballroom is 55 tables, but after negotation, we have agreed on 53 tables. hehe, if u dunno yet, they will ask for the confirmed guest no to be at least 90% of estimated guests... so do your sums here. MM has free flow of beer and the best part of all, corkages for wine, hard liqour and champagne which we bring in will be waived. Been checking around and so far, MM gives quite an attractive package based on the ballroom for 50 tables. GCW could be another one which u wanna consider... we took MM cos of the perks and not forgetting that Henry is a very approachable person! Budget wise, we are not so worried as we are inviting mostly colleagues and friends. If ur guest list consists of mainly relatives, er.. may want to review your list again... or else, hard to break even.
288726.gif

tsukushi, thanks for your warm welcome! hehe, i'm with Yvonne Creative (YC). Glad to join in this thread...
288727.gif

Hi gintonic & cloudz & krissie, welcome to this thread. The more the merrier.
I just noticed that Zen had chosen Little Bali as wedding venue. Quite a nice and cosy place to hold your wedding day there.

gals,
check with u one thing which i'm veri confused.
my wedding will be an outdoor event at little bali. solemnization at 5.30 pm. so what time shd i start the make-up & hairstyling? i've planned out a schedule, can u all hv a look & give me some advice? i veri confused now leh.

2pm - check-in hotel (book one to stay & enjoy)
2.30pm-4pm- start make-up( how long does it last huh?)
4-4.20,4.30pm - reach venue (make sure everything ready & in place)
5pm - briefing by jp & mingle with guests
5.30pm - solemnization
5.45-6pm-take some pics with jp & parents & cake cutting
6.30pm- dinner reception start(buffet)
7.45pm- champagne pouring ceremony & thank u speech (change to EG)(do u think by this time, my make-up melt alreadi????)
9.30pm -Most guests leave.... the rest drink till merlion..

welcome krissie! will add you in the chart once you have confirmed your date!

zen, that's really early to plan your schedule! :P My ROM makeup took less than half an hour and styling took about 20mins including negotiating with the MUA on how to do it. When you go for your trial makeup you should be able to estimate how fast your MUA works. Normally it takes 1hr for them to work.

As for JP briefing, I think 10mins is enough. Mine took over 5 mins I think.

Looking at your schedule, what will you be doing from 6-6.30pm. Just wondering... hee

hey tsukushi

i am oso planning to have my HM in Europe, Austrailia , New Zealand and etc

hey Zen
dun worry pray hard for u oso will not be raining ... oh my MU took abt 1 hrs plus

hey cloud
i am oso from YC

hey serene
the price of both Mr Low and Chris have increase already. Mr Low (basic pkg)-$500 and Mr Chris -$450

hi krissie
so which BS have u took up or shortlisted??

Oh ivy, same age... me also born in kk. so which hotel and when is ur AD?

purplenic... no la... the makeup artist sure make u look mei mei.

Morning to all of you..There is a WIS exercise going on..For those who are looking for flats, maybe can take a look at the HDB website to find out more..

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Dinner venue</TD><TD>Church/Solemnisation</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>PS Photo</TD><TD>AD Photo</TD><TD>AD Video</TD><TD>Lovenest </TD></TR><TR><TD>HweyHwey</TD><TD>09-Dec</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Kai</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>ChrisLing</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Bedok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy</TD><TD>09-Dec</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards (GHA)</TD><TD>GHA &amp; Daylight</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>BoonLay </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilic</TD><TD>09-Dec</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Tucky’s</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>TinTin</TD><TD>09 Dec(Wedding) 30 Dec (Party)</TD><TD>Marriott (Lunch) Holland Park (Party)</TD><TD>St Vincent De Paul</TD><TD>Silhouette</TD><TD>The Pond</TD><TD>The Pond</TD><TD>Fabian Lim</TD><TD>Holland </TD></TR><TR><TD>Summerala</TD><TD>10-Dec</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilacblur</TD><TD>21-Dec</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Altivo</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>Montage</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Sembawang </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurBlur</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Gazebo Lawn in Raffles</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>Andrew Choi</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesmineang</TD><TD>09-Dec</TD><TD>Shangri-la</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Strathmore Ave </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

Good Morning Gals,

Thanks for your warm welcome!

