(2005) Brides of year 2005

little_a

decimal, very beautiful

oraia

kekekeke velazo,

you veri cute hehehe. i bought my first LV in HK (it's slightly cheaper than sg) but of cos not as cheap as paris. but no one asked me about joining the mailing list
but service in LV HK is much much better, i must say.

will find out whr can register on their website.

sounds like ur trip to europe was v fruitful, kekekeke. man3 zai4 er2 gui1!

virgo_jenn

ocean,

definitely the idea is gd but what I thk is when it come to the last dish usually guest do not eat much because they are very full after all the heavy food so it might be a waste to have big portion of leftover food especially dessert buffet.

to me i would prefer to do it for cocktail reception time may be while waiting to have a mini buffet such as sandwiches or other light snacks as the dinner usually start quite late.

basically i am a very practical person but after all its still up to the couple's preference. u may wish to discuss w u're hubby....

choc_cowgirl

hi again everyone! I haven't been here for a while!

hey escapegal, I love your 'pyjamas'! I was also thinking of getting the same one - saw in bangkok last year but didn't. How much did you pay for in chinatown? How much cheaper were other shops offering? Yes it would be a good idea to wear that while doing makeup instead of like a worn out top (wear at home type). LOL

ocean, I have been to 2 wedding dinners last year that had buffet dessert at the end of chinese/western banquets. It will cost more but allows your guests to interact more. 1 was at Four Seasons and another was at the Ritz. If you are having a real wedding cake, you can also choose to serve that at the buffet.

caitlyn

dora - hehe.. will call ur SIL to ask.. i looking for MUA for my mum and sister and FMIL.. my gowns designed and worn for PS lioz. hehe.. was very happy with the outcome.. hehe

winnie - no prob.. so u settled ur wine already? i waiting for my fren to go wine tasting tog..

wtan

hi hi josl..
actually hotstamping means the shining gold foil printing on the card/insert itself..imagine the hot metal block pressing onto the gold foil to have the designs/wordings on the card/insert..there's 2 type of hotstamping, matt & glossy..i cant remember which one is more expensive...

dear99

morning gers, ;D

Escapegal: ur pyjamas nice lei.. how much is it?
maybe i oso go and tak a look.

littleger: wow! victoria secrets ar??? u buy online? muz b very sexy... kekee!

panggou

caityln, today stressed day cos my boss just came back from leave, and our boss boss are stressing us on something. sigh, so better work harder today in case i get stab!!

i am going to settle my wine next fri night, going to take 36 bottles and 12 bottles on consignment, i have 25 tables. my SIL is going along, cos she is having ROM in Oct. sudden ROM, her jap bf is coming to singapore. after ROM she will work on her visa to go Japan liao. so she wants 6 bottles, so we go get together. going winebos

apostles

Hi Irene, ya hor your ROM is the same as us... :)

Hi PPP, my sis in law brought our wedding favors from Bangkok. As i want to keep all the wedding preps on the quiet note and a surprise, I can only show you guys after the wedding. paiseh ah...:)

Hi cute miffy... what about your gown? If you going to makeover studio to take photos, why dun you take those photographers that does outdoor and indoor studio shoots. May be more value worth.

Little ger... hi there. long time no see. how preps are coming along?

Hi maiden, sure post it up when you get ur camera back. Cool that your photos are ready that fast. post it up for all of us to see leh....

Hi afcai, takes awhile for them to process and edit the photos. hope that you can get to see your nicey photos soon :)

caitlyn

dora - heheh.. woke ur SIL up.. oooppss.. if she asks, i just say recommeded by u can get discount anot? haha

winnie - dun be too stressed ya.. take care.. am sure u'll do fine!! good for ya.. can settle one more item.. =)

apostles

Hi Irene, ya hor your ROM is the same as us... :)

Hi PPP, my sis in law brought our wedding favors from Bangkok. As i want to keep all the wedding preps on the quiet note and a surprise, I can only show you guys after the wedding. paiseh ah...:)

Hi cute miffy... what about your gown? If you going to makeover studio to take photos, why dun you take those photographers that does outdoor and indoor studio shoots. May be more value worth.

Little ger... hi there. long time no see. how preps are coming along?

Hi maiden, sure post it up when you get ur camera back. Cool that your photos are ready that fast. post it up for all of us to see leh....

Hi afcai, takes awhile for them to process and edit the photos. hope that you can get to see your nicey photos soon :)

zoeanne27

Hi mehmeh
24 hrs seem like not enough for me..been very tired also..looking pale and not enough of sleep lor.. Only left weekends to have better sleep...

You are welcome on the address.. We are here to share. I think josl's print price is gd. If less hassale to JB, its another good alternative.

