(2006) Brides of year 2006

matsu

Sam, will go look out 4 thick card board then

Ribbon, ic thanks 4 the infor, will go take a look there.

Btw we have not plan 4 our HM too, mayb next yr loh since too late to book liao & no time to plan 2 coz we prefer F&E.

deb_pooh

hi linda, carol from promise2love drop me an email last wk with regards to wrist corsages. hve decided to place an order wif her. u contact her too ?

deb_pooh

hi blur, seem like u hve done quite a no of stuff. well done, btw, i got a pair of earrings & bracelet from the jewellery fair last wkend at takashimaya. hve consulted, my hubby need to pick me at 9am. they say 9 to 11am is the best time to pick bride from her hm.

today, help MIL write the invited guest names on the invitation card. left with only 5 whom hve yet to reply. tis sun gotta drop by relatives hse to give them invitation card.

georginat

Hi Girls !!

I am new to this thread but been postinng at another thread a few weeks ago....

I am a Dec bride too :) AD is Dec 9 and dinner is on Dec 10 coz couldnt get a venue on Dec 9, everywhere is fully booked on this HOT date !!

jennifer_teoh

hi gurls.. seems like u gurls realy v done alot the past wkend.. but i haven done anything.. xcept finish writing my bf & my portion of the invitation cards le.. ;p .. but i guess tis wkend shd b more fruitful for us bah.. hee.. my travel agent say can collect the rest of our accomm & train tix frm them liaoz.. so wil oso b goin to xchange currency tis wkend.. plus do some foto printing to include it in the invitation cards..
.. oh.. plus buy htb's shirt.. gosh.. u gurls v any idea wher to buy alitle shiny kinda bronze / brown long sleeve shirts?? .. v been lukin for it.. but dun seems to b able to find abit shiny those kinds leh.. we need it so that he can match my EG.. any ideas?

hi blur.. u muz v done alot of tings liao mann! ..thats gd!!
btw, ur frd haven collected the corsages rite? .. jz wanna cfm cz suddenly rem it.. she wil get it early nov izit? ..

ublur

morning gals...

well, i think I still got more things to do. song selection, AD programs, emcee speech, writing invites all not done yet. I have not started writing my invites yet cos I planning to send out invites less than 3 weeks before the wedding. I agree with Debbie, this wkend is long weekend, will be more fruitful. I will be having my food tasting session on monday, and will bring my mum to buy her dress.

Jen T, you can go try zara.. I last time bought some nice shirt with slight shimmers for my HB. not sure they still carry such shirts now. Go give it a try.
as for the corsages, she collected long time cos her wedding was 2 wks ago. She still having her honeymoon now. most prob I will get the corsages from her early Nov when she return. So u can collect from me then.

By the way, what do we need to buy on the actual day eh?? my MIL asked me to buy those "long feng" candles, combs (then must tie red string" etc...
any one as any idea? can please advise me and where I can get them? Thanks ya

silentelf

Hi Blurblur, u can get the long feng candles & the stands at blk 531 hong lim complex #02-58 Upper cross st (next to fook hai). I bot all my GDL & traditional things from there. The lady boss is very approachable.

nami

Looks like you all have done alot! Whereas for me, I did nothing leh....was resting over the weekend coz very tired.
I am trying to arrange to meet up with my frens in group to give out my invites. All packed for the coming long weekend haha. And gotta start writing the cards already.
Blur, I havent take the corsages haha. Probably this week I think

blurberry

Diamond~Morning!move to 4 gear already right? haha!I still do very hard with tying ribbons
want to start draft the AD schedule lor!aiyah, me still have many things pending and on hold :p

jklim4642

318, AD schedule. Nothing much for me to draft. simple one will do...

tomorrow am on leave. got to run errands. after that will finish writing the invites for MY guests (FH has not started with his) & do another AP box... kekeke

ublur

silentelf,Thanks for the contacts, maybe I shall hop down this wkend to honglim complex.

Nami, okay, then u better inform Carol in advance to collect ur stuff. I will most send out my invitation cards via post. Don't think I got time to meet up with my friends to pass to them personally.

matsu

Sob...think i gng to faint. Juz found out that my FPIL 39 tables of guest list r all juz their intended guests! Meaning they din actually call to check if these ppl r confirm coming or not!

