(2006) Brides of year 2006

yuki31

wow today nvr login then so much posts already ...keke :p

Kai- where u print ur insert?
angel - is it better to do hotstamping or juz normal kind? i havent really check out the effects.

samkoh1975 - welcome ...T&T is located at JB City Square
ur FH bo chap? my FH leave most planning n research work to me but decision making part he will make the choice :p

lush_queen

Woah, you gals are so fast in the wedding preps. I am still getting my flat ready. Reno is done but flat is not furnished yet. Every other weekend is spent shopping for furniture and electrical stuff.

A lot of stuff not done yet. I still havent confirm the number for wedding invites printing. The car and deco also havent start searching.

I've got a tiny problem, FH don't wanna give thank you speech during dinner cos he says he confirm will have stage fright. For me I am ok plus I thought that the speech will give a personal touch to the already boring sit-down dinner. I don't mind giving speech on his behalf but some friends were telling me not to as it will seem the wife is dominating. Most weddings I have been to, the groom is the one armed with the thank you speech and the bride will always be the demure looking one standing by his side. Seldom see both bride and groom with thank you speech either(think only 1 or 2 wedding I attended). How ah....anyone with suggestions?

angeldust

gd evening girls & guy,

Yuki - normal kind of offset printing (which is ink printing) will be cheaper interms of cost but fulfils the same purpose as the hotstamping. The hotstamping is nicer in terms of appeal but more costly. It is really an individual choice of whether u wanna cut cost or go for appeal.
I have been keeping wedding invites over the past 2 years so I have both sets as well as other unique personalised cards. To be frank, as a receiver/invitee of the wedding invites, normally I will see who is it from, which location and what date then stick it on my fridge and update in my organiser so this "fish brain" of mine wun forget. otherwise i still have a walking diary at home. aka my hubby. HA HA HA HA HA HA HA..

Samkoh - hi welcome to this crazy thread!! Guess most of the girls here except maybe for panda (who has an understanding hubby) & daman (who is so active here), will encounter the same problem as u. My hubby will often go oh my god.. still a long way to go.. do we have to make a discuss it now?

Basically, what I did was to do the basic groundwork, shortlist my likes for certain vendors within the +/- 20% of the budget then discuss with hubby. cos my husband does not like to "shop" for vendors. HA HA HA HA HA After we thrash those he disapprove, we will visit those he approve and then make a joint decision. If he disagrees and I disagree, we toss a coin sometimes. *winks*. Also at a certain point in time, hubby will suffer from wedding overdose. So i give him "off days" like let him play computer games the entire day, during world cup season.. totally no wedding stuff or minimal is being done.
give him space to breathe and know when to "activate" the wedding hormones.

Just to share. :p sorrie for being lor sor..

cheo

Hi all BTB,

Kindly advise what song to select for 1st dish, 1st march in, champagne pouring & 2nd march in.

jennifer_teoh

hi gurls..
hehe.. so funie.. i came into the thread durin the wkend.. n it was practically dead.. then i din log on tis thread onli today and it is already sooo active.. hee..
but its soo exciting!! cz it means that our wedd is gettin nearer and nearer... woo... hehe..

do we really need to get gifts for our parents and inlaws? i tink its more applicable for christians izit? (sorie.. no offence.. ) cz after goin for so many weddings.. i onli noe one frd who is a christian who gave her parents and inlaws gifts in the church.. not during dnr..
but i dun tink i wil b givin gifts to my parents and inlaws.. wat abt u gurls?

hi nami..
i m currently gettin rsvp frm frds.. and perhaps by end tis wk, will ask all my frds to rsvp liaoz.. need to est the actual tables.. cz i tink i m exceeding the no of tables liao le.. sigh.. worried siah.. tink muz ask my father to quickly confirm his draft guest list liao mann.. haiz.. somemore my parents always take their own sweet time.. ;p

hopefully by tis wk, i wil b able to confirm my draft inserts so can ask the printing shop to start print them.. and collect the inserts by early oct..

kitty_li

hi lushqueen,
I agree with you that the speech will give a personal touch to the dinner. Maybe the both of you can reach a compromise? How about, your FH says a few lines of thank yous (those v standard ones - thank you all for coming etc...), then you continue with the more personal lines? But perhaps try to make it such that both of you have more or less the same number of lines of speech...?

