(2006) Brides of year 2006

hi magical, me too! is it in a recent bridal mag..i love the wings on the chairs!

welcome selina, that adds 1 more person to the 14/5/06! which BS have u been to?

ShaRoy: Jean Perry sheets should be alright. You just need to see the cotton thread count...that would make a difference as to the softness of the bedlinen.

Hi bing Bing!
i dunnoe about MM but i personally do not like Westin coz of the numerous ballrooms . Somemore yours is a good date what if 4 or 5 weddings held together? then your guests will be so confused then not so special also
so have you struck PP put of your list? the price is comparable right?

hi ah gal!

congrats on ur ROM!

Bali is quite a nice place.. try to stay at the Nusa Dua area.. nicey!

hi selina!
welcome to the thread!

hehe same AD as mine! wow seems like 14th is quite popular too!

Hi Bng Bing,

My coord is not Angela. I've got Stephine. She's a nice lady. I've got two couples who were under her so when they recommended me, she was quite obliging. Furthermore, as I'm taking one of their most expensive packages (on sat ma), so things are quite ok. The only thing I've decided when I went to speak with them was not to think or compare about the price.

Previously, I went to several hotels because I wanted a cheaper table. But I was either not happy with the service, or I recevied negative comments or I didn't like the ball room when I went down to view it. But when I went to Marriott, I had a very positive feeling. A lot of positive energy seemed to flow through me. My FH also liked what he saw. So we decided to stop thinking about the price, save more money per month and pray for the best la!

hi selina! welcome to this thread!
oh well...after all parents brought us up..so no choice loh...just make them happy..=) anyway u might enjoy it too! my friends all said they enjoyed their wedding day very much..

hi geberra!
yes yes its that one! style mag with thomas ong n joanne peh on the cover ..
so nice right?! just makes u go 'sigh....' *dreamy look* haha....maybe u can use that idea too..

hey christine,

oic...hmmm....my mum helping me to source bakery for GDL loh...
my FIL side no lah...
n the rest of the things is me & my FH doing the wedding stuffs.

i hvnt buy any yet...wana buy frm goldheart.

hi petrina, ya ur BS is quite good & honest.

sometimes, dunno whether to write stuff here or in AD thread..kee kee...

Marnie: You are defintely making sense. I am also those type that must bring my point across. My counsellor had warned my FH to let me talk and share my view as I am those that needed to talk. I can't keep it inside. (However, I can keep secret rather well...heehee) If he's not going to let me talk, he knows that I will find others to talk and he doesn't want that. But I don't need him to agree with my views, but I like to debate over issues so that it can bring more insight to the situation. I don't like to cover things. It fact, I like to confront issues, in a very gentle way... But I have learnt that timing is very important...

Yah....

To all of us here,
Let's pray for the best and hope our guests and relatives pity us and give us more ang pow money!

My renovation is going to cost me a bomb..

budget was 23 K... but me and FH add this and that... in the end... think reaching 28K liao.. hopefully my ID would give good discounts

Marilyn: Yeah yeah. I totally agree with you. We're somewhat alike, I must say....But sometimes my timing wrong...*hahahahhaha* Serves me right then.....but at least Meraj will allow me to talk later...*hahahahah* I think I very lucky liao to have met him. *grin*

Hmm...I wonder where everyone else *looking across* Hope I didn't scare everyone away...

hi Deremi,

icic... me too, me & my FH are preparing all the stuffs...my parents also duno what to prepare or maybe is still early to prepare ...?

I like goldheart's ring too, but the size doesn't fit me, is either to small or too big, so settle for Lee Hwa instead...

so ur ROM will be the same day as ur AD?

hey christine,

oic...aiyo...tot u can book GPPR for ur banquet.
nope...my ROM on july.

think sheraton hotel not bad...their grand ballroom min 30 tables...u can consider.

Hi Selina,
Welcome to join this thread and also to 14 May.
Do need some help in BS? I sign up with JB BS. The price is confirm cheaper than SIngapore BS. Do let me know if you want more info.

I know what u mean.. coz everyone is at the AD 06 thread and that's why here is pretty quiet..

somemore our questions for one another might overlap in these 2 threads..

Hi Deremi,

Ya lor, i tot so too, cos my FH quite like GPPR, he feels the location is good, convenient for guests too.

mmm... now i am considering Marriott already, is our 2nd option but will still try to source ard...tks... sheraton seems to be quite ex rite, think is ard 900++?

hey christine,

actually marriott not bad too...
yup! think sheraton is ard that price. bt their table can sit 12 ppls leh.
think they got promo nw...not bad the perks.
my F-BIL is taking this banquet.

hi Deremi,

sheraton's hving promo.. okok.. shall chk them out.

may i know, what are the other charges that will be incurred for banquets even though prices is stated nett already?

