(2005) Brides of year 2005

icy

rina,
opps, silly me.. me also done in changi but cannot recognise. :p I think different part bah.. cos I really like the tree and the wooden fencing feeling. :p

fifidoog

hi mehmeh,
were you the one that gave me the CS contact for Kim? if so, roughly how much does she charge for a short CS? thanks a lot!

realised that many of you are already in process of getting your new house ready. just one thing i'd like to share. for utencils such as bowls and plates hor, i realised Corelle is the best cos it's so light and durable. i made the mistake of going for a 25-pc set at ikea which cost like $69 which is so heavy to wash. would go for corelle next time when i change plates.

joteohl

hi i_bless_u
ya...all of us are busy buying things now....i just finished my round of buying WC, basins, sink, hob, hood...now gotta start packing my stuff for shifting....still be a happy bride ok?

icy

Ying,
my cocktail at 7pm.. cos mine AD on friday.. I thought 6.30pm would be quite ridiculous for most people.

Girls!!,
me also wearing CS, but more for my 2nd match in, my blue EG will be for cocktail. :p

sharlene,
I will still use emails for colleagues, anyway I guess it also depends on ur age group for ur guest. My colleagues are all younger, in the industry.. so they dun mind this. Email actually give them some time to think abt their schedule.. (especially those who dun wanna to come to think of execuse) hahaha.. anyway calling them straight off their face will make it more difficult to reject bah.. anyway I don't want my guests to feel obligated to come.
I agree with Ying, dun use sms, Sms to me seemed more not sincere.

Another thing is we cant be sending invite card to anyone.. to me if u get invite card.. then u must give AP even if u not coming

Ying & yuki,
u all so fast already announced the date to people ah.. me still idling and thinking of annoucing only in mid april. :p

Vivian & yuki,
U got mail.

dwoof,
yeap, initially I only have 11 pix, but now I have all my 84 pix pix.. ahahaha so not add some, is add a lot. :p

dey,
perhaps u can request for the sample pix first, so that u can do ur montage or other stuff which need pix?

bottle,
I might have 4 if I can make it..
EG for cocktail
WG for 1st MArch in
2nd CS EG for 2nd march in
Kua for send off (if have time)

yuki_ko

Hi Pisduck

Hahha... too late, send liao... so far nvr hear anything bad yet... but if there is, too bad lor.. I juz pretend nvr hear anything lor...

Hi Icy

Received yr PS file liao... very nicely taken... I like yr blue colour EG leh... very unique and looks very nice on u... like yr accessories too.. r they from yr BS?

Bottle,
I will be having 3
CS for cocktail
WG for 1st March in
EG for 2nd March in

fates

Hahaha IC

So did you have fun at BKK? Actually BKK can be quite romantic?..
Wonder how are the rest of the March brides doing..

Sorry erkerk...don't know much about caterers...all handled by MIL :p

sharyenne

Hi Angela,
can u update my AD photog n videographer to Iwerks and Captured Moments respectively?

n my name was misspelled too. shld be Edna. thx!!!

beanbean

good morning everyone!

hi esther, oh i see...
for a moment i thought i found another fellow lutheran
so how come you're not using your own church premises? and how much is QLC charging for rental if you don't mind me asking?

Yen, hope your flat will be ready earlier too... you staying with your in-laws-to-be till it's ready or renting somewhere else on your own?

cheery, you're looking for a place too? what are you considering

cookies_gal

Interesting topics we have today. No. of gowns for the banquet and email invites.

Invitation mode - it really depends on the person I guess. I received an sms invite last yr - from a sec. sch classmate (not that close). But I didn't take any offense at it. Treated as an opportunity to meet up and chat with old sch frens instead.

As for email invites, I think it's a good way to get an initial headcount. Easier for people who dun wish to attend to say no. But there'll always be people who don't like it - you can't stop people from gossiping one. Actually, for those people who have gone through a wedding, they'll actually understand the rational of you calling/emailing first before sending the invite coz invitation cards are limited.

As for no. of gown changes, I haven't decided on the final no. yet. Because every gown change takes 25 min at least (20 min to walk to & fro, at least 5 min to change), if I wish to mingle with my guests, this will definitely reduce the amt of time I have with them! So still keeping my options open about this.

dey

Hi Icy,

Yup..this is what I tot so too..will ask studio to give me some samples to put in photo montage..

Mine is also a friday dinner so I think i will start at 730pm? Come to think of it, I think i will wear my WG for the reception.. I love my WG so much so must wear for longer time..heehee

wtan

hi hi Zoeanne...
thks for the reply..heehee, i c u meant the other 2 PS venues other than my own arrangement & maybe tanglin mall...probably one at east coast beach...the other at sentosa...but i think i dun hv much time for so many venues...haha..well...i hvnt really plan yet...heehee...do u have any suggestion for me?

chanol

Caitlyn,
Sorry I can't make it next Fri, had a chalet tat wkend.

