(2005) Brides of year 2005

icy, ya lor.. if yr AD is near to yr ROM then u can make it simple. as for me, initially we planned to hv AD in 2006-7 tat's y booked china club..who's knows after we have planned for ROM, my mum & hb changed their mind saying yr2005 is a good yr to hv AD.. so that's y stuck, hv to proceed with the ROM pkg at china club..

purple poppy, well i can say that the food is quite alright.. the only plus pt is that all the guests were fasinated by the place cos' they hv never been there before.. gd pl to take fotos.
oh ya, btw, pls note the drinks part.. in the contract, it stated there free flow of soft drinks, but on actual day they served juices as well & without our knowing, they charged us for juices... was a bit upset abt it cos' they placed juices on the serving table (given that of cos' we thot it's inclusive so we didn't question). And ended up they charged us for that.. the juices came up to be $300+

duffy
tts very unethical of them.i dun like such despicable biz tactics.
i definitely will not consider a place like that.
wonder if hotels do the same.

germ
the ballrm is a very big one which they can partition into smaller ballrms. so if they are 2 functions they can partition and make a few ballrms out of the big one. then you hv to share the foyer area.
the food is ok. standard chinese fare for the wedding but i rem once i had a western course lunch there. very nice. you can consider western sit down dinner instead.

purple poppy, but after saying this, i thk overall is still great to hv it at china club!

hi anna,

regent's main coordinator (which was good, based on the forum's comments) left and the 2 that take over were very rigid ... cannot make decisions... my FH and I pestered the coordinator to quickly check with a decision-maker about what we wanted and arrange for a meeting together but he did not get back. Anyway the management can't even give us a definite price for next year end (they said bet $50-100+++) more!!! so I give up... if they behave like that then how to work with them?

I must say that at least the coordinator bother to call us back for our first 2 email enquiries.. maybe their management problem... later no news.

karen
so bad? hmm. i attended a wedding lunch there some yrs back. i rem the decor is rather nice and grand. but it was a buffet lunch so a little different.

karen ~ certain hotels really dont bothered to return calls,, and even u talk to them they like bo chap like that lor!! is normal!! ha ha ha

anna,

Do they do that? Hmm...l will note this down and ask them next time. Have a western sit down...dun think so cuz most of the guest are relatives and biz associate..dun think they can accept it.

vonnie,
Thanks for the feedback, I will be going down on saturday to take a look first before deciding on anything. :D anythingelse that I need to look out for?

duffybuff,
My fh decided that the 18 pax not enough to let who he wanted to be there to be there, at first I want chalet. Then the check in time at 3pm. Bigger chalet cost abt $250 to $300 per night. minimum need 2N. No lobangs for cheaper ones.. become bo bianz, so might as well go for one stop package. My rom guest will be more on very close relatives and xiongdi jiemeis. anyway i decide to pay for all these, using govt $$$. hahaha NSS and ERS.

germ
it depends on how many tables you hv. if you hv few tables and take a big ballrm then of course you may hv to share. but if you hv many tables shld not be a prob. they have dividers to divide up the foyer reception area as well but there can be >1 wedding at the hotel on the day if you do not hv many tables cos shang can take big nos.

ya lor agree.. called fullerton before & asked for quotation.. they promised to fax but i waited for 3 days.. & worst of all, tried to fix appt, the sales seemed so stuck up.. hahah.. ended up i didn't turn up for the appt & u know wat they didn't even bother to call. furthermore, they still called me up after few weeks to check if i still interested.. sigh quite disappointed with them..

Hi gals...juz came back to the office to clear some paper work. Once Im at my work station & PC, the 1st thing in my mind is that I really miss you gals. So cant help to pop in.

So, on wat topics are you gals having now? No time to read past archives lah...so please update me. Thanks!!!

Btw, can someone tell how do i go about on the Emoticons? Im facing some difficulties w that. Dunno if Im doing the rite way.....

icy, 1st work out yr budget lor.. or else u can get a cosy place.. know of this small restaurant in Scuplture centre known as secret garden... it more like a small cafe but they hv their own garden area.. perhaps can see if they can hv set up a simple garden theme..
& best of all, located in a arty place. heehee

anna,

Me tot there is another smaller ballroom rite? If they are going to have divider in the big ballroom...then l don't see why l should be spending so much $ and have to share the ballroom with some1 else.

icy, do you like the buffet in mkt cafe of Merchant court?..they hv a small function rm juz by the side of the cafe...can put abt 3 tbls, rm rental $300 and buffet lunch on sat is ard $19.90+++/pax, went there once for fren ROM, quite cosy to hv own rm with buffet outside, they give some other peaks as well, check out if any revised to price at tel: 6337 2288, f u interested.

