(2006) Brides of year 2006

lux

Hi Cecilia,

I was more concern on the ROM dress actually.. because now got to ROM next year.. I'm with Jesline at Tampines..

Karen, likewise I also stay infront of GHA Tampines not far only! hee..

Actually.. ya need to bargain for certain things but ultimately I think is the same lah..

sleepysleep.. the ROM cert can defer one.. just write and request and come up with a good reason.. no harm to try.. me got my flat in Jan this year actually... intitally wanted to have with wedding banquet in 2006 but something came up so doing the rom next year in August.. so if you calculate we defer almost for 18 months..

Regarding the flats I think you and FH should go down to HDB to take a walk.. they have showflat at their hub and instructions.. It will be fun!!

ublur

sleepysleep, think u should go the official website first http://www.hdb.gov.sg .. take a look through, decide on which areas u wan.. there are many types, eg, through balloting, build to order, walk in selection... get urself familarise first.. like wat ling said, rom can defer one.. but usual case is tt u have to produce ur marriage cert within 6 months after getting ur keys..

racherlle

gals juz to add a point..
if u r getting new flats..
they have a DPD (delivery possesion date).. which is 1 year after ECD (estimated completion date).. (the date u get ur keys) so tat means u can wait til the DPD date before u need to submit ur ROM cert
not necessary 3 or 6 mths after u get ur keys

ash_tang

I am just starting to plan for my outdoor wedding luncheon in dec 2006. Totally clueless abt where to begin with. Desperately need help. Pls give me some recommendations and guidelines. Thanks alot.

cecilia_fzr

Hi karenthk,
I didn't really bargain for the items..haha..I simply tell her I came to her through Word-of-Mouth. If not,I can easily go to other BS, coz I am staying in Choa Chu Kang leh, although my lovenest is at Aljunied. Its a big distance away. I think if now u ask them to throw in more stuff they can lor.... As for my banquet venue,I am looking ard la....but haven see any ballroom yet. See if there is bridal show or if I really wan tt hotel, I'll fix appt after CNY to see the package. My co-ordinator is Carine, designer is not cfm yet till 1st fitting in Dec.
When are u gg for 1st fitting?

Wow...so nice, u stay near GHA.. I stay in CCK (as mentioned),kaoz....damn far. I am also concern abt the ROM gown, coz my ROM day clashes when they are gg to close for CNY. Have to co-ordinate for early collection & my make-up artiste. Returning also a problem...headache

Have u fixed a date for fitting? Maybe I join u? Hehe...(if u dun mind),coz my FH would not be gg with me.

Hi Ashley,
Welcome
. Maybe u can look thru some of the archives ? Quite useful.

cindeekoh

hey gers

realized tt u all choose cheaper rings...hmm...me feeling a bit guilty for making my bf spend so much...then again...he paying for the whole wedding...i am only gonna pay for the house's interior designing...so guess i dun feel the pinch so much...

cindeekoh

hi blur

4k for 8 days trip quite gd wat...a gd deal manz...u all book from agent or priceline?

u pushed yrs from 05 to 06? then how u manage?? i mean dun u feel sian and din wanna plan anything after it was postponed? i dun even bother looking ard now...wonder if it is becos me sian

cindeekoh

hey blur

u talked at AGS and GIA....wat is the difference?? think rach said goldheart rings cheaper than lee hwa...how come huh?

cutepigs

IF your bf can afford the diamond that you requested and still have enough for other stuffs (like the wedding), why not? IF he can afford it

anyway AGS and GIA are two different diamond certification. AGS i believe is the more strigent one in that not only does it grades the diamond on clarity, color and carat, it also grades the cut of the diamond with the best cut as ideal cut, followed by very good and good and so on...

cindeekoh

hi cutepigs

well...ya...think all in all he can afford it loh...cos his parents also helping to pay for the wedding and the house...plus we save a lot on venue since we using the garden at his house, me still keeping my fingers cross.

oh i see...no wonder destinee so nice...cos AGS...does anyone know if goldheart is AGS or GIA? sorry...really dun know anything abt rings...

cindeekoh

hey cutepigs

u know..whenever i see yr nick...i would think of pigs...hehehe...i love pigs...i always buy pig figurines...cute ones lahz...hehehe...i think they are so cute...hehehe...are pigs yr fav animal too?

