(2006) Brides of year 2006

hi babylitmus,

the hotels that we spoke to, told us they are able to offer the price now if we confirm and book with them.

wah sey, I havent; started looking ard for my BS leh.

hi zen,

last minute change customary date lah, then now email to the hotel to see if date available not lor..now waiting for reply ah....

rachelcheng

Hi Babylitmus,

Once you signed the contract the price is fix already ma... How can they revised? If that is the case then better dun sign now and wait till the date is closer and meanwhile do more homework.

piglex

Hi Jo...mine is 141...haiz...rather sianz cos scared can only chosse fr e remaining 40+ units..
i seriously is keeping FINGERS CROSED..

Hi zen...if u r considering BS..i definitely recommend Yvonne Creative..
Actually i haf put dep for a Everbliss Pkg..but ltr decided to change it to sthg else..dun like their service level..was succumb 2 hard-selling at first
Is tkg up YC pkg cos e boss is e designer n she's a very understanding lady..
it's their service tt we r paying for...

Even if we sign up wif e 'branded' BS..like bridal veil, ted wu... our gown can be real pretty...but is service sux...oso will spoil e whole event...

tt's y u gotta seriously thk abt e service factor oh..

sharon__joseph

heres my update...

Nickname: sharon__joseph
AD Date: 7th Jan 2006 (Sat)
ROM date: 8th Nov 2004
Lovenest: 5rm @ Punggol Field; already moved in..
Bridal shop: Golden Horse Award ($3388)
Banquet Venue: Pan Pacific Ocean Ballroom

Nickname: gentasg
AD Date: 2006 Dec
ROM date: 2 Dec 2004
Lovenest: Fernvale Rd, 5 rm premium (havent renvo)
Bridal shop: Whitelink ($3788)
Banquet Venue: looking at Oriental Spore, Noble House, GrandPlaza Parkroyal

Nickname: sleepysleep
AD Date: 2006 June
Lovenest: Aiming Sengkang or Punggol
Bridal shop: havent decide
Banquet Venue: Rasa Sentosa [havent book]

Nickname: bluegal
ROM : 14th Feb 2004
AD Date: 1st Jan 2006
Lovenest: Still searching for our love nest
Bridal shop: French Studio and bridal photography ($3399)
Banquet Venue: Grand Plaza Parkroyal

Nickname: rachelcheng
AD Date: 18/11/2006
Lovenest: waiting for balloting in Bedok
Bridal shop: Everbliss
Banquet Venue: River View Hotel

Nickname: Carol <piglex>
ROM Date: 26 jun 2006
AD Date: most prob 06 yr end
Lovenest: Jus got a balloted unit at Bukit Gombak
Bridal shop: Yvonne creative...
Banquet Venue: Grand Copthorne, Pan Pacific n Marriott

Nickname: Ade (Dapipi)
ROM Date: end of 2005
AD Date: most prob Apr 06
Lovenest: Still looking for one in the east
Bridal shop: Bridal Zone
Banquet Venue: Furama Riverfront,Marriot

Nickname: ublur
ROM Date: May 2005
AD Date: most prob 06
Lovenest: Still looking for one in the amk
Bridal shop: Divine couture
Banquet Venue: Raffles hotel, raffles the plaza

Nickname: Jolene <brilliantrose>
ROM Date: May 2005
AD Date: most prob Jun 2006
Lovenest: Jus got a balloted unit at Bukit Gombak
Bridal shop: Focus
Banquet Venue: Hyatt, Hotel Intercontinental....

Nickname: Cool
ROM Date: 2006
AD Date: 2006
Lovenest: Still looking for one
Bridal shop: French bridal or Yvonne creative or bridal link
Banquet Venue: Still looking for one

Nickname: zen(zenith)
AD Date: Nov 2006
Lovenest: balloted for 4rm amk but didn't get it. still aiming for amk
Bridal shop: either divine couture or kai
Banquet Venue: grand hyatt, amara, burkill hall(if got $$$$) always wanted a garden style wedding

Nickname: cindeekoh
ROM: 7th Oct 2006
AD: 7th Oct 2006
BS: Bridal Concept
Venue: Own Garden or Fort Canning
email: [email protected]

zenith

hi gals! any idea where to go to choose auspicious date for 2006? is it too early to go consult someone &amp; hv u gals go ard to look for bs liao? if no date then cannot book hotel or venue leh...

harlow zen,

I've got my auspicious date from this old time geomancy who is my dad's kampong friend. He charges less than $50, in fact, he ask for ang bao and you can give any sum of money.

