(2006) Brides of year 2006

tnselg

Hi CAT, same here.. I oso rec'd the same mailer from Hilton asking me to plan food tasting and card selection (rem we r using the same hotel).. think I will oso pang tang a bit and do it fast too... so when do u plan to get out the cards??

wtan

Hi hi Joanne tan..
Thks..thks..Okok, will update ur details in the chart later..nice to hear from u…do hope to see u often here..no lah, me just sharing info her with the rest..the ladies here are very helpful also..it’s nice to have them ard..my 3rd SIL also had her wedding in Hilton…their designs for wedding invites are not bad..overall, the food was ok..everyone enjoyed themselves for the wedding..cheers~

Hi hi CAT..
Oic..also not bad..coz by then u will start to prepare for ur GDL stuff..so it’s also very nice to be able to get some authentic thingy from HKG from ur GDL..cool! do keep us posted again..cheers~

Hi hi Elsie..
Actually most of the pple will arrange for food-tasting b4 the 7th mth..coz heard some said that during 7th mth, better dun have anything to do with the wedding preps..also for food, may taste more blend as compared to the usual periods…duno how true..but I guess as long as it’s gd for the wedding…better follow lor..as for the wedding invites..u can start them as soon as u have the details confirm..it’s also better to start preparing them early..no issue on the gathering this sat..do hope to see u next time round..do keep us posted on ur 1st fitting..u must be looking forward to this sat..hee..

hi hi Minicutie..
welcome to the thread..care to provide me ur details so that I can update for u in the thread? Have u arrange for ur 1st fitting? When’s ur PS?

wallflower

angeldust ~ ur test oso tmr? mine oso leh. tat means ur class is every thur lor... tin i mixed up kayoubi and mokuyoubi haha... im on leave tmr juz to study, coz have been bumming for whole term hehe... im in JCS intermedaite conversation class now, but not going to continue, coz timing abit rush & oso quite boring :p does ur job require u to use Jap?

clouds_54

*giddy giddy*

Aiyo... this thread really moving fast.... hope I didn't miss out any post to me

Princess - you already bought your wine? is it abit too early?

Da Man - Thanks!
I will check out both. Wah... interesting that winebos actually print your pic as part of the label!!

Hmm ... seems like Maez and you are going for samsung brand. Me and FH really lost and blur with all the brands and pricing.... must learn from you all and start making a list of the pricing from the different places we be checking out..... Will get the electronics contacts from you if I need. Wait till me familiar with the "market" first. Still trying to figure out which brand for fridge, tv, washer, etc is good! haha
I'll update my FH abt the Samsung LCD deal *wink*

Panalic - Impressive! traditional chinese somemore! whohohoho~~~ *clap clap clap*

For the style wedding bash, I hv not bought tickets. Any one know if it's full already? Initially decided not to go as I hv a function that evening. But just realised my FH's frens are in the pageant! So we may be going down to give support.

angeldust

OL - nope I am in the tues class not thurs class. just so happen my test is on thurs. that's all. and that is our teacher's off day too. :p same same.. on leave tomolo to cram all the grammer, adverbs, conjuctions, expressions, idioms into the head. eh.. i missed the whole of chapter 2 and chapter 3 cos I was outstation for abt 1.5 mths. so nid to catch up lots. issit boring? oh okie.. i take note.. nope my job does not require me to take jap. just interest only.. maybe some day I will do simple translation work if i get to higher levels of "enlightenment". HA HA HA HA HA..

lilic

<font color="0077aa">OL, the invite for the bash has been sent to couples who register.. you may want to check your mails..

clouds, you can try calling them.. coz last thu was the cut off date to register.. =)</font>

asura

Hihi!

Long time never pop by and the thread just moves so fast!
How's everyone's preparation going on?
Mine is almost not moving... still waiting for my wedding inserts to be printed. heh..

chillipadi25

hey ladies, need help...will any one of you be able to advise what will happen if a bride's grandfather pass away? Need to pospone wedding? sigh...my maternal grandad not in a very good condition - hospitalized today...