Hi Zoeanne

hahah, yah, i must get 8hours, if not very tired one. But 8 hours is a luxury.. only weekends

but then ah, my complexion will get it with insuff sleep & stress coupled.. so must be intentional in sleeping earlier for the next 2 mths till AD

once again, thank u!!

weekend is coming!

Hi Anne
GDL ah? Mine's going to be 2 weeks prior to AD.. Up to u one.. Check with ur relatives abt the way u guys do things, safer bet

panggou

Caityln, can i find out from you, my forum mate from GHA says must do manicure leh, so is pedicure skippable? cos sure cannot see right? may i know the difference between french manicure with norm manicure? wat about nailart? where did you do yours? I am thinking of going nail art as it is near my work place.

dolphin48

yesterday i had a bad dream. i dreamt that it was my ROM and don't know why, everything went wrong. First, i didn't book the date and then i couldn't find a JP. Then my friends all coming liao and i can't change the ROM date. worst, i'm in jeans and T shirts. then i didn't buy the rings yet..... i was like panicking and thinking of what to do next and my WG like also not ready yet..... luckily then the alarm rang and woke me up and i was so relieved that it's all a dream....

caitlyn

winnie - i think pedicure not necessary lah.. cannot see one.. oh ya, bring a pair of comfy sandals/slippers.. coz ur WG will cover the shoes.. u wear comfy footwear.. hee.. i remember i was at labrador park in my WG and slippers and this little gal was like "mama, na ge xin niang chuan tou xie de!" she sounded so scandalized

mik

hi MehMeh,
"jia you jia you"
yep, time is flying already!
sept brides have roughly less than 3mths to wedding. alot of things to be done

hi Gillian,
what type of wine are you getting from WineBos? i'm looking around for italian wines.

hi Janice,
that's great! one thing off the list and the list is getting shorter. i still need to hunt for one more item for SDJ...

hi Wendy,
the matt gold hotstamping is more expensive. me also enquired at tdragon previously. ;)

dolphin48

winnie, i think it depends on photographer too lah...some likes to take close shots so if you did manicure, then he will want to take close shots of your hands (with the wedding ring)etc....those artistic shots lah....if you know what i meant. maybe you can check with Ben or your MUA what they think?

panggou

Hi, do we want to compile a to bring list for PS?

Wear our wedding band and engagement ring
water
sandals other than your shoes
flowers (if necessary)
tissue paper
towel

anything else to add? hehehehe

excited, wed going PS liao!!!

daphne, i think you too stressed, dont think so much... but i understand, i dreamt i was wearing a gown which is not waht i wanted leh!!

smileysmiley

hahahaha,I am buying wine on my own as my corkage is waived!! hee..
Anyway, Thanks Zoeanne, for the addy..
I am looking forward to meeting u gals.

misswho

I have some qns to ask...

Q1: Anyone asked "mei po" (matchmaker) to go to bride's hse to "talk" and negotiate a price? Does "mei po" still exists?

Q2: Is 38 boxes of "li bing" (wedding cakes /biscults) a bit too much?

Q3: What to do on a "Guo Da Li" day?

Q4: Bride's mum wanted a "roast pig" on AD, usually who does the carrying of the pig? Jie meis or brothers??

Q5: Bride's mum also requested a so-called butcher to be around to cut/chop the roast pig....is there such a service?

dolphin48

caitlyn, don't know leh...... but the dream like so real cos i woke up once in the middle of it and yet, i can continue the dream when i went back to sleep.... scary.... the first thing i asked myself when i woke up is, is it 3 months already away from my ROM?

watashi

Winnie.. relax. your AD is a wkday or wkend.. so u target max wine consumption is 48 bots? my friend had a wedding on a wkday(abt 35 tables) and she used up 55 bots of wine & 3 barrels of beer + 4 bots of liquor.. scary leh... if wkend i think will be even worst..i'm very worried for mine.

caitlyn, school starts next wk rite? must enjoy your last few days of holiday leh. saw your corsage liao.. i like the flowers u bot leh, i think i bot the wrong tpye coz mine hard hard. after seeing yours, i dun like mine already.

guess the rest of the gals are also working hard in the office tats y so quiet here nowadays.
wonder hows Chanol & Highness.. chanol shld be busy in her new job, highness busy taking care of her mum?

chanol & highness, come in tell us how r u gals getting on ok?

babybluez

morning everyone. Wah. i never think of pyjamas for makeup etc. But my friend did buy a button up kind of shirt cos after do make up can take off without messing up hair and make up. I think that one later then I think abt it lah. I also have some kimono tops but then it gapes open and if I wear something beneath it, defeats the purpose liao. cos will mess up hair and make up.

