(2006) Brides of year 2006

angeldust

daman - u correcto abt the law thing. i know that fully also... ha ha ha ha ha.. kanna "warning letter" many times from the man at home.

panda - ok u forget nvr mind lah.. i forget liao mah.. and i lazy to dig archives.. HA HA HA HA HA HA...

maez

hmm.. Daman, cos i'll be getting laptop for my new place also. plus also need connection at new place lah.. i was thinking, i buy new laptop also a few hundred less only, that will be the cost of my connection mah.. see huh, lets say even if it is $48/mth. 40x24=$960 for a laptop.. hmm.. dunno leh..

clouds_54

Hey... if it's laptops, then fujitsu is best, sleek and light lor. But desktops, Dell not bad lar, not as if I am working for them. Am bringing my 3-year old Dell PC to my new place after wedding. Haha.... no worries, DaMan, me not so petty lar ;).

I be going down to the fair duing lunch later ;). Thanks to all who sent me the banner ad.... heee.... will update you all on essex walk promo if any.... ok, who else wanna check out anything for the fair, let me know quick. I will update after lunch ;)

jklim4642

panda, ORH!! thought u like tiffany mah... :p

maez, get wireless! can serve net anywhere at home... get an IT friend to do the set up for u and u can just take the normal broadband subscription..

angeldust

lappys & PCs - i vote for IBM..

jklim4642

if want to buy pcs with brands like fujitsu, IBM, toshiba... pls get the students in Uni to get for u... or if u have any friends who are teachers.. can ask them to help... b'coz these pp can get it more cheap than wat outside are selling. the reason being, MOE has good contact deals with these IT vendors.

yuki31

Da Man - haha my FH get IBM and I get fujitsu ...coz i wan something nice n slim ..haha tosiba even slimmer but my FH say not worth it to pay more lor ...

nobody call me leh ... so i can go dwn the fair or not? 11am is on which day?

with the new laws everything oso got to buy liao

angeldust - u cannot break the law haha ... think u be very safe coz will get "warning" at home first before anything so u know can do or wat cannot ....haha

clouds - wow u first one to go the fair ah? haha .. do upate us later

maez

clouds! thanks, juz update us if worth the time to go down.. and wats in the goodie bag wahahaha..

ha. diamond, moe got good deal? not necessary leh..

anw, the deal i mentioned comes with wireless!

maez

clouds, nv register ah? but u so early go, maybe will be the 1st few, also got goodie bag for walk-in.. but is those early birds lah :p

oops, paiseh everybody! :p the deal is for 36mth contract

angeldust

maez - wireless is great, i surf everywhere except kitchen & toilet. HA HA HA HA

castalia - dun mind me copying and pasting my previous post. Hope this helps u:

Silk Duchess Satin is common fabric used for gowns cos it has a sheen due to the satin weave (long short not normal ketupat weave). It can be used on its own or used a base fabric for the gown structure. ie eg: organza gowns are satin underneath with organza layers on top.

Princessy look - is easy to achieve with full ballgown skirt or princess cut, or modified A Line with a tiara on ur head.. bingo.. u can look princessy. eg: Bridal Veil gowns or classic Duchess Satin

Ballerina Look - WG skirt is full of tulle (netting) layers and usually short not floor length. This is so that the skirt is puffy.
eg; So far have not seen a BS tt signature is Ballerina.

Fairy/Romantic Look - Loads of organza layers with lace and a little beading. eg; Kai, White Link

Victorian Look - Duchess Satin with coloured thread emb. Heavy skirt. Emb direct on satin itself. eg Ted Wu.

Glam evening - Mermaid cut duchess satin. No eg can think of now.

yuki - of cos cannot break law.. i still wanna get married. HA HAHAHA HA HA..

kaye

Marnie,
at least she rem to give U the no.
U may contact mine at 97605812
Name: Joanne
but this person must slash price one...

marnie

Hazel, thanks for your contact. What do you mean I must slash price? She overcharges clients? I remembered you spent a bomb on your flat - quite scared leh. cos' we have a strict budget cos' like Lipstar, we will be relocating and sell this flat.