just back from meeting

just some thots i have abt shangri-la
been there countless times for work,weddings and D&Ds...food wise not much to shout about but a lot of pple prefer it because it looks grand enough
true that the cocktail area has to be shared among the different ballrooms...guests might get confused
as for the smaller rooms...they are surrounded by the gardens but can't accomodate a lot of tables

duffy
i emailed fullerton and they are very quick in responding to emails...same goes for ritz carlton too

Peng ~ merchant court hotel food is nice!!

btw, u gog for the BS hunt tonight right!! pls let chatterbox know i cannot go liao!! my mum called and nag at me,, say i neglect my "daughter"

anna,
I hope i can pay for the rom stuff if it is going to be outdoor. So if needed, then i will cash my NSS and ERS.

fates,
I no lobang for safra chalets, aranda charging me at $230+ per night, min 2 nights. Total already abt $500. and have to check their inhouse caters. and checkin time at 3pm..so very hard to get people to come straight for buffet lunch after that unless i check in on friday, which I feel it is a waste of one day.

duffybuff,
Ya budget hope not going over $1.2K :p
where is that Scuplture centre. I feel very mafan, must also cater food which our parents will eat - international or chinese, cannot be totally western.

Hi pengz,
Oh.. okie.. think I will also call merchant court. :D Thanks for the info.

Icy - Are you still looking for a chalet for your ROM? Cos I think I can get lobang for the bigger chalet. Juz let me know your budget & date.

stupy, i oso in n out..hee.....now topic on icy ROM lah..& someone looking 4 dinner venue lah...oh..Emoticon, juz copy n paste the whole wording beside the icon, try it!

germ
yup there is a smaller ballrm but i think it is really quite small. its at the back of the main ballrm. i think the bigger one is more grand.
the alternative is like wat touraco say the smaller functions in the gardens. i think those are nicer as long as you dun hv too many ppl.

peng
i dun rem being impressed by merchant courts market cafe food. its not bad. i was there for work as well but nothing spectacular.

cutie
wat daughter?

Stupy,
My date is on 20 Nov. But ur lobang, I must get ur contact to check in right? and what is the check in time? I hope immediately after rom can check in. I have a bad experience before, cos friend saturday rom at abt 12pm, then finished already, we go chalet.. must die die wait until 3pm then they allow us to check in.

icy, sculpture centre is near the junction of middle road & waterloo st. opp. to fortune centre. they serve western though.. but can chk if they do special catering.

touraco, is it? aiya, maybe it was just my luck to hv called at the wrong time.

germ, I still have the catalogue wif me.. well, it's more expensive than fullerton. more than 1K per table without the +++ i think..

duffy, where is china club?? i a bit sua ku leh.. i looking for other options for ROM outdoor too.. keeping my options open

anna,

But the smaller ballroom doesn't have it's own pre-cocktail area? Hmmm...think l must go down and see this wk. We are going to have abt 40 -45 tables so dun think can hve it in the function room.

cutie,

Ya, l remember ur ' daughter ' ...its a maltese.

cutie..ya..durian paste...hee...ai ya..so sad u can't join us...'daughter', real??

touraco, me too, dun like shang..i doll up so nicely for D&D, then traffic jam, reach there after 7.30pm, light already switched off...*sign*..food so so only probably we cater more than 100tbls at tat time.

blur, china club is located on the 52nd flr of capital tower. they are only opened to members unless u book their room or place for events.

cutie
mine is male 2 yr old.

germ
the smaller ballrm overlooks the lovely gardens and the koi pool. the pre cocktail areas shld ideally be in the gardens outdoors. very nice.

blur,

Did u meet up with the co-ordinator? Tot their price shd be about the same as fullerton. $1k b4 +++...hhmm...quite ex rite?

Icy - If thats the case, no choice but if you change your mind, juz let me know. Dun worry if its inconvenient on my side ok? Actually, I feel that chalet is also abit troublesome too.

Peng - Doing my testing....

anna, MC buffet depend on season theme..I went twice..svcs impressed me, went with 8 frens and they quite generous to throw in 2 free buffet for 2 b'day girl with slice of cake n candles...ok lah..what u pay is what u get lor..reasonable lah...

germ, fullerton is less than 1K after all the +++ on sunday. for Shang, it's more than than 1K before the +++ if i remember it correctly. I went to the main ballroom, very grand and nice. Din noe will have to share the ball room wif others.. but the cocktail foyer is nice also..

duffy, is the area nice? restaurant?? hmm.. got website for it? expensive or not?

Cutie - Ok, heres my report today.

Breakfast - Kopi O ( only )
Before Lunch - 1 slice of rock melon
Lunch - Fruit juice & a packet of quava w no sng buay powder.

Mdm, end of report!!!!