(2006) Brides of year 2006

welcome to the skivers club marilyn

OOoo to answer your question marnie, instead of the fish bowl, can replace it with those pretty and cheap boxes; that'll look pretty cool too. Marilyn- an idea for you.

oh, i saw from a martha stewart mag, it taught the readers how to fold paper boats. i tot tat was a lovely idea and its easy to make. can personalise the boats with guest's name and a thank u message. Me thinking of doing that. But since FH is a car fanatic, am looking for paper cars instead.

hi ah gal!
thanks for your reassurances! =)
yeah that was what i was thinking too...coz the interior of the hotel looks grand enough...n the view of the waterfall is really nice too..

my dinner is on monday...but kinda worried abt attendance also...but i read most ppl usu don't mind on a monday ley..
coz sunday next day also must go work..even more sian..anyway my monday blues kick in on sunday eve 1..haha...

hi tissuebox
welcome!

i'm back from my BS visit. confirmed Sanmike. didn't go to Precious Moment cos went Sanmike first. very comfortable with Michael. plus i can get all photos back! no additional charge.
can't wait for gown selection in Sept! i'm now left with looking for AD phtographer & videographer. Anyone got good lobang?

hey lilac,

welcome!

got some VG recom to u.

Mr Low - unlimited hrs VG taking $500
Mr Chris - 10hrs VG taking $450

sam wong - PG price not sure...can check out for u.
K@h Heng Wedding Photography
HP : 98709837

wow Deremi, you lobang queen ah hahaha
your date also chosen by Li's Feng Shui? me too!! he very accurate hor? i got him to do life analysis..both my hubby and i were stunned by his prediction!
but i must say his charges a bit ex la.. paid twice for dates selection cause the first 3 dates too hot liao..tough to book hotels

i see Sam Wong's name everywhere... is he super good? any website for Mr Low & Mr Chris's work?

hey lilac,

not lobang queen lah...just pass the info here n there...

yup! mine also calculated by master li...hmmm...abit exp lah...so far he is gd i can said...
ya! he also gv me 2 dates to choose frm.

this is sam wong contact n price
HP 98584964
Price : ard $580

i duno gd or not leh...

Mr Low & Mr Chris they dun hv any website to view...if u keen can call them up n request for a meeting.

i have some questions to ask, it is regarding the guy's suit...

i understand that we need to get the shirts to wear inside the shirts.. so do we just buy the normal collar shirts that is suitable to wear with suits, or we can buy wing collar shirts..
we will be using cravats instead of ties.. so i cannot decide what kind of shirts to buy,

any suggestions and where to get affordable shirts??

i have some questions to ask, it is regarding the guy's suit...

i understand that we need to get the shirts to wear inside the shirts.. so do we just buy the normal collar shirts that is suitable to wear with suits, or we can buy wing collar shirts..
we will be using cravats instead of ties.. so i cannot decide what kind of shirts to buy,

any suggestions and where to get affordable shirts??

EL: Thanks. Will discuss with my FH.

A few years back, when my brother is inviting his guest to his ROM reception, I suggested him to let his guests write on pebbles. (those that you can find along the landscaped garden) All of us have an enjoyable time drawing and designing and picking different size pebbles. It was fun. Some pebbles were really nice after that. In the end, they have a problem keeping the pebbles, cos there's so many. Heehee...

hi magical

dun worry mon shld be fine cos if u invite colleag they can ask each other to be punctual rite then i am sure ur relatives will not mind coming to attend ur big day . for me i dun like to attend sun wedding cos mon still have to work yah saw the waterfall is nice mah ..my hubby still ask real waterfall kekkeke cannot be real mah shld be man-made ..:p mine is on friday

hi selina
congrats.. did u took any fotos to share with us ?? how much is ur pkg ?? oh for me my PG is Wai peng and VG is Mr Low .. all is freelance

