(2005) Brides of year 2005

hai starz .. me just back from aust ..
the spa was good .. ha ha .. actually, me and FH went to see the ball room .. we quite like it .. cos very nicely done .. shortlisting ot for a moment .. still looking around ... have u gotten urs??

Jolyn ... search through our archive .. there's some recommendation .. I go for Master Li at Fu Lu Shou ..
$100 for his service ..

my AD is on jan 05..now getting busy w my rom in mar then will start to look for BS. still contemplating whether to take ala-carte or bridal package..

hi hi, jolyn, heard fm a few friends that they went to yu long zi but he charges ard $150. as for me, i jus followed my mum to a old fortune teller..

hi nanshee!

no wonder u MIA 4 so long.... so u went on a holiday ah? enjoyed it?

yup, i have gotten my dinner venue. it will not b in a hotel though. we will hv it in a restaurant as the older folks prefer gd food over ambience though i wld love to hv it in the hotel.

hi duffybuff,
actually ur ROM & AD is very close to each other, u shld take up a bridal pkg tt will take care of ur ROm as well as ur AD to save on costs. but i think u r almost done wif ur ROM preps, so guess this option is out.

ala carte pkg will def b more exp. u hv to list out ur priorities & see whether u can afford it within ur financial means as well as other issues like coordination etc. juz my thots!

Hi ckgirlgirl,

u don’t have to submit the songs in advance. But is better to be in CD version then MP3 version. As what starz said, it doesn't matter whether just plain music or with singer. Is your own preference!! How's your videographer sourcing? I wanted to source for one earlier, but now i drop the idea. I tot of getting a videocam and ask my friends to film it, and after that i still can use the videocam for my honeymoon.

starz, i never attend any wedding dinner at pan pac before, but heard alot of good comments.

hi cutiebear....

u decided to get ur frens to do the videography 4 u instead? hmmm... then u muz hv trusted ur fren alot...

4 us, we got an acquaintance to do our ROM pix & i really dreaded it coz it was not very nciely taken... thus i will rather spend more $$$ to get pro help. juz my thots.

well, its gd tt PP has a lot of nice comments... so it sets ur mind at ease.
anyway the svc shldnt b tt bad in a hotel rite?

Hi starz,,,

the video is more like a momento and for us to keep only, no need to be too good!!

service at hotel doesn't mean that definately will be good. There's once i attended a wedding at a 5 star hotel, their waitress and waiter all those part-timers, service so bad

i will be having my AD on 9 Jan 05 as well...

good to see this thread is so active...

I am actually trying to finalise my studio/outdoor and AD photographers, anyone has comments on the following:

studio/outdoor: Utopia, Robin, The Edge, Flux
AD: Image garden, Photo Language, Vividshots, Yew Kwang, Beetles at work

hi starz

do you have any recommendation for videography?

Hi cutiebear,

i am still sourcing for a videography. so far been to inspire and natural shots.

It is a good idea to get a fren to help you film the videography for that day. i tot of that too, but then again, there are worries tat i be watching a "blair witch" version (jumpy and shaky). heehee.. so i just hope that your fren has a steady hand.

Hi dragongal

from what i have gathered from the forum, many seems to prefer Kelvin's work from beetles works. he uses digital and his work has a soft touch. maybe you can check out the threads regarding them for more comments/info.

hi cutiebear,

its ok if u both r not particular on the video. and i am sure its easier to get help as well.

well, its true tt some hotels engage part-timers tt will spoil their reputation...

hi dragongal!
so u hvg ur AD on the same day as me!

4 the list u mentioned, i can only say i hv a fren tt uses Robin 4 her PS... haven seen her photos yet but according to her. she is very happy & satisfied wif his svcs & work.

how abt ur BS? u got it already?

I'm a June 05 BTB.

I wonder if there is anyone here trying to lose weight? Maybe we can help keep each other motivated?

Let me share my experience so far. I started trying to lose weight in late Oct last year. So far, I have lost abt 5kg. I am planning to lose another 9-10 kg by the end of this year and then maintain it. (U can see that I'm pretty overweight) I am not on any special program, just paying closer attention to my diet and going for aerobics classes twice a week.

So far, I'm still motivated and I feel fitter than I have in a long long time. Love seeing a more toned body. The best thing is being able to fit into my old clothes!!! I am motivated because I want to look beautiful next year. A little secret to share, if I do lose my target 9-10 kg, I'll be the slimmest I've ever been in eons... wish me success!!!

hi cookies gal!

congrats on ur success story!