Um, which firm is she with?

kaye

She now open her own co.
So dunno wat her co. name is...

I spent abt 26K on reno alone....
Flooring, painting, kit cabinet, 2 TV consoles, wardrobe, feature wall, ceiling, glass dr for kitchen., cabinet for toilet, shoe cabinet
If U nt going to do flooring & the toilet cabinet, its less than 20K...
Plus If U nt going to do feature wall, shoe cabinet, TV console, think its less than 15K

jklim4642

maez, wat i meant was, MOE has contract with a few vendors. so, its rates are better for such vendors. eg, if u get a NTU student to get u a fujitsu notebook, it will be cheaper than wat the retail it selling by close to $1k. h/w, nus students will not be able to get u a fujitsu notebook at a better deal.. but some other brands.... maybe IBM or etc...

same thing for teachers.

that is why, students/teachers can only buy 1 notebook a year...

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hey gers, alternatively you can check with your IT dept.. coz likely your employers may have tie-ups with the vendors too.. =)</font>

marnie

Wah...now I am really afraid of what my costs will be Hazel...
kao_scared.gif
We are intending to rehaul the entire flat's flooring and bathrooms' walls, kitchen cabinets, hack 4 walls, and put up glass partitions. I don't need consoles and built in stuff (apart from the kitchen cabinets).

jklim4642

oh, i did that also when my sis wanted to buy the fujitsu notebook. but my IT department then told me, the students/teachers rates are still the best.. hehehe

lilic

<font color="0077aa">angel, smartie.. =P next time you help me buy mac? wahahhaha

diamond, i think it depends from coy and the tie-ups.. usually i think the offer price or bundle package doesnt vary much.. my ex-coy had IT buys that are quite a steal.. regret that i din get before i resigned.. haiz.</font>

bandtz

<font color="aa00aa">Halo Ladies,

I'll like to post a little advertisment here.. hope you ladies dun mind hor... Im having a garage sales 2moro, pls feel free to drop by and not forgetting to pass this msg to ur friends.. pls see below:-

Multi-Family Garage Sales

There will be more than 10 families/ parties coming together to sell their new &amp; used items, details as follows:

Date: 3 June 2006 (Saturday)

Time: 10am to 5pm

Venue: 70 Jalan Kelabu Asap, Chip Bee Gardens
**A double-storey terrace house behind Holland Village POSBank.

There will be plenty of items like clothes, accessories, bags, shoes, books, household items, etc. Great bargains for Men, Ladies &amp; Kids!

Come early to avoid disappointment!

See you around! Cheers!</font>
375009.gif

castaliachiam

Good afternoon ladies!!!
Angeldust-thanks for the useful tips! Are you a bridal designer? Hehee.
GSS has started ya, hows damages for you gers? hahaha

popie

chipdale,
how was ur food tasting? u seem to be right on track. i m right behind u. i sent out my e-invites already. but i hvnt written the wedding cards. think should be sending out pretty soon. by end of next week i think.

gals dun forget to test ur wedding videos and montage before the AD. if u r bringing ur own laptop, make sure ur laptop is compatible with their projector.

all must be very busy. no reply from anyone.

leafmemories

hee, ya all very busy..

we just had a bombshell dropped on us past 2 days.. apparently we're not allowed to hold our wedding dinner at the venue we chose cos we hadn't ROM yet!! we're having the legal ceremony the next day but they can't even 'close one eye' for this. how can they do this to us.. after all the wedding is next month liao. sianz.

thankfully both the in-laws and my parents didn't kick up too big a fuss.. but everyone is unhappy lor. haiz.

now im so tired of the whole wedding planning. wish i can just shuck off to the registry of marriage with SO and sign the register so we can get on with our lives..

clouds_54

Saw paradox there. The promo is you buy $350 and above, you get a free cosmetic pouch (the classy looking kind lar). Then as usual, a few bridal studios there. I got hijacked a few times and hv to keep saying "Thank you. I alr signed my package!"