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hi jingles, sorry to hear abt your grandfather.. i think you will have to check with your ILs and your mum's family.. it depends largely on them.. i heard of couples proceeding with the wedding coz the groom's parents werent so pantang esp if the deceased was from the bride's maternal family.. </font>

maez

hi jingles,

sorry to hear abt your granddad.. yep, u'd prob have to check with your folks n ILs.. i heard that either have to move the wedding to within 100 days of the death or else have to wait till a year later.. but it really depends on your folks.. hope ur granddad will be fine..

chillipadi25

hur........................i really dont want to wait till another year leh.......cos both me and hubbie already together for 10 years liao
we really cant wait to tie the knot customarily... hope that he is ok...cos heard from mum just now he is not able to get up from bed and was hospitalised.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">jingles, dun worry lar.. old folks are like that.. my maternal grandpa was in and out of hospital since mid last year..

if it really happen, then think abt it.. i am sure there will be other alternatives.. like maez said you can always fwd the wedding..

actually i ask my mum before on such situation, she said i can still go ahead with the wedding but must tone down the scale.. but of coz, need approval from IL lar..

dun worry.. things will work out well. =)</font>

joyousonline

hi jasmine and all,
i'll b holding an additional wedding dinner for my friends coz MIL they all says they not enough tables..so sacrifice my friends..sigh..no choice..but think i more excited to plan for the wedding reception than the actual day!! haaa

babygera

Hi Asura79 how r u?? long time no c u here le...been very busy lately?

joy, your venue cannot add more tables?? hmmm but the additional dinner you gonna have a simple or grand type??

bigbig

Hi Wendy,

Din know you gog to be mummy soon...

kekeke... btw I got last min appt to meet designer so can't join you gals too...

so sad...

do you think anyone will bring digi cam to take pics??? if yes, can share share with me after that???

thnk

meowysp

Hi Ivy,

I dun think so. I've got a meeting to attend that day. I just went there 2 weeks ago to replenish some items I need and may not be gg down so soon until a couple of weeks later. I let u know asap if I m gg down. This week is a bit tight cos I need to settle urgent thgs for my flat reno. If I m gg down, it will be a sat late morning or early afternoon. I sms u later on a probable date I may go. k??

lovebug

Hi All!

I suppose everyone is bz bz bz with the final prep work to be done yeah! =)

I'm so glad that we've completed most of the stuff, now left with the nitty gritty stuff, and this weekend gonna have a gathering with our bridal entourage and helpers.

Getting more excited each day as the date draws nearer! =)

how about the rest?

minicutie

Hi Wendy, CAT and All,

Nice to meet u all!

I had my ROM on 13 Nov 05 and my AD is 15 Oct 06. I have my 1st fitting on 31 March 06. My PG is on early May. My BS is French bridal. Heehee... another 2-3 weeks is my PS. I will be having my dinner at Plaza Parkroyal.

After read this thread, i think i better discuss with my FH and start our preparation as soon as possible and b4 7th month. Wah... a lot of things to prepare... Now looking for photographs and song for childhood highlight.

BTW when should we send out invitation card?

Cheers....

rainnqq

daman.. the only job that required 24-7 I know is in the construction industry. But since you are travelling, it's impossible that you are in the above industry. U in IT?

Jingles, the other brides are right, best check with both sides parents see how superstitious they are. There is of course this custom where must wed before 100days to neutralise the sad event or postpone 3 yrs or something.

I have a friend who's FH's mom passed way few months before wedding. Initial decision was to cancel the whole wedding but since they have already planned all, they later decided to proceed with the wedding. It all really depends on how both side parents's views are

joyousonline

hi gera,
venue max is 35 tables..but MIL says she wants more tables..so no choice..one side has to cut ma..the additional dinner is gonna b a simple one for my frens...like buffet dinner

elven_princess

<font color="ff0000">OL,
Im gng for the wedding bash too. My colleague registered for me, so the tix are prob with her bah. She didnt mention that she receive the tix, though. So wierd, &amp; she faxed the form way B4 the cut off date leh.

cLOuDs,
Your FH frens are in the contest ah? Wah, u shld go &amp; support then! Hee. I havnt bought my wine for my banquet yet, i bought the wine from Parker's for my ROM last dec.

jingles,
Am sorry to hear abt your grandad.
Is your family or ILs the pantang type? If they are not, im sure they will be understanding enough for u to go ahead with the wedding.</font>

babygera

lovebug, hehe i still got lotsa things havent do yet :p havent print invites yet too haha....i think i'm slowest le

joy, icic....but having 2 dinner will be fun hehe cos u have your private time with your friends and they can have all your attention too

only neva come in for one day and so many post.. read till I blur liao..

