(2005) Brides of year 2005

oh yar..for those looking for white shoes..saw another pair not bad...maybe u all might like...

seval...u looking for 4" shoes rite...tis one below is 4"...hehe..
267904.jpg

Zoe...
going for PS on 18apr huh...my PS on 15apr..but will go there earlier..celebrate my bday and 1 year anniversary..die...hope i dun eat too much...wait cannot fit my gown..hehe..so excited..looking forward..

dear all...
the dates are nearer now..we have less then 6mths to prepare liao...so muz take good care of ur health huh...got more things coming up to make u busy...

hv fun
ciao!!

I'm back for a quick 1.....can die!!!!!!

me super headache.....almost ended up in a fight with my dad coz of wedding invites....

wanna chk with u gals.....who shld be the 1 delivering the invites?

my hubby and I wanted to deliver the invites to our relatives personally ourselves,which we feel is very sincere and respectful, rather than leaving to my parents to do the running leg. But my dad insist that they should do it coz last time they only receive invites from the elders, nvr the wedding couple themselves. From this, he expect to collect all the angbaos from the relatives since he deliver the invites.

Then I lagi headache coz initially we had a pact with my parents that we, the wedding couple would do the inviting, then angbaos from relatives we keep. I give my dad 5 tables, and those he keep the angbaos....I counting on the angbaos to minimise my cost (I know for sure I wun even break-even) now my dad say these relatives owe him ren2 qing2, so he must take back his share, so he shld invite and get back the ren2 qing2. Got such thing 1 meh? Like that I die lor.....my guests majority relatives, if to count on angbaos that I can collect from hubby's side to cover almost 65% of the tables which are my relatives and my dad's frens, sure end up super poor after wedding.....owe bank big big....

very upset with my dad, on the verge of cancelling the wedding in case I end up bankrupt....

oso, another qn: how much shld bride's side ask for ping4 jing1? and when the groom side agreed and give that amt, do the bride's parents keep all or return some or keep token sum and return most of it? I very scared now my dad see $$$$ then want my angbaos and want big big ping4 jing1 from my hubby....

then hor(pai seh....long long time no come drop by drop by 1 shot ask so many qns.....:P)what else is consider reasonable for bride's parents to ask for? do my parents keep all other items they ask for or do they still have to return? some of my gfs parents return all, most only keep token amt and return majority of what they ask for. I suspect my folks may want to keep everything, kinda ugly or not? I feel very pai seh to my MIL lor....she not working mah.....

haiz....very fun2, somehow feel that all of a sudden, other than all the frills of trying to be a meimei bride, got so many things to worry abt....seems like this wud oni b just the beginning of my worst nitemare.....more to come......ARGH......

hi mei
u look different from real person and the previous shot u showed us...but most importantly, u look so elegant and beautiful. o yes good location & background. if u can upload all pic, its fine, we can wait.

hi weddingprep05, how are your preps coming along? Basically 3 ways, one is to try on some gowns at BS to get a feel of what looks good on you - the bride has to look fabulous, agree? Second way, is to research bridal mags, third way, if you trust your designer, just let your designer's creative juices flow! I think that when you try on gowns at the BS, it gives you the best idea what you look good in.
Your EG should be different from your WG in terms of design and colour - a more outstanding colour like red tends to be more eyecatching than a pastel colour.

Hope you have fun designing your gowns!

Yo gers!! Finish my PS yesterday!!!!

SO fun!!....n so many funny things happen!hehehe....took alot of indoor shots....the photographer's style is abit diff fr the normal standard wedding shots...more on magazine style....ask me to lie on one side....hands up n down...or sit with one leg up the chair....with fan blowing my hair.....n my hubby has become my prop...hahahhaa.....very good very professional....one pose can take many shots until he satisfied!...te MUA also very good....i like her MU n hairdo she did on me!

zoe...i bring all the barang barang like mini fan, tissue, blotters....all no use leh...kekeke....even my water bottle i bring also no drink.....all provided by the BS....the helper help me to wipe off sweat, bring along water bottles for us etc....somemore the helper still got to help the photographer carry things!...thumbs up for her man!! got lots of ants n mosquito bites.....complain to the photgraphers here got ants there got ants...n he say...."just a few shots only"....ask me to stand still pose this n that.....still have to smile with all the ants crawling under my leg!!.....hehehe....still ask me to sit on those grass patch.....ergg....hehehe...but hor overall i enjoy myself even though is tired.....