It's at the outdoor area and the weather is SUPER hot...
I almost evaporated under the tentage. But anyway, was hoping to chk out steffis package for church flower deco but they hv not even set up the booth, so no one is there
. Sigh.... those of you who's looking out for florist, if you checking their rates out, can let me know? Not likely to go down Taka this weekend as hv made other plans already. Thanks!

lilic

<font color="0077aa">clouds, you can call steffi for their packages.. then they email you.. but i will try to take a look for you if i am there.. i am checking out greenpoint and woodsville for my church.. =)

i got a lot of things to do this weekend before i fly.. =( my luggage bag just got stolen.. my mum wanted to air the bag so left it in the corridor.. next min, gone.. =( first time we encounter corridor theft.</font>

gk_koh

Hi Everyone

I have been very busy lately with my photoshoot and moved house, select the photos!!! I now laze around and have not started any wedding planning yet.....

Hi Wendy

Congratulations for the GREAT News!!!! Oct 06 Baby!!!

Hi Huey

It has been awhile that you write!!! Have you done your PS yet! Who is your photographer? Selected your photos for the album?

clouds_54

Hi Panda

Just read some bad reviews abt Steffi in a few threads. Some brides actually recommended June Florist. Having 2nd thoughts abt Steffi now though I heard they seem to hv a comprehensive package for church flowers.

BTW, do we still need to get florist to decorate for banquent har? Saw some pple getting the florist to do up the banquent venue as well. And it's a lot of money. Thought the hotel wld hv provided some flower arrangment.

castaliachiam

I tagged along my former colleagues to Steffi Florist for her wedding last year. Stephanie was very accomodative and warmth.

Pandalic, your branded baggage attracted the thief? Grab another one during GSS! Were you the one who posted Coach sale?

lilic

<font color="0077aa">i dunno abt june.. i like greenpoint flowers.. not so ang-gong-gong kind.. kekekek.. then woodsville is engaged by fullerton.. so i tot use them as well for lunch will minimise the no. of vendors..

actually it depends.. coz not all venues provided florist.. some do, but not much.. so ppl pay for more flowers.. then some hotels (like raffles hotel) are pretty generous with the florists.. so very pretty setup.. couples dun have to spend extra..

yups, flowers are exp.. i gotta pay to do up my lunch reception venue.. while SAM chapel is nice enough and only require min deco, i need to do up the reception area.. </font>

hey lilic,

heheh, sorry to barge in here *blush*
The sale at Coach only available at the Raffles City outlet huh? I've been eyeing a hobo, heheh, do u have any 'insider news' on the discount value on it?

angeldust

hi clouds - u efficient leh...

florists.. no idea which florist is gd but i liked fiore dorato a lot. their flowers and posies.. very nice.. but darn exp..

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">Hi Gals &amp; Daman,
Thank u sooo much for all the laptop reviews. Hee. Just came back from my appt &amp; immed log in to my ofc com liao. Hehe. Im so sick of going home everyday &amp; NOT having a PC to use. Urgh! Yup yup, heard Toshiba, Fujitsu &amp; IBM have the best laptops. Hubby's using a IBM, good &amp; sturdy but abit boring looking. hehe. I really like tablet PCs, but they are so ex &amp; im super broke now. =(

Pandalic,
I called the Coach raffles city to ask issit a storwide sale &amp; they said its a 30-70% sale on all past season items. Good enough lor, i might pop by to recee. Maybe can get one or two good buys. But knowing Sporeans, sure got queue forming at 8pm. Haha. :p Aiyoh, your bag get stolen ah? In bright daylight somemore ah? Nowadays thieves getting bolder liao! Hope your bag's not too expensive. =(

Daman,
Yah, LV as in the 'US' one. Dunno why the word is ban leh, cant seem to type it out. Prob becos of an interior designer co in the home/decor thread with the same name being banned. My bands are suppose to be in a 'heart' shape, so thats why hubby likes it alot. Hee.