ublur

cindee, wah.... not bad sia, he paying for whole wedding.. for me n my FH, we had joint acct, so use the money for wedding n hse etc..
ya.. i got my flight tic at natas fair, the rest all through online.. look for cheaper ones.. my bother suddenly say wan married nov 2005, so i no choice have to postpone...to early 2006...

ya.. like wat cute pigs say, AGS and GIA are different diamond certification.. guess cutepigs already explained already..
i agree wif cutepigs, if ur FH is willing to spend, it's good tt he can get the ring u want.. i personally tink tt proposal ring n wedding bands are impt... cos they will b lasting for life.. like wat i told my FH, even i got a bigger diamond ring years after marriage, it wil not b as meaningful as my wedding band n proposal ring..

ublur

cindee, tt's great, his parents paying part of ur weddding? lucky u.. for me, we use watever we save.. mayb his parents will pay a little renovation, but shall c lah.. i dun pin high hopes.. anyway, we jus had enough for everything..

wah.. having wedding banquet at his garden eh?? his hse must b really big.. u staying wif ur PIL or new hse? where is he staying? how mnay of guest u inviting?

cindeekoh

hi blur

guess a lot of couple have the joint account thingy for their wedding...did ask my bf if he wan but he said nvm...he can manage on his own...so i just leave it as that loh...

am indeed blessed that we dun really hv the money issue...but my bf is not the sort who anyhow go ard spending...then i am always on the lookout for cheap bargains...so ok lahz

u all getting 2 diff rings?? me only getting one lei...dun like wearing accessories....so told him i rather just have one...proposal and wedding same one lahz...wun wear 2 anyway...

ublur

cindee, ya.. proposal ring before rom.. a solitaire.. i trust he will buy me a decent one n i believe he will get the best one he can afford.. he still owe me a proposal lah.. hahahha.. wedding band will b everyday ring, same design as his ring..

lux

Cecilia..

your rom is early early in 2005 right? Mine August 2005 leh.. so cannot go for fitting and stuff.. but for the AD gown maybe we could =)!! My FH also not going with me because he's outstation .. sigh... I would love to have company!!

Cindee.. regarding the proposal ring.. just go with the flow lah... I guess if he can afford it .. will be real cool to have a big ring! My FH bought the ring without my knowledge .. so dont even have a chance to request for a big one.. but I guess that is secondary.. the main hype is he finally propose...

racherlle

hi cindee!

tink u misunderstood wat i said..
i didn't say Goldheart is cheaper than lee hwa..
i prefer goldheart than leehwa.. hee
coz i feel that goldheart designs are nicer

yup we hav 1 proposal & 1 wedding band..
i will keep my proposal ring after i've gotten my wedding band.. hehe now it juz stays on my finger

cindeekoh

hi rach

oops...sorry...hehee...now i understand...hehe...

hi ling
guess u are rite...the main thing is still the proposal...me like blur blur..still waiting for ours...

cindeekoh

hi blur

his house ok lahz...the garden can have abt 160-200 guests..not say very big also..we having more than 400 guests so hv to split between 2 diff days...the first one will be dinner...then the second, lunch loh....sighz...more work just to save more money.. if given the choice would rather have just one nite and get it over and done with loh...but that would be too $$ so no choice

cutepigs

<font color="0000ff">Cindee</font>

As far as I know, I have not seen a AGS certified diamond at goldheart. As for GIA cert diamond... you can find it anywhere.

Just for your info, if you are wondering why AGS grades the cut too... I think in order for an ideal cut, the dimensions of the diamond (the height, the crown, the gridle thickness etc) must be within a certain range. Moreover, the cut will directly affects the light leakage of the diamond which in turns affects the sparkle and brillance of the diamond itself.

cecilia_fzr

True la, I told my FH that he shld choose a proposal ring that he can afford (wun burn a big hole in his pocket).

Cindee, if yr FH can afford to buy, then good for u la...