Hi Lilacblur,

Sam is good value for money if you are not VERY VERY particular to the extend of almost anal about photography.
You have his website? I can give it to you if you dont have

m&M: the pebbles idea is great! But yah,i would think there would be logistic problems after that. can think of someting else and can be easily kept after that
u haf set my creative juices running now kekekeke...
maybe the couple's old t-shirts can be used as 'guest book'? how'bout that! hmmm, maybe tats wat i'll do
oh my frens had a caricature drawn up and had their guests signed on it..another cool idea

have u gers drawn up ur guest lists already? u think its too early?

hi taragal,

i was thinking of using cravats also. mmm... just to check where you buy the cravats huh?

i think the collar of the shirt have to depend on how your husband looks in the shirt with the cravats.

hi deremi,
Raoul is the brand of the shirt.
good quality and nice but a bit on the expensive side.
i know that Suntec, millenium walk and raffles place have this boutique.

Hi Ladies....

Wah had been sometimes since I come in here... been very very busy recently... :p

Phy > Hi hi!!! So I guess you have signed your contract already.
Well, almost everything had been done... Hotel, BS, ROM venue, Video and Photographer booked already... A bit kia su... I will be going down to my BS on next Tuesday for measurement (1st)... a bit excited and dunno if they will let me try some gowns or not.

Ooshie > I always call him KKN... cos he wanna save this and that... hiaz... work had been piling up recently... manz...

Asura > Have not think of any locations to take my PS. We are planning to have our PS somewhere in late Oct or Nov... is that too early... Any good locations to suggest???

Bingbing > Depends on each individual preferences... For us, we book with Orchard MM for several reasons... The coordinator is very friendly and spontaneous towards our request, the location is easily accessible for all my guests, food not bad ( when I attend my friend's wedding last yr ), very flexi for decorations and others...

Ladies, I am actually now in dilemma, some of my colleagues said that my BS are not really very good, the other time when I signed up with them , they did not let me try their gowns either... now I abit worry and panicked over my side here... hiaz...

i have no idea which block he has.. but its definately not ready yet..

so shiok.. got your own flat already.. me still got to wait for a long long while..

how was your ROM?? so it means to say that legally... you are a 'Mrs' already!
now u just need to wait for the traditional ceremony before you are considered 'Mrs' in tradition.

hi linda,

i check with whitelink, they have the cravats, i spoke to my coordinator and she showed me one.. but i have yet to call and confirm the colors which they have...

do u think i should buy wing-collared shirts or normal collar shirts??

TinTin, if you dun mind, can send me Sam's website? i'll view from there then decide
actually i'm quite particular over photos and videos leh.. but i guess those good ones going to cost a bomb?

my ROM went great.. have a very unforgettable experience.. my hubby was so nervous that he took the wrong ring for me to wear during the ring exchange.. kekeke...

did i share my ROM photos with u coz i've share with some of the gals in the other thread?

hi selina!
wow..so good! can get all photos back?! how did u manage to psycho them? teach me!! =D

hi ah gal!
actually i'm a teacher, n that's the first monday of the hols! =)
i hope they don't 'sabo' me by going off overseas on that day..=D

i think should be man-made la...there're no rivers in that area..=)
i thought usu fri they consider as a weekend too?

M & M: Welcome back!!! Now 3 of us can be the musketeers of the Skivers Club..*hahahahah*

Thanks for the tips on the brooches and T-shirts!I will talk to Meraj about it but would definitely add the postcards!

For guest cards, I am looking at pretty and fun cards/papers. Think www.papersource.com - they have beautiful papers - I wish I am in the US sometimes! Otherwise, I am playing with the plain heavy paper spray glued on the other side with batik (my culture) or saree (Meraj's culture) fabric. Both are cheap and pretty!

Maybe you can suggest your brother and his wife to put the pebbles in a big glass bowl. That way, they can both enjoy the beauty and significance of the pebbles in years to come...

Tanel: No lah......I'm doing work also lah..but not as much as I should be lah...*heheheheh* Ssshhh....don't tell anyone....

Oooh yeah....KL and Bangkok have those really cheap straw boxes...Very asian...don't you think? Oooh....and so very pretty. But again, the nos. I would have to use for the tables are not logistically wise for me. I'd stick with just one great bowl lined with some pretty things in tune with the theme I am weaving.