If you are interested, let me know. He will ask for you and your FH's birthday and then from there, check your elements and tell you the auspicious dates.

zenith

so sorry for askingso many questions cos veri excited. my FB &amp; i finally confirm to hv our AD in nov 2006. he usually veri bo-chap &amp; last minute one. so now finally can confirm with him, i''m so excited &amp; blur... dunno wat to do next. hope u gals can share wif me more. thanx!

bluegal

hi zen,
i've got my date from You Long Zi, not sure you have heard of him b4 but his quite popular with the older folks. He charge us $150, 3 months b4 our wedding we'll have to go back and get from him the "An Chuan" date and also the auspicious time for married on our AD. So think quite worth the price.

Hi bluegal,

wah, at $150, that is very expensive leh. I paid only $22 for 7 auspicious dates for Year 2006.

And this uncle has seen my elder brother when he got married and know my family for long time, so we know he is very reputable and busy one.

Hi Zen, quick settle your hotel/restaurant venue first, then you can proceed to others.

zenith

thanx rainne &amp; bluegal! $150 is abit ex leh....
actually i'm quite worried leh cos ppl say can do black magic if they hv yr sheng cheng ba zi so i dun dare to anyhow go. rainne, is yrs good &amp; reliable? btw, wat do they actually need to cal the date huh? my &amp; FH birth date &amp; wat else?

hi zen,

For mine, he is good, as he has been in this line since he was young. He is now about 60 over years old liao.

All he need is your birthday and your FH's birthday, that's all. And he will see the elements based on yourbirthday,like how many fire, water, wood, gold etc and tell you which date will not clash and is auspicious for you.

I have recommended another girl in this forum to see him and she has booked an appointment with him this Friday. If you are hesistant, maybe you can wait till she has seen him and let you know what she feel?

Hi zen,

Just to add on ah, he don't need your parent's details as well and so some people may feel that he is not detailed enough. I don't know about you, but for my case, it's fine with me lor.

bluegal

yeap, agreed among all, the master i approach is quite ex. But he is very detail cos he requested for our parent sheng chen ba zi and include our an chuan date and ausispicious hour so we don't mind pay him the amount. although we make appointment with him, we still have to queue for 2 hours to wait for our turn.
maybe you can try the one rainne recommend also.

blurz

I'm new to this thread.
I wanted to update my info however I have no answer to most of the fields...:<

Can anyone recommend me a place where I can get a date for my AD?

lywong

Hi rainne.

can i have the contact of the geomancer u referring to?
Me already pick a date in Nov 2006. Just wanted someone to ensure that this date is suitable for the both of us. Actually me and bf just wanted to go along with the date we pick, but my mum say its better to ask a geomancer.

We dun need alot of dates and hour info, so mayb e geo u recommend is just good for us..and most impt, it's not ex. =D

Waiting for ur reply..

HI KSbride,

I must let you know first that he only need yours and FH's birthdate. He does not ask about your parents lah, etc birthdate or your time of birth. It is very very basic. He just see what elements you have on the day you are born, then see whether it will clash or not etc.

If you are alright, I shall leave you an email yah. Let me know hor.

lywong

Hi rainne,

yupz, to me, that will do. anyway, i heard it was not good to provide ur time of birth to geomancer. So its good if he oni ask for my DOB..hehe...

do drop me an email.

PS: how much angbao did u give?

elmo_78

Hi Bluegal

I have always wanted to select 1 Jan 06 for AD but happens to be my dad's death anniversary so we select 20 Jan instead.

However, we are still doubtful about this date that we got....could you provide me with the contacts for You Long Zi? Thot of checking up the dates with him...hee hee. My email is at [email protected]. Thanks a lot!!

zenith

sigh.... my sickening FH dun wan me to go count date... say still too early &amp; dunno real or not. ksbride can u tell me wat u think of the geomancer after u've tried so tat i can convince my FB?

zenith

rainne, can u tell me who's the other gal u recommend so tat i can ask her comments next time? oh yes! btw, r u suppose to tell him our chinese birthdate? cos i've no idea wat is our chinese birthdate.

Hi Zen,

She might not want to go coz I told her that this uncle does not take into consideration parent's details. Only base on FH and yourself's birth date.

So if you are really into taking into consideration of your parents's birthdate etc, then I would not recommend you to see Uncle.

One thing you must consider is, as the TOng shu is not out yet, when it is out, your dates that you want may have already been booked by other people lor.

See whether KS is going or not, then ask KS how is he?

oh, didn't read abt your birthdate question. YOu are to give him your English birthdate, he will translate to chinese for you.

