(2005) Brides of year 2005

greenie

hi matthew...

i heard nice comments abt noble hse but mine is not gonna b there. its gonna b in a gim tin restaurant in yishun.

yes, the geomancer told us all the details right down to the time the bride muz leave the hse. i cant rem the details but certain stuff can only b confirmed after we hv settled the AD, which we cld not decide at the time of visit. the geomancer told us to give him a call when we hv decided. we will call him as the AD gets nearer.

icy's geomancer sounds gd as well. if u r not very particular, u may wish to try the one she mentioned.

hi alvin,

tt means u r hvg ur AD one yr after my fren's wedding... hahaha... wats the date?

i will let u in on the comments after tt. though i hv nvr visited conrad, i muz say i am pretty confident of their svc.

cookies_gal

Hi ssmilezz,

Nope, today is not my regular exercise day. I don't have lessons this week either, will try to go for a swim if I can - a bit busy though...

Actually I think don't have to be so kiasu for my church booking (I think 6 months is sufficient) but our pastor say that since we're sure of the date, might as well just book the venue and time first (our church has at least 3 time slots available for Saturdays, hubby and I are only interested in a specific one otherwise we'll have to re-look at our schedule that day!) Not sure about the costs but it should be quite alright lah.

As to "tong shu", we didn't consult that at all. Basically, we knew that we wanted weekends (Sat) and I wanted it to be during the hols coz of school-going relatives. My parents aren't Christians but they didn't mention anything abt tong shu either. Out of respect, I just made sure that the date wasn't in the 3rd, 6th and 7th lunar month coz my mum had already told me she dun want it in these months. Also, I didn't want it in Dec coz I cannot wait so much long for my AD... want to live with my husband, been itching to have someone to try my cooking!
... and that's how I ended up with my June date!

cookies_gal

Hi starz,

Yup, I am talking about the one with Darren Lim and Evelyn Tan. I must say that this issue's contents is a great improvement from their last issue. I like it. Haven't really digested the issue yet though.. will get around to it soon.

sneezybum

Hi, starz

We took Beetles as package from Flamingo bridal. Cost me $4k+. That's why videography most likely will be diy. No more money to spend. Somemore, reno going to cost me a big bomb.

duffybuff

thanks! hehe..not really nervous now..but perhaps will be tomw..will show u guys some pics when they r ready..

btw, saw all ur threads abt conrad..anyway, my AD is at conrad..hv booked a mth ago..like tat pl very much cos' attended 2 weddings there..so tat's y decided to hv mine there..the food is pretty gd & of cos' ambience is very grand;hence u got to pay more..

smilezz: since i stay near jurong pt, i went over to citibella at jp got my mani & pedi..

ling: china club do not hv rom package..anyway they go by per pax basis..one thing gd is that u can hv the entire upper flr for the ceremony & reception...since they r a chinese rest; they serve chinese food..mine is a hi-tea reception so will be hvg dim sum buffet..they can be slightly rigid not so much freebies..

we chose the place cos' most of our friends & relatives hv not been there & it will be nice for them to hv a new environment..

ok then gals, gotta go! will update u later. cheers!

a2002

Hi Duffybuff,

I am considering a-la-carte. I already had my PS in China when HB went there for posting. I have a relative who owns a gown factory in KL. I went to have a look and I love the gowns there. They are for export to Europe and America. They do have gowns for Taiwan and local market, but I dun really like those design. I am quite busy, so seriously thinking about a-la-carte, cos it is a lot of things to do leh...

a2002

BS is bridal package rite?

I am considering those BS from JB. I have got lots of things when I took my PS in China. I find I have got a bit too many things liao.. cos no where to put them. I got two very big frames, one 40" and one 36". My albums is 18", plus a 12" with fewer photos in leather casing. They do have lots of fanciful things which Singapore do not have.

If I do look for BS, it will be photoshoot for outdoor and the gowns rental for the AD. I might go to Vanity in Tanjong Pagar to have a look today. :)

jitpong

Hi daffyduck

Congrats on your ROM...have a blissful wedding.

Hi Matthew

I could not wait for the tong shu too, hence visited a geomancer instead. He is charging at $100, and same as icy, he will give you few dates to select for your AD. After you have made your decision, have to go back to him for the date on an chuan, guo da li and the timing you have to follow; to leave the house, reach bride's house, etc....

Hi starz

Ist appt this sat, must be excited to try out all the gown, i heard some pple can spend as much as 4 hours on their 1st appt. Must conserve enough energy to last so long.

Hi cookies_gal

Thanks and when is your AD?