Hi Deremi,
i'm trying to start excerising now but very lz, oso weather not helping too, rain rain rain. :P btw, when do we need to GDL? my ROM same day as AD so both side parents hv not meet up yet.

Hi Pebs,
i tink 11 pax per table is still ok. Just hv to chk if the food serving will increase or not, in case ur guest complain portion too little...

welcome christine
congrats, next week u will be offically a MRS liao. ur BS package very gd. but $75 per extra pix a bit x hor? wil dey gv disc if you hv more re-print? soory u can't cfm GPPR. in case u need more option, carlton's food is good (served fr the famouse resturant in the htl). ballroom ok but not pillarless. Amara just reno last yr so ballrm quite new. foyer area for pre-dinner cocktail oso very private. svc is gd, my FH went for dinner there twice end of last yr n comment the captain/mgr very heplful. oso dey hv special ceiling lighting effect. food wise ok only. i'm using sheraton, min 30 tables of 12 pax, so if based on table of 10, only $750+++ for wkend. I tink if u cfm be4 31 May 05, can opt for fre-flow beer, 24 bottle corkage waiver for wine. i tink someone jus posted the 2006 rates on the sheraton thread, u may wan to pop to hv a look.

FYI, LH hvg storwide sale 20%. time to take out the credit card

hey christine,

hmmm....think if im not wrong the other charges maybe will the lent of project or extra decor...

or u wana consider pan pacific hotel? their min table for a ballroom is 30. bt i duno the price izit nett or not.

Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel also not bad lah. min 30 tables for the ballroom n is pillarless...
bt their sharkfin not nice leh.
n the price is not nett leh...is +++

thanks for the warm welcome!

hi geberra,
i've been to Graceful Image at Tan Quee Lan. the gowns are ok, but package quite expensive. went to wedding fair - Seletar Broadway, Everbliss, Double Up. Didn't sign up cos sales stuff very pushy.

thanks! serene, i have to get local BS cos hubby working 6 day week. hard to take leave to travel
to M'asia.

hi racherlle,
May 14 is a good date. got it from a sifu. only no good for those born in year of rooster. Think more May brides will appear cos tong shu is coming out soon.

hi magical,
i jus hate the idea of planning the wedding. husbands don't help much. tiring & time consuming. most friends fight alot during this time. a friend nearly want to be a 'runaway bride'. luckily her dad hid her passport.

Hi Wyn,

Tk u..
ya lor, next week change status liao, kinda nervous...
i think is a bit ex too compared to my fren's pkg, but already signed liao, also not too sure if there will be disc if i want more reprint leh.. hv not really check with them on that yet. btw, have u all choose ur WGs already?

Actually, we tot of Carlton too, but i suddenly remembered that we actually had food poisoning when we had our company's D&D 2 yrs ago...

Hi Deremi,

tks... cos i am afraid that there will be hidden charges, so got to take that into a/c too.

i called Grand Corpthorne Waterfront, they're currently hving promotions too, but my FH dun like that place leh, he say not convenient.. sigh...

not easy to settle on banquets really...: )

hey christine,

im sorry...type wrongly.
pan pacific hotel ballroom hold min 40 tables...not 30 tables.

aiyo...Carlton the food there not fresh?

yup! my FH also think Grand Corpthorne Waterfront not so convenient too...

i chosen my gowns for PS loh...bt wan to choose again...going down for my 2nd fitting soon...

Hi Deremi,

is ok, i almost wanna called them up..

i also duno leh, but quite a nos of us got diahorrea after the D&D... we feedback to Carlton, their service is good. they offered to give us complimentary meals at their cafe vic, but we think is ok lah, dun wanna make big fuss abt it lor...

wow.. so fast choose for PS already, when is ur PS ah?

hi Deremi,

now further shortlisted a few :-
1) Raffles Romance - #1 choice but they hv a tentative booking for conference...
2) Marriott

still trying to find some more...like not much choice liao...where else ah? headache...

hi selina!
just take it easy loh...better still if mu hubby dowan to help so much..like that i get things done faster..hahahe's the typical guy's guy..cannot tahan alot of these planning things, so i do all the research n shortlist the ones i like..then bring him along for approval only..

wah your friend's father knew she wanted to run away ah? hm...maybe its coz they took things too hard...

anyway no point stressing yourselves out, just have fun planning loh..

hi selina

i oso thot of runaway bride really cannot tahan supposely ROm or wedding belongs to both party.. ended up i do most of the research , calling up and drag my hubby to meet up for approval .. luckily i have my bros and sis to help me out thruout the events really really upset abt this

help help ....sob ...sob

Hi Selina, I think guy cannot really help much. Most of the couple I know, all planning and doing for ROM or Wedding is done by girl. I think we are more got nai xin in doing this kind of work.

