(2005) Brides of year 2005

aiyo.... icy.... maybe u juz cfm everything place deposit.... so they got no reason to change already.... juz tell ur FH abt ur concern... after all is ur wedding and not theirs... if u choose something that dont like.... u will not going to be a happy bride... thats what i feel

sometimes good person is hard to do... so be firm and stick to what u 1 if there is no room for further compromise....

tell them ur concern also lah.... travel fm sin to malaysia nt that far rite....

icy - atually solemisation won't be taking long....
u also hear ppl complaining that they finish their ROM in minutes rite? maybe u can do it before cutting the cake which is during yr 1st march in... Then after which proceed to cut the cake...

cutie, sorry, pada running on 486 tdy...got it! but...it's my colleagu sis, she only show me hardcopy pix lei..think she mention CD not ready yet cos ..her sis flew to europe for 3 wks honey moon liao..KIV, ok?

icy
;p chinese vows...for me i decide i cannot cater to everyone so decide to do english vows cos fh side only speak chinese; my side some can only speak indo and dialect. my mum cannot speak chinese. anyway do in church is gd.. so hv excuse to do in english. haha.

leeds ~ dunno leh ... hehehe ... quite excited too lah ... will update you when i know more

chatter ~ no lah ... grand a-line usually doesn't need can-can ... but you can wear a small one if you like ... ballgowns are really big and grand gowns .. you know the princess/cinderella look

Peng ~ thanks for yr help!! cos of my big mouth lah,, i told my FH abt it,, then he so angry cos IC told us that the magic train only applied to my gown only!! so he suspect that could it be the same gown!! hee hee

hey gals
is anyone of you doing away with a wedding cake? cos quite an extra expenditure... if getting a cake where are you all getting fm? design? cost?

chatterx..sure, come join me & my kaki on every sat afternn for bowling..i tell u the venue secretly huh..I can do all the 4 swimg styles..that's why arm super big mah..what petit, i fat..so sad..

jellytots,
I now can only continue to wait and see what other updates they have for me, before concluding anything.

chatterbox,
yap.. perhaps will just do so. hope i dun get stage fright.

anna,
very funny hor.. chinese vows hahahaa.... perhaps i dun care just say english one.

my cake just dummy cake from hotel with the top as real one, dun think I will play anything with cake.

cutie..huh, so serious huh, I 'chase' 4 u huh, but 3 weeks...*sign**sign*, my another fren also signed with IC 1-2yrs ago, she also has the magic lei..I ask her oso hor, then show u, ok?...i tot that's IC special style..

peng - wow dun noe u can do all the swim strokes huh! coz u look so gentle so I thought u not into too much sports lor.. kekek ya, never juide the book by its cover!
ya lor, I got my fat arms all thanks to the swimming also... Last time I used to swim alot too... BTW, u say u got doctor to recc to cure my back.... can PM me... gd huh?

Peng ~ yr friend's sister and yr another fren is MTM or OTR??? as long as not the same piece then is ok with me!!! hee hee,, thanks alot!!!

annd & touraco ~ i also tot of getting a real cake,, do u gals know roughly how much i need to spend??

Hi anna and touraco,

my hotel told me that they can help me serve cake to all guest at no extra cost (but must sign indemity form). so I am very keen to get a real chocolate cake!!! I will keep to a choco-buttercream one and provide my own flowers or something for deco, so cost should be about $250-300. If you have lots of guest it could be more as they charge by the kg.

Or you can make a small one for cutting and pack large protions for immediate family to take home only.

I hate those dummy cakes, they look so 'obiang'. I told FH it is either real cake or do away with the whole cutting cake thingy.

icy
actually not so funny cos rom i heard oso hv chinese ones. for me chinese is out cos my mum and some of my relatives cannot speak chinese. so i choose neutral language - english. actually i think is ok they dun understand cos they know what the significance is sufficient.

touraco
ya i tot of tt too but i felt it was too expensive and quite out of budget so wanted to hear the other gals opinions. cakes in sg too ex and overprice.

decimal
wa... wata re you hving for lunch? me will be ta powing and eating in tdy... hv a lot of stuff to catch up on..

peng
wat is ic? wat magic?

germ
how much is the wedding cake fm pattisier? where is the shop?

cutie
cake with tiers i think min must prepared to pay at least 600 bucks for basic cake.. v ex i think.. add to cost of the dinner.

peng/chatter
i agree tt swimcause big arms. me usd to be crazy abt swimmng and water

anna,

Not sure how much is it....can call and ask. Their shop is at Ann Siang road, opp maxwell mkt. Their cake are really nice...drop by and buy a small piece and try.

icy - I did mine in chinese leh... Coz I wan my parents to understand since they r there to witness my marriage mah..... I heard english version too but I feel very touched when I was reading out the vows in chinese... and if all yr guests understand chinese then y not do it in chinese then, and it also benefit yr parents and the elderly, coz they will defintely feel somethg for u.....

cutie - I heard that they will tai u once u say it's wedding cake lor.... that's consider reasonable leh.... Minimum is $400 and above lah.... and that juz fresh cream cake....

chatter ~ me thinking of doing my solemnisation in Chinese too cos there will be some old folks who can only understand Chinese. But still deciding..cos saying I DO in Chinese sounds abit mushy for both of us..we may ended up giggling during the solemnisation

I always tot wedding cake during dinner is for show only.. do people bring back the top tier of the real cake after the dinner??

vonnie,
i also dunno how everytime I heard chinese vows, my goose pimples will all come out.. hahaha

some hotels provide the top tier as real cake, so that u can have it after the dinner as supper or what.

von - for real cake, 1 layer will be brought home for the couple to keep for a yr and the eat it on their 1st anniversary. But that's only for fruit cake.... Nowadays, it's all dummy cake.. yup Chinese is abit mushy that's y I felt more touched when I read out the vow in chinese... my tears almost drop :P

icy, u are a christian? Your initial intention is to rom in the Registry of Marriage building itself? Sometimes booking a date to rom have to see whether the date that you wanted is available or not? is it like tat?

i think i not gng coz i already book my BS

u not gng too? ask ur friends to go with u
they can give u some comment too

re: cake
i did read somewhere tt some hotels only allow you to bring in cake you buy from them!!! so be careful abt placing orders beofer clarifying

butter, u got mail..

icy, cheer up gal, everything will be alright soon. Actually lately i got some probs also. My PIL wan me n my FH to stay together right after we ROM cos after ROM, we are lawfully husband n wife. As for my parents, they feel tt we should stay together after traditional wedding. oso dun noe wat to do.

Mazipan and fondant cakes with elaborate deco will be expensive. Buttercream cakes are cheaper and can be nice too. I always look for cake ideas in Martha Stewert Weddings. If you don't go for fondant cakes with elaborate deco at the branded cake shops, think can get from $28-38 per Kg. and I saw on one cake website, minimum order is 5 kg for buttercream cakes.

You can also make a mini elaborately decorated 2-tier cake for cake cutting, then have plain buttercream single layer ones in the back just to feed everyone.

butter,
I not christian. my intial initial initial is suppose to be on the same day, then my initial initial is next year at ROM itself. lol.. here to confuse u.

I think it u book on internet 12 am 3 mths before ur ROM date should be quite safe. u will have the date. Of course the slots subjected availability.

yo chatter.... u mean the cake keep for a year are u sure..... btw... u all meeting 7pm @ outram rite... so having dinner b4 meeting isit

yo bits... are u joining us for the gathering next fri

wah, icy, ur initial initial cheem ar.... i confuse liao... but nvm, i think u can solve it after getting so many good advises from the girls here