Do anyone who has made a booking with Conrad, mind to share how much is the package now on weekend, is there any promotion goin on.

ssmilezz

Good morning everyone!

Cookies Gal - I'm also looking for a Sat basically so it's quite hard to get the tong shu to see if there's actually a "good" date on Sat right? hehe....Yah, you are really fast boy.
Already booked your church. But at least you've settled the matter for now yes? What do you mean your church has 3 slots for sat? You mean they can cater for 3 church services?

I went for my exercise last evening but when i left the place, it was really pouring cats & dogs.

I also bought that issue with Darren Lim + Evelyn Tan. Went thru the entire mag but still can't really find anything that catches my eye. :p I think Style should be coming out really soon. Will you be getting that?

Duffybuff - Hey! It's your ROM today.
Looking forward to your pics & updates! Congrats!!!!

Jitpong - You going for your 1st appointment soon?? Which BS did you sign up with? Are you going for a MTM or OTR WG?

cookies_gal

Gd Morning Everybody!

Have any of you been reading Cathy lately? Her bf finally proposed to her and now, she's into wedding planning mode!!! The comics really reminds me of us BTB/GTB here at SB forums!

Hi jitpong,
My AD is in June, 18 Jun to be exact.

Hi ssmilezz,

Yup, my church can cater for 3 services in one day. I've heard of services for 12noon, 2pm and 4pm. Not sure if they have morning services though... should have lah. Basically what it means is that if more than 1 couple has a service that day, the couples can choose to share the cost of decorating the church. Otherwise, I don't think there's time for the florists to make the necessary changes to the church decor in such a short time.

Think I will, the money is a small price to pay to build up my database!

jitpong

Hi ssmilezz

I am going for my 1st appt on 26 May 04. I sign up with Everbliss at Marina Square. Din do any research before signing up, she the 1st BS I sit down and I sign with them on the spot...but I can't deny that they provide quite a comprehensive package.

My package is actually a MTM WG and if cannot find OTR EG, I can MTM too. But the last time I went to look at their gown, the co-ordinator actually say that if I can choose WG OTR , then I can MTM EG. Do you think that I should be firm with them that both WG and EG should be MTM and not either one?

What about you? Which BS are you with?

lux

Hi smiles..

thanks for the welcome.. I dont intend to get ROm so fast actually just that situation proabably doesnt allow it. I got the keys to my flat in Jan but we are trying to defer.. work and studies is a toll on us now.. to prepare for a wedding will most certianly kill us esp in our final year in school.. haha..

still have to be prepare incase HDB doesnt grant us deferment. so sourcing place as well. We hope to do ROM and banquet together actually. See how it goes lah...

duffybuff.. can you give an estimate cost so i can gauge how china club will cost for the high tea dim sum?

thanks girls

greenie

hi cookies gal, i like this issue... evelyn tan looked so lovely! i think they will make a very pretty couple!

hi jitpong! the BTB wun feel tired as she is too excited to rest! the frens & hb will b bored though! hahaha

i gave myself 3 hrs 4 the session, however some of my frens said they needed only 1/2 hr 4 the 1st appt coz its MTM... i wonder how mine will b.

wat was the agreement written in the invoice? u can MTM both pieces? muz b careful.. i hv heard of designers askg brides to MTM EG & take OTR WG as there is plenty of choices 4 WG but not tt much 4 EG... to me, as long as u find a nice gowns, whether they r MTM is not an issue. at the very least, the gowns mus NOT look OLD!

ckgirlgirl

Hi Starz!

Hi cutiebear!

hi duffybuff & Ung

Welcome, welcome ...

Sean,

"veggie" wishes to remind you to get some white plaster from your contractor after they are done with the reno, so that you can do touch up of the gaps for your fully tiled walls.

How's your renov shopping so far? managed to view the contractor's project that is similar to your lovenest?

I bought the new Her World Brides. still reading through. Realised they don't have much promo on videography.

presently still shopping for our "lovebed"

ckgirlgirl

Ung,

seems like you got a good lobang!

Taken your PS in China? Sounds interesting. So where was your PS in china taken? in Shanghai? Indoor and outdoor too? How's the package like over there? Care to share?

leeds

Hi all January bride/groom,

I'm getting married in Jan05 too.
You all are really fast with the planning ehh. I see most of you have gotten venue, BS, fittings, photographers etc. I've settled my venue & BS only. Just wondering if you guys think it'd be too late if I hire AD photographer, videographer sometime in July?