4 me, i managed to shed off 4 kg by replacing lunch with milk. i do aerobics once a week, but i wun say this helped me alot since its only once an hr per week. its more to me like i am exercising though i noe its not enuff.

u still hv a long way to go, dun worry!!! keep up, jia you!

hello starz .. yap .. truely enjoyed myself ..esp in melbourne .. shopped till have to sit in briefcase just to close it .. went with one suit case .. came back with three ..
.. so satisfying ...

actually fh and myself would prefer to have good food and good ambience .. abit jiat lat hor .. just keep amara in mind first .. actually shortlisted rasa too but they can't accommodate more than 35 tables ..so have to give that up ...

how's ur preparation?? 7~8 more months to end of 2004 ... real fast ..

hi nanshee!

how long were u in mel? muz hv spent loads yah? were u juz in mel or other plcs as well? this is a honeymoon or juz another holiday trip>? hahaha, paiseh 4 so manu qns!

yeah, so fast hor... its already march!!! me juz waitg 4 my 1st fittg next week... am really lookg fwd to it!

Hi dragongal,
this thread is active cos only me, starz and ckgirlgirl keep chit chatting
i've seen Kelvin from Beetles work job, he's not bad!! natural shots!!

ladies, remember i share wif u abt the DIY wrist corsages thing. i found the materials at Spotlight, so nice and cheap!!

hi cutiebear,

i think art-fren in bras basah sells a lot of such mat'l as well... in fact i was quite surprised to find tt they carry such a wide assortment of mat'l....

u learnt how to DIY wrist corsages liao huh? so clever!

how many jie meis u intend to hv?

starz,

no need to learn one!!!

i found those corsages flowers, 3 in a bundle, and they tie up nicely which cost abt $2. and what u have to do is buy the ribbons and sew it nicely as in sew it into a "butterfly" then sew the flowers onto it,, that's all.

u know what i'm trying to say??

ha ha ha,,, cos i also dont know what i'm talking abt,,, ok ok,, let me go take pic this weekend and show it to u!!!

Hi Starz,

Wow, 1st fitting next week, that's so fast! When did you start designing/selecting your gowns? How many months before the photoshoot should we give the BS to prepare our gowns?

Any ideas what are the more classic styles for WG? I want to avoid styles that may look out of fashion by my AD coz I will be selecting my gown before the end of this year.

hi cookies gal...

well, its not fast leh.... i think its juz right.

wat u mean when i start designing my gowns? its the designers job mah... 4 my part, i juz colate my preferred designs in a file & show my designers lor. u juz call up ur BS, they will arrange everything 4 u & advise u on the time frame required. diff BS got diff way of handling.

dun think there is any classic styles of gowns i can think of... each gown is unique in their own way. the designers will b in a better position to guide u.

hi cutiebear
we have the same wedding date
8th jan right??

btw who you hired for AD photographer??

so i wont wont bother to look them now that are engaged by you

foodie, u very cute leh... i thot u wanna ask cutiebear 4 recommendations, in the end, i realised u were rite, tt u cant engage any one tt she has already done so! hahaha...
its sth tt we missed out... i wldnt hv thot of it if u din post here... hahahaha

no worries.
yours one day later right? so still got chance what

let you know some good ones after i have checked them out..

i like journalistic photography..
you ?

hi foodie,

dont worry, cos i didn't engage from those popular ones. my friend recommended this guy to me which charging fairly cheap!!!

starz,
today u found alot of cute and funny ppl around this thread hor!!!

hi foodie,

journalistic photos r nice but very exp.... so dun think we can afford to go 4 those styles.

cutiebear, why u say i found alot of cute & funny pple leh?

Hi everyone *waves*

I'm new to this thread too. My wedding is scheduled for end of yr 2005 so i'm just making use of the advance time to do my research & get more valuable advice from everyone here.
Hope to get to know everyone better yah....?

Hi Cookies Gal!!

I'm an exercise freak...hehee.i'd love to be your erm..motivator. My target is to get myself as toned as i can be, hence, will not be targeting on any weight to be lost. In fact, i expect my weight to increase a little due to the muscles i'm packing on...*erm..hopefully lar...*

Where do you exercise regularly?

Hi ssmilezz!

Wow, so I guess you must look pretty fit and slim now right?

I'm definitely not one...
in fact I took action on the spur of the moment.

One fine day last yr, I couldn't stand the fact that I can't fit into my clothes and that I looked so "lumpy" so I looked around at exercise courses available coz I know I cannot exercise regularly on my own. Anyway, I signed up under the S'pore Sports Council's Learn to Play programs. Each course is for a block of 12 lessons and costs about $45 for aerobics. I'm finishing my 3rd course tomorrow and have signed up for the 4th course as well (starting 16 Mar).

Heehee.. I enjoy the classes and the instructors are also not bad. I'm taking lessons at Clementi swimming pool from 7.30-8.30pm. I plan to take up the body sculpting course at Bt Batok for toning when I have lost sufficient weight. I actually find that I get a kick out of lifting weights - makes me feel strong lah!