My HB also push all the things for me to do. From our ROM to reno of hse is done by me. I still have to plan all the budget things and he jus sit there and play his games. Becos of this I am already complaint so many time adn quarrel but no use. It is still the same. I now give up liao. As long as he is happy then I dun care lor. Hee Hee.......

Magical is right, sometime without them we can do things faster.

hi selina
welcome to this thread!
u mentioned 14 may is not a good date for pple born in the year of rooster..i am one le..haha..but my AD is not on 14 may la..;P

hi serene
Absolutely agreed with you..i feel that guys are ok with reno preparation but not so much on wedding preparation..

hi ah gal
what a waste if u want to be a runaway bride..ur rom was so beatiful..
have u chosen ur WG and EG?

ooshie> no laj, pan pac still on my list cos i like the coor Bonnie, the pkg was gd, the suite nice, only bad htings r the location not as near as the other hotels i'm considering, and the other things is the table price is high n i might loogie a lot from my 20 tables of relatives...

willl be going to see the pacific ballroom on mon, the other time i onlu got the see the ocean balroomwith the deco, it's usu so different with wedding deco so we decided to see the "real" things bef deciding whether we like the pacific room...

phy> oh i like marriott too, i din exactly have the "this is it!' feeling like the positive feelings u had, how i wish i hv that reaction then i wun hv such a hard time deciding... on 1 end i want choose the lower table price (not lowest - face factor ;p) so i dun lose too much fr relatives angbaos, n use the "savings" to do more deco to make it special; on the other hand i wan to disregard all the loogie n enjoy the ballroom & suite & pkg that i love best cos it's my wedding - one in a lifetime! loogie then loogie la!... but that's like the impetuous thought la, calm down a bit then rembr many married frens warn us not to be stupid n throw money away like paper, wait till the bills come, plus those for the house n honeymoon then cry oso no tears liao...

*sigh* it all boils down to budget constraints lor, if i spend on the banquet i got to squeeze the "after-banquet" life lor... based on our salary i dun think we can save enuf to be "carefree"

asura> wah ur reno incluide furniture n elec applicances costs or not? me n fh decided that once we got our flat (hvnt buy yet cos no suitable ones on sale), we will do basic floor, cabinets, toilets, then the furniture, jus buy 1 tv, fridge, stove, bed, aircon, then the rest buy month by month ;pp

i TOTALLY agree with the part on guys dun help much. today i called the jp to change my timing again. my fh says i crazy over this jp. becos of him must change the time earlier & make the guests come early & hv early dinner. say why die die wan this jp? there're 100 over jps out there. he says we may as well bring it up to 3pm! still say he's not joking! i simply can't be bothered with him!

i also quarrelled with him over our wedding a few times. almost wan to cancel off our wedding. so now i jus select all the things i wan, ask him to go down with me to see, then i decide & go down myself to pay the deposit another day. recently i even told him that it's as if i'm marrying myself! & he laughed.

how's all yr planning coming along? i've sourced for my ad venue(they only accept booking in Jul), settled my bs & ad photgrapher, confirm with jp. Still need to find an outdoor photographer, buy wedding bands (early next yr) & most imptly towards the end of the yr find hse!!! (if not got nowhere to stay aft wedding!) wat else did i miss out huh?

hi magical, yes i love that...*dream* haha..see how, i see if want to spend extra $ to decorate.

gals, quite true..mostly is the women who are doing the planning..see even the forum is mainly women..
i do feel stressed over the planning..esp when my progress is quite slow..

hi zen..
i think i know which JP you referred to..i wanted to book him for my ROM last year too and he was already booked by another couple..so i guess it's good to act fast..sometimes the guy don't understand the urgency of things..my fh couldnt believe it when i told him that some couples have already booked their venues for year end 2006 weddings..he kept saying that we still have aplenty of time to look see look see..the worse is that he changes his mind and opinions every time we discussed about the wedding preparation..was so annoyed at time..heee..

i think the tasks that you have listed is complete. For me, i will be getting my bs photography for AD and PS. Also renovated my lovenest already..:P

happy preparation!!!

bing bing,

My reno have not included furniture and elex appliances costs yet..

My kitchen is my most expensive expenditure .. cos hecking my wall and replacing it with glass wall.. and the kitchen cabinet is very long as well... major of my expenditure in the kitchen.. Am only doing flooring, WIW, shoe cabinet and kitchen cabinet and toilet... Toilet is the next expensive item..
Our ID have not provided us with further discount yet

No choice lah.... it would last me for a long time.. I dont want to not like what i get...
Furniture would probably all be on 0% installment... no choice..

Wah.. 20 tables of relatives???? I thought mine was bad enough...

it seems like all of us are in the midst of wedding preparation. So far, I've already booked my AD venue and BS. Have not signed the contract for the banquet though. I have also not visited the BS yet after I have signed the contract with them. I am busy preparing for my renovation now. So much thing to do, not sure is there sufficient time or not...as the time draws nearer, I believe there are more to be done.