clouds,
Agree with Panda that i heard Green Point is good as well, nice &amp; simple. I dunno whats their package price though. Im only having less than 30 guests for church ceremony, so wanted something nice &amp; sweet on a small scale. So little ppl, dunno how to cater food.</font>

kaye

aiyo....
U asked how much is Lipstar's?
then U roughly shld know how much will yr reno cost be?
then U can average ours plus add abt 5~10K yr whole revamp?

lilic

<font color="0077aa">wah mehmeh, your antena very long leh. can find me here.. i not sure.. maybe the small hobo is 30% off? you can go and check it out lar.. but i wonder if there will be stampede.. yupz, i think in raffles city only.. coz tonight raffles city got midnight shopping mah..

angel, fiore dorato is at republic plaza?

princess, i lagi sad now.. must buy luggage bag now.. no budget for coach liao.. =( for catering, you can try angeli.. they do small-gp catering from wat i know.. alternative, go some cosy cafe, restaurant for tea?? </font>

hi Lilic,

heheh, was browsing mah.. Then saw this thread super happening! heheh
I just called, Signature designs dun have the discount.. *sobs* Going to be at St Andrews for a seminar, so can still go seesee looklook! heheh, hopefully HB feels generous today!

castaliachiam

pandalic, just asking only. I wil be at La Viva, may drop by Raffles City. Do let me know if you need me to grab some good bargains. keke. I am eyeing LV Jasmin (Epi Leather) or Loewe Pekary. ;)

angeldust

panda - heart pain for u man.. i also have a SAMSONITE!!! i like samsonite lah.. sturdy. yeps fiore dorato at republic plaza.

elven - if u only have 30 guests, u can order high tea buffet for 30 x $12 menu to hit the $360 minimum. if u feel food no enuff, can order finger foodies from delifrance and cedele bakery also. *winks*.

marnie

Hazel...aiyoh indeed....
Lipstar mentioned her reno cost so agaration, mine's about there also....I better start dispensing legal advise to the forummers here for minimal fee!

So how have you been? You've been quiet the last couple of days. And today, our dear Lipstar is away - perhaps she's gone for another interview. Hope all is alright.

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">Hi Angel,
Where is V tea room ah? Gosh, i feel so suaku. Hee. =) My church's in Toa Payoh. Dunno whether its weird to ask my guests to proceed to my new home &amp; i'll get my family to buy some dum sum for lunch.

Pandalic,
Your bag's a samsonite ah? No wonder get stolen. Poor gal. How? Have to get a new bag ah? It's the hard case type ah?</font>

harpie17

The wedding fiesta is open to everyone. I think the call is for the goodie bag and for the food tasting. So even if they do not call u, u can still go for the Wedding Fiesta.

The 11am timing is given to us for the food tasting session.

Coach having sale today. Have been thinking of getting a bag from there. But not sure if the design that I have been eyeing has got any discounts.

clouds_54

Angel - me efficient? You mean I chiong down to the fair during lunch? hahah... ok lar... since i am ard the area, so just popped by take a look lor. Ermmm... how expensive is this fiore dorato? more than $1k for cheapest package?

Princess - not catering at the church? don't think it's wierd to cater at home lar. It's really your preference. And you don't want your guests to be travelling to and fro. Nearby will be good if you don't want it in the church. Your ceremony same as AD yah?

Oh, so greenpoint flowers are actually very good? Dunno if the florist we used from our BS can also supply church deco. Then I no need co-ordinate with so many vendors.... hahhaa :p

Panda - can chk out Polo, my family use Polo, also hard case kind, sturdy.

Wow, is Coach the latest in brand nowadays? Must chk them out since all of you are raving abt it.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">mehmeh, its supposed to be storewide leh.. hobo is signature style.. but they always on sale mah..

castalia - thanks.. but nah, will prob drop by coach later the night to see wats available.. i like LV but nothing suits my requirement recently.. so skip..

princess, tea room is in esplanade

clouds, fiore dorato is ex coz they used more exotic / uncommon flowers.. =) divine's florist is Fluv. think they can do church deco too.. but i dun like their stuff. =P

coach is pretty affordable compared to others.. supposedly top selling american brand..

sighz, gotta go find luggage bag tomolo liao.. sianz..</font>