Harlows Magical,
Thanks for your advice on Sophia's. I read the entire SWC thread and there are only good comments so far. My friend actually took up the package and the photos are really nice. Thus Sophia is my first prority. How abt urself? Which BS did u sign up with?

Hi Tissue Box,
Me checked out the hilton ballroom already. Although there are 3 big pillars in the room, the big screens at the side of the ballroom makes up for it. Moreover, Im only having 28 tables, so probably can request for them to position the tables in such a way, that no one is blocked from the stage. So which hotel have u shortlisted?

Hiya Tsukushi,
I will let you know my choice of hotel and dates by this week max. Will sign up with the hotel by saturday coz they will be revising the price real soon, dun want to pay the extra 10% for nothing

Hey Ah Gal,
Me shortlisted Sophia's Wedding Collection. But if you have any recommendation or lobang, please feel free to let me know, coz im still in the midst of searching.

Good Morning!!

Denise.. so u've finally confirmed your BS liao.. can share me me your package?? did u bargain for more items?? let me the last time too excited didn't bargain much. haiz..

brink, aiyoh.. i'm waiting for BTOs in Sengkang.. wait until the flowers wither already.. haha.. they keep having WIS in those ulu areas.. haha

but thanks for the info.. i'll go check it out still..

EL: I got the contact from Singapore yahoo auction. I am seriously thinking of getting them. Cos it's cheap and very personalise. You can choose kit kat choc, standard bars choc or miniature. You can call 98514260 or email [email protected]. for more information.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Dinner venue</TD><TD>Church/Solemnisation</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>PS Photo</TD><TD>AD Photo</TD><TD>AD Video</TD><TD>Lovenest </TD></TR><TR><TD>HweyHwey</TD><TD>09-Dec</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Kai</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>ChrisLing</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Bedok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy</TD><TD>09-Dec</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards (GHA)</TD><TD>GHA &amp; Daylight</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>BoonLay </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilic</TD><TD>09-Dec</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Tucky’s</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>TinTin</TD><TD>09 Dec(Wedding) 30 Dec (Party)</TD><TD>Marriott (Lunch) Holland Park (Party)</TD><TD>St Vincent De Paul</TD><TD>Silhouette</TD><TD>The Pond</TD><TD>The Pond</TD><TD>Fabian Lim</TD><TD>Holland </TD></TR><TR><TD>Summerala</TD><TD>10-Dec</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Purplenic</TD><TD>21-Dec</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Altivo</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>Montage</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Sembawang </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurBlur</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Gazebo Lawn in Raffles</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>Andrew Choi</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesmineang</TD><TD>09-Dec</TD><TD>Shangri-la</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Strathmore Ave </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hey purplenic, so ur solemnisation same day?
Altivo? I always freq that place but i like faber rock more now cos quieter. Is Silverlining good? U sign with them already, how is the package like?

no leh.. my ROM last yr
have a break to save up first before AD kekeke

If you like Divine's gown, then Silverlining is good loh keke they r abt the same style
but i can click with Jit (SL's boss + designer) better
he's super nice guy hahaha

u haven't gotten his package? i should b having his new package soon, cause my fren also considering them
u wan me to send to you?

Hi Summer

Had called him and chop him for 18/3 liao... cos i showed my HB websites of 3 photographers and he prefers Sam so the next day i called him to chop him liao... but haven arrange to see his portfolio cos he said this mth he's more busy so maybe next mth lor

Juz curious... when i see from the website, there's some photos where he will have 3 or 4 poses in it... something like showing the sequence of event... would he do it for us too? and is it considered as 1 photo or 3 photos? cos i know BS would consider that as 3 photos...