Eh Tanel, better wash, double wash and triple wash your old T-shirts before you get your guests to sign on it..*heheheheh* Just kidding eh..wink*

Nice touch with the twist on the seating placecards! I am not going to actually use seating placecards. I will assign guests to a table but they can sit freely in that table. More relaxed that way (?) What do you think?

M&M & Tanel: I am actually getting excited exchanging all these ideas with you girls...!

I have drawn up my list cos' we needed an estimated headcount. Put the list into A and B..*hahahah* Mean I know....but needed to have back-up in case the overseas guest nos. fall shorter than we expected.

hi taragal,
you mean WL they have?
but the other time we ask my coordinator say dun have leh.
or maybe we din know how to describe to her loh.

in my opinion, i think both shirt also can. as i mention earlier, it have to depend on which collar suits your hb better. cos the collar of the shirt make the guys look differently.
hee... just my opinion...

hi serene!

The wedding over at M'sia would be at Malacca.. Heng it's not too far! hehe :P
but most likely it will be after the wedding here in SG.. hw abt urs???

Wow..3k is so much... me oni tot of spending less than 2 k for videography and montage....

SO in the end u took benny ang?? so they rate accordin to their photographer?

hi marnie,

wats the recepie for the chocolates..hehehe?

How i envy u guys can discuss this during working hours...sigh, my office dun allow us to serve the internet so can only check this forum at night..

Jean: Very easy. If you're making normal chocolates, the ingredients are only chocolate blocks (you can choose unsweetened, semi sweet - your preference) and butter/margerine and milk. The trick is actually the melting....and if you're adding other ingredients, the amounts. Making chocolates is actually a learn as you make experience.

Eh.....don't envy us. I think Tanel and I are very very naughty. Don't follow our bad example. *hehehhehe* We were literally skiving at work today....but tomorrow onwards, I think I will be switched on but then again, I'm sure my fingers will be itching to get on here..

Hi gingEr,
why your colleague say no good? in what sense .... that they i saw their show at suntec ... some of the gowns not bad ... but you dun go choose those cheena colors they have lah ... i think they have a pastel collection for evening gowns..not bad
normally good BS will let you try but did you ask to try? maybe coz you din thats why they also never suggest

you wanna take your photos in OCt / Nov? so fast can man ... you taking OTR?

Hi Petrina,
Ya it is Buangkok mrt...
And yes the place is call Atrina....

So lucky of you that you have the ready flat liao..

About your stay near parents 40K grant, not very sure on the rules on new flats if they are applicable? Did u check with HDB because the flats there are considered very new,affordable not like those old resale flats that are so expensive.

Aiyoyo ... GingerCat,

Why worry so much? I tot you told me that time (way back) that you have some designs (sketches) for them and are going to show them?
Don't worry so much. Worry too much later both sides also not happy. And don't let what people say affect you. Especially the negative comments. Very depressing and stressful. If you really feel it isn't good, perhaps you can change coordinator? (Is there such a thing?
)Try not to subject yourself to that type of stress cos I think putting up a wedding and house reno is already stressful enough! Don't you agree?

Anyway, if you are really worried, get a timeline. Heard that some BS even provide timeline. Since you've met them a couple of times, I suppose you've got a timeline too. Just stick to it. Things should be fine. When I went to sign, the boss told me new gowns are coming in in Oct 05. So I'll wait till then before I bother calling them. Of course I also kapoh ask when take photo and all. So he said Jan or Feb is a good time cos weather is cool and not so rainy. Think should be in time for me to select and fit it all in the album la.

Yap, I've signed all the contracts I need. Only my church wedding preparations not done. Confirmed venue but have not paid money nor sign anything. Stress! Going to need to take some time off my work to do all that soon!

