(2005) Brides of year 2005

Justin Agnes End-of-Season Sales
24th and 25th July
Gowns from $150
Suits fr $120

6 Sin Ming Plaza #01-08 Tel: 65544023

I've never heard of this shop or brand before...quite curious leh.. the only 2 BS I know along thomson area is Precious Moments and Thomson Wedding Design.

karen, no harm dropping by to take a look...

hi matilda

yup, me glad to find someone wif same date too =)
don't worry, it's a good date..according to my mum..hehe

so how's yr wedding prep coming along? we shd still have time right?

Hi sweet,

ya, it really depend on the whether all of us are so ON...kekeke...i make some frenz at the Amara Htl thread...alot just come & go...esp those whose wedding r over liao...

hi tare
sometimes, it is like tat..some brides treat the forum as a way to get info loh...i understand wat u mean...hehe..as i have encounter a few like tat..for me, the forum serves as a way to share info as well as to make new frens..esp when our dates are all within the same month! it is so fun to prepare stuff together! =)

hi karen,

i've seen this shop before when i went down to green point florist.

small shop, didn't really peek inside.. no point gg down to look see

hi oraia,

R u joining the gathering?? faster register!

Date : 27 Aug 04 (Friday)
Venue : To be advised
Address : To be advised
Time : 7pm

Confirmed Attendants:
1. Sweetie (organiser)
2. little_ger
3. vela
4. Jellytots

Tentative:
1. bits

Morning sweetie and oraia!

oraia.. see how, if I later or tomorrow go Thomson plaza to get my bunny's supplies then I may pop by to see. As I said me only curious, not ready to get gowns yet.

hi miriam!

my AD is on 13th mar 05... i will ba having lunch banquet instead of dinner.. how abt you? have u got a venue yet? hows your prep?

little ger~ the AD schedule sample u sent me dun hv church portion ah?

sweetie~ hehe.. not sure whr i can make it yet. but me paiseh lah.. u girls all 2005 brides.. *shy* heee.

for ROM gown, you can check out this shop at stamford court called fashion clinique. they have lovely gowns i think! not v ex also.

karen~ hehe... orh.. since on the way can pop by and see

sweetie,
I wouldn't know what they have.. just saw their ad in Streats yesterday. They just mention gowns from $150, at that price it is comparable to buying gowns from brands like yen, daniel yam, etc. You can go see if you free.

sweetie,
thing about such brands like daniel yam is that even if it is very very nice, chances of others (including your dinner guests) wearing the same thing is very high.

Hi ladies.

Congrats to Sweet pea!!

Think I'll explore the before dinner solemnisation option first. Must check if there's a JP that's willing to come for small function.

Butter, you prefer before or during dinner??

To remove the table and set up champagne glasses etc sounds very disrupting leh. Why don't they put the table on floor in front of stage? The champagne can still be set up prior to the dinner and only the table needs to te removed after the solemnisation.

tric, shirley says there oni one (or two) streets. shdn't be tat difficult...juz need her to tell us the street name. i can pick you up somewhere near if you need transport. let me know

evevanus, i went for a wedding at riverview hotel. i think the MC was from the hotel. he spoke pretty good english and chinese. mebbe he's been doing for many couples...very experienced now ;) but that 'qing qie kan' not there leh...

hi miriam, welcome!!

hi tougei...

think i may have solem. during lunch... hehe.. i think i will ask them to set table in front of the stage.. hehe.. like that ppl cant see me so clearly.. can hear me only... not so pai seh mah..

Hi jitpong,
gd for u...i still have a lot of preparations to do and my FH has gone for biz trip for 2 months so i have to settle everything on my own.

so when is ur ROM day?
me having solemnisation on the same day so less hassle.

rokko!!!! im such a sotong!!!! super blur!!! i actually went to the wrong place! cos this morning then i realised i dunno where silverlining is... so my hubby quickly search for their website and printed out the address (at liang court) from there. when we reached liang court and cldn't find the shop we asked the infocounter girl... thennn.... we realised the address we got was the old one!! haiz... damn malu hehe...

anyway how was it?? do u get to try on any gowns? do u like their designs? jit sounded like a friendly guy
so after gg to the few BS... do u sorta hv a favourite in mind? oh btw, i went to bridal veil before my appt w silverlining. din get to try on any gowns but was shown the pics. i quite like the gowns fr the pics and my hubby was impressed w the service (probably cos Cedric really explained everything to us in details - took 1 hr 45 mins). but after he showed us a few of their actual gowns... dunno leh... im not really "wow" by them. maybe cos on the rack so cant really tell. anyway will be gg to their bridal show (at the boutique) this coming sat

oh another thing.. sorry for the late reply. cos when i logon last night, dunno y it said cos the service provider has abused the website so i wasnt able to participate in the forum??? but now ok alr.