next time when u go back to the same place again...it brings back memories too!!.....so gers out here who have not taken ur PS....enjoy urself.....oh...n also relax relax when taking ur photo.....smile smile smile.....then the photo will turn out nice....hehehe....

i come ard later...gona go for breakfast now!!

hey li zhen,
maybe u can make it as a surprise gift for ur hubby!! (although he'll have to b in e photos as well)..on second thoughts,think u stil have to let me know so can be mentally and physically(gota work those abs!!!) prepared.

hi mei,
I shld think so, u mean u r not?? maybe its becos i need the photos so vivian gave me the unedited version first...

mei, i am using the sticky butterfly shaped bra + the padding sewn on e gown. it's recom by nicole, not nubra cos' dun hv my size !!

yeah, good things are worth waiting for, we will wait for yr pics to be uploaded.

eh meh meh,
yah the flowers very nice. but i doubt i'll use the peony. cos even the smaller bloom is too big for our wrists. probably end up using the hydrangea instead. i'll be posting up the simple corsage i made for my bridesmaids to share.
so fun!

hey girls,
i was so excited cos yesterday my fren passed me his design of our wedding invite. he personally drew it one. my close fren and her hubby both graphic designers, so they helped me design my invite. i love it so much. they even drew a larger one on hardboard so that i can frame it up for souvenir. probably be the best wedding gift i'll receive! see posting below! enjoy!

hi mehmeh,
your fusion CS teadress is SO NICE!!! i think you shouldn't be a teacher, should be a fashion/art designer!

widowwitch,
i sympathise with your situation. had a small fight with my dad too over serving tea to some of my older cousins whom i hate. ... sigh... wedding = headache!

i think where the invite part is concerned, normally parents will deliver to relatives. i'll leave that to my parents for that part. as for PIN JIN, i think nowadays pple just ask for a token sum, then give back most of it. cos nowadays pple are quite afraid others will say they trying to sell daughter. but it's still very personal, so every family has different traditions lor. ... i dont think my parents will keep any of the ang baos, cos we will be paying for the wedding mah, so any money from relatives will be used to offset the banquet bill. ... maybe have a calm talk with your dad and let him know you and your hubby will be quite stretched if the ang baos dont come back to you lor. ...

i will only share my pics maybe after my AD cos i wanna make it a surprise.. not showing to my frens and family/relatives as well.. it will not be fun if everyone noes wat i will be wearing on my AD
promise to share after my AD.

hi lindy,

i have shown my friend's photos to my FH and he is very supportive of the idea and think we shud treasure some of our romantic moments in hard copies.

guess my FH is ordy mentally and physically prepared and its only me who may not be that physically prepared...hehehe

is your FH supportive of dat "nude" idea as well??

J Tan - The pic is nice! I had a china guy who drew those caricature style for us but not nice, dun intend to use it.

Janice - Gd lor, you finished your photo shoot already. My gown not even ready...

WW - That sounds bad leh. For the invites for relatives, I think usually parents will deliver one. Sometimes, the couple will follow becoz they drive them mah. But as for the ang bao hor, it really depends leh. There are few ways to do it I think:

1.) If couple pays for the tables, they keep all ang paos.

2.) If parents are paying for the tables, parents keep ang pao.

3.) If bridegm giving certain number of tables to bride's family, they keep the ang pao frm those tables and the couples keep the rest.

In your case hor, if u are already giving 5 tables to your parents, by right, they shd just take the AP for that 5 tables. But hor, if they really want to keep the ang pao from all the relatives they invite, maybe consider them paying for the tables? Frankly, it's not possible to break even at Raffles. So, if u are already giving your father 5 tbls, it's a lot of $$ already. Does he know how much is your table? If he really insist hor, then have to save more for it already, better not owe bank. I'm putting aside quite a bit for the banquet, hope it's enough. Dun b angry with him lah, no point, especially when it's a joyous occasion.

