(2006) Brides of year 2006

lourdes

hi lilacblur,

so you are a SL bride too? so coincidence man

you visit jit already? which packages will you be taking?

as for me, if i can find something i like from otr than i will take otr package $4288 if not i will take mtm $4888.

haven't book the hotel yet cos you are right lor, alot of hotels are not open for booking yet.

u have not decided the venue yet? me might change venue also, was thinking of looking at grand hyatt or pan pacific, heard ballroom not bad.

which are the hotels that you have short-listed?

racherlle

hi there!

ohh duxton ah!! very ex rite?

yup coz i tink the fastest would be 2009 rite?

hmmm more or less i've decided on my ID.. my theme would be modern resort..

hw abt urs? any idea how to reno ur home???

preci0usm0ments

hiya~
yup, signed up with Jit already. i took up the MTM but without photography package
din wanna restrict myself to studios so that i can still search ard

as for hotels, din really shortlist alot of places cause it's still too early and we were concentrating on our house issues...

now that hse done, can start the search for hotels

eillen

Hi StarryNight,

Me too, will be geeing married in Jan 06. Are you preparing for you wedding?

Now I'm busy with my house lor....

So where do you live?

lourdes

wow so fast sign liao ar, how much you pay for the package?

me got to decide which photography to take also cos jit give me quite a few to choose from...

Utopia
The Edge
O Studio
Robin
Ace Pix
Chris Ling

will you be taking the merc or beetle? me latter

akoyo

Hahha ! Think reno is still far far for me. Right now i am going to start on looking for banquet venue and the bridal shop. Thinking of going to Amanda Lee Weddings. Heard good comments about her le...
Have you signed up with any bridal shop ?

zenith

wah! this thread is moving so fast..... seems like quite a few of u hv already source for venue & bs. i still havent get started leh... FH keep saying i too ganjiong..

preci0usm0ments

BEETLE!!! my favourite!! hahahah
oh, i signed up cause i wanted the teadress for my ROM

anyway, i heard tat he's going to revise price again.. since it's HIM liao might as well jus sign rite? hehe settle one thing can relax liao

have you visited the individual studio? i suggest you go see ACE PIX! seen some of the SL's brides album by ACE PIX. nice nice

Hey girls,

Shall we start a thread in ROM May 2005 one?
Then we can discuss there more on our ROM. TOmorrow is the last day of the year and then, it shall be like 5 mths to our ROM.

HI crislyn,
I've already confirm my hotel venue and most hotels are already entertaining for year 2006.
Once you have wrote to them to get the quotation, you can arrange to meet up and have a look at their ballroom.

piglex

Hi Jo, i dunno e exact name..it's tis 'guan yin' temple next to tis dou sha bing shop... then u jus nd to appraoch the counter tt sells incense...tell them u wanna find auspicious date for wedding stuff..then they will ask for e couple's 8 zi..

agree tt abit vexing loh...ultra headache..

racherlle

oh yaaaa hehe still very far away!!

ohhhh as for bridal shop.. have not signed on any yet..
i'm planning to go and see Flamingo, Silverlining..
I love Divine Couture too.. but their gowns are too ex!

akoyo

Well, i guessed it's once in a lifetime ! Rather get good quality service, pretty gowns, good photos and pay a bit more. Hhehe
Read some bad comments on other bridal shops and really hope that i wouldn't need to go thr all that frustrations.

lourdes

hehehe beetle is nice! but will your fh be driving? cos looks like very cramp at the back...

have not visit yet. maybe need to start making appointment with all the individual studio liao.

thanks for your advice! will go and see ace pix

preci0usm0ments

hmm not too sure if he's driving, but i guess it's a good idea

i'm now thinking of renting few more as jiemei cars... should look very nice with one rows of beetles bugging on the road :p

eiggam

Happy New Year!! I'm new here and I need some help. Am thinking of having my wedding banquet in June 2006 but a lot of the prices for the banquet not out yet. What should I do?

HI maggie,

the prices for year 2006 is already out for some hotels. If they are not out, the better right, you can lock in on year 2005 prices.

ahcapp

Hi to all brides,

I am feeling more stressed now that everyone here at the website is already busying booking banquets and wedding packages.