Victoria secrets look nice but how to make sure you buy correct size?
Somehow, I don't dare to buy clothes without trying it on.

janf, my email is [email protected]

panggou

Watashi, my AD is on wed. wah your friend so much!!

mine is free flow beer, but thot nowadays hardly got people go for beer...

vela

afcai, I order 1 wk in advance from Meiling Parker wine(9755 7843), if can, do it earlier just in case they don't hv stock for the wine u want. They send it directly to the hotel and left it with the coordinator 3 days prior to AD. No delivery charges but GST apply. They have the $12, 15, 16 & 17 range, i took the $17 type, got good feedbacks from my guests
They provide 100% consignment, u have to self return the unconsume 1 or 2 days after AD. Hope this helps.

Sharlene, oic... told u my tour guide didn't bring us shop in Italy mah, so u saw in Italy and they have different Gucci range har, I saw the Gucci range in Paris and the designs are in Sgp as well lah. kekekeke, I used to be Gucci Fan like my sis and aunt, bot pouches, wallets, bags, belts & sandals and even watches, quite pleased that Gucci watches are made in Switzerland, no wonder the quality is gd...kekekekeke..just bot a gucci wallet last x'mas, less than $650 lei..probably yours new design lah..is your Gucci wallet the water proof treatment skin? Actually this trip I wanted to look for another brands like stella mcCartney or zac posen etc but no luck lei.. hey, my counterparts in Paris just told me their summer sales will start on June 29, those gg this period will sure enjoy shopping but not the weather. Nope, I am with SA Europe tour. We told SA staff that it's our HM trip when we booked the tour
. There are 6 honeymoon couples in my group, all of them have the SQ cake:eek:) So sweet of SA to arrange it with SQ, I love the card with the wishes of all the crew member on board.

Oraia, hehehe..not sure if LV is really cheaper in Paris, got to wait for my bag model to come in then I know the price, somemore don't know the tax refund will come or not..kekekekekeke. But I know the Ferragamo sandals I bot is cheaper, bot $426 in Paris and just saw it is $629 in Sgp.heh heh...ya, Enjoyable and unforgettable HM with gd souvenirs.

ppp

Hi maiden,

Just send u the link.

Hi cute miffy,

Thanks and hope that u can share yours as well.

Hi Blursotong,

Understand.

I think u both haven told me when is your AD and where is your wedding banquet will be held?

caitlyn

so exciting!! hee.. all of u gg for PS soon..i wish i can take again..hee

winnie - i think must bring some two way cake.. tt's wat my MUA said.. i din bring coz i dun have but my fren helped me bring and touched up a bit in the evening..

daphne - eh, just remembered.. u never update where u gg to ROM leh.. ae we invited??

watashi - i'm sure ur flowers look good too.. urs is slightly bigger rite?if u want some small ones to go along with ur big one, let me noe.. sld still have leftovers after passing to berry..

stars03

Hi Cheery,

Well my contractor is actually my hubby. As he coordinated everything and he has a pool of contractors who do everything. That is y we renovated our home so much cheaper and better workmanship and quality.

Well if you want, you can pop by our home to see our home and the design n workmanship and if you are keen after that, can discuss this with my hubby as he is doing reno too..

vela

decimal, u got my mail? must teach me har..hehehe..ya, got nice HM chocolate cake and card with bride and groom snoopy(soft toy) and 2 small glass champagne
SIA girl took a pix for us, will show u on our gathering har. hey, u went free and easy to US where har? Me planning to cheong US with whole family in April next year

oraia

helo velazo,

hehehe, LV is cheaper leh in paris, i think so lah. when i went last time a couple of yrs ago, it was cheaper. but now w the euro soaring like crazy, not so sure anymore. but shd still be abit cheaper due to tax refunds.

hee!!!! i oso big ferragamo fan! :p i bought 1 pair in paris also, it was alot cheaper. when i came bk to sg, during the ferragamo sale, my shoes were still cheaper than sale price!
v pleased. hehe.

dun worry, tax refund will def come in... may take a while tho', about 3 wks or more perhaps? but it feels good cos u'll forget abt it liao, then one day out of the blue u get some cheque in the mail hahahahaha.

annesep

Hi MehMeh,

So is GDL 1st or invitation cards to go out 1st? Thought printer is provided from the hotel on th cards itself? how come many of you seem to be searching for printer?

ppp

Hi Jennifer,

ya, mine is resale flat, mind to share how much u bought? Last sun, we went to view Horus's unit, his is moderm decoration, quite nice. I like his study room very much! when will u move over here?

zoeanne27

Yeah. we really have less than 3 months to do things.

Hi Gilian
U are welcome.I am also getting my own wine as corkage waive too. Still sourcing. actually heard carrefour not bad with their pricing. U can be on consignment with them too. Return 25% of the wine you get from them.