So, tell me everybody's dates, venues, BS etc?

jitpong

Hi Starz

I guess I will take 2-3hrs for my 1st appt too...cos i am choosy and want the best since it once a lifetime thing...ya...my mum & sis will be going with me, they may be too excited to feel tired too...poor hb...i thk he will yawn..hahaha

In my invoice, it is written as MTM WG, EG will be new OTR, but if can't find any suitable EG can MTM. My BS WG look quite new but as a KS and choosy bride..still want something exclusive for me only...hehe

greenie

hi ckgirl!

leeds, its not fast lor... given tt if ur date is very auspicious, by july, ur preferred choices might b snapped up, and u r left wif ur 2nd choices only. so if u got time, its always better to start early. this will oso mean u hv time 4 details & not rushing into things. why u wanna wait till july?

greenie

hi jitpong, seems like u r quite safe. then there is no cause 4 worry!

of coz its every gals dream to look beautiful & exclusive 4 her big day... then if u really wan, muz try to find fault wif their EG lor... so tt u can MTM ur design! hahaha, sounds very evil!

leeds

Hi Starz,

I'm a bit lazy to plan everything now lor, dont wanna rush it. Plus, my fiance is not in Sing at the moment. How much wedding preps have you done so far? Whats your date?

ssmilezz

Hi Cookies Gal!

I've not been reading Cathy but i like Baby Blues. hehe...

Yeah, keep me posted if you see the mag too. It's like doing projects, need to do tons of research for that "perfect" dress.

Hi Jitpong!

I've not signed up with any BS yet. Still a long way off from me. So just kaypoh-ing and trying to learn more from others at this forum.

Yah, think if you can squeeze for a MTM EG why not? But if you can find one OTR and it's relatively new looking, also can settle for it right? Or maybe like what starz says, pick on that EG or try to modify it a little so they end up making a new one for you. hahaha...

Have you seen the EG at the BS yet? Did anything catch your eye?

Hi Ling!

Are you still schooling? (final year perhaps?) cos my FH is also in his final year. :p So that's probably why he's feeling so stressed. hee..

Where is your new home?? Did you manage get the deferment yet?

lux

Hey smiles..

I and FH working and studying PT.. however both in our final years so tons of projects and exams are a major killer.

Too old to be in full time school for the both of us.. hahah

My new home in PG21.. yet to ask for deferment because HDB have not sent the letter to hurried us to get married.. hahah.. so wait until we received the summon than I will write an appeal ..

anyway money is the ever killer lah.. so wait till got cash than we talk further abt marriage lah.. the school fees are ald a heavy nuff burden as it is..

marriage is really all abt money isnt it! sigh...

ssmilezz

Hi ling!

Wow, both of you are very hardworking. Care to share what courses you are pursuing right now? It's good that both of you can study hard and motivate one another but i must admit that course fees costs a bomb.

So will you be renovating your new home since you've your keys already?

yeah, everything costs a bomb. Just have to keep saving nonstop. Very depressing when i think about it hor...

baby5556

hey..ssmilezz..founded u !!! haaaa..so u marry on Jan 2005?? well i will be going bugis for LO next Tues...u be there..

Ling, i have replied ur msg under PG21 thread

ssmilezz

Hi baby5566!

Wah, i can see you have been very active today. hehee..see your postings everywhere. hee...

No, AD will be end of Dec 05.

Eh, how come you going on Tues? You mean after you sign up on Sat issit? I am going on Monday lar..my regular session. Anyway, tommorrow I will be at Bugis too.

When is your AD?? How's your wedding preparations coming along?

jellytots77

Hi Everyone....... me also going to be 2005 bride
Cheers for everyone out here.........
need alot of advise from all of you out there...
new.gif

hey starz,

Can you tell me where can I look for the geomancer that you mention.......

lux

smiles..

Just to realize a childhood dream of being a journalist.. taking communication studies at monash uni. My results can only go into engineering course in poly so went ahead and took it anyway loh.

Now finished that diploma but still feel that I shouldnt be shortchange of my 'dreams' so when FH went to take a PT degree in NUS I follow suit loh.. might as well upgrade myself.

we collected the keys ald but not going to renovate first. Think piority is to pay finish our fees first. House I guess still can wait after all lah.. I mean ald paid for it.. at most leave it empty.. but go to the house often lah.. just to bring more ren qi to it...

ckgirlgirl

hi leeds,

i shares the view as starz.

Nowadays most videographers and AD photographer has website. Though your fiance not in town, he can also access to their website for some ideas.

Or alternatively, you can check out the AD photographer and videographer and shortlist them. then when your fiance back, both of you can go check them out. This helps to save some time.