Oh ya, if you want to ask if they allow you to try gowns, ask over the phone and ask until they allow you. Make sure you get the person's name and quote that person's name back if they don't. Haha ... doubt you even need to do that. Hope all goes well for you next Tuesday!

ya lilacblur, coz every yr me have the whole world children and school celecbrating wif me...hee hee

+ no excuse for my hubby to forget the date rite....(*wink*)

Hi all, wow..this thread is so active today

Welcome brink, Jac & My_gal!

Hee hee..Jac, ur AD is same as mine. But I haven't fixed my venue yet, still sourcing around.

Me also got my flat near buangkok mrt, Aspella. Will only be ready in 2008, so will be staying with my in-laws first. We are future neighbours in a way too.

muahaha, eh marnie, i can't make the same promise as you man....i don't know if my engine will start tomorrow..yah lah jean, don't envy us lah, we are powered by the dark side...muahahahhaa *deep breathing*

YES! It's so exciting exchanging ideas with you gals!
Goodness, Marnie, the website you gave is soooo pretty i like it! Hmm, now that i am thinking of folding paper cars, i need to start looking for papers myself eh? (heh excuses excuses)

EL: You think?? I keep going to the website every single day swooning like a mad woman..Possibly leaving a trail of drool on my 'puter screen...

I am getting my friends or Meraj's relatives to see whether they can pop into one of their stores to get paper for me or e-shop and have them delivered to my friend or relative...That or I'll do a treasure hunt expedition at Fancy Paper sometime this week. On hindsight, I'd get paper here and do meself. I think cos you're folding, can't get heavy paper. Something like a construction paper will be alright..Are you getting something colourful or sticking to a colour theme here? If your Conrad ballroom is all white, it'll be SOOO delicious to have a bright colour as accent..

EL, yeah yeah....we always come up with reasons to do things other than work.....
Bad bad girls....two of us. Jean.....don't come into the dark side.....

Been a long time since i visited this thread! how's everyone doing? I'm searching for AD photgrapher now. shortlisted sam wong and kalyedoscope. anyone has any comments? or any recommendations? Thanks!

Hi tissuebox,

i know of a restaurant that can hold 50+ tables that has hotel ballroom settings. it's bliss garden restaurant. it's a branch of the restaurant that i'll be holding my dinner. they are providing free flow beer, stout and hard liquor so u'll save money on these. u can join the bliss garden thread to see some pics. another restaurant that can hold 50+ tables will be dragon gate at harborfront.
I did some listing of restaurants during my search for venue. maybe u wanna email me at [email protected] so we can correspond via email?

Hi greekgal & tissuebox,
As for Neptune, I strongly recommend you to try out the food there *before* you decide! The place is a bit lok cok as well.

Wow to give $60 for the whole family is ULTRA cheapskate! Next time if they invite you, give them $20 can already! haha

Ah gal, my email is [email protected] and many thanks!
Wow can see that you and Serene have decided on the same VG. After I settle my reno must start to hunt for PG and VG!

<table border=1><tr><td>AD (May 06)</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Photographer</TD><TD>Videographer </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>akoyo</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>geberra</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>RASA Sentosa</TD><TD>GHA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>maggie</TD><TD>Qianxi</TD><TD>JB (Printemps)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>tissuebox</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>tsukushi</TD><TD>GH</TD><TD>SB</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>ayane</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>racherlle</TD><TD>Sentosa Resort and Spa</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Selina</TD><TD>Ocean City @ Apollo Centre</TD><TD>Sanmike</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Serene Lee</TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>JB (New York Classic)</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Mr Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>zen</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Kai</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>greekgal</TD><TD>RTP</TD><TD>WL</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>pinkyu</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>WL</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>ah gal</TD><TD>CC</TD><TD>YC</TD><TD>Wai Peng</TD><TD>Mr Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Aiko</TD><TD>RTC</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>magical</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>BZ</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi tsukushi!

me!me! i've started planning for HM! hehe
a bit ks ah.. hehe but pretty excited abt it..

i'm planning to go Canada and USA for my HM..

Wow, so early plan for HM already. I have no plan yet leh. Most probably will have a big hole in the pocket after the wedding and renovation.