Hi Rach, I prefer designs from Goldheart also.=)
So far all my jewellery from GH,nice nice. hehehe.. Hmm...i tink I'll wear both on different hands, coz I like rings..hahaha

cecilia_fzr

Ling, ya my ROM is in Feb 2005......Of coz we can arrange for AD gown. u have settle for your AD oredi? Oh dear, your FH is not coming....nvm...now u have a kaki to try gowns...haha

* Girls, I am amazed tt u all know so much abt diamonds.

ublur

ling, ya.. u r right, at least ur FH got one for u and propose.. tt's sweet enough.. hahahah...

racherlle, i had one ring which he bought for me when we started..had it on my middle finger since then... proposal ring will b wearing it for function in future..

racherlle

hi cecilia! hi-five!

hehee gals.. i'm planning to keep my proposal ring and wear it when there's function coz hmmm scared it will hav scratches! hehe heart pain ah.. if it has too many scratches.. but can take it to polish! heng! :p platinum rings will tend to have more scratches than white gold.. sigh..

yup cindee u shld go and take a look at their diamond rings..

sel

Hi blur blur, same as you, I have joint acct with my bf, then we use our savings for the wedding. Also not pinning hopes that our parents can help, of coz if they do help, it'll be great but we have the concept of depending on ourselves instead of hoping that they can help us out.

Btw, anyone ROMed on a weekday?

ublur

sel, yuyayaya.. cos har, i m afraid there might b disputes lah.. my PIl din really help out a lot on my FH's sis when she got married.. his family quite political one.. so har, i better depend on myself.. suai suai next time got disputes then i will faint lha!! hahahah..

btw, my rom may fall on week day.. urs? romed liao right??

racherlle, ya, me too.. afraid got scratches on the proposal ring..keke..

lux

Cecilia..

no lah.. AD havent affirm when but FH say at least later half of 2006.. he got work commitment.. kinda hate it.. everything revolve his work! duh!! but most likely having at the same day as ROM.. because I wanted ROM and AD together one... sob sob..

Oh and about the diamonds.. i dont have the slightest clue on anything. But I am just happy with the one that FH bought.. guess date too long liao reach the stage where he SELDOM buy anything for me.. so just happy that he didnt give me a pop drink cap...ha!

sel

Blurblur, yeah loh very scared of disputes..and very scared of owing this and that becoz they help us out..

Oh I haven't ROM yet! hehe going to ROM next may which falls on a weekday. Choosing to do it on my anniversary date for convenience so that we won't have to celebrate anniversary twice. For the simalu one, will be going to ask for the customary date.

ublur

ling, hahah.. u r so cute..

sel, oh i c.. me too.. rom next may too!! the geomacy master gave us a few dates, we may chose one which is in the wkday.. which means our rom very near to each other!!! then we can update each other when date draws near!!!

sel

blurblur, oh how does the geomancer give dates? Using those "ba zi"? or just look at the tong shu? YUp! did you take any ROM package from any BS? What plans do you have for ROM? I'm going to the fort canning one then maybe have a buffet lunch with our families only

ublur

sel, the master uses tong shu to calculate.. he need information on our n parents "sheng xiao" such tt the date does not clashes wif any "animals"...
i din take up any rom package yet.. dun think i will get one.. jus ala carte i guess..
i planning to have mine in gazebo lawn in raffles hotel, but it was booked on the day i want.. so looking for alternatives.. urs at fort canning meaning at the ROM premise?? wat abt u? any rom package already?

sleepysleep

hihihi,

went to the hdb link liaoz, but i think i still clueless hehhe! i gotta get information from the basic =P

erm anyone diy their bridal package? was thinking of diy mine coz i have photographer in mind for my ad already [my dad's friend]

hi sel, Linda&amp;Lawrence
hehee i am having mine on the weekday too =) but i think mine will have big prob haiz! thinking of holding it @ rasa but i think alot pplz will complaint far and somemore is weekday =|

karenthk

Neighbours hmm... maybe seen u ard the neighbourhood. Same here, I am also more concern on the ROM dress cos my ROM in Mar 05.

Hi Cecilia,
Don't think can ask them to throw in more stuff lor, pay deposit liao. 1st fitting most prob after CNY. How soon must we go for fitting? Maybe can arrange together since our dates quite close.

