I've got astigmatism. Both eyes of 450 degrees. This is considered high in terms of the astig world. Degrees for myopia ranges from 100-200 for both eyes. The eye surgeon got his training from SG & UK. A lot of his patients are from SG too. His clinic was even telecast during chinese news.
I chose to do lasik cos I lost my permanent lens twice liao! *heart pain* And I can't possibly go clubbing with my glasses on! So I just give a shot lor! The clinic is in JB , the shopping centre ( forgot the name). So it's relatively near lah. Before any1 get to do the lasik, one have to go thru the consultation 1st. So the doc commended that I'd dry eyes. Normally, patients would suffer from dry eyes in the 1st few months. In my case, since I've dry eyes syndrome .. my eyes would be even more drier after the surgery.
The whole procedure is rather short (really, I mean it). Patients with small eyes like me would feel rather uncomfortable cos there's a so called clamp to force ya eyes open and hold on to it. Then you will need to focus on a particular diagram (no blinking). While doing so, ya cornea is actually 'cut' open using laser. No pain at all, dont worry. Rest for a while then laser will be shot into your eyes. The length of time (in terms of secs) will depends on the degree. My left eye is more jialat so the laser process takes 30+ secs.
Your vision would seems blur after the surgery. I've a deep sleep upon reaching home. 3 hrs later, my vision are clear. So happy and delighted that time

But in the 1st month, lights (especially car head lights) at night were terribly glaring to me. So drivers who have done lasik intially must be careful. Eyes were indeed dry but doc will give eye droplets. So must use it faithfully. Now, no side effects at the moment *touch wood* except for occasional dry eyes.
Check up is required so you have to travel in to JB again. But never mind lah, can do shopping again. Apart from that the lasik costs abt $1800 for both eyes. So really cheap lor. Now, my vision are 6/6. Have to take care too lah..dont read under dim lights etc.