ffbear

Hi, Jen T,
me same as u.. most prob not giving gifts to parents & ILs.. cos tat is juz not me.. hahahha.. as in, my family is more the conservative type.. so dont think they ll wan the spotlight on them.. but tot tat is a good idea though.. hahahah..
m waitin for my printer person-in-charge to b back fr her hols.. then ll give her the final go ahead to print.. tat ll simply mean 1 thg down.. then wait for the cards to b ready in 2 weeks' time..
my parents oso the same leh, taking own sweet time.. u see.. now it's stil 7th mth.. seems like everythg comes to a stand stil cos of tat.. nevermind, tis is the last week liao.. then can speed up..

stefylim

hi samkoh...i totally agreed with angel...my FH also the same lah....everything also say so early must do liow ah...

now guest list still haven come out...furniture haven shop haiz....thk most guys r the same lah....hee hee hee..

we just haf to do the groundwork lor....

poohbear88

hi ribbons,

for TnT, besides matt gold printing ,what other type of printing they have ?how about the other shop,does the gold print looks brownish also?thanks so much!

smurfying

okok will take $50-80 each as a gauge...but bro i think my FH gonna b ard 100 ar...Think will leave it to nearing the date then decide.

wah diana u provide so many make ups ar... I subsidized my 2 nephews those tuxedo suits, cost me $200 in total manz...luckily my SIL zitong to buy them the black shoes at her own cost haha! I dun hav flower gals leh...only page boys...

twinkle2610

anyone need more info can let me know...

i actually did a comparison with Focal Ad (contact from pandalic)& Hi-Tech is slightly cheaper... but the down side is..the string gotta tie urself.. hehe.. so depends on u wanna save abit of $ n do some work urself... or let them do everything for u, n u pay abit more lor... =)

xfiles_wolvie

maez-i tink if i am not wrong rtp will assign a banquet manager to u and a bellboy or smething like tat. forget the exact term for it liao. but that person will fu shi u and ur hubby lor. watever u need can get from him. smething like tat based onthe wedding show at rtp early this yr.

pandalic-harlow..long time no hear. heheh. me finally gog to contact my hotel and start doing invites liao. my songs still hangs in mid air. arhghg. stress liao. hehe. ur songs choosing is areadi done? cant rem. sori.

yuki-ya lor..if really really bo bian then mix them ard. if not then i hope all zun zun 10 per table. hahaha. total me and da wife will come up abt minimum 15tables for friends and colis. cham. so many. hahaha. song choosing not yet started. keep saying doing but then when tat wkend comes, nvr do but NUA whole day. hahahaha. must get my butt on the go liao. hehe

elven-relax and tke ur time for the house. control more on the pics though. hehe.

angeldust-da wife was suggesting 11 per table for adding the malay friends/colis. as in 10 chinese and 1 malay in that table as they belong to the same gang. and we dun really wan to have a malay table. cos there was a time tat my malay colis left the restaurant b4 half of the event went passed cos they felt that the taste of the malay food did not conform to the halal standards so the whole table pple left. i scare that happen to me. then 1 table empty. sigh.

so should we have a malay table by mixing all malays together or put the malays at the table where the gang/click are all there? sang nao jin.

dun worry, me still nua-ing...hahha

samkoh1975-relax...dun worry abt the bo chup thing. just relax and tok to ur FH. communication is very impt at these stages.

sandsand

Yuki: Basically when hotstamping is used, you can feel the words when you run your finger over them, and the gold is shiny kinda gold.. The other kind of printing (sorry, never ask what sort of printing.. Think T Dragon calls it Econmy Printing) is jus like normal printing, they call its matt gold, but to me loooks like brown lor.. if you like me dont really bother, then you can go ahead with this option lo.. I bother more about cost. =) I not as meticulous as angel, i didnt ask about the printings type.. In fact when i started thinking about the printing then i heard of such thing as hotstapming..

angeldust: your description of your hubby so candid!! HAHA!!.. must still give him breakk.. ahhaha.. my fh ah, he was the one who did the headstart on all aspects of the wedding and house.. the begining i was like your hubby cos the wedding idea not in my head yet.. for example, he source for all the hotels and show me. those i dont like we eliminate and work on those shortlisted one lor.. he also handled the house sourcings payment and reno by himself (he knows i cannot make it one) BUt now wedding planning i take over.. If i show him caterers quotes, he will like "so far away leh..." hahaa... so i handle everythnig lor..

samkoh: maybe you two can share work? like for me and fh, we share work. House he handle, wedding day stuff i handle. Quite a fair deal i feel...

vaax

Hey ribbons,

Thanks so much for recommending TnT, they are fantastic. Chop chop, efficient and cheap! I introduced them to my colleague and he's impressed too
And the best part is they printed everything in 4 days! Wow... that was really fast

Anyone getting wedding jitters? Heehee... I dunno why but I'm starting to get nervous...

angeldust

gd mrg all,

daman - u can do that too but check on the cost. cos 11th person may be charged at per head cost (ie total table px divide by 10 then add +++) regardless if halal food is being served or not for some hotels so do check with RTP again. then if its 11th person requires halal food then u gotta pay the cost for serving halal. Therefore I presume that is why ur friend put them all in one table so to save cost. Check first ok?