I think we need to look around for hotel soon. If we can get the date fixed, I should be a Mar06 bride just like all of you! =) Anyway, we are going for a small wedding. A simple solemnisation followed by a lunch buffet. No ideas which hotels suit us best. But we hope to look at Four Seasons, because that's the place where we went on our first date. Still searching around for suitable hotels which can hold wedding lunches.

chrislyn

im going thru my ROM on 3rd mar'05 & thinking of having my AD on the same date a yr later in '06.havent start looking around for banquets yet as im more worried abt my ROM prep nw(thinkg of holdg it at nite at a pub/disco),any recommendations??however,i've placed $300 on impulse sometime back with Bridal Concept(which includes ROM pkg),but dunno if i shld stick 2 them nw coz of some feedback i heard..do share your wedding prep with me,thks!

eiggam

Really? Cos the hotel (only one) i asked said i have to pay an extra of $20-30 for 2006. May i know what hotels u gals have chosen that has a price for 2006 banquets or allow u to lock in the 2005 price?

rachelcheng

Hi Maggie,
Mine is Riverview Hotel and lock in 2005 price. Less than 600 per table. Think quite a few other hotels lock in 2005 price like Furama, Copthorn. The rest have to ask the gals here who have chosen.

akoyo

Same to you ! Hope that this will be a peaceful year...
Have you managed to get any pricelist for any wedding banquets ? Tried to contact a couple of hotels, but the details for 2006 are not out yet... Quite difficult to do anything now.... Prob have to wait for a while.......
Do you intend to hold a dinner or luncheon ? I was thinking if it is a Sunday, a lunch might make things easier for the guest. Don't have to rush.. Humm..

racherlle

hi gal!

hmmm most of the pricelists i've got are for 2005.. but i'm sure if u were to book now.. u shld be able to hold the price for 2006..

i'm planning a dinner.. and on a sunday too.. lunch is a bit out for me as i'm planning to hold my ROM in the evening.. juz before the sun sets.. hehe

any hotels that u wan to hold ur wedding in?
maybe i can give some advice??

hw many tables are u looking at?

rynryn

hi carol, my selection falls on 12/1 too.. wat do u mean by too dark or too hot ?? noticed tat most left overs are those centre units.. nearest to e lifts wan.. ;(

Hi Maggie,

You can just simply email to the hotels that you have shortlisted to ask for their menus. No harm mah, since they can just reply to you via email.

The ones that I have received replies are mostly hotels in the orchard road belt.

Do note one thing, most hotels are going to hold bridal show this year and will offer cheaper packages with freebies tied in.

So, if the dateyou are looking for is hot, then you would have to book early lor.

ublur

rainne, thanks a lot. will join in the thread later...

maggie, welcome.. congrats to ur coming wedding.. like wat rainne say, email to the hotels you have shortlisted... alternative, go down to the hotels on during wkends to check out the deco setup if you noe tt's a wedding holding.. u can go to the counter to get their banquet prices...

carol, ryn, where are the areas you gals are getting? i waiting for my balloting also.. but har, chances is slim for me..

akoyo

Wow, that's so romantic ! ROM with the sunset as the background...

We have just shortlisted a couple of hotels. Marina Mandarin, Holiday Inn, Grand Copthorne Waterfront, and a couple more. We were thinking of going around to view the ballrooms first before deciding anything. Prob just pop by during weekends. Prob around 25-30 tables. It difficult to decide on the numbers actually...

Do you think it will be very rush if we hold the solemnization ceremony during the dinner or lunch ? After the march in, continue with the ceremony. I wonder if anyone did the same. If not i will need to find a place with some solemnization package.

rynryn

hi carol, thks for sharing... u are great !! noticed that the 2 blks facing each other are super close.. somemore itz e living room !!

hi blurblur, we balloted for Bukit Gombak new flats.. wat abt u ??

racherlle

hi akoyo!

I went to view GWC before.. very nice!! hmmm but the ballrooms at the 3rd or 4th level (for 20-30 tables) share a common area and i find it pretty confusing for ur guests.. they would be wondering which ballroom to go to..

yup personally i feel that it would be very rush if u were to hold ur solemnization and then have a Sunday luncheon.. hmmm..

hi cool!!
welcome to this thread!
r u planning for ur AD in May 2006 too????
i'm having my AD in Sentosa.. either Beaufort or Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa..

hw abt u?????