Hey, ur gown is for daytime right? I think it will still look gd even if it is short..ur designer shld help u to "enhance" e design. Anyway, u r paying for it, think u shld get something u like...

Winnie,
You r giving speech? Wow, I admire ur courage leh.So u doing e Mandarin version n ur FH doing e Eng version, I presume?

ying11

Hi PS Duck,
Saw your PS photos. Wow, you very slim and pretty and yr PS photos are nice. So different from the ones taken at SGD. Must have cost you a bomb to take it at New Zealand. Your Cheongsam is nice too. Grey colour. Very unique.

Hi Icy,
I never announce yet. Just tell them to give me their postal address as I myself, will be travelling in April and May. So, what i can do now, do first.
I will call my friends nearer the date, maybe 1 month before my wedding, then check on their availability, followed by sending out invites. Will RSVP with them one week B4 AD too. Think thats teh best way to "curb" those talks behind my back.

By the way, just send you the link to view my card and the mini cute ab. Ha..

Icy, your pics very sexy. Made the right choice to top up! No regrets later...

I will be having 4 too..CS, WG, EG & Kua.

By the way, gals, i am having a headache on the serve tea issue. I know we need to serve tea to the elders. How abt the young ones? Do they all need to serve tea to me?

dolphin48

Hi Chanol

I thought it's quite common now for the bride and groom to make speeches?

I got a bit of stage fright and am thinking if i can do without. Alternatively, i saw from some video clips (one of those wedding highlights), there's a recorded speech by the couple which I think would be good so that won't gabra on stage at actual day.

panggou

Hi Chanol, not sure which version I am doing, but mainly really wish to show appreciation to our parents and friends. esp my long term friends who been thru the thick and thin for the decade.

i hate making presentations as i hehe dont have much confidence making speech. but recently attended a course for making speech, and the opening statemnet made by the lecturer is that "No one ever dies from making a speech or presentation". heheh i think that is true too.

Daphne i think prerecorded speech also quite good leh.

erkerk

fates,

So envy you have a nice MIL to take care of the caterer. Now I headache, those caterer serving gd food don't emphasize on deco. those on deco, don't know if the food gd. *sianz*

gals,

Any recomendation of gd food and nice deco caterer?

sharlene

bottle/Yuki,
I am getting the house wine from my hotel directly thus save the trouble of sourcing. Anyway, we had worked out that getting the wine directly from hotel is actually cheaper than we have to pay the wine then cockage from hotel, which is more ex.

Ying,
hehe...I remebered the point abt tiara coz I saw a bride in tiara with Kua, was quite awful and many pple were actually laughing secretly abt it, thus I told myself not to make the same mistake. Thus if u going to hv flower in the nite then wear ur tiara in the morning if u are wearing CS during cocktail. Also if u have many tables then may not hv time to change so many pieces, quite tiring to keep changing too.

Ur younger ones should serve tea to u and u will hv to gv them ang pow.
Icy,
Initially my intention of sending email also becoz pple will not feel so obligated, but who knows still got pple thing otherwise. Sigh!

Bottle/Dey,
I will wear WG for reception and first march in, EG for 2nd march in and CS for either 2nd EG change or just send guest off. Hopefully hv enough time.

Pisduck,
I wanna see ur Singapore's PS leh...seen those at NZ before. [email protected]

zoeanne27

Hi Jtan
Corelle plates are very nice... no sharp edges etc.. light weight too... But hor.. very ex !!! hahaha.... I very much love their plates too..

Heard Thailand ( Bangkok i think) sell them cheaply.. but thinking how to ship them back n they are fragile...hand carry afterall still heavy..

Hi Wendy
If nt wrong, there are once i post a list of venues but i did not keep myself....paiseh...

Hi gals.
I have a $30 Taka voucher but i need robinson vouchers more.. anyone wanna exchange with me??

yen2

Hi Bean,

I'll be staying with my MIL in the meantime .. construction of the flats is expected to start this month and expected to be completed in 2 yrs' time...

rek

Hi beanbean,

hee hee.. sorry to disappoint you... I am not using my own church premises because it's too far away from merchant court hotel. (I will be chartering buses for my guests to go from the church to the hotel for lunch right after the church wedding). And also, my church does not have a centre aisle, so i find it a bit odd if i march in from the side..

I will be giving QLC $1000 as a love offering

yuki_ko

Hey pisduck....u go photos to share? haven't seen both yr NZ or singapore one leh.... can share? [email protected]

Ying, Sharlene is rite abt the younger ones serving u tea... I think if yr elder bro or sis haven't get married... they cannot be seen during the tea ceremony or something like that... if I didn't remember wrongly... anyone hear something like that?