As for "pin jing" hor, i heard that it depends on your "ji guan". But if both of you are different "ji guan", then I'm not sure which to follow. My husband cantonese and I'm teochew, my mother said tt if he come wif Cantonese custom, then we have to return them wif Cantonese custom. I think there is a "fixed" rule as to what must be returned one. When you buy the Guo Da Li stuff at those chinese shops, the person can tell you. For Pin Jing, definitely can't take all, just a matter of how much to return. Even return $8 also must return but most people wont do that lah. I think everyone will come to this furstrating point at some time when preparing for the wedding one, my sisters all went through this. I tink me too kah, try to keep yr cool and discuss with your parents again lah, they'll u/stand your situation one. Or did they think that your husband is very rich and wants him to pay for everything?

CU - Ya, me looking for 4". Where did you take those? Pedalworks?

Gals - My best friend's wedding tmw & I'm the MC, thinking of sabo them on stage tmrw, any one got any ideas to contribute?

Yo Tan,
long time no see u here liao....miss ur long long postings!

well, i agree with seval. if u r already givng 5 tables to ur parents n if they wan extra tables then they should be paying for the extra tables n they keep the 5 tables angbao.....
my mom want 10 tables n she will keep all the 10 tables angbao but if she has more pple to inviote n wanna add tables then she will give us the cost of the extra tables.....sure lugi fr here one...somemore we r paying for the whole dinner....think we all undertands ur prob....tok to them n see how it can be compromise....

as for GDL....nowaday pple go for simple simple one liao.....those very traditional seldom see anymore.....unless parents very particulars on these....the ger side normally will have to return part of the pin li n pin jing back one....if take all will not reflect well on them....think tats y they have to return some back to the guy's side....

seval...u can try VNC shoes....not too bad..tat time go to the one at habourfront....quite nice the shoe.....if not there is one at Great world city...cant remember the name...but the shoe quite unique.....

seval...dun worry....once ur gowns r ready.....the next thing will be PS...its a process we all go thru....have fun!...i actually quite miss the PS also....hehe....get to wear diff gowns n diff hairdo.....then can pose here n there.....

hey Gin,

i like ur 3rd corsage...i cant see the 4th one...it doesnt appear ...got some error ....anyway....simple n nice...actually the 5th one will look nice with more little flowers surrounding the pink rose instead of ribbons....

i haben made mine...hehe...lazy ah...

Whew! u gals are great.....It has been great help.....I actually show this entire forum page to my folks, then finally they relented. I compromise by giving my dad 1 more table, so a total of 6 tables, and told him that he can keep the APs from all these 6 tables, but as for relatives, I stick to my guns......so finally we wud be doing and delivering the invites to the relatives, APs from them we keep....

now just keeping my fingers x-ed that they wun ask for cakes/cake vouchers to deliver with the invite.

me hainanese, mum teochew, hubby pure teochew. So how much Ping Jing and who decide the amount leh?

my photoshoot bring forward to mid of next mth in Paris. also, after alot of hassle, finally settle the accomodation there and got the date from the photographer.Oni problem is that EG haven't even start making yet, haven't take measurement, coz designer cant find the right colour of the material I want.....sigh....

So far got my shoes liao.....both for WG and EG, except haven't found the right shoes for my CS. Gg to hand-nake my wrist corsage and butonnieres. bought the materials from hong kong...thk can make 20, cost me $50.....furry furry feather type....me dunno how to attach pix, if not can post here and show u all.....:P (computer idiot lor!!)

thk nxt is to worry abt other parts of the chinese customs...like process of chu1 jia4.....I went to buy red umbrella and fan (to throw b4 I get into the car). then my hubby say no need.....

if any1 happen to go to hong kong, do chk out their wedding stuff there. alot to choose from, and cheap....from shoes to accessories to headgear to customary items.....I'm trying to make another trip to hong kong to get the bridal car decor.....me using badtz maru for the head of the car, and the shop there say can dress my stuff toys in bridal wear and do the decor for me to bring back to fix on my car for less than $100 sin. this whole bldg really a 1-stop place,....I there shop till I drop!