Hi starz, thanks, will contact my BS to arrange the schedule.

Although it's the designer's job to design gowns, I'm the sort of person who likes to go into the discussion with my homework done. I've started to keep pics of the WGs that I like but I'm just not sure which of the styles I favor are the "trendy" kind and which are more "classic". nvm then.

hi hi cookies gal...

Erm..not really leh..i don't think i look fit enuff though. I'm more of a big boned kind of person so i'll never been stick-slim. Guess i have more or less accepted it so don't really bother losing weight!

I've been exercising regularly on my own (skipping + free weights) but only decided after CNY this year that I should join a gym to have more variety.

You are staying in the west yes? Too bad i'm in the east...:P Or else can exercise together yah? my bf also trying to lose weight and he complains that i'm too super on abt fitness. :P

Afterall, once you start fitting better into your clothes, you'll definately feel good abt yourself yah? Plus exercising really makes you have a super good night sleep..kekee..i usually knock out at night & wake up feeling much more refreshed.

I can't swim too!! :P But i guess i'm not much of a water baby...have this silly phobia of water getting into my eyes + nose. LOL!!

We can update each other our daily fitness activities yah?

I'm going to the gym tonight for my usual cardio session & plus one hour of personal training.

Hey, guess what? I'm also a big-boned person!!! Got the bones but not the height from my dad's side of the family. *pouts*

I'm staying in the north actually, but Clementi is near my workplace so I can make it for my lessons on time.

I'm actually taking aerobics, not swimming/aqua aerobics. It just happens that the room is inside the swimming pool. I do know how to swim though, I took up swimming lessons a few years ago but I think aerobics is more shiok coz it's more difficult to "eat snake" during aerobics lessons! Didn't go and swim regularly after stopping the lessons so my strokes are a little rusty. I think if you get a good instructor you can avoid the problem of water in your nose... goggles will solve the other problem. But yah, sometimes it's just very difficult to remove our fears.

Hi again...:P (eating snake during office hours !!)

Don't mind me asking yah...wat's your height like? I'm around 1.65-1.66. Sometimes can look quite "tua jia" - big size in hokkien. hehe...i've broad shoulders so you can imagine wat my build is like.

Tell you something, i'm really quite bad at aerobics. During my normal toning classes, they always start off with some areobics warmup and I'm always so lost mid way thru the steps. Such an oxy-moron hor...my arm-legs co-ordination really bad. Make me look so silly. hheee..

Which BS are you with?

No problems, I'm not shy abt my height, just sensitive abt my weight only. I'm much shorter than you, only 1.58m. I know I'm big-boned coz my wrist bones are so much thicker than my friends who are same height as me.

Nvm, I also couldn't catch up when I first started. Even now, when my instructor is more "on" and introduces more advanced moves, I take a while to pick up. Juz be patient and you'll learn eventually.

My BS is Bridal Concept. So far my experience with them is quite good (I've used the free ROM in my package). Didn't spend a lot of effort shortlisting bridal studios so can't give u much help in this area. Hubby and I have put more time and effort into our house reno.

hi ssmilezz & cookies gal!

so glad to see u all chattg so happily.

ssmilezz is an exercise freak? i am lazy! hahaha... we r ard the same height... and i think i am too bah to fit into the gowns... sigh... i do aerobics only once a week.... its does not help in weight loss but the fact tt i do exercise lor.

Hi starz! *waves*

yah, can tell i'm quite free right? hahaa...

I "force" myself to keep fit cos i love to eat. Such a super duper glutton. haha...

Guess once a week is better than nothing right?
Where is your aerobics class at?

When is your big day? And which BS are u at?

Cookies Gal, i never really noticed my wrists leh..now that you mention i'm beginning to stare at my own wrists and the ppl around me. haha...:P

the posing type lah!
journalistic photo means the photographer takes pictures of everything including pets,kids, your shoes, just your dress blah blah...most importantly the pictures try to tell a story..and the "moments"..so it is all more spontaneous..not posed.
some pple may not like it

hi ssmilezz,

at least u still got determination... 4 me ah... chia-lat!

my gym is at AMORE, its a ladies gym... u?

my AD is 9 Jan 05, and i am a GHA bride.

hi ladies! gd morning!

yah, journalistic photos r more like story-telling. if i can afford, i wld go 4 it too...

good morning ladies,

journalistic photography will be more recommended if u gog to do a montage for dinner presentation!! that's my tot lah!!!

i'm gog to have a montage presentation, but i didn't want to spend more on engaging a journalistic photographer!! i gog to engaged the normal photographer,, and will "instruct" him to take certain pics tat journalistic photographers should take!! ha ha ha,,, play cheat!!!

Good Morning Ladies!

Jialat, i hope I didn't start something off with my comments abt wrists. Heehee...