sharlene: 2 and a half wk of marriage leave?!?!! wow... thats really a lot leh!! ur coy so good hor... me oso fr stat board (like tou said: read super "cat") marriage leave only 2 days.. which i've long ago used up for my ROM 3 yrs back. anyway really nice that u're hving such a good time

janey: so u confirm on grand hyatt? hee.. ur FH "negotiation" skills v good? maybe can give us some tips hor.. cos we really lousy at bargaining one ;)

butter: Hi
for me.. hvnt confirmed BS yet... still busy shopping around
btw, hee.. really impressed by how meticulous u r leh! u've actually listed out the timing for every event!!;)

blue_genie: hi!! ya i oso think it wld be more fun gg BS shopping w frens
btw, which BS hv u gone to so far? for me, checked out Divine couture, silhouette (so far my fave), margaret brides, bridal veil... dunno whether izzit enuff homework to make my choice ;)

sweetpea: CONGRATS CONGRATS!!
definitely a busy time for u... but then it's a fun kind of busy! ;)

Minky,
Ya, one think my co good abt is the marriage leave, that's why me and my HB quickly claimed the marriage leave first coz just in case any changes heheheheh

Sweetpea,
Where's ur new hse? My hse now also under reno, quite excited to wait for it to be completed.

minky: hehee yah i was sorta wondering whether u were coming! was quite excited when i heard u on the phone with jit, but too bad it was to tell him u were not coming! hehee... aiyoh u blur blur leh! hehee!!! i thought when u called jit to make appt with him u wld have found out that he shifted liao!!! otherwise i wld hv told u leh!!!

anyway, my visit there was not as great as i expected... think jit is either extremely understaffed or he overbooked his appts... my appt was at 4.30pm, went there promptly and he had 2 other couples ahead of me... waited until slightly after 5pm before he cld speak to us but only to tell us to look thru his albums... finally at 5.45pm then i cld start trying out the gowns and talking to him abt his package. but by then we had to leave at 6.05pm becos we cldn't wait any longer - my poor FH had run out of parking coupons by then! so all in all spent only 20mins trying out gowns, talking abt package, etc... haiz

but having said that, he is a v nice guy and his gowns are v nice as well... he specialises more on organza materials with flowy trains... hehee... but service-wise definitely so far i think sil is the best! and most personalised lor... and i think my FH prefers sil so far... hehee

long time nev log in liao..hee..got more new faces already..

hi jazzygal..welcome

yo sweet,
me went genting too after my ROM..missed the rides..so exciting compared to those in downtown east...

ming

sharlene: hehe.. ya lor better quickly claim the marraige leave... which was exactly my thinking when i claimed for my ROM instead of saving it for customary.. cos i nvr know whether i'll still be w the coy

rokko: hey sorry leh.. wanted to post msg on fri night to let u know i'll be joining u on sat but dunno y wasn't allowed to. haiz... actually when i called jit i got sorta asked him whether izzit still ok for me to go over... though he said i cld go over and join u to look at the pics (which i assumed no gown-trying), he oso mentioned that he got other appt. so tot no point gg loh... else disrupt ur session w him and oso kinda rushed.

oic... aiyo poor thing.. u and and FH always seems to be waiting for the designer instead of the other way round hor.

btw, jit specialises in organza materials w flowy trains ah? isn't that kinda similar to divine couture?

hehe.. really?!?!! cos personally i've kinda set my heart on sil liao... hee so maybe we cld end up using the same BS hor.. aiyo that wld be really fun!!!

hi minky!!

my FH n i more or less decided on Grand Hyatt lo.. he went down yesterday n say he love the place.. hehe he manage to take a "peek" at the decorated rooms coz there are ppl holding their lunch/hi-tea when he was there!! think he is very impress lo.. but i cant see!! ~sob sob~

hi rokko,

wow u wake up very early on a sunday morning le.. i also think service wise.. SIL is the best lo.. hehe.. my BS service also equally good.. thats y i choose her instead of SIL.. i haven been to those u been to lo.. went to those at IMM and tanjong pagar.. sad to say.. some really pushy lo..

hi janey!!
wasn't expecting any reply on sunday
anyway.. good for u guys
hee... nvm, another 4 more mths right? time will pass v fast one.. and then u'll finally be able to reunite w ur FH

oh CHC's service jus as good as sil har? btw, can i check w u... wats the deciding factor that makes u choose CHC over sil huh?

hi minky...

hehehe... wat factor huh... ermm.. actually i went to CHC 1st then go to SIL.. hmmm we feel more "comfortable" with nicole lo.. we love her gown also.. altho' her shop is a lot smaller than SIL.. but she is used to be a designer in Irene's creation.. so i think she got the standard there.. the one of the impt factor is money.. i think CHC and SIL ard the same standard jus that CHC is cheaper n more comprehensive lo.. think they offer the same kind of service also.. my FH and i dun have much saving lo as i still a student and FH jus ORD this jan n jus started working only... hehe..

thanks ivy.. i saw the promotion =)

hi JC, i c so riverview got provide emcee.

any idea if is appropriate to ask siblings be the emcee?