Wow.. so much is happening... really took me a long time to catch up.

I been sick over the last few days, having a bad cough. Also, stressed over my work and hse renovation design. Even today is not my work day, I still go down and work for extra no paid 5 hrs for my company as too many stuff to finish. Seems like I been losing weight.

My fitting has been postphone again to tomorrow. Really looking forwards tomorrow and really hope my WG will turns out fine.

hi weddingprep05,
my WG & EG is MTM...so i'll be trying them out end of apr. quite interesting..i onli tried on one WG but sourced out mags & online to see wat kind of WG i like. and the rest i leave it to my designer to piece it together and advise wat would suit me.

i'm not sure wat colour i should choose for my EG..red's a lil too strong, no blacks and whites..:S hope i'll figure out in time to come :P

HI gals
wow.. its been 1 day and so many post.. me catching up..Been out whole day to buy home accessories etc... finally settle some..

Hi Janice
Actually, i Kiasu la.. bring so many but i also no use... hee hee.. only use umbrella and drink the water.. the rest of the things i kept in hotel room.. I told u all these bcos, i afraid u have no place to rest and too hot outside... Paiseh ah.. make u carry so many things... So how?? enjoy the whole PS?? Any candid photos to see 1st??

Hi cu2nite
I also change my PS date to 15Apr liao.. going to Malacca on that day then stay there for 2 days to roam about.hee hee . Then we reach BS by 10am ...
About the trial, bcos on the 09apr is my hubby's company D&D, might as well use this chance to do the trial.

Hi Jtan
your invitation look so cute... holding a lantern show mooncake festival eh... ppl will remember

Thats sweet

Hi Witch
HK where?? which building?
Glad that you have settle the tables issue..

Hi mehmeh
You CS look nice... made by Kim right?
I saw her did a lady name Marilyn EG.. all beaded and really nice....Ur CS too...sexy feel... short skirt..

zoeanne,

HK there's this bldg call golden plaza,at prince edward mtr station. if u take cab there, cantonese call kam dou kwong cheong.(direct translation of gold capital)very specialise shops there lor....me planning to go again next mth, b4 my PS.

haiz....table issue now settled.....i knew wun end, coz now my mum insist on other customs like dunno what bedside lamp must have (argh...where to keep after wedding,somemore so obiang?), then want ping jing (and yet they dunno how much, say wud go chk the mkt rate.....aiyo....if mkt rate very high i dies damn ugly man...),then say must chu jia b4 sun-rise (how to wake up so early? my ILs side go early oso no 1 wud wake up so early....) my hubby's intention is to skip all the traditions and simplify everything.....me 2....save the hassle, coz felt that since my folks really clueless abt the customs, why bother go hearsay here and there and anyhow follow? dunno dun do lor......my MIL left it entirely to us....now it's only my folks I migraine.....

anyway, i keep reminding myself this is a haapy occasion, so must be happy. oni exciting thing now is mth end can see my WG and I finally found my dream jade SDJ!!!!

then just got email from photographer, that he made a mistake, the day I supposed to do PS he not available.....in fact the whole week I in Paris he not avail, except the day I touch down Paris. how to? after travelling so many hours there got to start doing the photoshoot? and I cant change the dates much coz hotel oredi booked, and i have shifted my leave 2 many times,dun thk co. wld entertain another change....

thk when shit happens it all comes 2gether lor....like I very suay leh......is this a sign???? blah......

I really wonder what's next......

trying see if i can attach pictures to share wif u all.....here's the butonniere i made, wrist corsage wud be the same, but haven't add ribbons yet......

268165.jpg

May I very likely to be rostered again to go HK, for those of u who like, I can help to buy.....shoe cost $298HKD, abt S$70.

I'm thking of getting this head-gear to wear with my EG. Is it 2 drama????

268171.jpg

Hi choc_cowgirl n skye skye

Thks for yr advice. The more i see from mags, the more my choices widen. Headache... Guess will have to leave it to my designer to design something for me.