WElcome renee..
since u want animation, maybe u want to consider my AD PG &amp; VG.. Stefine wedding.. But hor..when is ur AD?? Now u still haven confirm ur AD PG arh? Those popular ones might be taken liao leh..

gera,
i tink its really up to u whether u giving them AP ant..even if u give, no need to give very big AP too..juz a small one will do..its juz the sharing of joy ma..

hey girls ask u all huh? do u all prefer white gold or yellow gold?? cos my hubby's granny ask me whether i want white gold or yellow gold si dian jin.. then now i cant make up my mind.. cos my parents in law bought 1 set of white gold si dian zuan for me..then my parents bought a pearl set for me.. so now i'm thinking of telling her to get yellow gold si dian jin for me..but i tink abit waste money cos i wont wear it one lor..but others told me that it'll be for keepsake cos yellow gold's vaule will always be there..any advise from u all?

gera, u're not the only one..i haven print the invites too..have given myself the deadline..will go do it by this wkend.. keke..

joyous,
i tink having a separate dinner will be good too..then u can spend more time with ur frens on ur wedding dinner with them..more time for joy sharing and chatting sessions..

lovebug,
me also meeting up with my bridal entourage and helpers next week for a bbq session.. can discuss with them some details of my wedding.. can plan the itinerary tgt as well.. what will u be discussing with ur bridal entourage then? have u made arrangements like who will be doin what..like who will be in charge of ur EG, Kua or jewellery??

lovebug

Hi Jasmine,

yuppers! I've worked out the to-do list, and itinerary for that day, except for the emcee script, shall leave it for my fren to work it out themselves, then go through it together.

Most likely will brief them of what to be expected on that day and who to be incharge of which area, especially important task like safekeeping the angbao box, the jewelleries and also one of the galfrens to help me with the changing. Ohhh... and the very important time keeper hehee.. else everything will be haywired on that day!

How interesting, to do all the planning and having kind souls to help, so much so for the one day affair. And planning starts like 1 year ago.... blink blink, another couple of months, we'll be walking the aisle =)

lovebug

Gera,
you had your PS already yeah? how's the weather that day? hope you don't need to have another round. =)

Don't worry, there's a time for everything, you'll be able to catch up and complete all the stuff before the eleventh hour. =)As long as most of your important tasks are cleared, the rest are just minority, which can be done quite easily =)

babygera

Jasmine, i think you can have yellow gold set instead lor then u have 1 of each set of maybe gems set?

lovebug, yep i did my PS on good friday holiday and everything was done in a day
now is i gotta print invites and send it out and confirm with friends who are coming...

Gals, how do you all handle those friends who cannot confirm if they are coming or not? do you all buffer extra table other than the 2 spare tables?

small_one

hey meowysp

my hubby wants me to buy from you instead leh... but i prefer to do my own though... but i am interested in getting the plain pillow with crystal organza from you... how to collect from you huh? pls PM me about it.

tks~!

lilic

<font color="0077aa">angel, i think ciderjuice's yee wei is superb... he is detailed and produce personalised works for his couples.. told him i dun like the interview part.. wahahah, then he showed me some new clips he gotten from recent weddings.. the way he compiled the well wishes from the guests still not too bad.. compared to some others..

anyway, he is top on my bf's shortlist now.. the previous two are out.. shall see if ninetrogen or atelierx can charm my bf now..

eh, he cannot tell me the price of the clip thingi you asking for.. coz he said he doesnt repeat this kind of special project.. he can only quote when he knows wat you exactly want..

by the way, how do you address the potential conflict between AD PG and VG huh? eh, like wat if both need the same angle to take the pic or VG??? i think i may have this problem esp for church.. how huh? any advice?</font>

sandsand

Hey, Jingles, sorry to hear about that..
you should really ask someone, but since its ur maternal grand dad, dunno if your mum will be ok with answering ur questions.. u know, its like askin in preparation for his death lor, although it is the fact, but dunno how ur mum will take to it.. How about asking a close relative? Someone u trust and knows about this kind of stuff?

i think in olden times, they will hold the wedding within a short period, either within 3 months or 3 eyars.. but that was olden times. they didnt need to compete for dates and venues.. Its harder now.. so manybe this custom has chanegd with the times too..

keep us updated ok?

