(2006) Brides of year 2006

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick Name</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Banquet</TD><TD>Lovenest </TD></TR><TR><TD>wyn52</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Same as AD</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>Sheraton Tower</TD><TD>staying w Ils </TD></TR><TR><TD>Holly</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>17-Sep-05</TD><TD>The Wedding Present</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin Orchard</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>deremi</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>14-Jul-05</TD><TD>J&amp;M</TD><TD>GPPR</TD><TD>coris2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pebs</TD><TD>18 &amp; 19 Feb 06</TD><TD>Same as AD</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Le Meridien &amp; FCP</TD><TD>SengKang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christine</TD><TD>16-Feb-06</TD><TD>25-May-05</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>Still Sourcing </TD><TD>Simei </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

Hello, i am an Apr 06 bride.
Tin Tin: i am interested to see Sam wong's webbie...can share?

Hi MArnie,

I am here *WAVES*...heheh...sorry, wasn't online yesterday gals...Fell asleep the moment I got home...:p

Went to IKEA to look for those colourful plastic bowls to hold the flower petals but could not find them...erm...wonder whether it's out of stock? So have to change plans...maybe will go source for disposable ones then...ehheh

ERm....by the way, I am quite curious about our ages...ahhaha....dunno why, but this question suddenly just "float" thru my mind...:p

ALrite, I shall reveal the greatest secret of a woman first...ahha I am 26 this year....

Jean: I'm 30. Old already. That's why my FH and I hope to 'shoot the red bull' soon after marriage. We hope to have as least 2 kids.

EL: My FH is very supportive throughout the whole process. My dad doesn't mind as long as I got a job first. (Of course, I didn't). i have been working in a special edu school for almost 7 years. I think it's time to move on. I must admit that it's not an easy decision, especially finacially, since we are getting married soon and have to support the house too. I am well respected in my school and my boss also asked me to stay. I am quite 'important' in that school and thus I know that my position is very secure if I stay on. But i am getting too comfortable in this place already. One main thing that trigger me to make such a brave move is because I wanted to attend a Chinese Chrsitian conference in Korea very badly. It's held on end-July. As you know teachers don't have leave, so I thought, why not quit and go. After i come back, then I can start a new chapter of my life. I do have some offers. But I have not decided yet. Cos, in my age, I think I need to be very careful of what I want. So, still seeking and praying. Like what Marnie says, I believed that God has a plan.

Envy all of you. Happily shopping. I am at home looking after my 3-yrs old niece. My parents, sister, sil all went to malaysia yesterday. So have to babysit this weekend.

hello! Ah Jean, your age is quite obvious..'jean79'? Don't tell us, we also know ah! :P I am a yr older than you, 27 this year. Ay, i wanted to get married by 26 or 27..looks like i am not going to make it. the only consolation is i am going to ROM at 27? :P aiyo jean, disposable bowls ah? U sure or not? joking only right? hotel no provide?

M&amp;M: its great that you have your family support! yah, you sound like you have thought this through, i also believe that God has a plan for you. He'll open doors for you. Share with us when it comes ya?
What christian conference is that in Korea? Is it Pastor Yong-gee's church? FH going with you?

Jean: Good to see you back. Aiyah...I also know your age liao. No secret for you girl! How I'm wishing I'm back in time at that age....*dreaming*

About your bowls..Hmm...I'm echoing EL's thoughts here. Disposal bowls is really not something I would have thought of. Um, you are using the bowls to have hold the flower petals at your church service? Unless, you are doing something crafty with the bowl (re. decorate the outside of the bowl) so that it won't look like it is a plastic disposable bowl) then I don't think you should opt for that. What "look" are you achieving for your church ceremony? We'll help you browse throuh mags and keep ideas pouring in for you.

Oh..did you happen to see any plain orange napkins at Ikea? They were out of stock last month. Wanted to get some for our wedding reception to keep in the theme.

M&amp;M: Yeah! We're same age - 30! Nice figure....Sheessh.....we're not old M&amp;M, we're just wiser....

No need to envy me. Today I cook in the afternoon and after, I was so darn exhausted that I fell asleep and didn't wake up till like half an hour ago. Still feeling the "hangover" of having to wake up from my slumber. Consolation for me is that I get to be an owl tonight and just trawl the internet for ideas on the wedding.