Don't think this should b the way rite? I don't dare to imagine if most of their guest din turn up then how?!

blurberry

Diamond~wow, I wish I can finish tying ribbons soon.

Matsu~ops, I also face same problem with you, MIL guest list haven't come out yet, even the relatives also haven't inform, last 2 months I already to 'force' my hb to chase his mum to call relatives to save the date. MIL just started call on last Sunday, end up just called 3 familys because already 'talk' whole Sunday night! And come back to us said moslty relatives will travelling on dec....fainted!

sandsand

matsu: yeah... think same issue on my part...

diamond: jia you hor.... going to be completed..... why need laser printer? photocopying machine cannot meh? do up on copy of a few maps on one piece then photostat lor..

jklim4642

matsu/318, shld hv done a perliminary headcount for guests before u confirm the minimum tables with the hotel.

the way i did was, how many guests wld i be expecting then i multiply by 80% attendence. say come up to 20 tables, i will then confirm min 18 tables & 2 spare tables with the hotel. but, i will also check the maximum capacity the ballroom can accomodate... if i hv 100% turn out of my guests.. the ballroom must be able to accomodate the no. of tables.

hotel usually wans u to confirm the min tables & 2 spares. the actual no of tables only need to confirm 1 week before the AD after the guests have RSVP.

that was how i did it the other time

jklim4642

ribbons, well.. am very fussy when it comes to quality... similary, the invites are all printed on laser printer... similarly, i will do the same for the map... photocopier print one not as good...

but i will use the photocopier to photostat the wedding service booklet instead.. coz that one, no sensible person will use laser printer to print.. :p

sandsand

oic.... true lah, might as well make it the same theme since the cards are already in that theme..

your booklet has a few pages one right? so more economical to use machine then.. but all in black lor..

matsu

Sigh...i thou they have contacted their guest b4 giving us the guest list

Juz found out that they don't do save the day kinda arrangement, will juz send out the invitation & will only know if they turn up or not @ dinner!! Think the old folks consider asking their guest if they r coming is rude?!

sandsand

318bi: invitations cards, iave the date cards and inserts collected from T&T already.... going to start tying and writing names soon..

gosh i am so angry with four seaosn catering man.... i initially shortlisted this company, to be a caterer for the church high tea reception..

I had sent them an email 2 months ago and countless emails from then till recently. NO REPLY from them, NO Phone call.. such 'prompt' reply... nvm.. pple say they have good food and the portions are good.. so will still give them another chance. i called gave them a courtesy call yesterday to ask how come no reply from them. I was very nice in my call. The girl that answered my call reassured me that her colelauges (any one of the wedding coordinators) will call me back within the same day (which was yesterday). No call.

Today 1030am then i get a call from one of them...

then after i tell her my date, how many guest i wanna cater for and my requests to customize a package, she say oh its new year period, cannot customize. MUST follow their set. Or take their ala carte hi tea package, but when i asked if there will be decor, she says no. then what for i take.

I didnt bother to talk further i just told her "sorry, then i will strike four season off my list then. thank u."

sigh.. i hold back all these cos i wanted to get quotes from all my shortlisted caterers first..... waste 2 months of my life waiting for them.... why couldnt they just answer my many emails? I use my coporate email and hotmail to send leh... and if the email on the site isnt a functioing one then why put it online?

they were very unwilling to do anything more for me, not even asking to hear what i needed for requested customized menu....

maez

oops sorry ribbons, i din have such a bad experience w fourseasons. but because i din start out w email, immediately called them n i got reply immediately..

hope u find sth else soon then..

jklim4642

ribbons, 4seasons is not the only caterer who does not reply to emails prompty. Lavish also. we are using Lavish. B'coz deco is nice & food is good. but i think biz these upcoming mths are very good.. so they are very biz.. hence, response time will be slow!!

it also took me 2 weeks to get the confirmation order after we met Lavish.

yes, church booklet is 5-6 pages.. am using ivory papers to print. already bought 3 rims of that papers from fancy papers. but the cover will be in GOLD... also bought from fancy papers

sandsand

yeah.. i have other quotes from other caterers... just thought i get all first and compare together with FH before i call for more details.... well, at least i can move on and start calling now... =)

kar

hi all... my long planned wedding is finally over, now working on the lifetime contract, marriage! haha.

