(2005) Brides of year 2005

hi hi, i m new to this thread.. my AD on 21st Sept
BTW, can anyone recommend me where to buy things for Guo Da Li? and where to get nice nice bedside lamps?

hi gers,

had a quick shopping during lunch juz now at Mango, they having sales today... so crowded... ;p spend almost $200 in 1hr. managed to get a few top which i like very much. ;D

do u gers shop there??

gals, did anyone of u bought or tried the silicon stick on bra before? my designer ask me to get 1 for my EG. anyone can advise me which brand is better and the brand i saw has 2 types.. thick & light weight one and there price alot of diff also. anyone can give me some advise ??

Ladies, the florist say tulips cant last leh, my friend also say so, wat do you think? i got no experiencxe in flowers.

my friend ask me to consider callac lilies, er not sure if right spelling or not.

do you think it is nice and will it last??

293580.gif

watashi, i think i tried that before. I got it as a free gift last year. But i can't remember which brand is mine. i think mine could be the thick ones. Not bad lah but hor, i get itchy after a while esp when you are outside and you got perspire.

hi PPP, cute miffy has kindly posted all the info :-)

My guests will be lucky (i hope).. hope they like the two wedding favors thou I have not idea what does the hotel gives.

Thanks cute miffy....Very 'zai' ah still remember our dates and BS.

Hi Irene.. I have already ROMed actually last year in october. It was at NUS Lecture hall. On 12 Nov, it is going to be my customary wedding in Concorde hotel.

Why dun you consider doing it in some place you met or meaningful to you both.:-)

Hi cher, maybe can try Beauty World at Bukit Timah? I know they sell GDL stuff there. But, r u referring to the spitton, basin, bedside lamp etc. and not the cakes?
I am going to check out Holiday Plaza perhaps, next weekend. After my trip, then can tell u if there's anything worth going there.

Hi angela,

Thanks for organizing the gathering but i can't make it as I need to collect the keys from the owner and to inspect my flat that evening.

hi mehmeh

cannot consolidate address leh cos our guest list not drawn up yet...r we very late??? sometimes think of it quite tough ah, got to draw up guest list then gotta arrange seating sequence...wow quite headache....have u done yours liao?

winnie - i used calla lilies too.. similar to the pic u show.. i think $48 is reasonable.. =)

watashi - i can't remember wat brand i bought.. i go back check and let u noe.. but dun buy le papilon.. not good leh..

hi starmoon,
for me, i will give out to my friends and colleagues about 1.5mths away from the wedding.
as for relatives, i will leave it up to my parents to handle -- most likely is GDL day they will give out invites.

hi wendy,
yep, matt gold hot-stamp is nicer and the gold bits won't drop out like the shiny ones.

hi anne,
then you really need to "chase"your geomancer for the dates liao. do you have an chuang? that one also need a date as well.

hi cher,
you can try chinatown. previously i posted the address. i vaguely remember blk 4 sago lane. can't remember shop unit.

Hi Wedny,
My GDL is also on mid-autumn festival.. but at 3pm... my husband and I are also thinking of getting Bengawan Solo cakes.. but we may not take so many boxes.. will get some cards instead.. coz that day happens to be on a sun and my parents can't possibly distribute all the cakes within that evening.. so have convinced them to give some cards instead ..

Hi Angela,
I can't make it on 1 Jul either coz my family having a chalet on that day ...

winnie, i used white calla lily for my ROM. think i pd abt $50-60 for 3 stalks. it last for 2 days after my ROM leh. but not sure if expose under the sun for outdoor ps.

thanks daphne. i only need it for indoor ps & EG so dun think will perspire much... hopefully.

caitlyn, how much u paid for it? the one is saw is in black or silver box. the thick one cost $38 & the thin light weight $68. my coll was saying the thick one quite heavy dunno whether will slide down or not? have u tried putting it on?

ladies, thanks alot for the comment!! At least now i think should be able to last, cos i only need it to be delivered the late noon before my PS.

winnie - will def last.. i got my lilies at 9am and lasted till nite..

watashi - i paid $68 i think.. i remember the brand liaoz!!! flaunt!!! =)

hi hi mikmik..
i guess that's why it's more expensive than the glossy ones..but i also realised that the hot-stamping will stand out more on red/maroon color cards..wat do u think?

hi hi josl..
is the matt gold very shiny type? like those ang pao packets shiny type?

hi watashi,
i got the silicon bra, brand is Fleura (Japanese brand) for $39.90 (normal price) from Taka, the lingerie dept. if buy now got discount cos GSS. I think it's good cos stick-on wun drop for whole day, even when i was perspiring quite badly during outdoor PS
it's also quite thick so wun see n*pples and salesgal told me it can last for 100 washes
comes in nude and floral designs

hi winnie,
i wun suggest tulips cos i used tulips for my ROM and they dun last.... at first the petals are closed when in fridge but once exposed to surroundings, it will start to "bloom" within 1-2 hours

Hi, kinda missed out quite alot leow...

How much is the customized angbao?
Where is the shop where you all buy those stickers etc from?

decimal, smthg bad? no lah, I just apologize for my ali lor..kekekekeek

ger, what shiraz? u order different from mine and icy? tot only 1 type $17 range?

hi DK,
you can get those bags at Spotlight......
or can try ordering online, but i cant remember the website liao.....some of those wedding favours website do sell the sachet bags......

Hamstergal, thanks for the comment, think i will see if i can persuade my BS to give me calla lilies, if not, i will see how much i need to top up.

i dont need special bra for my gown leh hehee, so no experience to share. my gown has padding so i thot no need to buy bra??? or you mean we still need to get the bra even if we have the padding??