Hey Summer,

When's ur ROM?? cos I'm also intending to have mine in Sept if need be ... haha... cos bought a resale flat and taking grant so now waiting to see whether hdb will allow us to have it on my AD next yr... if they dun allow then I most prob having my ROM on 18 Sept or 23 Sept... wondering whether we going to have the same ROM date... again.... =P

where u having ur ROM? I'm deciding whether temple or in a pte room in restaurant.

curtains? oh gosh, ur gown is mtm or otr?

Most prob have to confirm them lo cos not much choices. Ritz and Hyatt tentatively booked and Orchard Hotel, i dun wan and where else can accomodate the tables? Some suggest Neptune, Orchid CC, Suntec city... i was like... hmmm... u know what i mean?

hahah ya man, i know wat you mean

but if you can confirm on the spot, they will get back to the couple for re-confirmation rite? y not give it a try if you really like those places as well

Whaa... purplenic, you do free advertising for me yah? Thanks !
I've been really busy... worked till 3 this morning!

Soo sorry ladies... I will do up the table smaller and post it up when I get into the office later ok? Have loads of appointments to attend today...

hahah TinTin~ you ard ma, of course must say The Pond best la hahahah (but it's the truth la)
maybe you can recommend more PS photographers to jesmine? you're the most suitable person ard :P

you handling all the appointments alone? wow~ good business huh kekeke

err never been to Shang, but i've heard good comments on them

dun b affected by others comments, cause different couple experience different service loh.. as long as you feel comfortable, jus go for it

Thanks for the assurance purplenic, btw, can you let me know more abt SL. Like the package, whether they have OTR gowns and so on... cos my FH's cousin BTB have not decide on the BS yet. And their wedding is Oct this year!

wat's BTB?

anyway, yes, SL does have OTR, in fact, his OTR are very nice already

as for the package details, i'm not too sure leh, cause i heard he has revised the package and made some changes to it..
the package i had is no longer available

huh? tis Oct, haven't settle on gowns?? abit late huh? i let you know the package later in the day can? cause Jit is having class now.. can only call him later in the afternoon

Wah, I finally done my measurement for my tea-dress... and even tried out a lot of gowns and evening gowns for their cutting. My seamstress is Feng-jie and the last piece of white gown I tried is an incomplete one but fits me perfectly... My FH said that that unfinish piece suits me perfectly and I told Feng-jie I will take it. That is the gown that I had in my mind... straight cut and with gold embroderies on it .... Plain and simple. Also took a no. of pictures on the various one tat I had tried.

Asura > MY MUA will be leaving the BS soon and they will be allocating another one for me... will only find out on 17 June during my 1st official fitting.

sure thing... thank you. i wonder why the btb still not anxious yet... so rush to get the PS and everything done. Other than the banquet venue... everything else not done yet.

Nope... i haven't start sourcing yet. Been to Focus at IMM, Milan at TP only... so need u all to guide me and adv lo... worse still, me not v slim le... bah bah type, wait no OTR gowns for me. Urs MTM?

Yo Ladies!
I jus cfm my solemnization wif Amara hotel on Xmas day. Its the only place tat wont be charging me surcharge so choose it lor. So excited. Even managed to get David Loh to be my JP. He so nice. Appt so tight also willing to squeeze in mine

But my first appt wif BS is in Oct cos FH going to reservist in sept.

Hi GingerCat,
IF u dun mind, maybe can share ur pic wif us. Excited wif u mah ... My BS cannot take pics one. Can only do it illegal inside the fitting room ba ...

Hi shelyn,

Firstly let me add yr issue on sam photo first since i hv view his works before.

For photos with 1-3 poses in one, is consider as one photo loh...He quite good on that.

But maybeout of the 300 pcs of photos abt a few pcs got such poses in one photo.

Wow u bought yr home liao
= its better to hv it early cos at least not last min.
we both share same date hah ... so co-incident.

Mine having it at Raffles Mariner (tuas) whereby u can see yatches.

Me having it in a function room, with a open window pane the background got yatches very beautiful.

Me spent abt $1k cos got buffet for 30pax &amp; some decor of flowers in the room.

Tats y now sourcing for gd florist.

cheers,summer