I am SOOO glad that everyone has your back on your decision to move on and supporting you, M&amp;M. It really is tough to move on when you've comfortably settled on something but change is an essense of life and we should always adapt and change to keep our perspectives fresh and learn more things. I'm sure I speak for everyone here that we're all supporting you too..

EL: How about your hunt for a dressmaker? What type of dress are you making for your tea ceremony? Cheongsam? Kua? *kaypo-ness back in action*

hi precioustots

feel that meritus mandarin's food is avg only. my hubby had eaten rasa's weddg dinner and he felt so so.

Sheraton tower's food is good. very tasty. Is from the famous chinese restaurant - li bai

summer palace from regent (or is it 4 season) is not too bad too

just my 2 cents worth

maybe an oct bride too

tin tin,
i return yr mail but no reply frm u leh.

btw, i dun really understand yr reply to my post leh. u mean i shd jus choose 1 format? i mean the photographer will be in charge of the post processing rite? so why shd i be bothered by it? hmm... i really dun understand what u're trying to tell me....

anyway kuang did mention to me that if i really like black &amp; white photos, he'll use film to take for me leh.

EL: Yap. Cho Yong Gee church. FH is going. A chinese Christian conference that is held annually. Chinese-speaking christian from Taiwan, HK, CHina, Malaysia, S'pore.... will be gathering together to pray and worship.

Marnie: Haha. I agree, we are wiser.

Jean: Why don't you consider using a flower basket? (If it fits your theme.)

Hi GingerCat,

Agree with Chaiyo. In fact, if they assign me the same one, the MUA would schedule the timing for us depending on our wedding timing.. I.e. one got to take the earlier slot.

In anycase, who is your MUA? Dont think I want to get the same one. Just to try not that have that problem between us..
Then again, there might be too many brides that day to begin with!

Waaa ... so many postings! I've been so busy that I don't even have time to come in to check. How's everyone's preparations? Mine seems to have stalled!
kao_scared.gif
Don't really know what I should be doing next.

By the way, I am taking everything OTR and then I bargained for more photos

>Chaiyo, it's unique to wed on xmas but I think from what I heard from my fren, things become more ex suddenly. So be prepared la!

Hi moo,

Thanks for sharing!

discussed with my FH and decided to explore sheraton too coz of gd comments of their food and I think the interior of the hotel looks very nice... but quite ex as the contents of their pkg seems very little..meritus not so impressive but their perks are very very good with free flow beer..also considering Rasa mainly coz of solemization by the sea..dilemma...

hi gals, wow the thread is so active...had a hard time keeping up..

selina, thanks for the email, going to check it out!

magical, u tried the balloting exercises by HDB before? they now have a WIS for Jurong West..

serene, the VG rates looks reasonable..any website to check out his works?

marnie, i fliped through a decor book and saw that Ikea have got lots of funky looking napkins. did u see them at ikea? What's the theme color of your wedding? Orange? wow, u cooked? for your family?? ur husband's really getting a good value from marrying u! I can't cook for nuts...trying now...

Yesterday, i attended my friend's wedding. Her color theme is also green and white, it was beeeaautiful! It just reassured me of my decision!

aiyah my dress, i am lost lah. If i want to tailor, i have got to source for design. Right now i have no idea what i want. I think i'll use my friend's seamstress whom she used for her wedding too. I'll also drop by Allure (the bS), cause i read some good reports on its EG.

Yah jean, flower basket is a great idea!!

Hi Zen,

I didnt get your mail so I guess that's why no replies from me.

Yes the photographer will be in charge of the post processing so if your photographer is willing to shoot colour in digital and b/w in film then its not an issue at all.

At the end of the day you are the client and since Kuang is able to deliver what you want and both parties are happy then and both there is no problem here is there?

hi tin tin,

thanx for yr explanation. sorry, i veri blur one. at 1st thought u meant cannot choose both film &amp; digital. but do u think i shd ask kuang to do the colour ones in film too? or shd stick with digital (for colour) since his colours digital ones are already very good?

btw, resend u the email liao. hope u receive it this time round.

EL: Yeah, I cook. Although I must say, I'm more a dessert maker than a cook. Meraj is more of the cook - his food is delicious too! So we've practically come up with an arrangement when it comes to the kitchen.

Oooh..weddings. The mere mention of it just sends shivers down my spine. Green and white theme is always classy. Can be formal or casual with the right accents - you defitely made the right choice with the colours.