Indeed EG colour is really difficult to choose. Pastel colours look nice but on the other hand looks pale too. Not sure if strong colours like red will make one look more mature too... :p

halo

tan..
glad that the table issue had resolved..im sure they can understand your difficulties..
nice wrist corsage you have...u still going HK??Can help me buy those furry furry materials??dunno where can get such materials here..can help me please!!hehe...got white colour?hehe...paiseh..buy you drink lah...but if too ma fan then nvm...thanks!!!

mehmeh..
I may have ard 8 jie mei...so agar agar how much huh for those rose kinda pattern tat u posted earlier..now no particular design in mind but if i happen to c some design i like, dan i show u loh..btw, can i ask u,wrist corsage ppl normally use fake flowers huh?can use fresh flowers? if can, i like calla lilies leh..im using calla lilies for my AD bouquet..oh..u do car deco too??wah...
me also saw that pair from VNC..but no size for me...sobsob...u so lucky
the first sliver pair i bought fomr pedal works 2wks ago..saw it some time back liao..desperate liao..so 2wks ago go back buy loh..another white one from DMK..both shops at Amara Hotel shopping arcade..just across my office..

seval..u refer to which pair?white from DMK and Sliver from Pedal works...i bought the sliver on bt not the white one

iggy,
i dunno leh.. i never ask vivian.. will check with her then.. so u got ur CD liao also? i also wanna see ur pic leh!
sticky butterfly shaped bra?? got such thing ah??

zoe,

its ok...i put all my stuff in a bag n left it in the photographer's car boot....so no carry ard too....hehe...so no worries...i also kiasu lah...bring many stuff....
really enjoy the shoot...kindda of miss it...hehe....no candid shots...cos no bring hp along cos all in my bag which is in the carboot...the helper is too busy helping us n carrying things ard....we start at 10am n end ard 8pm. indoor shoot end ard 5pm n then str away we went outdoor liao.....3something then take lunch....by tat time i already very hungry...lucky the MUA very nice...ask me to eat n not to worry that i will smudge my MU...she is here to help me touch up....

Tan,
ur shoe nice nice...how much u bought it??
ur headgear feather n flowers looks like the flower that is attached to my EG....hehe....

hey gan, u better take good care of urself leh....now the weather siao siao liao....one day super sunny then next moment it rains heavily n then stop all of sudden.....these few days i also feel like falling sick....force myself to drink plnty of water.....so take care!!

Hi Renee, and all others who are doing reno now,

My ID/contractor is Johnny from A&D. They started off being contractors, then went into ID, so it's much cheaper than other IDs who sub-contract out to contractors to do the job.. I reno part of my 16-year old EM, including stairways, 2 toilets, MBR walk-in wardrobe, tv console cum table, kitchen cabinets etc for only $19k!

No harm trying to get a quote from him while you go ard hunting.. he's very frenly and patient..hehe... Best part is, he has a 0% 12-mth instalment.. so I find that very useful for a cash-strapped me!

For those who are interested, you can give him a call at 9818 7228. Just say you are referred by Jessie from Tampines EM (see if can get better prices!) Oh yar.. he can also show you 3D designs thru his 3D software.. so that's very useful as well..

hi jovia,

Wow... is really cheap leh for a EM. I gotten quote like $20k plus, for overhaul kitchen, two bathrooms, some carpentry works.
Will probably get a quote from him too.
Thks.

hi pisduck,
thanx for sharing...wow....ur fotos r so nice.......i love them all man! how much u paid in all n which BS r u wif?

haven i share my pics wif u?

Hi Gals!

Wow thread moves fast! Juz back from Pan Pac/Divine Couture's bridal show. Though got bad experience w DC as shared w yr but their gowns r pretty nice at the show.Thot go there get some ideas for my gowns also gd heehee but never win their Hawaii Lucky Draw,sigh. But its ok!
Heehee went to see their 37th flr Hai Tian Lo Restaurant which has a fantastic view of Raffles Place,think will use their private rm as my ROM venue cum lunch!Ye!
Happy Happy. Since my officiating pastor might not be able to make it on AD to do ROM for us, thot do it on a day b4 AD for my ROM. Heehee.Accomplished another thing today.

Hi Furry & Yen,

Think I will go for TWP too like your since we feel most comfortable with them after gog so many BS. Hope I still got time to sign up for the bridal show at the Regent tomorrow.