Stefy/ribbons/sam - ya.. he needs to be in the "virtual world" to get away from it all. ha ha ha ha ha .. whereas for me.. sometimes i also get wedding overdose.. so i lay off doing other things.. but give ur man some duties too. like those ungalmorous things such as cards, car, wine he settle etc while u settle fun stuff like gowns, suits and decor. HA HA HA HA HA..
cars are boy's toys.. wine is their avian as pierre is to us. HA HA HA HA HA HA...

vanessa - eh.. no leh.. ha ha ha ha ha no wedding day jitters.. guess cos legally married liao.. so vows are said oredi.
now only looking forward to have fun on our big day.

ublur

morning beautiful brides to be,

CSI, then you are left with 2 months to shop for your wedding band... Take your time to find your dream band. If you are going to customised them, then u got to wait for about 2wks to a month..so you better start your search.. keep us update ya?

silentelf, me too, think if I give after the speech i also cannot make it too.. not as if we are giving very expensive gifts.. perhaps I will make a thank you speech that goes esp to my parents n siblings. Maybe in the end, i may decide not to give anything unless i can think of something meaningful.

lushqueen, i understand your situation. past 1 month, I had been busying shopping for my household stuff too.. but glad tt now all done. Waiting for my fridge to arrive this weekend and my house will be complete!!!
As for the speech, I think my hb will make a speech first then follow by me. Maybe you can ask your hb to say a sentence or 2 to thank all the guests for attending the dinner. That should not be too difficult right?

JenT, well, maybe end of this month I will confirm with my friends.. seems like i got so many pple to invite.. hmm.. thinking of inviting those close ones can laio..

ffbear, ya... finally this thursday will be end of 7th month.. going to speed up my wedding prep too..

nami

wow...alot of updates yah haha. I guess its really getting very very near. Feeling abit anxious liao leh! I have finally settle my wines! Vey happy haha. At least 1 thing off my list.
Jen T,
Hmm, me too leh...maybe this week will start rsvp my frens. Have been asking those on msn first haha. I think I will exceed the no of tables too leh. Esp my FH's side. Week by week, he will tell me, oh i have to add xxx. Haiz....headache man.
Same as you and ffbear, I am not getting gifts for parents. Hmm, its not our tradition leh hee. As for the speech, I think i will ask my FH to say. Haha, I will have stage fright lor keke.
CSI,
Think you have to hurry and find your ring esp if you want to custom made. Enjoy your shopping!

sandsand

da Man: angel is right know... when i went to other hotels when we were shortlisting, most of them said if one halal share is required at the table, have to top up... example: table cost $800, therefore per pax = $80 right.. to have one muslim meal served at that table (regardless if he is number 10 or 11) have to pay $90... Wherelse to have a whole table just for muslim cusine will be same price as chinese cusine table... but then again your malay friends may feel weird sitting at a table with strangers..

vanessa: really? your friend says its good?? oh... must PM you to find out more man... =)

angel: yeah, sometimes i get a bit overwhelmed too.. recently i was quite overwhelemdd by wedding planning and work (plus sch) i was in a stage where i wished the whole thing was over... =)

september

tansy, nt alot lah....i sponsor make up wif hairdo coz i nt gifing so much for ang pao mah....hee hee

o...actually my pair of flowergals mum wanted to pay for thier shoe one....but i thot nvm lah....i gif them as a package lor....then also tat day i hv great fun wif my little twin princesses...so i jolly pay lor....wahaha....can u imagine tat we are playing so loud in the NEL tat people are looking at us....wahahaa....

guess wat...tell u all some joke lor...

my pair of princesses are only 4 yrs old...then in the mrt before we got place to seat, i squat down to talk to them, then the elder gal say..."jie jie, there is someting on ur head (referring to my mole)" then both me and the mum burst out laughing and the mum say tat is mole nt someting....but i doubt they understand....coz later, i show them another 2 mole my hand, then the younger gal say "one for me and one for my jie jie"... wahahahaha.....both me and the mum cant stop laughing.....cute rite.....

vvn

diana,

so your princesses also want the "something"? heh... so cute. give them an instant one each using non-toxic markers!

ublur

Nami, I have not settle my wine yet. going to confirm this friday. I got stage fright too.. but har, I will brace my courage and say some speech too.. my hb will say in english, while I say in mandarin.

jkit, [email protected] Thanks thanks ya...

angeldust

ribbons - i guess some of us will stressed out especially now.. cos things are kickstarting.. like cards, RSVP.. the more stressful details compared to gown trying, fitting, phototaking. HA HA HA HA HA
*pat pat* - hang in there!! And if all else fails, either retail therapy or coming in here to yak will help detress..

kitty_li

hi nami,
Yah lorh, I have to settle it soon manz...hehs.