In any case, if either one of your animal sign clashes with Tai Sui next year, he will not recommend you to get married next year.

zenith

ok! thanx rainne! in tat case i'll wait for ksbride to see her comments. personally i also prefer dun need give parents date. too troublesome liao. i'll get frm u the contact some other time. btw, is it too early for us to book the venue cos nov 2006 still so far away. wat if there's some changes? can we change the date for the venue? is there any penalties?

Hi zen,

I would say you still have time to wait, but then again, there are lots of couples who book for late of the year for banquet leh.

So if you can confirm the date, then faster book liao lor. I super KS lah, I book already.

As for penalties hor, it would depends on the hotel. Where are you looking for?

zenith

most probably burkill hall. at 1st thot of using hyatt cos scared garden wedding most likely make a loss. then think abt it dun care so much liao. cos it's onli once in a life time to get married. wat abt u? which hotel r u holding?

ublur

i m still rotting at home.. so thinking coming online n look look c c.. wah.. can see tt there are many new gals here.. welcome all...
tomolo will b going back to work... sianzz..

bluegal

Hi Elmo_78,
will send you the geomancy contact tonight as i don't have the contact in the office.
Last night went to attend wedding dinner at Merchant Court. Well thumb up for the food but there's some technical problem with the slide show, we waited for almost 15mins b4 it's up. The stage and the projector is at different direction, not sure if you know that.

qiuting

Need some opinion. We planning have our AD in mid 2006. When do you think we should start the planning? Is it too early to start now?

ublur

hi christina, welcome
it's not early... in fact, it's jus right.. i personally think the most impt thing for u is to short list ur hotel n book s many couples book their hotel at least a year in advance.... the rest can wait....

Hi christina,

You can start viewing the hotels now already in fact.

I've already settled on my hotel venue and am moving on to others.

gentasg

Hi blur blur,

i agree with u but how do i get my in-laws to find the date for AD...

if i go and get the dates myself with my hubby .. will that be dissrespectful?

Hi linda,

For my case, I went ahead to search for the banquets first, then gave them a tentative date. Then FH to tell our parents we intend to book which hotel blah blah and then, they will tell us whether that date is fine with them or not.

If they are pantang, then they would ask u to seek some geomancy to find an auspicious date.

One problem which I encounter is that they would ask why do I need to book the banquet so early for. My reply was that normally hotel venues are booked 1 yr in advance to secure the date that you want and as well as to lock in the price of the banquet now. Prices increase yearly.

dapipi

Hi Rainne,
Any idea if i reserved 30 tables with the hotel, and then add in another few more tables, will they charge me at a higher price for the extra tables?

Hi ade,

Are you talking about your hotel banquet? I don't think they will charge you higher price. They would normally state in the contract, for additional table, how much is it per table etc.

Maybe when u meet the co-ordinator, you can ask them about it.

Which hotel are you looking at?

dapipi

Hi rainne,
yup, I'm toking about the hotel banquet... Not sure which hotel we are looking at...But been to a few hotels today...&amp; i'm soo tired now...*phew* this is not gonna be easy...I haven't met any co-ordinaor...Just lok ard and c which hotel we prefer...Which hotel r u holding at? What r the perks that the hotel offer u? We have no idea on what we want...

qiuting

Thks gal, will tell my hubby. He keep saying its too early to plan now :p

To view hotel do we need to make an appointment with their coordinator or can we jus go there?

Hi Christina,

You would have to email the wedding co-ord of the hotel, get their package and review it. If you are interested, you can meet up with the co-ord to discuss further, ask her bring u see the ballroom etc.

Alternatively, if you know there is a wedding going on that week, you can drop by yourself to see the ballroom setup.

Hi Ade,
Have you got the package of the hotels that you have shortlisted? Shortlist a few based on your requirements &amp; the package, dun go around shopping like that, very tiring one. After shortlisting, then you arrange to meet up with co-ord. Nearly all co-ord will ask you when is your date first. So give them a tentative date if you not yet confirm.

I'm having my banquet at hilton. Most hotels offer the basic things and are very competitive, like % invitation cards. % carpark, 1 night stay, XX litre of beers, etc etc.

gentasg

Hi rainne,

Can enlighten me when hotels say "% invitation cards. % carpark"... thanks thanks ...

my hubby and i went to calculate dates for AD.. waiting for the person to get back to us

gentasg

hi zen,

they need time... dunno on what basis he calculate. i cal at a temple at joo chiat place. the lady said when the dates are ready, will call me