Hi meh
Ya lor. i also need 8 hrs of sleep one.. every morning need alarm clock to wake me up. My body auto alarm clock spoilt liao...too tired.

For gathering, I just sms Tan.. see which date we can.. then lets opt for a few dates to choose lor...will update everyone..

mik

hi misswho,

can answer based on how mine will be like:

Q1: will having a female rep from my hubby's side to be the "mei po" during GDL

Q2: it depends on how many relatives and friends your parents have...usually is 2 boxes of cakes to relatives and 1 box to very close friends of your parents

Q3: GDL is an exchange of gifts. basically, the groom together with a "mei po" will come over to the bride's parents place bearing "pin jin" & "pin li" for the bride's family.
the bride's parents will keep some and return/exchange some of the gifts.
then the "jia zhuang" they've prepared for the bride will be brought over the couple's new house.
then the bride's parents or maybe the couple will go and distribute the invites and cakes to the bride's relatives.

Q4: brothers to carry

Q5: not sure. can check with the roast pig shop?

vela

Yelo oraia,

*High 5*, I am also ferragamo shoes Fan
ya, ya, cheaper in Paris
hopefully my model will not be on sales so soon..kekekekeke..usually they sales half a year after launch. I bot a pair in Dec last year, now they have sale liao, my colg bot the same pair cheaper by 31%, altho bang, bang but I already wore it for half a year lor..

oh, touraco told us she waited for 1 mth plus liao haven't come. I still very confused with the tax refund, heard admin charges apply and u might not get the full % etc...let it be lah, it's the satisfaction in shopping that counts

smileysmiley

For me, GDL and givng out of invites to relatives is on the same day. Only friends are on different days.
Printer can be provided in your banquet package or it can be that the venue can recommend one. Just that we are trying to share the better lobangs for people who are looking for printers themselves.

Misswho, I have heard of all the above and apparently, I only know the solution to one. Cos there is no mei po nowadays, just get a female fren to go and ask. The rest I am not sure, cos it sounds like Cantonese GDL. Me is Teochew.

watashi

Daphne.. wah u dream sound scary but dun worry lah some ppl say the actual thing is always the opposite of our dream.. relax relax.
yah, where r u holding your ROM? at little bali?

winnie, my bs gave a checklist for ps. i post the list here tonite ok. nail art has small drawings on the nails..like flower etc wheres french is a neutral/light base color with white colour on the top rim of your nails. french will look nicer with longer nails. most prob i will go for french.

chanol

Hi gals!!

Long time din log in here..seems like we hv new brides-to-be joining in our thread...welcome!!

watashi, u started work alr...gosh, its hard to tune back to working lifestyle right??I'm still in the shake leg mood...heehee..Actually, my manager informed me to start work 1st of Jul cos the IT guy was not ard to start up my PC...Dunno gd or bad..

Next wk is urs n winnie's PS, must be very excited...

Daphne, poor thing so stressed up over ur ROM... By the way, yesterday I was out with my hubby..accidentally drove into the Little Bali. We Kpo check the place out...guess its really not worth it to pay $150 for the PS in there..its kinda a small area only...

caitlyn, u r in sch today? canteen open anot if not u hv to eat instant noodles again... =P hey, can I see ur ang pao box?? Pls send to [email protected] Thanks!!

gohwf

i truely enjoyed my wedding...agreed with blue_genie tat even now still misses my wedding...the scenes of wat happen tat day still flashes across my mind...
...everything turns out quite smoothly..

Hi cinderella

these r the duties i've task my nite coordinator 2 do, i aso hve 2 nite coordinators :
- Run through program with Banquet Manager & Emcees
- To liaise, assist & coordinate with the respective helpers in their area of work.
- Rehearse timings for Marchin with grooms n banquet mgr
- Ensure sound system, mussic, slideshows are ready
- Monitor guests' seating list - rearrange, remove or add when necessary
- Ensure table numbers and arrangements are according to seating plan
- Take note of lighting
- Standby projector and trial run for morning highlights
- To keep time in check according to schedule
- To liaise on parking coupon & pass some to receptionist
- Check on sound system, prepare CDs, test music, set volume, check mikes. Conduct trial run

hope is useful...

CONGRAS to all those brides getting married this week....
kao_wedding.gif

caitlyn

chanol - welcome back!!! loooooooooooonnnnnnngggggg time no see.. =) yup, me in school.. but there's a one day math camp so there'll be packet food.. can ony pray and cross fingers it taste alrite if not will be back to cup noodles.. my table is in a mess and i've so much to to do.. but severe inertia.. all i wanna do is make my photo album.. hahaha

choc_cowgirl

hi cute_miffy! thanks for remembering me *touched* I haven't been in the forum much for a while cos busy. But will surely pop by when I have the time!