Just my suggestions.

ssmilezz

Hi Jaime! *waves*

Welcome welcome....so how's your planning coming along? Have you ROMed?

Hi Ling!

It is really tough to study PT hor...I've colleagues who do that and i see them rushing so often for their 7 - 10 pm classes. So shiong...sometimes can see that they are really tired during the day.

Yah, you must go to the house more often. My friend's fengshui shifu told them they had to move in if not a lot of negative qi. :p

So i guess now u are just on standby in case you need to ROM asap right? hehee...

I was from RMIT.

jellytots77

Hi ssmilezz

yap yap
.... I have rom already... what abt u....

planning having done any.... when @@ everyone so ks made me sooooo worry and slow.... must ready catch up with you all......

ssmilezz

Hi jellytots!

Eh, are you born in Year 77? Just guessing from your nickname?

Nope, me not yet ROMed. hahaa..At the rate i'm going hor, i might be the last of 2005 bride. I'm planning for the last weekend of Dec 05! haha....:p

When are you planning for your AD? Which part of 2005? I haven't done actually planning yet lar..so don't worry. You are not alone!

mahjong

Hey all,

Seems that there are quite a lot of Aussie Brides over here. I just graduate from Canberra and back for good. My ROM will be in May and AD will be around next year first quarter. Thanks for everyone's help on recommending a geomancer. Have shortlisted a few datyes and just going to slect one. Most likely will be Noble House for the wedding dinner. I have bought my flat in Tampines and now just awaiting for thye keys too.

Cheers and keep the thread following.

jitpong

Hi starz and ssmilezz

I haven seen their EG collection yet. But in my Everbliss thread, the bride already has warned that they have quite limited EG, hence most of them went to Ted Collection at Bugis Junction to MTM. Does not wish to spend extra money, so i think as you say if find something new and i like it, i will take OTR if not...hehe just find fault til i get my MTM EG.

ssmilezz, since you have not chosen your BS, remember to take your time, at least go to 6 BS to try out their gown then decide. It best not to go to those exhibition, once you sit down dun dream of going off very soon...they will sure pester you.

Hi jellytots

Welcome on board...you will sure enjoy being part of this thread.

greenie

wah! suddenly the thread so active??? i blur liao...

let me see who i need to reply...

hi Jaime,
the geomancer i mentioned, u need to make a prior appt wif them. it might take up to 2 wks to see him. and i di recommend to one of my fren, and she said the wife was not very polite & hostile. and the plc is in chai chee. wonder if its convenient 4 u. alternatively, u might wanna try other options as the other had mentioned here. if u r really keen on my geomancer, then PM pls.
hope u dun misunderstand my intentions tt i dun wan u to go to mine. its no prob, i can juz give u the number & u can call up 4 appt.

matthew, how come u noe most r aussie brides? i dun even noe! hahaha

hi jitpong,
u mean the brides pay out of their own pocket to make a new gown at ted wu? but ur BS said they will let u MTM EG if they dun hv wat u wan?

greenie

hi leeds,

well, u dun hv to make any decisions now, juz recce ard & keep a record of their prices. so u can use them 2 shortlist ur choices later.

my AD is 9 Jan.
so far i hv got my BS & AD photographer, while still sourcing 4 videography. i started my preps pretty early as well, in nov last yr, i think.

u might say u r too lazy to start now. but look, u dun really hv much time. unless u wan a simple wedding, i wld advise u to do some recce 1st, else u might end up rushing everything. juz my thots.

perhaps most of the brides here belong to the KS category, thus we like to do preps early early...

ane

Hi Leeds,

seems like u received alot of advise from others huh!! let me add mine!!

To look for Photographer and Videographer is like when u "shop" for BS and banquet, u have to go around look at their work and see whether will u like the style of that "grapher" or not!!

have to start to plan all this basic things early, cos nearer to the date, there's alot of other small little stuff coming along to irritate us!!

Good Luck!!

jellytots77

Hi ssmilezz.... smart.... now the whole world know that I'm a little overage to be bride in 2005...... I still hvn decide the AD yet.... cos need to find the geomancer to set a date....

Hi jitpong.... nice know u ard.... will try to catch up with u all ....

Hi starz.... so sad to hear that your friend have a bad experience with the geomancer.... must be a popular one that y need to book 2 weeks in advance.... k will check with the rest whether got other nice nice one... thanks

Hi everyone.... got any nice geomancer to recommend me.... bery new and inexperience bride to be down here... sound so sad

cookies_gal

Hi jellytots77 & baby5566,

Welcome! *waves*

Hi icy,

Yah, our AD is quite close, we can move together to a June 2005 brides thread in future!
Are you having a banquet? Have you started looking for your banquet venue yet?