As for my colour theme, yeah, it's red and orange (a bit wild, I admit!). I got my red napkins (bought all the way in an Ikea in Canada). So now waiting for the Ikea in Singapore to stock up on the orange ones. Their napkins run fast, I tell you.

Jean: I realise now why flower girls are usually given baskets. It depends on their age too but usually toddlers do not have the motor skills developed as yet to hold a bowl (plastic or otherwise) on their palms and the bowl they carry may topple. Thus the use of a flower basket. *wondering what else can be used in lieu of a flower basket* No worries, we'll help you come up with ideas. Back to theknot.com and weddingchannel.com for inspiration!

All: Ok. Think I have decided to pop by the jewellers today to see whether we can get jewellery for our wedding, since our wedding next year will not come before the GSS. Now, if only I can stop not wanting to sleep under the covers in this shiok weather to sleep in!

hiya preciousthots,
"spoke" to you at Sheraton's forum?
Actually those stuff that they list in the package are their basic, for me, i mange to get quite alot of stuff from them
i think Sheraton provide good service as in they are willingly to accomodate to couples' request
do make an appointment with Roger. He will be able to work out a good package for you

Zen,
I think its best you check with him instead of checking with me coz he's the one taking the photos.
Ask him what's his take on film vs digital and what he thinks is best for you

Hi gals, i'm new to this thread. Tentatively have decided to have AD on 20th May 2006 same date as my ROM date this yr. But think stil need to check out from tong shu.
I'm looking ard for AD venues, PG &amp; VG.
Anyone care to share some info??

hi serene!

hav u seen Christopher's work before??
is he gd??

hi gintonic!
welcome to the thread!

which venues have u shortlisted?
hav u chosen ur BS yet?

wow didnt know this thread move so fast suddenly..the last time I was here tink a few post..now already got archives liao!

Just a short intro of myself:
My AD &amp; ROM is on 11 nov. Have booked banquet and BS liao as per Petrina's table list. But PG, VG and lovenest still a '-'...

Hi Brink,
Huang shifu just need u and ur FH birthdate and chinese horoscope, both side parents birthdate and horoscope. He will give u a list of good dates that suits both of you. U just need let him know of ur preference, like which date you prefer and ard which mth of the yr

Marnie,

Erm..Nope...not for my church service...it'
s for the first march in during the dinner...Actually,I did see some very nice colourful transparent disposable bowls at cold storage....but will still go around and source for more..ERm...I need abt 20, so will have to consider the cost too and i dun wanna keep so much bowls after the wedding..hahah

Just came back from a night stay at M*riott Hotel. Service not very good.....sigh...quite disappointed as it's a 5 star hotel...

I dun consider flower basket cos I dun wanna "flower boy &amp; girl" Got one nasty experience from my fren's wedding, one of the kids fell and started crying...so no no, not that idea...

Erm, my idea is to place at all the tables along the "march in" for the guest to "throw" during the march in...that is why i need abt 20

Jean: Aiyoh...you should ask me first before you check into hotels, ma?? Remember my favourite pastime is checking myself into hotels??
I am definitely not impressed with Marriott's service. They screwed up my reservations (placed 1 month prior!). So I calmly told them over the counter, they do what they have to do to but get the person who screwed up my reservation to personally apologise to me. Then I whipped out my Marriot gold member card and they upgraded me! HAH!

Eh...I don't understand why you need 20 bowls leh for the march in. *blur* Let me know your idea for this march in please? Sounds rather intriguing.

Jean: Paiseh. You already posted the march in idea......

Looking at an economical perspective, perhaps instead of bowls, you can try paper cones (covered with fabric for lush look) filled with confetti/petals? That way you can just dispose the paper cones after use. Just an idea courtesy of Martha Stewart....

Ooh....going out now to shop for my wedding jewellery. Let you girls know how the "expedition" went later.

Jean: Yeah...we can still do it slowly cos' we still have that much time....

have u all realised that it is a rainy season this may.

i am worried that it may rain on my AD.
My husband house dun have multi-storey carpark also dun have pick-up point with shelter.

maybe have to borrow those ice-cream man umbrella cos they are very big. :>

hi tissuebox,

ya, hv noticed that this yr may is a rainy season. previous years, may june is one of the hottest mths. now also quite worried for my ad as mine will be an outdoor event. hope it won't rain that day.