Pandalic: if u ask me, i think PG should get priorty. COs when u view memories of your wedding, pple usually see pics.. But of course, if ur VG insists on being the priority, the camera man can always use his zoom.. but i think VGs and PGs can work this out one lah right? cos i'm sure there were many weddings that have VG and PG.

asura

Hi Geraldine,

Have been busy at work lately. No time to chat on the thread. Go home need to study.. haiz..

Got a problem... we finally came up with our guest list.. only 400 pax! jia lat.. and i am suppose to fill at least 40 tables.. jia lat jia lat... if pple dont turn up.. that's it man.. confirmed losses even before wedding.

chillipadi25

thanks all for the concern....

ribbons - correct lor...actually yesterday i wanted to ask her what if he really passed away then i how??? but looking at things if i really asked, it seems that i am too insensitive liao. But on the other hand, i am worried about things that i had already made down payment like my wedding venue, BS and all...all these down payment are in a matter of thousands not hundreds...plus had already signed the contract with venue stating that event can only posponed the most one month subject to hotel's availability....sigh...headache lar. Hope that nothing will go wrong.

panda - no lar...he is quite weak for the past few years liao...only this year deteriorate even worse... his memory also getting weaker getting confuse between my aunties and uncles...so quite worried lor

xfiles_wolvie

maez-ok..then lets wait for GSS and we chiong for it..ahahah...no lah not laidback..i went to parker's wine last month w/o appt and the lady told me no ned to come so early and ned appt also. and give us quotes and how it works and tell us to call ard oct also can....hehe..anyway heard frm the lady boss...RTP also get wine from them as well.

angeldust-yup..their website indicated that(photo on bottle) but is only for 1 bottle to be a "vase" put there to let pple see only...hehe...but interesting lor....parker's wine mre straight forward and no such gimmicks...

mist28-hmm poly i bo chup..hahahah...so maybe din noe they might have offered jap language...hehe

OL-ok...me also fussy but due to budget...gt to settle on qp....momentofus i see liao sian cos their video for different couple like gt repeat pattern...my comments only ah...hehehe

samantha-nope..sept is a gd day to go ...hehe...spring time..heheh

clouds-no prob...me quiter a samsung fan...heheh...nope..im not working in samsung...my fridge and washing machine and tv will be samsung...theatre system i looking at others...aircon starmex...heheh...dun tink gt anymore samsung liao..ehhe...me want to go to the bash also leh...gog to call the person in charge...see still got anot.

jingles-sorry to hear that...like wat the rest said..depend on both parties...my frd's wife dad passed away and they bring forward the customary but dinner separate....

rainqq-i in IT..yes...my industry have 24/7 and shifts..but i not in shift anymore lah..ehheeh heng..

pandalic-according to my VG, he said he will give way to PG cos he do PG also and understand the importance of angle to PG. so he will give way to PG and PG has the priority to ride with groom and bride but VG can see smewhere else.. tats wat he told me...not sure is it industry practice..

jmonster

morning gals,

wah, just 1 nite so many posts here!

gals, i guess now everyone is getting busier liao. my come out guest lists long time ago cos rushed by my hubby. &amp; he wants to get the confirm list this Friday cos we're going to tel the hotel how many cards we wanted, FINALLY, last nite picked up the phone and call pple.... phew!

hi Asura,
so ur contract wif the hotel is 40tables?
i guess dangerous for u leh... i've 20+2 tables but also afraid that pple last min turn me down.

asura

Hi Geraldine...

Yah.. my contract is for 40 tables...
so our aim is to invite at least 450 pple..
problem was that the parents din want to tell us exactly how many they want to invite and we want to invite all our friends.. so we just estimated the numbers when we sign.. 40 is a inbetween number.. most small ballrooms can hold only up to 35... and big ballrooms requires at least 40.. haiz..
so now.. his parents finally decided that they dont want to invite pple to our wedding..