HI rynryn and carol and blur,

wah, seems like I will be the last to select my unit leh. Very excited, is tomorrow the first day of selection for AMK?

shoa

Hello...
new member here to join your group... jan 06 bride..
now at the stage of choosing bridal services..so difficult to choose.

eiggam

Hi cool,

i'm looking at concorde (changing name to holiday inn atrium). went to meet the coordinator already and so far very happy with the package he's giving us and the price of the banquet. My FH and I are also satisfied with the ballroom and the extra perks they're providing. we actually wanted dec 05 but their dates are almost fully booked so we intend to take june 06 (have to have the banquet in the hols cos my FH is a teacher). The coordinator told us that if the banquet held in 06 will add an extra of $20-30. am still very very interested in concorde cos even after the extra $30 (taking the max just in case), the banquet price will only be $608nett since my tentative date is a friday (btw, they consider friday and most public hols on weekdays, except NY and xmas, weekdays). now just waiting for my mum to confirm if the date we tentatively chosen with the fortune teller.

and cool, i chose my tentaive date from a link given by someone in the forum. go to wedding banquets and look for the thread "How early should i book..." something like that and look for the last posting. there's three links. I used the first two and they churned out the same good date for me so i intend to use that tentatively while my mum double checks it with the fortune teller.

ublur

rynryn, i ballot for amk flats..

rainne, ya.. tomolo is the first day of selection.. praying hard tt many pple will give up so tt i wil have a chance!! hahaha..

kkjc0517

hi blurblur,

thot tmr hdb starting wif bukit merah 1st? :)

hi maggie,

how abt the weekend rate?thanks for the info,i will be attending a wedding next mth there,feedback to u after the dinner :)

eiggam

hi cool

their weekend rate is $688nett for min of 20 tables (u'll have to take the function rooms) and $668nett for min of 30 tables (u can take the grand ballroom). note the prices are good for 05 only so if for 06 need to add $20-30.

and i'll love to get some feedback from you. so far, i heard that the service and food are quite good and the coordinator told me that they're changing their wedding cards and favors SOON!! also, heard their bridal suite is good also, with jacuzzi!! coordinator promised me that bridal suite will def be 24th floor and above. do tell me what u think k? btw, my email is [email protected] email me k? will love to exchange more info with u.

afcai

anyone highlight me if one book a date with a restaurant or hotel, do we need to give them number of table first or just can go ahead to book then give number of tables later? cos need to chop the date first before confirm the number of tables.

piglex

Hi Blur, ours is Bukit Gombak... first day for apptmt at hdb is on 11 jan.. both ryn n mine is on 12 jan.. fingers crossed, dunno can get e unit i wan not..

Hi cool, e person was able to chk out wat dae was gd for my Fh n I 3 mths bk..we wanted to get a date for 2006 ROM...

so i guess they can do it..jus an angbao will do... but i dunno e exact name of tt temple..all i noe is tis guanyin temple at balestier rd..nxt 2 tis dou sha bing shop..

ublur

afcai, you jus have to rougly estimate the number of tables u need for your AD.. eg abt 30-40 tables etc..then according to ur range of tables, find a suitable hotel... Reason being, certain hotels do have min/ max number of tables requirement. For eg, raffles hotel can only accomodate max of 25 tables which is too little for me, tt's y i have to source for others venue..the exact number of tables required usually will b given to hotel 2 wks before your actual day! hope this helps..

Carol, all the best to u on ur selection!! good luck.. my friend getting his tomolo for bedok selection.

zenith

hi lilacbride, check wif u. wat is the chinese word 'zi ji' de 'ji' plus a 'xing' below? i dun understand the verywed thing u recommend. the 1st one chong means no good rite? the 2nd yi means gd is it? wat abt the 3rd one? is the word i'm asking u. is tat gd or bad?

zenith

hi rainne! i think i wan to go ahead to try yr geomancer for counting date. can pm me the details? just to confrim. he jus need the date of birth hor dun need the time rite? when we give him the eng date can liao rite? thanx!