Hi Zen

the best we can do now is to pray it will not rain in the morning but at night...

haha..looking at this yr trend, it is not a very likely scnerio

yup very worried that it might rain in the evening during my solemnization! coz i will b having an outdoor solemnization too.. gee!

hopefully nxt year will b bright and sunny for this period..

Hi gals! I'm a May 06 bride and am happy to find all of u here. My AD is on 21 May...hehe, seems like we are the only ones having this date.

tissuebox, u have 50 tables? U wanna try Meritus Mandarin? We are with them, and u can look for Henry who is very friendly and approachable. Food there is good too!

Hey Charlene &amp; Denise,
Just like to share this with you gals.. Seems like the date we chose is really popular, cos 2 other couples from my BS is also having their AD on that same day!!
Should I say we are all goin to be very blessed?

hi everyone!
heh heh...today is exactly one year to my AD!
happy anniversary tissuebox! n happy bday to your hubby too..=)
my ROM was supposed to be on my hubby's bday also, but all slots was taken up so we changed to my bday,which is one day after his..

hi geberra!
haven't gone for hte balloting ..coz now no place that we want..went to see jwest, the flats are okay, but don't like the location..just opp the foreign workers dorm, n industrial estate..too far out too..but very cheap la..
now jsut waiting to see what other areas come on loh..

yeah i'm really worried abt the weather ley...usu the rainy season should be over by late apr - early may...dunno why now its prolonged..maybe coz of global warming...hopefully this time next year it'll be nice weather ..

hi gintonic n cloudz!
welcome! =D

Hi gintonic and cloudz,

welcome! Have added you into our charts!

Now that you gals have mentioned, it seems like the weather in May is a bit erratic. Sometimes it's terribly hot and sometimes it rains for the entire day!

<table border=1><tr><td>AD (May 06)</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Photographer</TD><TD>Videographer</TD><TD>HM </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>akoyo</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>geberra</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>RASA Sentosa</TD><TD>GHA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>maggie</TD><TD>Qianxi</TD><TD>JB (Printemps)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>tissuebox</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>tsukushi</TD><TD>GH</TD><TD>SB</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>ayane</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>racherlle</TD><TD>Sentosa Resort and Spa</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Canada/USA </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Selina</TD><TD>Ocean City @ Apollo Centre</TD><TD>Sanmike</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Serene Lee</TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>JB (New York Classic)</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Mr Loh</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>zen</TD><TD>Little Bali</TD><TD>Kai</TD><TD>Pentaserve</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Gintonic</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>greekgal</TD><TD>RTP</TD><TD>WL</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>pinkyu</TD><TD>Chevrons</TD><TD>WL</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Cloudz</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>ah gal</TD><TD>CC</TD><TD>YC</TD><TD>Wai Peng</TD><TD>Mr Loh</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Aiko</TD><TD>RTC</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>magical</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>BZ</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Marnie, great minds think alike! Me and FH are definately getting our rings at this sale. Has your shopping been fruitful? I asked the Lee Hwa sales girl, she said we have till Jul to enjoy the sale. So we are waiting for the hype to cool down first so to avoid the crowd.

Jean: i know what you mean! Most of my church friends have flower petals for the guests to throw at the couple but that was for their march out. Seriously, you should asking your hotel if they can provide u with the bowls. This way, can save $$. Cause if im not wrong, that's what most of my friends did. But i guess some disposable bowls can be quite pretty. You use your discretion; im sure you will make the right choice!

And i have decided. I am not going to upgrade my floral deco in the hotel. I think Conrad provides a pretty decent decor so..one load off me mind. Speaking of which, which florists are you gals using? i was recommended Green point.

Hi deremi,

sure... i will add in the email column.. : )

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick Name</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Banquet</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Email </TD></TR><TR><TD>wyn52</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Same as AD</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>Sheraton Tower</TD><TD>staying w Ils</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Holly</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>17-Sep-05</TD><TD>The Wedding Present</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin Orchard</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>deremi</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>14-Jul-05</TD><TD>J&amp;M</TD><TD>GPPR</TD><TD>coris2</TD><TD>[email protected] </TD></TR><TR><TD>pebs</TD><TD>18 &amp; 19 Feb 06</TD><TD>Same as AD</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Le Meridien &amp; FCP</TD><TD>SengKang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christine</TD><TD>16-Feb-06</TD><TD>25-May-05</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>Still Sourcing </TD><TD>Simei</TD><TD>[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>