Hi Cookie gal... wow seh... u even timed the changing time? ya hor... wat u say also quite true lah... let me think abt it then...

sharyenne

Hi Angela,
no worries abt the typo, i get dat a lot.

thx for the invitation, but i wun be able to join u gals. i'm having my final gown selection on dat nite. hehe... so looking fwd to it!

i'll pop in here more regularly. will try to join the next outing.

joteohl

hi mei
o not shifting yet, but gotta pack...i got a lot of things....books, notes, all kinds of barang! but i think by end Apr, can start moving things over!

mei79

jolene,
oic... i also haven't start packing yet.....

i got my PS photos liao! now uploading them to the web! who wanna see???

icy

yuki,
thank you.. i love the window one..
anyway at first i wanna wear the blur EG for 2nd match in, but becos it is low cut, i thought it is safer to wear for cocktail and wear CS for 2nd march in instead.

My accessories are from my MUA.. I like the one for my AD WG.. wonder if I shuld stick to it or change another 1 for different look.

woof,
the 84 is all I have.. have another 20+ more rejected ones which I havent collect. :p

dey,
my cocktail at 7pm and banquet at 7.30pm. :D I think actually maybe the dinner will only start at 8.30pm

pisduck,
can I see ur pix too? my email at [email protected]

ying,
for tea ceremony, I dun think it is necessary for the little ones to serve me tea, only for the immediate family like brothers and sister then need. the rest just queue up and get AP.. anyway it will save time.

novel,
hi, where is ur email?

pisduck

hi ying,
the cheongsum actually is OTR. it was one of those pcs that they were clearing after a fashion show. as for the tea issue, guess it depends on the elders n what they expect. ask your mum and mum-in-law loh, think they will have some clue.

hi icy,
sent u the link.... but not many pics....was too lazy to upload. :p

hi sharlene,
have not done the local PS yet so no pics to share. :p BV has scheduled my PS in late Apr. dun know whether can be ready on time though....

hi yuki,
think maybe u have seen the pics before, liao. anyway, have sent u the link... actually, i agree with cookie_gal, those who have org weddings before will normally understand the email invites thingy... aiyah.... dun care lah, can't please everyone anyway, correct? :p

mik

hi zoeanne,

find your wedding date and location quite familiar: do you happen to know christine who got married in june 03 at traders hotel?

poky

jolene: me also got alot of barang n stuffs. most alrdy move over liao.. so left only bare necessities n my hammies with me at my room now. =) kian su hor.. haha.

mei: can i c also?? =) [email protected] thx in advance. =p

sharlene

Icy,
I also like those at the windows.

Just curious how many photos did u gals took in total for the PS for selection? My photographer not yet contact me, but previously when we went to last location, he did say we took alot abt 200 plus already, not sure total how many in the end after everything. Issit alot? My colleagues were saying took so many sure will top up alot...

ying11

Hi Icy,
For me, I love your lallang pics. Think the hairstlye is very nice. Both of you look very relaxing and end-ai.

Hi Sharlene,
I took abt 180+ photos. My photographer took a lot of my own "solo" pics. I rejected a lot of those pics. Very very heart-pain. Ha...

Thanks to the gals for the tea ceremony part.

Another thing is How to get new notes? Where to get new notes for Angbao?

cookies_gal

Hi yuki,

Actually, it was the RH brides who pointed out the need to cater time for gown changes coz the bridal suite is 10 min walk away from the ballroom.

Hi Sharlene,
For the tea ceremony, my brother will definitely serve tea to me. He will also be opening the bridal car door. However, my mum don't expect my cousins to serve tea to me (I'm the eldest on my mum's side). For FH side, they don't have the practice of cousins serving tea to another cousin so no need to worries there.

For PS, we had about 160 photos, selected 85.

mei79

ladies,
i will send the link to u all once i get them all loaded... goota wait for a while... all the file size very big

chanol

Hi Daphne

Yeah, I know tat it is quite common these days perhaps none of my galfriends did so I tot mayb I shld be e same too...

Hi Winnie,
I think u r e most hardworking bride I have seen... =)

icy

Sharlene,
i think my total shoots just 120+ only (fortunately)

Ying,
Forget to tell u all, must changed notes during CNY, only new notes are release over cny.. better now go and try ur luck at some banks and see if they had new notes.

joteohl

hi poky
haven't seen u in forum for awhile...is the prep gg fine? my sis always say that i am like garang guni...u keep hamsters?

bottle

I am thinking of 1 WG & 1 EG for wedding dinner, doesn't look good in CS. Also want to save time from running up & down, spend more time with guests. Initially, I thought of only 1 WG, doesn't want to change coz I like WG so much. But, was told that normally bride will change at least one. So, no choice...

Hi pisduck, can I see ur SG & New Zealand photos too? :p [email protected] Thanks.

yuki_ko

Hi Icy

Yrs very nice... if I were u, I will wear that for my AD too... but of course, it's up to u lah.. now also quite worried coz heard from my BS bride that their accessories quite old looking.. so might wanna buy accessories... see how lor...

Hi Pisduck... nvr leh... I juz saw them... very sure nvr see before but they r very nicely taken.. the grey colour one is EG or CS? coz only see the top... looks like CS... My CS top looks something like yrs too... except it's red in colour... u only took PS in NZ or in Spore too?

Hi gals... izzit? tot anytime change also can? oops... then better go change soon...