Hi ssmilezz,

Hey, I like baby blues too!!! *hi-five* I will check out your links in the other thread later... *winks*

Actually I got ROM so early coz of my house too! Wasn't planning to buy it so early but no choice, if not, our preferred unit would have been snapped up! That is why there's a long gap between my ROM and AD! We didn't want to go through the process of appealing so we just ROM.

Certainly hats up to you for balancing work and studies. It's definitely very tiring!!!

jitpong

Hi starz

My package is different from them. Those bride who made their EG at Ted Collection, their package for EG is OTR. Hence, they give up the EG for more photos, and they made their EG elsewhere in which they are very happy with although they fork out extra $$$. heehee..it Ted Collection at Bugis not Ted Wu.

Hi Jaime/Matthew

My geomancer, same as starz, need advance booking at least 2 weeks too. If interested, please PM me.

Just in case those who have not booked a banquet are interested. Pan Pacific is having promotion for banquet held in 2005. Each table is at $668 nett. You may wish to check out the details at Pan Pac wedsite.

ssmilezz

Harlow all!!

Jitpong - yah, it's not worth it to go to another place just to MTM your EG when your BS can't provide for you in the first place. Must fight for your EG hor....:p Make a lot of noise..show black face....

I don't think i will be going for any bridal shows/fairs. I can't decide on the spot without stepping into the actual BS for a good "feel" of the place.

Yah, i am thinking of visiting those BS only towards the end of the year. Work is quite busy at the moment so can't really find time to go there.

Cookies Gal - Yo!!
Yah, we keep bumming into each other in different threads hor...hehee..we have quite similar preferences i noticed.

jellytot - You are not overaged lar....cos i also born in Yr 77...so u implying i old issit? hahhaa

I've not decided any date yet too and in fact, there is a high chance I might even delay till early 2006!

starz - hey~ Have u gone for your 1st appointment at the BS yet?

leeds

Wah... I feel like I'm getting a scolding from you all. Looks like I can't procrastinate & better start looking for photo/videographer. Probably start searching from the net lor. When it comes to looking at the quality, prices etc, I'll wait for my fiance to come back. So, who are your photo/videographers? Can tell me a rough guide on the pricing too?

Starz, doesn't AD photographer usually come together with the videographer?

Btw, my AD is 9 Jan too, same as Starz.

fates

I'm gonna be a 2005 bride, and I am very excited! My matrimonal house is ready, already booked the BS, and now sourcing around for a auspicous date and venue.

Look forward to share pointers with all of you here!

ane

leeds,

The photographer that i engaged is recommended by friend. He's using digital camera and the most important is CHEAP!!

and I'm gog to buy a viewcam and ask my friends to take the video for me!! cos is for our own viewing only,, no need be too good!! and i can use the viewcam for my honeymoon too!!

btw, how come u girls didn't ask the BS to source for the AD photographer and videographer for u,,, should be cheaper

My AD is on 8 Jan!!

jellytots77

Hi cookiesgal..... nice knowing u.... thanks to know that i'm not that old to get marry...

Hi jitpong.... so have u went to @@ the geomancer already.... so how do you find it...
yap also aware of the Pan Pac promo.... and seem like almost everyone is eyeing at that good bargain... btw when is your AD then....

Hi ssmilezz.... yo.... we not definitely not old... always so young and sweet....

So anyone else got other great deals to share beside Pan Pac....

jitpong

Hi Jellytot & ssmilezz

I am also born in the same year as two of you. No worries, jellytot, you are not overage at all, there so many companion here with you. In fact this is just the right age to get married..hehe...

Hi ssmilezz

Ya i was thinking of fighting for my rights. Will be using 2 appraoch, soft tactic first if can't work then give them black black face...haha

If you got the budget, maybe you can try out Wedding Present, their gowns are simply lovely, but too bad I have booked my BS liao....now have to constantly phycho myself my BS WG collection quite good too, in fact they are really quite good lah....

ssmilezz

Hello fates!

welcome to the thread. Hope you have ton "chit chatting" with the rest of us here.

Care to update us where is your new home? Which BS you are with?

Are you also looking for a fengshui shifu to get a good date?

Hey jellytot!

Erm..i not the sweet sweet kind..in fact, i'm very chor lor!! My FH complains that i hardly wear skirts on weekends. True lar, i only in skirts when i'm working. Always in capris and look so messy.

Have you shortlisted any BS yet? Sorry, i'm not planning for a dinner so can't help you out with those dinner deals.