Hi jkit,
Would it be possible to share with me your emcee speech too please? Thanks!

I dunno if I can muster the courage to do my speech...not so much of stage fright, but I'm more afraid I cannot control my emotions and start crying on stage...hehs.

sandsand

angel: i think retail therapy will do more harm than good... if i buy, die.. cos already no money.. if dont buy, even worse... cos i already see and like but so cham cos cannot buy.. hahaa....
but now i am fine lah.. =) Just need to get my stupid last two assignments out of the way and i can move on!

ublur

hee hee.. but even if cry on stage, I find it "sweet" too.. i mean, at least you make the effort and I think our parents will kinda find it touching that we are thanking our parents in front of all relatives..
i say until i so pro like that... i think i will cry too... must ask my hb to prepare a packet of tissue paper in his pocket that day..

angel_jkit

I also find that cry on the stage is sweet... heehee. im planning to give a speech to thank my parents, and hv asked my hb to prepare tissue liao...

jklim4642

hi girls
JL got very good sale starting today till 21/9. I just bought 2 kingsized bedsheets set & a feather bed.... remember to bring down the 20% discount coupons & $5 vouchers

sandsand

angeldust: I dont even have time to go window shop.. sob sob.... all becos of these assignments.. ggrrhh.. =)

diamond: JL= John Little ah? okay.. will go check it out!

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hey daman, i havent done anything for wedding songs yet.. thinking of getting a band instead.. but songs are not my area of control.. my bf i/c... kekeke</font>

poohbear88

hi vanessa,

can share more abt printing at TNT?
for TnT, besides matt gold printing ,what other type of printing they have ?how many pics u chose for ur inserts?can share wif me a pic of ur insert?[email protected]
thanks so much!

maez

daman, its the personal concierge, but thats for AD. food-tasting day also have 1 person to take care of our needs for the meal..
fyi, i went to jazvy, only need 3 days to print! so i will hold it for now, seems v early to print..

sigh.. think I am the one w wedding planning fatigue.. lucky now my house is settled.. super draining.. need a break!!! hahaaa... now me n hb do things slowly.. need time to breathe.. :p

jklim4642

pandalic, my FH said the mum said no need invites for their relatives. just call &amp; inform them of the wedding... something to do with the father's anniversary or something.. u heard of this b4?

no invite not very polite leh..
but if is chinese belief, then no choice...

silentelf

hi Jen.. im not christian..hehe.. and im buying gifts for my PIL wor.. anyway im glad i bot the stuffs already.. except selecting a good time to pass it to them :D

girls dun worrie.., its not compulsory lah.. I only raise it out as a suggestion..

kan cheong kan cheong.. finally met up my wedding co-ordinator liao.. have confirm my wedding theme/deco, invites, guestbook etc.... wah.. time really flies, 45 days to my AD...

csifan jia you! all the best for your WB searching!!

jennifer_teoh

hi ffbear..
yar lor.. i tink due to 7th mth.. everything like slowed dwn liao mann.. but yar.. u r rite.. everything shd pick up soon liao mann.. after tis wk, i wil go n get my guo da li date.. and buy those stuffs as well..
tis wkend my new bed is arriving liao mann!! hehe.. luk forward to it.. hee.. ;p

hi blur..nami..
me oso slowly gettin rsvp thru msn first.. we can slowly go into full strength to request for everyone to rsvp liao lor.. hee..
tink my hp bill gonna increase lots lots liao mann..hee.. esp my sms.. hehe..

hi silentelf..
hehe.. yar.. i tink its sweet to buy gifts for them.. they wil definately b more than hapie..
mayb i wil show them my love by other ways.. heee...

ffbear

Hi, Jen T,
u making good progress each week leh.. me stil crawling.. hahahahhaha..
Linda,
u stil here? saw fr another thread tat u were looking for MUA for ur mum etc. sometime ago, managed to find anythg? can share? I m getting real desperate liao.. found 1 freelance via another BS.. wow pian.. need to pay 100% upfront.. is tis the norm?