I just went down to M-hotel to view their ballroom. They just change their package... more expensive now. sob, sob... really like the place, but now have to re-consider. sigh... Will be viewing more soon. let u know the outcome.

cecilia_fzr

Hey Ling,
Initial my FH also wan ROM &amp; AD together, but coz suddenly the neighbour next door want to sell flat,I have to ROM early so as to produce the cert in 3 mths time(Resale flat). Hmmm...so now is fast forward everything. Hehe....Waiting for my propsal &amp; da ring now

Hi Blur,
Is that master at "Si Ma Lu" good? I need to check out the dates for July 06 too. Maybe u can roughly let me know where it is? Thanks

Hi Karen,
Hmmm...wat are u looking out for,maybe if we can arrange &amp; compare (on the spot),they will ??? Hope for the best. Carine advise me to go abt 2nd week of Dec,so that have flexi time to play ard. Definately can arrange...maybe can exchange contact no... I'll be calling some hotels soon...Let u know also.. BTW, haf u tot of Concorde Hotel?

sel

Blurblur, yup at the ROM premises, and my ROM package from Seletar. Got gown,makeup and hairdo, just need to get the hand bouquet

chomecc

hie gers.

wow i was held up at work for a day and wow.. this thread really rocks... moves so fast that i am confused after reading all the posts.. so in any case.. here some of the stuff that i manage to pick out.

Cecillia and ksbride: i went to this website to dwnload pan pac package.. we can check it out together and i am now asking this catering manager bonnie some queries.. and will like to meet up with him to do site inspection.. maybe we can all go together.. hehe i haven made any appointment with him yet.. anyway.. the assistant is telling me that they are not making any reservations for 2006 yet becoz their prices are not out for year 2006 yet.. anyway.. u may want to download this and we can discuss further,

http://meeting.singapore.panpacific.com/hotel/weddings.html

you can email me [email protected] i have mc,conrad, shang, fullerton, amara package.

blurblur: is the master able to calculate 2006 dates if the tong shu is not out yet? me also will like to check for 2006 dates.
n hey hey.. your picturesss are soooooo lovelllyyyyyyyyy... just make me just wan to hop onto a plane and go japan..

ahh.. u and ksbride applied for the recent balloting? cool.. i got my amk hse through balloting too.. which room did you try for? hope that you can get your lovenests and we be neightbors..

mygal and racherlle: congrats on getting your new lovenest.. well if you need ctts for ID, i can recommend mine..you can come over my place or i can post pictures for u to take a look ..
hehe think he is not bad.. workmanship is good becoz i am very fussy about the flooring becoz i having marble in the living room..

Sel, blurblur: i already rom and my rom is also on a weekday..

karenthk: what is GHA?

Cecillia: ohh yes.. maybe we can go down to visit the venues soon and keep a look out on wedding shows!

hey gers.. i think with the wedding preps and lovenest decos.. burning big hole in my pocket..

hey anyone going to the wedding present show?

ublur

cecilia, chomecc, i m not sure if he can calculate 2006 dates now.. but it's jus the building right opposite the si ma lu guan yin miao..it is at the far end corner..
chomecc, i applied for the 5 room one. hope to get it. wat abt u? really hope to get it too..

chomecc

racherlle: sure i will email you the picts to night yes? need to upload it..

blurblur: ohhh maybe can go over n take a look.. is it a guy or lady .. heard that one lady who is very good in other thread..
5 room?? hope you get it.. then we can be neighbors.. i think the probability of 5 room is quite good so i am sure you will be able to get yours.. ahh then you are able to see my place from your home to be.. my new lovenest is at the central houses... the ones beside macdonalds?

ublur

chomecc, do show me the photos also.. [email protected]
it's a guy.. in his 50s i guess.. he got a small stall jus in front of the shop.. jus like any other fortune telling type along the street.. but think he got his own shop.. however, tt time when i go ask for date, there are few other couple oso there.. he's quite hot i guess...
hmm.. where is ur hse locted? i ballot recent ones are along ave 1 jus opp bishan park...

lywong

Hi chomecc,
pp hotel was my first choice. oso waiting for them to release 2006 dates. but before that, wana go take alook around the ballroom and listen to what the coordinators say. last time we sent a mail out, the wedding coordinator reply promptly. but now after they change their team, sent out few mails no reply at all! HUMPF! mayb we can make a arrangement to go together and talk to the coordinator? =)
can i take a look at ur house design too?

blur,
u applied the 5-room ah...me applied 4-room..the applicant was super high, duno can get anot..I went to that area to look before. flats are 1/2 way thru liao...quite like the area coz got park for me to execise and nearby stores to buy my groceries!...*pray hard*

ublur

ksbride, yup, applied for 5 room.. praying hard tt i can get it.. keep finger cross.. 4 rooms ones are very hot.. if i rem correctly, abt 4 applicants fighting for 1 unit!!! i love the view too, jus opp bishan park.. wish u good luck too. mayb we wil b neighbours..