Actually, I believe that if we set our minds to it, all of us can lose the weight that we want to. I know coz the motivation of looking good on my AD is a huge huge one for me! I just imagine our friends and relatives going "wah, you look stunning!" (especially if they say to my hubby that his bride is lovely) and I'm motivated to continue liao. Anyway, my diet/exercise plan is not that siong, so quite tolerable although takes longer to see result.

So ssmilezz, what is your wedding prep like so far? Have you ROM yet?

Good morning ladies!

Starz - No choice cos i'm trying to set a good example for my bf to work out too. hahaha...cannot be too slack..:P

Don't give up!! jia you jia you okie??

Hey! You are 3/4 yr away from your AD. Are you the earliest Jan 05 bride here?

Guess wat? I'm with AMORE too! Cos very shy lar....hehe...*can't tell right?* feel more comfortable in a ladies gym. Which outlet are you at? I'm at Bugis!!

What's your GHA's package like? MTM or OTR?

hi ssmilezz,

nope, i am not the earliest bride in Jan 05... if u go to the thread below this, there is a cutiebear tt hv hers on the 8th...

u wif amore too? i used to go to the bugis branch but i shifted to woodlands when they opened.

my pkg is left wif only 1 lesson. me no time 2 go once a week liao, so i wun sign ip anymore. i will b using the UOB's ladies card free access twice a mth lor...

yip, GHA's is MTM. u signed up wif any already?

harlow !

Cookies Gal - yah..i agree that once we set out minds to do anything, we must go all out to achieve it right? There's a feel-good thing if you manage to set wat you want to achieve. Yar lor...would be so nice to have ppl say.."look so pretty liao..long time neber see u hor..change so much". hahaa....

I will be having only a church wedding + reception + tea ceremony. Still in very very early stage of planning. Cos it's a catholic church, so we need to go for EE (Engaged Encounter) first. Oops..nearly forgot, nope, not yet ROM. Doing everything on the same day at the church.

So you going to exercise today? My body aching from last evening's session, so should be taking a break today. hehee....

Starz - I was at AMORE last evening & realised that a lot of newbies. Maybe cos many ppl signed up during the Amara outlet's promo lor...
The Woodlands outlet has a gym there too right? Your new house at Woodlands issit?

I go twice a week and have actually signed up for a year (with free 3 months). so basically for the next 15 months, i'm committed to working my butt off. :P

What classes do you usually go for?

Have you started on your MTM gown? I haven't signed up with any BS yet...planning to do so only end of the year. Still scouting around lar...

hi ssmilezz,

alot of newbies? u can tell from the face ah? so gd... hahaha

4 me, there's a lot of aunties in the woodlands branch, so not much stress but they r gd oso...

actually its best not to overexert ur body... do the workouts in moderation... i took up the once a wk session coz i dun wan my body to over rely on the aerobics until my weight reverts back to the original size once i stop. thus i went 4 the once a wk session.

ohh, my ofc is near woodlands and my hb stays here, so its convenient 4 me.

i usually go to HILO only.. hahaha, occasionally KB, but hor, if i nvr go KB 4 a long time, one session will break my bones! hahahaha

i haven gone 4 my 1st appt yet... its nxt wk...

hi hi!

Cos when i was new, i tend to walk around the gym feeling quite confused too. Like dunno how to operate the machines and so on. :P hehe...that's why can tell mah...

yeah, some of the aunties are regulars and are really quite good...stamina even better than us. LOL!!

I've already been exercising regularly for years so it's unlikely that i will be stopping after wedding. In fact, if i don't work out, i feel very uncomfortable. :P That's why i say i'm an exercise freak. yikes! It's more of a health reason that motivates me lah, but can't deny that exercising will help me to keep in shape too. So it's like an added bonus.

Never been for KB. It seems very shiong! :P

Do update us on your 1st appt yah? Have you done your research on what sort of WG/EG you looking at? What's your package like?

Hi ssmilezz,

Your AD plan sounds lovely! Hope that you have lots of fun planning your wedding, you will have a lot of room to play with.

And yup, going for exercise later... wonder what's the program like for tonite??? Hmm... the teacher bought weights in last week so hope to do sculpting tonite.

starz, I agree that aunties can be quite good also. My class has a few regulars who are aunties and must say that their fitness is not bad!!! Besides HILO and KB, have you tried other classes? What do you like best?

hello starz .. sorry .. been very busy cos FH in hospital cos his right heel infection, just dischargem got it when we were in Mel ...

It was a company trip in syd but i extended to mel .. cos i love the pl there .. but still in love with Perth .. am intending to do my master there if there's any chance .. NZ is too slow a life ...

shopping in Mel was great .. am leaving for Gold coast next mid april for a course .. am going to miss my FH ...

wow .. u an jan bride .. any place in mind for honeymoon??