Thanks janey!

oh din noe the designer of CHC used to be a designer at Irene's creation. ya agree agree... ie the "comfortable" factor w the designer oso v important

Minky/rokko,
U gals seems to be having fun BS shopping
For me I did not go through that stage heheheh

Rokko,
So u going for the Fullerton show? How much ah?

yo sweet... oh... so its a family trip hur... wow got ba gu tek meh... where... i love malaysia ba gu tek... yum yum...

yo jazz.... hmm.... well wat abt 4 Seasons, Goodwood Park, HIPV.... cos ur tables really little... some hotels u might not be able to meet it lor...

yo ming... received ur PM.... so happy for u to settle ur banquet liao.... so wat perks did u manage to get... ur table is how much hur....

yp smile... ya lor... u bery busy isit... so long nbr come in and chit chat with us...

ya.... me excited waiting for josie to come back... to @@ whether did she manange to find the flowers and keychain lor....

hi evevanus

think ANYONE can be the mc as long as they dont mind...it is jus not easy to be up there on the podium (personal experience hiaks hiaks hiaks)
my advice is best to have 2 separate mc, one for english and one for chinese, coz unless the mc very very experienced, quite difficult to jaga both scripts...

JC, thanks for offering the lift!
think we should be able to arrange this, and if i can make it this wed, i can also go with u again this saturday if u like! afterall which woman will turn down an opportunity to shop, even if it is shopping for others? hahaha

Hi May brides,
I will be holding my dinner on 050505. Unfortunately, its on thurs.Have not signed up any package yet. Panic now. Any tips?

hi jelly
the ba gu tek is at one of the hotels in genting, facing the theme park..there is a sort of food court there and got cinema and some clothes, shoes shops there..oh ya, oso got indoor rides...hehe..the ba gu tek there realli superb! esp in such cold weather, eat oredi veri shiok...hehe...

so u intending to get the key chains liao for your wedding favours?

Hi Massie

Wow... wat a good date! coz it's so easy to remember...

Now don't panic first... just know ya priority.. cost is more important to you? ballroom? food? overall package?

Once you know how much you are willing to fork out for the banquet, from there, you can narrow down the places you can hold your dinner.. then you can start to call and make appointments with the hotels or restaurants or country club which you have shortlisted to take a look at their ballrooms and set ups and find out about their overall package e.g. perks.

Just one thing.. don't delay for too long coz normally if it's a hot date, the hotels you wan may have already been booked.

Hi Jelly

ya lor...nev long nev come in chat here chat there..new manager in the office so must behave mah..hee..so whens the next gathering?must ask me along hah...

yo ming
wheres your banquet?

yo sweet... hmm... duno yet leh... cos must @@ whether josie manage to find some sample back or not leh... then also must @@ how much it cost lor... u interested....

oh so there nice ba gu tek at genting hur... hmm... nxt time i go must go and try... think now there quite alot of new shops and things.... well i also hear that there is a indoor snow park rite...

yo smile... oh so act gua gua hur,,, no worry will let u know when there is one lor... have to wait for josie to come back 1st mah...

wahh u ladies chatting here even on sunday ah? hehee... actually im now waiting for my KFC dinner to be delivered here so thot i wld logon lor... hee

minky, my second 'report' on jawn happy ever after... we were impressed leh!!! we went promptly at 3pm, they went thru the packages with us, showed us the photos and then i tried on 2 gowns to see how it looked... my FH liked the gowns very much! but what really impressed both FH and me were their service & professionalism - euzart, the designer, showed me the sketches made for the brides, and explained that no designs are similar becos the gowns are designed according to what the bride wants and her personality, etc... they dun have a fixed style but they need u to do homework and communicate to them wat u want to have... and most of all, can feel that they're v passionate abt their work!!!

so right now, actually q tied betw sil and jawn... minky, if u haf time shld go check out jawn and see whether u end up in same dilemma as me!!! hehee... jawn is a smaller boutique than sil, and def less posh, but cheaper and i think perhaps more elaborate on designs... aiyah truly a dilemma... sighs ;p

sharlene: i signed up for fullerton show liao... u leh? it's $28 for show + afternoon tea... hehee worse come to worse can have yum cha there.. hahaa.. but me prob signing up during show... hope there are perks!!! eh so is delia taking over ur portfolio or is there someone else to replace garey oredi??

okie my KFC dinner here liao... time for din din!!! ;p

rokko: really?!! was jus flipping thru the wedding mag and came across a gown which i tot was really nice... turns out it's from jawn! hee... some more u said until like that, i guess i'll definitely hv to check them out then!
anyway come to think of it, sil oso doesn't seem to hv a fixed style hor. unlike bridal veil, the first thing cedric told me was they're v proud of their simple & elegant designs and that they wont copy others (ie u cant tear out pics fr mag and ask them to copy certain parts of other BS's design) so we shld only sign up with them unless we're into their designs. which is y most probably wont be using them.. but gg for their bridal show anyway cos my hubby wants to check out the models!!! haha.. no lah jus kidding.. both of us nvr been to such a show so tot jus to check it out