Good tomororw is friday finally!! going for yoga tonight, last session, will start aerobics in august hehe.

Then sat is my friend wedding and sunday will come very fast!!

Must make sure my hubby bring his camera!!

daphne..i think u stressed up..keep thinking what u haven do...that time i also dreamt that on my AD,my WG zip spoilt,whole dress torn off...
i tot tulips can last? my tulips for 3 days den start to dry...
ya we can go hen's night...yeah...

Hi Starmoon

I conslidated most of the addresses a year ago.. Now is to get my frens to help me get updated ones. Table arrangement also drawn up a tentative one.. Gotta wait for RSVPs to re-adjust..

Late ah? U shd be okie.. Coz for teaching, i gotta bring work home almost everyday, so i had to work hard long time ago. Moreover I dun like last min stuff

Hi Josl

Shall wait for ur mail

hi winnie,
this sat also my fren's wedding.... can't be the same person rite???

as for the silicon bra thingy... my designer told me he has a customer who was wearing a bustier gown and low back cutting. But she stepped on the front of her gown during 1st march-in and the whole front portion came off from her body... she wasn't wearing silicon bra.... so she did not appear in the ballroom for the rest of the banquet.....

not sure how true this story is.....
but i'll be wearing silicon bra cos my CS also low back

hi wendy,
yep, i guess the cost of matt gold foil used for hot-stamping adds to the cost. yes, indeed! red and gold is a striking combination. not to mention auspicious as well! maroon and gold would be a modern version of the traditional red and gold.

Hi chocolate cowgirl,

Do u mind elaborate more on the buffet dessert style? How is the whole arrangement like? wont it be very late for the buffet starts? as u know, by the time dessert is served, some of the guests would have start to leave.

Also does this mean that after the 8 course sit down dinner, the guests will just stand and move around for the dessert?

Just to contribute, tulips don't last as they bloom very fast when exposed to heat. I won't consider them for PS or AD.

I used to be a big fan of tulips and used to get tulips from a guy. I kept them in the fridge to make them last longer.

I most likely trying Voxy Nail at Bugis tomorrow. Let you all know how is it. Price $50 for normal Medi+Pedi. $60 for French Medi+Pedi.

wow.. looks like u gals have alot to share. think i m gog chinatown to get those stuff for GDL. well, i prefer matt gold hotstamping. I m doin my invites at T-Dragon.think they are quite pro

hi nana,

so u will be busy hunting down the reno contactor, these few months. well take your time, look for the reno contact that best fits your ideal home. sometimes the package offered can be attractive, but always ask for any extra charge or cost needed for the reno. you can try this website www.renotalk.com, i hunted down three reno 1)NH Cermic Living Elements@ Bukit Merah 2)Classic Ideal @Delta House 3)A friend of mine doing reno stuff.
1) expensive, but have creative, modern, challenging designs yet practical ideals loved it, only if not on budget i will go for it!
3) A friend, thats the only reason not choosing it. As i a very fussy consumer...
2) choosen this one. reasonable pricing. so far no compliants, almost a year after reno.

adeline..

Hi Mrs Wee,

Let me noe if issit good anot... I am still thinking where to do it. Has applied half day next wk to do my nails and also to rest early...

For those who has gone for their PS, can tell me what shall I bring along on that day? What are the dos and don'ts?
My boss advised me not to drink too much water night b4, in case of water retention which will coz eye bags.

Hi good morning ladies!!

I suspect today is going to be a long day, cos it is dark sky liao, and my boss boss dropped a bomb at us liao, so i think we will suffer today hheee "P

rains, berry thanks for the note!! I think i will switch to calla lilies, though i still could not figure why 3 stalks cost so ex hehehe.

hamstergal, my friend is at raffles hotel, where is your friend at? heheh but i know it is a good day for marriage.

ohh you frighten me with that story leh, hmm i must wonder liao, but if wera bra and then with padding, is it going to be very thick?

Good morning gals, TGIF

touraco, ya, the officer in the airport collected all my forms. Hey, cutie msn me ytd, she return from Europe in mid may and has just received her tax refund

ger, oic...maybe they have other range now..u ordered already? scarely more variety cmg out near your AD. After I finished up my post wedding stuff, got to help my fren with his indonesia wife on their preps liao. They same date as u, we all counting down with you

vela, AD drawing near.. time really flies. ordered already.. i think doesnt matter cos the qty i ordered wouldn't be enough .. additional just order from the hotel to avoid cockage charges

Hi little ger, where did you order the shirts for yur fiance? We are thinking of buying shirts and shoes during this GSS but have yet to see the gown and suit yet so never buy it in case it does not suit it.

hi nana & adeline,

i would suggest informing HDBay (at HDB Hub Toa Payoh) about your plans to engage a reno contractor. They have this scheme where you can get a contract for your contractor to sign. This contract will protect you against the contractor such that if he delays his work beyond the stipulated date of completion, then contractor will have to pay you liquidated damages.

I did my reno abt 2 years ago and HDBay even sent a neutral 3rd party to audit my house after the reno, sent me a report and requested the contractor to do some re-work (repainting, retightening of screws, realignment of cabinets etc)..... FOC

However, I heard from a fren recently that HDBay has started to charge for this service.... i think a few hundred $.... but i think it's still worth it cos it saves me the trouble from having the deal with the contractor myself

hi winnie.....
ya this morning sky very dark... seems like a gloomy wet day

do u want to try visiting those large floral shops that do wholesale?
oh, not the same fren
my fren is at furama