Hi Esther,

Happy for u tat u settled yr venue liao!

Hi Vivi,
Ye,very excited to see our new home on Wed n asking ID to go see on Thurs. Hopefully settle fast.We pretty like the ID "Spacious"'s design. Might jus use them.

Hi Yen,

Think its worth the money to go for Duxton Plains. Heard so much rave abt it,think the value will shot up like crazy since its centrally located,with sky garden n 50 storeys rite?! So high! Gd buy n gd wait!
The ballot we went for in Whampoa is the 2nd ballot n we jus selected this Jan,the 2 blks tat r currently unoccupied facing the city.

Hi Wendy,

Not sure le whether can see Esplanade, will let u know after my Wed viewing. 3am to wake up for yr MUA, u will be even more excited n cant sleep early! Heehee. " The early Bride gets to eat the Worm"! He He

Hi Beanbean,

Praise God for the good view loh! Heehee We actually prayed for exactly tat unit n got it hehe.We were the 2nd last to pick units actually but jus tat pple pick below n above but not tat unit we aimed so amazingly angels seem to guard tat unit for us. Hehe The last became the first. :P Turned out the old couple behind us (the last on the list) wanted tat unit of ours n were upset we got it. So it doesnt matter whose b4 u but whose behind u, who want the same unit!! Hehe ;p

Cheery,

My friend also balloting for Toa Payoh 40storeys flat,getting married in July.Hope yr become neighbours! Infact our 2 couples friends getting married tis yr,1 in Jun,the other in Jul n I have to be backup singer (froggie voice) for the one in Jun n my FH is musician for the one in Jul.So expect them to help us back in turn later on haha or else strangle them. hehe

Hi Alexis,
Do share how's yr appt with Heath! If u want, u can try The Wedding Present whom Furry, Yen and I can rave abt their exceptional service n creativity.

Hi Renee,
Forget to tell u I emailed u abt the part time job liao. Do sms me if u interested n I arrange with my FH.

Hi Jovia,
Does A&D have a website that can view their works? Tx tx.

Hi Angela,
Get well soon leh!! Ye, will try to go for the 15th Apr outing.:P promise. Me starting to go St Gregory Spa tomorrow, hope to slim down n have nice nice shape soon thru pilates n yoga :P

Oh Yeh! Ocotber's drawing nearer n nearer...6 more mths to go...Bells ringing in the air...Walking down the aisle with yr sweetheart waiting at the end for u,with a sweet smile on his face, the moment he's been waiting for all his life, the girl of his dreams...the moment when he can lift the veil n kiss the bride...n to be finally proclaimed his dearly beloved wife!Happy planning!

hi mei,
not yet lah. only end of the month, unedited version somemore...

maybe my description not so good, but it's a thin fabric bra which creates a cleavage by pushing the flesh to the front n secure with a clip. the brand that i use is called "flutterbra" check it out at robinsons or if u r a "C", i can pass u a pair cos' i bought extras...

CU - I'm refering to the silver one. Maybe will go down pedalworks to take a look. Thanks.

WW - Wah, the head gear really very drama leh but unqiue too. If you dare, go with that. *)

The shoes $70 also sooo cheap. How many inch huh? If 4" I take liao.

Glad to hear that your table issues settled. Wah.. u showed your parents our posts ah.. your dad must be thinking "who the hell is this seval ah... say I think my son-in-law is rich!!!"... :P Pai sei leh...

The bride side must give cakes to relatives wif the invites one, maybe you cant escape, especially if you are the first to marry in the family. I managed to as I'm the youngest and my sis did all those already.

Just 2 share with you what I know abt the "pin jing". In the past, I think the bride's side family will say how much they want but nowadays, most families too pai sei to say how much, so it's up to the bridegroom family to give and the bride's family will take and return some.

U made me want to go HK already, I just came bk frm Thailand, not too fruitful, maybe becoz i not too gd with shopping lah.

You gals are all so good with crafts leh. I'm not such a craft person, dun think I can do the wrist corsage stuff myself. Dun intend to hv them already.

janice - thanks, will check out vnc.