To those whose wedding is yet to over... rem to enjoy the moment as much as u can. i felt tat i was too busy on other stuff tat i forgot to enjoy. haha. And most of all, rem to smile smile and smile... take many many pics! You are the star!

Congrats all!

blurberry

Diamond/Ribbons, I still waiting Lavish reply....Aiyoh, I have to start calling again leh...Do you have other contact for catering?

jklim4642

318, dun wait. just call them. they are very biz. you have to push them. i did after taking over from FH. he is too easy with them & it is taking too long a time.

i just confirmed the order. hv decided to use Lavish b'coz the food is good... and the deco is pretty too.. they will be using tealights & fresh flowers to deco as our buffet is in an enclosed aircon area.. so can play with the lighings.

also, they are not charging us when we request for pre-set up the day before.
and they will be deco the place using the colour theme i wanted

jennifer_teoh

hi blur..
thx!! .. did chk out zara a couple of wks ago.. but prob wil go dwn ther again 2see if they v any new stocks comin in which v wat i wan..
.. oh.. ok.. no prob.. do let me noe once ur frd pass the corsages to u bah.. ;p.. btw, the GDL stuffs, i bought it frm the temp chinatown shelter.. nxt to outram mrt station... ther is one shop in the shelter which sells all the GDL stuffs.. and they r veri familiar w wat kinda stuffs r required.. they wil b able to advise u..

georginat

hi girls !!

The threads move very fast !!Looking at the threads now, topic is on catering... i am looking for a caterer too ..now i will leave four season alone !!! i have a few on my lists, international catering, mum's kitchen , elsie's kitchen and rasel ...did any of you use any of the mentioned caterers before??

Have a nice day, girls !!

sandsand

georgina..... yes our thread moves VERY fast man... so you've got to log in here often to read and chat k..

international catering? hmm.. never heard b4...

sandsand

I dont have lavish contact.... too ex, so i never even go try... besides they werent halal certified..

i have: royal catering, elsie's kitchen, chilli api, harvest catering, Q'Zin, stamford, glory catering, Oh's farm catering , smiling orchid and AXA...

I just got a quote from AXA.... looks good leh, and the sales person who, i spoke to, very easy to speak to....

lilic

<font color="0077aa">318, you can call richie ling of lavish at 90094155. i am dealing with him. he is very professional.. =)</font>

blurberry

Diamond~You mean the price already fix,right? cause my boss house warming food from them also,They gave her discount ma....I tot got discount lor..hehehe..paisheh..okok....I already sent them an email but no reply leh...will call them later...
Ribbons~AXA good?
Pandalic~okok..thanks thanks!

jklim4642

318, yes price is fixed. look at the church package at its website.. quite standard one. so u hv an idea wat they are offering when u call them. also, they allow us to swap dishes across menu also... &amp; it is throwing in some stuff for us at no extra cost.

sandsand

318bi: from what i have seen so far from the menus and the customer service i have received so far today (only call them today), not bad lor... but only worry i have is that no one i know has tried their food before...

anyone here tried food catered by AXA b4?

smurfying

Congrats Wendy!! Erm was it C-section? How come u're awake one?

All, I'm back in SHA n back to work too lor. Sianz sia... Oso dunno wat i ate the day before, must b too much of the tequila during my Hen's party!! Haha!!

Dwarfs, not to worry abt ur injury k? Rest well.

nitestar

hey girls,
any one have contacts for rose petals? sigh... i need quite a lot of them... unless u girls can help me think of other ideas... i have like 3 march ins... one for my solemnisation (before dinner)... then the 2 dinner march ins...

gentasg

Hi debbie,

I alreadi got mine from Carol...

Went for my food tasting... just one silly question to ask...
do you think your coordinator should be ard during your food tasting...
mine didnt appear so my hubby and I were quite upset about her service...